petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food

Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food

Salmon is the number one ingredientComplete and balanced grain-free dog foodDry dog food with added vitamins for total healthNo corn, wheat, artificial preservatives colors or flavors
Average Customer Rating:
4.878 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for dogs with allergies

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cape Cod, MA
I have two Golden Retrievers. One is a finicky eater and the other is not. The finicky eater kept getting ear infections and would scratch her chin to the point of creating sores. Since switching to this grain free food a few months ago, she has stopped scratching, her chronic ear infection has cleared up and she actually wants to eat. (She turned her head at the old food product we were using.) Both dogs have shiny coats and lots of energy. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good choice

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Amissville, VA
Grain free is a good option. I also like that it includes salmon as an ingredient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food for skin issues

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Woddinville, WA
My dog has Cushings disease and Calcinosis Cutis, which causes alopecia/skin sores/and muscle wasting. Her skin gets horrible lesions and it is dry and cracked. We are on week 2 with this new food, and her skin (she doesn't have much fur) is smoother, and doesn't seem to crack as easily. The disease makes her constantly hungry, but this seems to give her more nutrients and satisfy her better than her old food. She also has more energy and wants to participate in activities now. I am very happy we found this food, thanks to Petco salesperson's recommendation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy On The Stomach!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vienna, VA
I was feeding my Pug a different bag of food from Nature's Recipe, but she started having upset stomachs so frequently that I decided to switch to this one. As soon as I started feeding her this salmon and sweet potato food without grains, her upset stomach immediately went away. She's had normal bowel movements ever since. I highly recommend it! The only thing is that it's a little stinky, but my dog loves it so who cares. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and great service

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have had my four dogs on this for 2 years now. Two german shepherds, one lab and a bichon. They all love it. This is the first time that I have ordered it from Petco and the service was outstanding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy on old tummies

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from elk grove, ca
All of my rescue dogs LOVE this food. It also smells delicious to me, LOL! It's easy on the stomach of elderly dogs and the young ones love it too. They are so healthy and their coats are shiny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Knoxville, TN
My dog loves her new food. I'm glad I made the switch to a more natural, grain free food. She's scratching a lot less and it seems to be more digestible as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Food

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sherman,TX
I love this food. I actually switched my dogs from a Grain Free Blue Buffalo food to this food. My English Bulldog is allergic to grains and has a "full body yeast infection". The Salmon in this food helps keep the infection at bay! This food also seems to last a little longer than the Blue Buffalo (about 3.5 weeks/24 lbs of food - that's for three dogs.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product - made a huge difference!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Belleville, IL
I have a 6 year old female fawn boxer. She always has blood shot eyes and vet said it was from allergies. Unless I wanted to spend lots of $ on testing, that would be the only way to find out what the allergy was. I decided to start with food first. I looked for a grain free food. I found this product and decided to try. The results in the first few days were WOW! Riley started to have life, and not sleep so much. by the end of the first bag, (I have another boxer and german short haired pointer) Riley was starting to play with the other dogs. What a difference! Here eyes were bright and clear and now wants to play. Riley will steal balls from the others and act like she did several years ago. Riley also was having issues with arthritis and was limping very badly. Before tihs bag I was giving her fish oil. Since this is salmon, I stopped giving her the fish oil not knowing if she needed it. She is not limping and its been almost 3 months now. I am truly amazed at her health with just the food change. We are now going on our 4th 24lb bag of this receipe. The only thing I am seeing is that my german short haired pointer is starting to itch. I am going to switch to the chicken grain free to see if she is sensitive to the fish, but not the receipe. If that doesn't work, a visit to the vet is in store. I am so happy that the sales person in the store talked me out of Purina Pro Plan that I have been using for years. I highly recommend this receipe. It may be more expensive, but it is worth it. Less vet bills, healthier, happier dogs! For boxers, their life span isn't that long (8-9 years) so if I can prolong it with a good diet, I will do it! Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Dogfood

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Here
Both my dogs are relatively picky eaters, and one of them has a consistent weight problem. We followed the instructions on the bag for the food, and within a couple of months, the one with the weight problem was back to a correct weight, and the other (a greyhound) was still the same weight. Both dogs are picky eaters, and eat this food immediately, whereas with other brands of food, would put it off and leave it alone.
We are happy with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin is the BEST!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cupertino, CA
My bichon's love eating this brand of food.
also grain free is great!
really helps with their skin
highly recommended
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dog Food Ever!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Our dog, Buster, was never a really picky eater. The problem we had was that every food we tried would give him gas so bad it would literally clear a room! Once we switched to Nature's Recipe Grain-Free, the room clearing days were behind us...no pun intended! Don't get me wrong, he still has gas...I would think there was something wrong with him if he didn't. However, it is now non-toxic and no longer lethal. Just a little poof here and there with little or no smell at all. And, the very best part is the fact that he absolutely loves the food. We have tried all of the flavors and the Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin is his top pick. He will eat the others in a pinch but by far prefers the salmon. I have never had a dog that actually preferred his own dog food to table scraps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft coat

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I bought this grain free dog food in hopes of alleviating my 2 Labradors allergies. I have noticed less scratching of ears but can't really say if it helps their allergies. I can say right from the start their hair is now so soft. One of my dogs has coarse hair and even her hair is now soft. They also love the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding for food allergies!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
My rescue lab had issues as a puppy with other corn-based foods that caused many skin problems. I switched to this grain-free food because I knew the salmon would be better for his skin. I have had great success with other Nature's Recipe foods before, and this is a GREAT food for any dogs with allergies. He also recently came down with a case of pancreatitis and his vet approved that this food has a very low fat content.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Digestive issues

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I switched my senior dog (75lbs) to this food about a year and a half ago because I got tired of buying vet food. My dog could only eat Royal Canin Intestinal HE without vomiting. Before all the newer foods that are out there were sensitive stomach foods which my dog could not tolerate. I even tried switching her a few months ago to Wellness Core Grain Free Ocean because the ingredients looked better but sure enough she starting vomiting then switched her back to this food and she's fine. Plus my dog always has hard stool, easy to clean up. I would recommend this food for digestive inflammatory issues. I am not certain that this food would be best for the shiniest coat but my dog is never itchy or dry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It has chicken in it!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Redmond, WA
My poor dog is allergic to chicken so the vet said to get a salmon and sweet potato food. Since this is what it says on the bag I bought it. After reading into the ingredient list a little further at a drive thru I realized it has chicken digest in it!! Ya, not so good for a dog allergic to chicken.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
3of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stopped Scratching

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from 60950
My dog would scratch his nose until it broke open and bled everywhere. I couldn't figure out why. I decided to switch his food. I put him on Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food and the scratching stopped. He apparently was allergic to grain. He has been on this food for a year now and has not scratched his nose once. Great-full for this grain-free option in dog food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cured My Dog's Diarrhea!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Channahon, IL
Ever since I adopted my dog, he has had frequent bouts of diarrhea. No matter how many times I took him to vet, the diarrhea always comes back. I thought I was feeding him a high quality dog food but I learned that grain-free is the way to go for pets with tummy troubles (actually, all dogs should eat grain-free but grain-free does cost more). Ever since I started feeding him this food, his stool has been firm. If this food keeps him out of the vet's office, it is worth it to me. He also LOVES the salmon flavor. Since I have had such great results with this food, I have now switched all my pets to the Nature's Recipe brand of pet foods. I highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Dry Dog Food

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My dog, Mac has been having skin problems for a while now. I've tried several "natural" dog foods that I've purchased at the supermarket, but he still has the problem. The Natures's Recipe Grain-Free dog food was recommended highly on your website, so I decided to try it and, wow, the skin problem is clearing up and, WOW, he likes it!
Thanks Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love this food!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from magnolia, tx
I have a dog that is very picky about what she eats. She loves this food! I have 8 dogs total, and they all eat Nature's Recipe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>