petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food

Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food

Salmon is the number one ingredientComplete and balanced grain-free dog foodDry dog food with added vitamins for total healthNo corn, wheat, artificial preservatives colors or flavors
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
42 out of 44(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
My dogs have sensitive tummies and they're picky eaters and usually get board with a food very easily bit not with this food. It's been great on their digestive tract and he eats it up right away! Great food, I just wish they had this flavor in large breed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
Our vet suggested sweet potato and salmon food for our dog who has lots of allergies. We ordered this and our German Shepherd loves it. He scarfs it right up!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yummy

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Independence, MO
My dogs love their new dog food; however there is a distinct aroma of fish. We keep their food in an air tight container to keep it fresh. We don't smell the food all of the time, only when we take it out to feed them. My girls are 12 and 1; you can smell it on their breath after they eat but only for a short period of time. My oldest usually has stomach issues with food but so far (been using the new food for 2 weeks) no issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food

PostedMay 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chesterfield, VA
Great food and great on-line prices! So easy to order and it's delivered to the house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my chocolate lab!

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
I recently switched Marley, my 9 year old chocolate lab to this food. She loves it! AND it's really helped her skin and coat. She used to be somewhat stinky, due to oils in her skin, and the smell was prevalent no matter how often she was groomed. This food and the brewer's yeast and garlic tabs that I purchased have helped immensely! She no longer smells, and she has no complaints about either item. Happy dog who is no longer stinky = happy dog mom :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
My boy loves this food and it leaves his coat nice and shiny. He had horrible allergies and since feeding him this food he doesn't scratch or itch anymore. I highly recommend this food. He has never gotten sick from this and seems to love the flavor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great dry food

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tower City Pa
This is a great all around dog food for all dogs and is grain free
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kona, HI
Happy dogs...eat less and less to pick up later. But this is an affordable quality food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product so far

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington, DE
I have only just switched my Pug over to this product to hopefully help with her skin problems and allergies. It's only been 2 weeks, but she couldn't wait to eat it. She loved the taste right from that first feeding and begs for more. No problems with digestion, no diarhhea.
Even the cat loves it - though she gets her own food, she begs for some of this as well.
Will know more about the effect on my pug's allergies after a little more time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs love it!!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Waynesboro, PA
I am in the process of switching to this grain free food and my dogs just love it. I have two German Shorthair Pointers who can be picky at times with their foods, but they also seem to be bothered when grain is added to their diet so I stick to a no grain food. I am currently mixing their current brand with this brand and they actually did out the Nature's Recipe kibble before eating their current brand. I don't change the diets of my dogs very often, but sometimes I guess they need a change too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Recipe Saved my Dogs Skin

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rootstown, OH
At an early age my (now 3 yrs.old) Goldendoodle was taken to our local veterinarian with an awful skin condition, causing red scaley irritating patches of skin. She suggested a grain free diet with meat, fish, and veggies. With her help as well as the help of our local Petco staff we were shown the many choices of fine food products that Petco carries. Nature's Recipe Salmon, sweet potatoes and pumpkin became our new choice of food for our pup. He has been free of any skin problems ever since. Thank you all. This is a GREAT product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Could have saved $1000.00

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
After spending nearly 1000.00 dollars for blood work, X-rays and ect two vets could not tell us why our dog was vomiting. Tried the rice and chicken self prepared diet to no avail. I found out about Nature Recipe grain free and began feeding it to our Wheaten Terrior. The vomiting stopped, her coat is beautiful and she is a happy dog. Also the clean up outside is so easy. Worth every penny .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax, VA
My black lab inhales this food so quickly, I'm not even sure she chews it first. Glad the kibbles are small. So I don't know what exact balance of ingredients NR put into this dog food, but it's clear our dog absolutely loves it. Wasn't sure what she would think of the pumpkin part, but it seems to be a highly desirable item in this dog food. Can't guarantee what your dog will do, but at least for mine, she can't get enough of this food, and it's obvious she likes it from the manner in which she gets excited whenever I pick the food bowl up - to a much greater degree than I saw with her former Science Diet meals. So at least for me, I give it five stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
My two dogs really enjoy this kibble, even my very picky female. She actually eats hers and try's to eat my male's serving also...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog won't eat it

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from wisconsin
Have had other brands with same flavor and all was good. Got this in the BIG bag since the price was down to what the middle bag cost. Think that was for a reason. My dog won't touch this stuff. Could it be old or bad and that is why it was marked down by nearly half????
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for dogs with allergies

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cape Cod, MA
I have two Golden Retrievers. One is a finicky eater and the other is not. The finicky eater kept getting ear infections and would scratch her chin to the point of creating sores. Since switching to this grain free food a few months ago, she has stopped scratching, her chronic ear infection has cleared up and she actually wants to eat. (She turned her head at the old food product we were using.) Both dogs have shiny coats and lots of energy. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good choice

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Amissville, VA
Grain free is a good option. I also like that it includes salmon as an ingredient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food for skin issues

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Woddinville, WA
My dog has Cushings disease and Calcinosis Cutis, which causes alopecia/skin sores/and muscle wasting. Her skin gets horrible lesions and it is dry and cracked. We are on week 2 with this new food, and her skin (she doesn't have much fur) is smoother, and doesn't seem to crack as easily. The disease makes her constantly hungry, but this seems to give her more nutrients and satisfy her better than her old food. She also has more energy and wants to participate in activities now. I am very happy we found this food, thanks to Petco salesperson's recommendation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy On The Stomach!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vienna, VA
I was feeding my Pug a different bag of food from Nature's Recipe, but she started having upset stomachs so frequently that I decided to switch to this one. As soon as I started feeding her this salmon and sweet potato food without grains, her upset stomach immediately went away. She's had normal bowel movements ever since. I highly recommend it! The only thing is that it's a little stinky, but my dog loves it so who cares. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Recipe Grain-Free Salmon, Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and great service

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I have had my four dogs on this for 2 years now. Two german shepherds, one lab and a bichon. They all love it. This is the first time that I have ordered it from Petco and the service was outstanding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>