petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Dog E-Collar

Petco Dog E-Collar

Protects after surgeries, hot spots or injuriesLightweight E-collar has a comfortable padded necklinePrevents licking wounds & topical medicationsTransparent collar allows your pet to maintain his peripheral vision
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
5
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Dog E-Collar
Review 1 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

garbage

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South PA
My dog is a yellow lab and this collar was too short. I tried to figure out a way to keep it up higher on her head so her snout didn't stick out but then it choked her. It's flimsy so she was able to eventually pull it off. Total waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works with a little modification

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
I read these reviews before I bought this and I purchased some adhesive Velcro strips and replaced the clips with the strips. I bought the smallest size collar and used 3 strips. With the collar and the Velcro the total came to under $15 which is still less expensive than some of the others. Works like a charm. Because anyone who's ever e-collared a cat knows that the most important factor is speed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

snaps fall off

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester NY
I like the adjustability but the snaps come off too easily, we lost one within the first few days. It would be great if extras were included.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Coon Rapids, MN
The clips that hold the collar together are flimsy. Broke with in 30 minutes of putting it on my boxer mix to keep her from licking her hot spots. I wish I had read the online review BEFORE I went to the store. I ended up reinforcing it with two of those paper binder clips at the top from the office supply store to get it to last the rest of the week. By the end of 9 days one of the plastic clips broke one of the knobs completely off, and the other clip was bent badly and wouldn't stay in the collar. The third clip came of totally and I still haven't found it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lasted 30 minutes:(

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Garden grove,ca
I purchased this to keep my dog from licking her hot spots. Within a half hour she figured out how to get it off and she is not the brightest of dogs. The snaps to secure it are very cheaply made. Waste of money:(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ok for limited use

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
Have a Lab with allergies so needed something to keep him from licking. He could still reach the base of his tail with this product and figured out fairly quickly (2 days) how to get the closures to "snap" open and then remove the collar. The plastic cone did hold up to his scratching it so that was good, but overall it did not serve the purpose for very long in my house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good collar, poor snaps

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
My golden wears this collar long-term due to allergies. She's very calm in it and can even use the doggy door with it, The only problem is the snaps break. You need to make extra snaps available for purchase (or improve them so they don't break).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good idea, but not wide enough

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I picked one of these up for our puppy after her spay surgery, and I like the comfortable, protective design of the cone. The edges are soft, and the cone is see-thru, but it is not wide enough. It would be good to have cones slightly wider for dogs with longer snouts, and to vary neck to snout length on this product. Because it is not wide enough, our puppy can still reach and bite or lick her wounds.
Great product, great design otherwise, but not a good neck-snout size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dog collar

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from holtsville, NY
collar worked well and I loved the color purple! Not!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

is this the best they can do?

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
bought one for our dog after she had ACL surgery - very hard to find one that was completely transparent - all are translucent, but really: fuchsia? aqua? why aren't they ALL completely transparent? I did finally find one that was transparent.
next problem: the clips used to hold the collar together are easily lost. And if you have any overhang at all (meaning a portion of the collar that extends beyond where the clips secure the collar) then the dog can easily and quite by accident pop the collar - next thing you know, you are back to the ER getting the dog restitched.
Our fix: after buying the transparent cone, I bought some self-adhesive Velcro, sized the cone onto the dog, trimmed some of the overhang, and applied the Velcro - seems to be working.
But being able to buy a better product right at the store would have been better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from chicopee masachusetts
My small dog of just 12 pounds broke it off in one day. what a waste of money, I am very disappointed with this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Survived over 3 weeks of abuse

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I own a 38 lb lab/ terrier mix that is a hyper, active, goofy idiot. She's intense, and I was skeptical that this cone could last any amount of time on her. My vet recommended using a cone to help clear up hotspots caused by allergies. She wore it nearly full time for just under a month while the sores healed. It was taken off for about 2 hours everyday for walks. This thing was crashed into walls, scraped across the concrete patio, bent every which way and subjected to her trying to scratch through the plastic.
The snaps started to loosen up towards the end, but the fact that they survived that long is amazing. If needed again, I could easily replace them with a zip-tie. I used this cone tied to her collar with string and she only got it off twice.
This product is rugged. It survived my 11 month old lab mix and is currently retired to the closet, in case we need it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very dissapointed

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from West Jordan UT
I have a lab-staffy mix who, through previous experiences with cones obtained from the veterinarian, has learned that if she runs into something, she can just keep moving and she will eventually come unhooked from whatever it was she got stuck on. Be it couches, walls, corners, or the backs of mommy's legs. For that last reason alone I was very pleased that this cone had a soft protective covering around the outside edge. It quieted the cone when she scraped against the walls in our hallways, and it hardly hurt at all when she would push past me as I was walking down our very narrow hallway.
That is about the only good thing I have to say about this product.
I had bought this because my rambunctious 'child' had ripped away half of her dew claw while playing fetch a few weeks ago and she wouldn't stop licking at it. She wore this contraption for four days and then when I let her outside one day to go potty I could hear her running into something outside with the cone. When she came back to the back door to be let in, I discovered that the cone had cracked in half vertically down the middle and the only thing holding the two pieces of the cone together was the bias tape around the outside edge.
The cone that we had purchased from the veterinarian last year held up to ten days of her normal activities without issue. This cone was made of much thinner stuff and so it was not as durable.
I'd say if you have a cat or a very small dog, this will probably work fine. But if you have any kind of a muscular dog or a rambunctious dog, or anything bigger than a toy breed, pay 12 bucks and get a higher quality, more durable one from your vet. And wear pants while your dog has it on to protect your legs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
15of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Found something that worked

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, CA
I am highly appreciative for finding this product. It did EXACTLY what I needed it to do. Fit my dog so that he CANNOT lick his hot spots near his tail. He also has NOT been able to wiggle out of it. AND last but not least, he has finally been able to get some rest and sleep comfortably. As soon as I put it on, it has not come off once. Hopefully his hot spots disappear soon.
[:
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, cool, not as big as others,easy on off...If u do this

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Mass
LOVE this e-collar, and my dog does not hate it !
It is much cooler than any other I found. My dog is long haired
Not as long and combersome,can navigate house without bumping into things, and eat/drink well.
I attached it to her collar w/string,she had it off in no time.
I bought a 1 inch wide firm /fairly thick collar & attatched it tightly to the e-collar w/plastic ties(like the kind u get w/trash bags, but get better ones like electricial ties @ home depot) . I can easly slip the whole collar/e-collar on and off without undoing anything.
Watch and comfort them at first till they accept the collar.
I also use self adhearing vet tape(cloth like ) and put around leg over to keep her from licking it when e-collar is not on.
B
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Dog E-Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

big mistake

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
it stayed on my dog for about 30 minutes then he had it ripped off. was a waste of hard earned money with no hope of getting it back cause it is tore to pieces
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-43points
14of 71voted this as helpful.