petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl

SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl

Cat food bowl limits portions and encourages cats to eat more slowlyCats must work to retrieve food from this cat food dishFunnel shaped bowl is easy to load and automatically distributes food as neededDishwasher-safe for easy cleaning
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Review 1 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clever Invention

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Hills, CA
My over weight adult cat immediately learned how to get her reduced calorie kibble from this neat little invention.
Although she meows complaints at having to use the dish, she quickly acquiesces! She has to put out a lot of energy to get each morsel so she's eating less and getting exercise at the same time. The dish is lightweight plastic so I tried putting cut rubber faucet rings on the bottom to hold it in place on my wood kitchen floor but found that a tiny Velcro adhesive strip works best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Eats

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City
The main reason I bought this bowl was because I wanted to better control the eating portions of one my cats. Having a large heavy cat, it was hard to find different ways to better control their eating habits. What is nice about this feeder bowl is that it limits the portions that cats can eat at a time, the only issue is that it is taking some time for one of my cats to figure out how to use the bowl. My other cat has had no issues at all adjusting to the different style of eating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't recommend.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
I tried this for my two cats, it was horrible, they literally could not get a kibble of food. I wanted to slow them down, not prevent them from eating. They hated it. I switched to a different slow feeder and it works much better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay, but could be better

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Manchester, CT
So far, the kittens are slowly getting used to this feeder. It's been a week, still some begging but they're figuring it out. My biggest problem is that this feeder is too lightweight, and the rubber feet aren't grippy enough. Cal is a12# beast and still growing, and he can easily shove this thing all around the kitchen. We're constantly tripping over the relocating feeder dish. Perhaps a heavier plastic bottom to resist pushing from large stubborn cats?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

don't give up!!!!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke, VA
I felt like my cat just wasn't going to get it!
Reason this is so Great - it slows down her eating and she no longer throws up once a week do to eating too Fast!
But in the beginning I had my Doubts - So I took the lid off and just put the food on the white base so she wouldn't be afraid of using it then put the lid on after a few days. With the lid on I put food around the outside rim, then after a few days used it the right way. She still didn't seem like she was really eating but have no fear, your cat will finally start using it Eventually Promise!!! I would say it was a good 3 weeks before I really saw her use it. And maybe a little over a month before I saw her go at it like the Purina commercial but now she does!! Be a good Pet Parent and stick with it she/he will do fine! Your precious baby won't starve! You will be glad in the end!! You will enjoy seeing her work for her food the way she/he was meant to! and your cat will be happy!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bottom of dish keeps falling off.

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fort Dodge, Iowa
The dish slides when my cat tries to use it so I have to lift it up to put it back and the bottom falls out spilling food everywhere. She does not like to use it and refused to eat for 3 days! Finally had to give her old dish back so she could eat again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fun

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from dayton, oh
I have 4 cats, one of which is not very food motivated but loves to play and on is very food oriented and would rather sleep making feeding time frustrating. This bowl made things much better. It slows down my fat-cat and fascinates my thin cat. Sometimes I even hide toys in the bowl to get him going. He seems so happy to find a plastic lizard in his food...LOL!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought this on sale during the summer for my over weight cat. She refused to eat from it for a week, constantly crying and begging for food. She finally learned how to use the bowl, and it's the cutest thing to watch!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep the kitty from over eating

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Manassas, VA
This is a great product for the kitty who likes to overeat. By using the paw and having to work for the food, we find our cat less likely to eat until he gets sick. With the overflow lip around the bowl, the likelihood of a mess is reduced too. Having multiple openings also allows for additional cats to feed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It would be great if I got all the parts

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kanab, UT
I ordered this and was especially interested in the extension tube. It arrived and no extension tube or placemat. I called Petco and they sent me another. Again it arrived with no placemat or extension tube. Petco said rather than that happening again, they would refund my money. I didn't have to send them back so I tried them without the extension tube. My cats after 3 days, couldn't figure it out. I had to leave the little top off so they wouldn't starve. I will try it again later. It isn't a defect in the feeder, just cats that didn't get it..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

really slowed them down.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ILLINOIS
We have a problem with our cats eating to fast and then getting sick once in a while. I used velcro and strapped it down to a tray with edges and also filed down some of edges on the dish, because our cats had problems getting food over edge. i love it though and already noticed that it slowed them down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Problem Solved

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
Although I have been restricing the amount of food I leave for my cats for a couple of years, they never seem to lose any weight.
I bought this as a last resort and SUCCESS! They are eating half of their previously restricted diet. They enjoy playing with it to get their dinner and are eating much smaller amounts through out the day instead of chowing it all down quickly. I fully expect to see weight lost quickly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definite Portion Control

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bangor, ME
This bowl works really well. My cat who is overweight and refused to slow down while eating was not a huge fan at first but he slowly came around. I only put 1/4 cup food in at a time as he is still quite talented at getting it out in a timely manner but my cat is absolutely obsessed with food. It can fit quite a bit a food however especially with the extender it came with. I have seen an improvement in my cat he seems less uncomfortable and gassy since we have been using this bowl. The price was right, It was super easy to put together, and it will probably last a lot longer than the other feeders on the market witch are so easy to break in too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I should start eating out of this thing

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
I have always free fed my cats because I work long hours and I'm not home regularly. Two out of the three could handle eating and stopping when they were full. The third just gorged. She was obese and constantly threw up her food. I was cleaning up barf all the time. I took her to the vets for a check up and they had to remove the top of the carrier to get her out. I could see their judgement, but for the sake of the other two cats, what could I do?? They were already eating special food for fatty cats. But she just keeps gorging. Then I found this dish. They all eat out of it and the fatty cat lost three pounds in two months! She can't gorge with this bowl, so she not longer is throwing up her food. All the cats were a little pudgy, they are old and sedentary; and now they all look a little trimmer and healthier! This was a great buy, I would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bowl

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Minneola, FL
It definitely gets the cats to slow down their eating. I have two cats and they both figured out the bowl pretty quickly and now instead of just a few minutes, they take an hour or so to finish everything. The placemat is a nice little bonus but when the bowl is on it the cats drag it around on the floor too easily. The bowl itself has rubber feet that stay put on the floor so I don't use the mat for the cat bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bowl is amazing

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Utah
I have 3 cats and for 4 years have had problems with them overeating or eating too fast and throwing up. I purchased this bowl about 6 months ago and no longer have these problems. I have one cat who eats slower than the other two so I had to seperate them at every feeding just so he could actually eat his portion. This bowl has solved that problem. All 3 eat out of this same bowl with no problems. After years of vet visits (wondeirng if they had stomach problems), taking the time for seperate feedings, and just overall stress and time from cleaning up their messes I've found my solution with this bowl. I will recommend this in a second to anybody who has these problems. It's really helped my situation and is so inexpensive. One more positive to this product is that my dogs can't get to the cats food now. Their paws won't fit in the holes. The only downside is the mat it comes with. I only used it for a couple weeks. At my house on my tile floor it slipped around more than if I just had the bowl on the floor itself. This is definitely not a deal breaker for me though. I LOVE THIS BOWL!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my cat!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
My cat was a little overweight. He didn't like the bowl in the beginning but now he's ok with it. It's great for making him slow down when he eats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, simple, solid product.

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
The fabric placemat is great for catching food pieces and keeping things tidy, but the foot grips on the bottom of the bowl work better on solid ground, such as tile or a plastic food mat or even a counter top. It doesn't move around that way when they are pawing at it. Our "smarter" cat waits until the others leave, then he hooks his paw/claws into one of the openings and lifts it up, so all of the food slids to one side and out of the holes and he eats it. I'm pretty sure he's taken the lid off too. Both of those issues could be cured with a small thick book, or brick on top of the product. We use it strickly for dry treats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative to Peek-A-Prize box

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from United States
My cat isn't overweight, but since he's an indoor kitty who shares a small apartment with me, I do my best to keep him busy. I have been using SmartCat's wooden Peek-A-Prize box for his meals to make him work for his food, but it's impossible to clean. He's unwilling to work for food from a treatball, but he will fish it out if he can see it. This dish is a great alternative because it's easy to clean and serves the same purpose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartCat Tiger Diner Portion Control Cat Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
My cats were too smart for the feeder...they were able to take the lid off and eat all the food without any work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>