petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Provides privacy while retaining the litter inside the panIdeal for multi-cat householdsBag anchor frees hand for easy scoopingCarbon filter traps and reduces odors
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
81 out of 88(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Listed measurements incorrect

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA
If only this product had the correct measurements listed on the website... I was looking for a new litter box for my kittens who are now 1 year old and have grown quite a bit since their first litter. I also wanted something with a hood. So I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews to find this box.
If this product had been as big as listed, it would have worked. But it is only 21 inches long (not 22) and barely just 16 inches wide (not 16.8). And that's from the outside--if you measure the inside of the box you loose 1-3 inches on each side, plus the front and back have a slight slope, so it really was as small as the current box I have.
I tried to exchange for the Jumbo box; even though the Jumbo is listed as ~19 inches wide (which is too big), I figured those measurements would be wrong as well and I might finally get a box big enough for my cats. And I liked the box enough that I wanted to stick with it.
I called the customer service line was told I could return the box to the store and receive a credit to my online account. At the store I was told the credit they provided to me could be used online. When I called to place the new order I was then told, no, I couldn't use my return credit to purchase online items. All in all, a disappointing experience.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful and Pleasant Litter Box

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Conover, NC
I own two of these litter boxes and my cats are happy with the size and privacy offered by them. I find the boxes and covers easy to clean and pleasant even when placed in a bedroom. One of my cats insists on standing to urinate so it prevents the wall and floor from being soiled. YEAH!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cat litter box

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntingdon Valley, Pa
Easy to clean and large enough to accommodate my large cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Scooping Cat Litter Box out there

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Castle, PA
This litter box has a high bottom (not a high top). You don't have to take the hood off to scoop. Love the lip to hook a bag onto while scooping. Highly recommend this litter box for anyone who wants a scooping litter box. I actually ordered this one for a friend as I already have four of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deluxe litter box

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Grandview, MO
I like this litter box because it has the carbon filter to reduce odors and is quite large. I have a multi-cat family so the larger size is great for them. They are not quite used to the door yet. It seems a bit difficult for them to grasp that the see-through door swings freely to let them in and out so I have tried putting the door up and then lowering it while they are inside so they will get the idea soon that they can get out easily. When they are used to the door, that will make keeping the litter inside the box much better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hooded litterbox

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Love this box for its large size and how the top opens up for easy cleaning. I have had one of my own for years and wanted one for my mother's cats. They no longer carried it where I bought and thank goodness Petco had them. These cats have never had a covered box and there are no issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
The folding lid makes it very easy to get in and scoop. I now own two of these and would recommend it to anyone. I don't have anything bad to say about it and my kitties even love the extra space inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Hooded Litter Boxes

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
This box is not a piece of junk. We have three different types of hooded boxes for a five cat household. This box is superior to the other types we use.
When you want to scoop out the litter, this is one of the best types of hooded boxes so far on the market. Other boxes have flaps that can be removed very easily from the openings, however in order to clean them the entire hood must be removed. The Hagen box does not require the complete removal the hood because the front opening (door flap and carbon filter piece) lifts and folds down on the hood top. Another good quality is that the carbon filter holder is a lift up flap attached to the top of the box rather than the inside of the box. We had to use two pieces of clear tape on the sides of the carbon filter to keep our cats from removing it as a cat toy. Two cats do not like the opening flap so we use the box with the flap folded up and at night we place the flap down again to control the odors. The flap can be removed but there is no need to remove it because it can easy fold up to rest on the top the box.
The box biggest flaw is the side closures which slide open and close. Our other boxes have snap closures on the side which are much easier to open and close. I would not suggest trying to lift the box by the handle with 22 pounds of litter in it, because it is very heavy and I don't trust the closures to hold, consistently.
Another drawback is that the plastic does not contain any anti-microbiological or anti-bacterial chemicals to prevent odors. Also the box does not have an interior UV light. We would pay more if the company added these two features to the Jumbo sized box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cat litter box

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chattanooga,tn
I received this product with a part missing. So I returned it...I found out that it was an item they were no longer carrying, and that it was clearanced out for 9.00. I paid well over 40.00 on their website. I was happy because they let me re purchase it for the 9.00.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great LItter Box...

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
We bought two of these litter boxes, one for each cat. They work great! The litter area has remained neat since we put them out. The cats took right to them and my dog has quit grazing in the litter. Great product. I highly recommend this litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of junk!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oregon
This is made out of cheap, brittle plastic. The first instruction I followed -- to bend the plastic cover screen -- snapped the thing in two. End of story. I packed it back up and returned it to a close Petco, and was treated very well. However, the point is not customer service, but product quality. This should not be sold in the first place. And, no, I did not force the fold, just tried to get it into the correct position to install. SNAP!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lift up lid for easy cleaning

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eagle River, WI
I ordered this litter box because I have a 20 lb. cat
that needs a large litter box. The jumbo box is just
perfect for him. The best feature, you can lift part
of the lid for easy scooping instead of having to take
off the whole lid. I would recommend this to anyone
who has a large cat, or many furry friends, I have
5. I had to take off the clear door because 4 of my
5 cats wouldn't enter the box, but that's ok, the
bottom is high enough to keep the litter in the box.
I have 5 litter boxes, I replaced 2, I'll probably order
3 more when they go on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

King Size Liter Box

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sartell, Minnesota
These liter boxes are so spacious. My cats love them,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT LITTER BOX// EXCEPT

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montpelier, VT
THIS LITTER BOX IS LARGE, AND EASY TO CLEAN, BY JUST LIFTING UP THE TOP WINDOW, AND LID, OF THE COVER. I DID NOT THINK MY CAT WOULD USE THE WINDOW, BUT HE GOT USE TO IT. I LIKE THE COVER WINDOW, IT KEEPS LITTER DUST FROM ESCAPING, AND I USE FRESH STEPS LITTER, AND IT SMELL FRESHER IN THE AIR WITHOUT THE DUST.
I HAVE A SMALL APARTMENT, AND I HAVE GOT TO PUT THE BOX IN THE BATHROOM. I USE A BOOT TRAY UNDER THE BOX TO CATCH THE LITTER AS THE CAT STEPS OUT OF THE BOX.
THE MAIN PROBLEM WITH THIS BOX, IS THE TWO SECURE SLIDE LOCKS ON THE SIDES, TO SECURE THE LID, SLIP OFF. THEY SIMPLY CANNOT HOLD THE WEIGHT OF THE BOX, WHEN I TRY TO LIFT THE BOX UP TO CLEAN THE BOOT TRAY.
FOR THE LID TO BE SECURED, THEY NEED TO WRAP AROUND THE SIDES AND CLAMP SHUT UNERNEATH TO THE BOX.. THERE ALSO NEEDS TO BE FOUR OF THEM, FOR SUCH A LARGE BOX. I CAN REMOVE THE BOOT TRAY BY LIFFING UP THE BOX OF THE BASE, AND PULLING IT OUT, THEN PUSHING THE BOX BACKWARDS ONTO THE TRAY.
I QUESTIONED PURCHASING THIS BOX, BECAUSE THE PEOPLE WHO DESIGN THESE LARGE BOXES DO NOT SEEM TO TAKE THIS LOCK PROBLEM INTO ACCOUNT.
THE OLD LITTER BOX DESIGN, WITH COVERS HAVE THIS SECURE FEATURE. THIS WAS VERY SECURE, WHEN LIFTING IT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Moore, OK
I have two cats, one about 12 lbs and the other 15lbs., and decided to go with the jumbo size. This box is huge and has more than enough room. The hinged door not only allows them more privacy, but it also keeps any odors in and hides most scratching sounds too--I usually never know either one is in there. The section of the lid that flips up is so very convenient--no more removing the whole hood to clean the litter box! Highly recommend this box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CatIt Hooded Cat Little Box

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Shohola, PA
I bought 2 of them. I really like them but when I took one of them out of the box the little plastic knob that holds the door one was broken. Not a big deal for me as I leave the top open anyway but a bit disappointing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent litter box

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
This is the best litter box I've ever owned: and I've owned many. Works better than some of these high-dollar litter boxes out there. Keeps the litter off the floor. The main thing I like is that you don't get that "Litter paste" at the bottom of the litter box. If you're looking to purchase a new litter box, this is the one. I promise you will not be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well designed and big

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago
I live in a small condo in the city and I have a large 13# cat. I bought this litter box to replace a standard pan, and I am very happy with it. It minimizes litter scatter, even if you leave the flap/top up. Since my cat is very big, I got the Jumbo one, which is perfect. The top is easy to lift and close for convenient scooping. The handle on top is also nice for moving it to clean around the space easily. I recommend this litter box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The big scoop

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
This cat box really delivers! I have a huge cat and he loves this box....always the head or tail was extended over the sides...........not any more.
I love it because the top opens wide and makes scooping so much easier and neater. No litter any where outside the box.
I would recommend this to anyone I know with a big boy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great litterbox

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
This litter box is huge. I have a large 20-month-old male Bombay who is picky about his boxes. When he became too tall for his previous "jumbo"-sized box, he refused to use it with the top on...And since I don't like looking at and smelling his business, this was not okay. This box is a good 3 inches taller than any other box that I've tried, so my cat will finally use it. He doesn't like the swinging door on this box, but it's easy to keep it folded up so he doesn't have to.
This box is super easy to scoop with the top on, which is great. However, due to the large size, it needs a LOT of litter to have a good layer spread across the bottom. I'd say I'm using about 50% more litter than I was previously.
I received this box with only 3 of the 4 clips to hold the top on. I emailed Customer Service, and they quickly responded that they did not have any replacement clips nor any replacement boxes, but they would accept the box back for a full return or I could keep the box and get a $5 refund. I took the refund and bought an alligator clip from the hardware store--it's doesn't look great, but it does the trick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>