petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Provides privacy while retaining the litter inside the panIdeal for multi-cat householdsBag anchor frees hand for easy scoopingCarbon filter traps and reduces odors
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
64 out of 69(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great litterbox

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
kmh170
from Pittsburgh, PA
This litter box is huge. I have a large 20-month-old male Bombay who is picky about his boxes. When he became too tall for his previous "jumbo"-sized box, he refused to use it with the top on...And since I don't like looking at and smelling his business, this was not okay. This box is a good 3 inches taller than any other box that I've tried, so my cat will finally use it. He doesn't like the swinging door on this box, but it's easy to keep it folded up so he doesn't have to.
This box is super easy to scoop with the top on, which is great. However, due to the large size, it needs a LOT of litter to have a good layer spread across the bottom. I'd say I'm using about 50% more litter than I was previously.
I received this box with only 3 of the 4 clips to hold the top on. I emailed Customer Service, and they quickly responded that they did not have any replacement clips nor any replacement boxes, but they would accept the box back for a full return or I could keep the box and get a $5 refund. I took the refund and bought an alligator clip from the hardware store--it's doesn't look great, but it does the trick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT litter box

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
kinoini
from Spokane Valley, WA
This very roomy box is designed perfectly. The top locks down tight using sliding bars, rather than snapping clips. No need to remove the top in order to scoop out the litter. The top has a door that easily flips up and provides ample room for scooping. The opening for visiting kitties is the largest I've seen compared to other large litter boxes I've owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleaning ease

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
MsRagdoll
from Houston,TX
The fold back top is a great feature. No more disassembling the litter box for daily cleaning! Nice neutral color and good size for adult cat. (The swinging entry door is easily removed if your cat prefers doorless entry to litter box.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This box rocks!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amm826
from Cedar Rapids, IA
It is big enough to fit my fat cat and the covertible top makes it perfect for cleaning and keeps the mess inside of the box!
Definitely recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extra large size

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Animaluver9
from Michigan
I would recommend this litter box for anyone with a very large cat! The problem I have always had a problem with the box being too small and urine being sprayed on the side of the box, thus causing additional smell. This box is a great size and depth. The door has easy access for my cat and it keeps my little dogs out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and LARGE litter box!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
LisaDawn
from Phoenix, AZ
This is a good litter box - it's huge, but then again, so is my cat, so that's the whole idea. It is pretty sturdy...the only thing is that it is SO LARGE that you have to put in so much litter that it's a bit of a chore to empty the entire box out for periodic cleanings. I use the liner bags, but they are not strong enough to hold all the litter unless I use the lightweight stuff. With that in mind, my review is that this is great if a tiny bit hard to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good box

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittycrew
from North Wales, pa
This litter box is one of the best I have purchased. it is vary durable and strong compared to others I've had that cracked and broke. I highly recommend this one!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Large little box but shipped without pieces.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maccaroni0
from Seattle, WA
This is a very nice size litterbox if you have multiple cats and I would've like it even more if it included the hood it was supposed to come with. It still works fine without the hood .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No longer cleaning up a messy floor!

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
918kiwi
from Palmdale, CA
I have two 3 year old female cats. One is 7 lbs, the other is 12 lbs. I don't know which one has the problem with missing the inside of the large open litter box I was currently using, but I'm assuming it is the larger of the two. Since getting this jumbo litter box the problem has been solved! I removed the front flap so it wasn't too intimidating for them. I didn't bother locking the lid to make it easier when having to remove it. I've had it 2 weeks now and I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 2 cats like it

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
WSNR
from scarsdale, NY
I bought this as a supplemental litter box. My male cat somehow detached the removable top with the flap which I needed 2 hands to take off. So I removed the flap (having been warned by others' reviews) and all was well. This has become their main box. I do not need to use liners, scooping is easy. I take off the whole cover as it is just easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never too old to change!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
KSGrams
from Shawnee, Kansas
My two 7-year old kitty girls have successfully made the conversion from an open litter box to the new Catit Hooded Box. I purchased the Jumbo as my Tortie is a big girl and the Jumbo fits her perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Litter Box

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jules2Kittens
from Pittsburgh, PA
This was the first time I ordered on-line with Petco. Very quick delivery. Product was as described and is very well made at a reasonable price. I did try and use the filter but my kittens immediately tried eating it so I agree with other reviewer who mentioned there needs to be some type of guard over it. This was my first enclosed litter box. It is not necessary to remove the lid each time you clean the box, since the top folds back, which I think is the best feature. I do not use the door since is seems to intimidate the kittens. It is easily detachable. If your cat is already used to a door, you should not need to remove. Jumbo size is excellent and should be more than roomy enough once my kittens reach adult size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best cat litter box ever

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
kateshorses
from Ann Arbor, Michigan
So for the fat kitties or any this is awesome. You never have to take the lid off to clean, just click up and back.. I fill it with 4-5 inches of cat litter, and the door works great! Never had any issues and a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love every aspect of this box!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MisQ
from Waterloo
I have used just about every brand of self-cleaning litter box made, only to have wasted nearly $700 in products that fail. So it's back to the basics and this litter pan is it! It's plenty big for 2 cats, not that they are ever in it at the same time, but they can move around easier, it has a high lower pan, easy lift center piece to clean the litter, with a bag hook & you never have to take off the lid. My cats and I are happy and I will have this box for years!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter box.

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
mscrazycatlady
from oregon
This box is great, very large, keeps most of the litter from being tracked out, easy to clean. I have two growing Main Coon kittens & needed something large
to accomodate them as they grow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent litterbox

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Twocatsandme
from Arlington, VA
I have the extra large and feel it's worth it to accommodate my male cats, who like to back up into the corners. The high sloping back is a good feature for that reason. The other great feature is the shiny plastic surface of the box. I do not use a liner, and in my old litterbox, sometimes the clumping litter would stick to the bottom or sides of the box & was hard to remove. With this Hagen Catit, the clump sometimes sticks but very lightly and is easily removed.
Liner: stopped using because they get shredded by the cats and make more work than they save.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIGGEST LITTER BOX I'VE EVER SEEN !

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
NESEY1313
from COOKEVILLE,TN.
I LOVE THIS LITTER BOX. I BOUGHT TWO OF THEM. THEY ARE HUGE ... I REALLY LIKE THAT THE LID FLIPS UP SO YOU DON'T HAVE TO TAKE THE TOP OFF EVER TIME YOU SCOOP...BOTH OF THEM HAVE A DEFECT ON THE BOTTOM OF THE BOX WHERE THE LOCKING MECHANISM IS LOCATED, AS IF WHILE THE SLOT WAS BEING PUNCHED OUT SOMETHING (MAYBE PIECE THAT WAS PUNCHED OUT) GOT STUCK AND BROKE THE SLIDE SLOT. I'M KEEPING THEM ANYWAY...VERY NICE. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kittay
from NY
I bought this item to help reduce the litter getting everywhere. I was afraid my kittens wouldn't like it because they have never had a covered litter box before but they adapted to it very well and without any accidents.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank Goodness it's huge

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luvmylittlebitandlildude
from Norman, Ok
It works great for both of my cats, they are diggers and it prevents alot of litter from getting all over the floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Litterbox

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rajaa
from lagrangeville
I have only had this a week but I was more excited than the cats ! I have 5 cats and the male is , what I have now learned, is a corner or top sprayer. I had a HUGE open litterbox that worked well until he started doing that. I bought a jumbo Petco covered one but needed another. Read the great reviews on this one. This one is very well made. You can tell the difference when you lift it up. Also when I would reach into the other one to clean, I felt like I was reaching into a cave. This one has a top that flips back onto itself making it easier to reach in. Also, the urine and stool slides right off the bottom and sides. No sticking. I wish I had bought this one first, I would have gotten a second of this one. Really well made. Worth the extra $$.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>