petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Provides privacy while retaining the litter inside the panIdeal for multi-cat householdsBag anchor frees hand for easy scoopingCarbon filter traps and reduces odors
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
72 out of 78(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of junk!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
seagee
from oregon
This is made out of cheap, brittle plastic. The first instruction I followed -- to bend the plastic cover screen -- snapped the thing in two. End of story. I packed it back up and returned it to a close Petco, and was treated very well. However, the point is not customer service, but product quality. This should not be sold in the first place. And, no, I did not force the fold, just tried to get it into the correct position to install. SNAP!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lift up lid for easy cleaning

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
mijo
from Eagle River, WI
I ordered this litter box because I have a 20 lb. cat
that needs a large litter box. The jumbo box is just
perfect for him. The best feature, you can lift part
of the lid for easy scooping instead of having to take
off the whole lid. I would recommend this to anyone
who has a large cat, or many furry friends, I have
5. I had to take off the clear door because 4 of my
5 cats wouldn't enter the box, but that's ok, the
bottom is high enough to keep the litter in the box.
I have 5 litter boxes, I replaced 2, I'll probably order
3 more when they go on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

King Size Liter Box

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kitty6969
from Sartell, Minnesota
These liter boxes are so spacious. My cats love them,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT LITTER BOX// EXCEPT

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
MONKEYMOE
from Montpelier, VT
THIS LITTER BOX IS LARGE, AND EASY TO CLEAN, BY JUST LIFTING UP THE TOP WINDOW, AND LID, OF THE COVER. I DID NOT THINK MY CAT WOULD USE THE WINDOW, BUT HE GOT USE TO IT. I LIKE THE COVER WINDOW, IT KEEPS LITTER DUST FROM ESCAPING, AND I USE FRESH STEPS LITTER, AND IT SMELL FRESHER IN THE AIR WITHOUT THE DUST.
I HAVE A SMALL APARTMENT, AND I HAVE GOT TO PUT THE BOX IN THE BATHROOM. I USE A BOOT TRAY UNDER THE BOX TO CATCH THE LITTER AS THE CAT STEPS OUT OF THE BOX.
THE MAIN PROBLEM WITH THIS BOX, IS THE TWO SECURE SLIDE LOCKS ON THE SIDES, TO SECURE THE LID, SLIP OFF. THEY SIMPLY CANNOT HOLD THE WEIGHT OF THE BOX, WHEN I TRY TO LIFT THE BOX UP TO CLEAN THE BOOT TRAY.
FOR THE LID TO BE SECURED, THEY NEED TO WRAP AROUND THE SIDES AND CLAMP SHUT UNERNEATH TO THE BOX.. THERE ALSO NEEDS TO BE FOUR OF THEM, FOR SUCH A LARGE BOX. I CAN REMOVE THE BOOT TRAY BY LIFFING UP THE BOX OF THE BASE, AND PULLING IT OUT, THEN PUSHING THE BOX BACKWARDS ONTO THE TRAY.
I QUESTIONED PURCHASING THIS BOX, BECAUSE THE PEOPLE WHO DESIGN THESE LARGE BOXES DO NOT SEEM TO TAKE THIS LOCK PROBLEM INTO ACCOUNT.
THE OLD LITTER BOX DESIGN, WITH COVERS HAVE THIS SECURE FEATURE. THIS WAS VERY SECURE, WHEN LIFTING IT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Racer308d
from Moore, OK
I have two cats, one about 12 lbs and the other 15lbs., and decided to go with the jumbo size. This box is huge and has more than enough room. The hinged door not only allows them more privacy, but it also keeps any odors in and hides most scratching sounds too--I usually never know either one is in there. The section of the lid that flips up is so very convenient--no more removing the whole hood to clean the litter box! Highly recommend this box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CatIt Hooded Cat Little Box

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
CarolS
from Shohola, PA
I bought 2 of them. I really like them but when I took one of them out of the box the little plastic knob that holds the door one was broken. Not a big deal for me as I leave the top open anyway but a bit disappointing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent litter box

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Catballou
from Michigan
This is the best litter box I've ever owned: and I've owned many. Works better than some of these high-dollar litter boxes out there. Keeps the litter off the floor. The main thing I like is that you don't get that "Litter paste" at the bottom of the litter box. If you're looking to purchase a new litter box, this is the one. I promise you will not be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well designed and big

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
chieyes
from chicago
I live in a small condo in the city and I have a large 13# cat. I bought this litter box to replace a standard pan, and I am very happy with it. It minimizes litter scatter, even if you leave the flap/top up. Since my cat is very big, I got the Jumbo one, which is perfect. The top is easy to lift and close for convenient scooping. The handle on top is also nice for moving it to clean around the space easily. I recommend this litter box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The big scoop

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
katyscat
from FL
This cat box really delivers! I have a huge cat and he loves this box....always the head or tail was extended over the sides...........not any more.
I love it because the top opens wide and makes scooping so much easier and neater. No litter any where outside the box.
I would recommend this to anyone I know with a big boy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great litterbox

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
kmh170
from Pittsburgh, PA
This litter box is huge. I have a large 20-month-old male Bombay who is picky about his boxes. When he became too tall for his previous "jumbo"-sized box, he refused to use it with the top on...And since I don't like looking at and smelling his business, this was not okay. This box is a good 3 inches taller than any other box that I've tried, so my cat will finally use it. He doesn't like the swinging door on this box, but it's easy to keep it folded up so he doesn't have to.
This box is super easy to scoop with the top on, which is great. However, due to the large size, it needs a LOT of litter to have a good layer spread across the bottom. I'd say I'm using about 50% more litter than I was previously.
I received this box with only 3 of the 4 clips to hold the top on. I emailed Customer Service, and they quickly responded that they did not have any replacement clips nor any replacement boxes, but they would accept the box back for a full return or I could keep the box and get a $5 refund. I took the refund and bought an alligator clip from the hardware store--it's doesn't look great, but it does the trick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT litter box

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
kinoini
from Spokane Valley, WA
This very roomy box is designed perfectly. The top locks down tight using sliding bars, rather than snapping clips. No need to remove the top in order to scoop out the litter. The top has a door that easily flips up and provides ample room for scooping. The opening for visiting kitties is the largest I've seen compared to other large litter boxes I've owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleaning ease

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
MsRagdoll
from Houston,TX
The fold back top is a great feature. No more disassembling the litter box for daily cleaning! Nice neutral color and good size for adult cat. (The swinging entry door is easily removed if your cat prefers doorless entry to litter box.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This box rocks!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amm826
from Cedar Rapids, IA
It is big enough to fit my fat cat and the covertible top makes it perfect for cleaning and keeps the mess inside of the box!
Definitely recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extra large size

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Animaluver9
from Michigan
I would recommend this litter box for anyone with a very large cat! The problem I have always had a problem with the box being too small and urine being sprayed on the side of the box, thus causing additional smell. This box is a great size and depth. The door has easy access for my cat and it keeps my little dogs out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and LARGE litter box!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
LisaDawn
from Phoenix, AZ
This is a good litter box - it's huge, but then again, so is my cat, so that's the whole idea. It is pretty sturdy...the only thing is that it is SO LARGE that you have to put in so much litter that it's a bit of a chore to empty the entire box out for periodic cleanings. I use the liner bags, but they are not strong enough to hold all the litter unless I use the lightweight stuff. With that in mind, my review is that this is great if a tiny bit hard to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good box

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittycrew
from North Wales, pa
This litter box is one of the best I have purchased. it is vary durable and strong compared to others I've had that cracked and broke. I highly recommend this one!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Large little box but shipped without pieces.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maccaroni0
from Seattle, WA
This is a very nice size litterbox if you have multiple cats and I would've like it even more if it included the hood it was supposed to come with. It still works fine without the hood .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No longer cleaning up a messy floor!

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
918kiwi
from Palmdale, CA
I have two 3 year old female cats. One is 7 lbs, the other is 12 lbs. I don't know which one has the problem with missing the inside of the large open litter box I was currently using, but I'm assuming it is the larger of the two. Since getting this jumbo litter box the problem has been solved! I removed the front flap so it wasn't too intimidating for them. I didn't bother locking the lid to make it easier when having to remove it. I've had it 2 weeks now and I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 2 cats like it

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
WSNR
from scarsdale, NY
I bought this as a supplemental litter box. My male cat somehow detached the removable top with the flap which I needed 2 hands to take off. So I removed the flap (having been warned by others' reviews) and all was well. This has become their main box. I do not need to use liners, scooping is easy. I take off the whole cover as it is just easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never too old to change!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
KSGrams
from Shawnee, Kansas
My two 7-year old kitty girls have successfully made the conversion from an open litter box to the new Catit Hooded Box. I purchased the Jumbo as my Tortie is a big girl and the Jumbo fits her perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>