petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

Provides privacy while retaining the litter inside the panIdeal for multi-cat householdsBag anchor frees hand for easy scoopingCarbon filter traps and reduces odors
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
5 stars
79
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
99 out of 106(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Product

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ambler, PA
I recently bought a second box of this size because it's a perfect size for our medium-size cat. It fits under our laundry room tub and is easy to use and carry! I did remove the door flap on both boxes for easier entry and scooping. A great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prevents smells

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
I highly recommend this litter box. I buy the jumbo sifting litter pan liners for the inside which makes cleaning litter so much easier and keeps smells away. I sift it every other day with those liners which take only a few minutes. It's my choice to use sifting bags it's not mandatory. I wanted everything stinky free.
You can keep the flappy door up or down. Whatever your cat prefers. I took my cats to the litter box the day I bought it off and on so they would for sure use it and had no problems. They really seem to like the privacy. Absolutely no smells in my apartment. I also use Scoop away Extreme smell litter. Best litter I found.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for the price

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh,pa
I got the jumbo size is big enough for a very large cat. I also removed the door because both my cat are older and never used a covered box. . They both used right away no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jumbo size

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from West Portsmouth,OhJumbo size
With seven cats we need the room and all the cats seem to like it also. No problem with any of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Large litter box

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Too tall. Parts missing, locking apparatus not functional.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, a solution!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Monterey, CA
My two cats were kicking litter all over my house. Dust was also a huge problem. With this new litter box, both problems have virtually disappeared. My older cat also claws everywhere, but the litter box to cover his mess. At least with the hood, he can no longer scratch the wall & damage the paint. Overall, a wonderful solution!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Have 5 cats, bought 3 of the boxes. Cats love the room inside to move & turn around. I love that the litter isn't being kicked out the back - and that urine is not going "accidentally" on the wall behind the box. I have a 18 year old boy that loves to go high. This actually eliminates that problem without leaking!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very convenient litter box

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NC
This litter box is awesome and convenient…all you have to do is lift the small door upward to clean out. You don’t have to take the whole top off. The jumbo litter box is ideal for large fat cats. The only problem is the exposed top filter. My cat likes to chew on it but I placed a small metal fan cover with twist ties and she leaves it alone. If you can be creative with that one issue, this litter box is a keeper.
The delivery was super fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied Customer!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis
Needed a second litter box, I tried several others but was never satisfied. I had this box and was only able to locate it online through Petco. The entry ledge is perfectly suited for my aging cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy access

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rochester ny
This box is easy to clean, and most important, easy for my 18 year old to get in and out of.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic cat box

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from oakland, ca
This is the 3rd design of cat box we have purchased and I am very happy with it....nice and deep and big enough for my large cat. Its size is great for my limited space. What's really convenient is that the top folds half way back for simple, easy cleaning and the front entrance has a design to hold a bag open while you scoop! This little dynamo is a great cat box. Good price too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This box works.

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Central Texas
Grey, one of my cats, requires a lid and in the past we installed shields up the sides of boxes to keep everything in the litter box! This box keeps everything wet inside and cleans easily - has solved all of our leakage problems with Gray.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA
Great size for two cats. This is the second one I have had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to clean

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, WA
This unit gives my cat ample room to move around in. I like the swinging doorway that acts as privacy and odor deterrent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I Needed

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bend, OR
The Hagen CatIt Litter box has a high backed tray that keeps urine inside the box. This was a big problem with my previous box AND the front lip that faces into the box is doing a great job of keeping sand inside. Our enthusiastic digger was always throwing sand out onto the floor. The hatch on the top is nice for cleaning without removing the entire top although it is a tiny bit small but that's ok. This box is doing just what I had hoped so I could not be more satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not quite big enough...

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ca
I have a 25lb. cat named Darth (yes, D. Vader) - its important I keep him happy - the Force is strong in this one - & he can't fit comfortably in this box, so I'll try the "mega" covered box...its to bad, because this one is relatively easy to clean, with the flip-up door...oh well, deal with the forces of the Empire we must....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fat cat friendly

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
The jumbo size CatIt hooded litter box is the best litter box for my cat. My cat is a big girl (about 12 lbs and long haired) and needs a very big litter box to turn around in.
The top latches securely to the base, creating a nice seal. If my cat ever urinates against the inside of the box (which she does often because she doesn't always squat), the urine can't leak through that seal. When latching the top to the base, I turn the entire box upside down (when it's empty of course) to make sure all four latches have engaged with the holes in the base.
The lid comes with a clear, solid door flap which can be snapped off; it's not meant to be removable, so once it's broken off, it's off for good. Removing this flap lets my cat poke her head and front legs out of the litter box while she's using it.
There's a flap on top of the lid that flips backward, allowing you easier access to scoop the contents. This flap is great. It keeps me from having to disassemble the entire box to scoop it daily, and it lets in light so I can see what I'm digging around in.
My cat used the smaller version of the CatIt hooded litter box for about a month recently, and it just wasn't big enough for her. I could tell she was unhappy (cat moms always know). Now she's back to the JUMBO size box and is happy, happy, happy.
If you have a large cat, please get the JUMBO box! Get the correct size litter box for your cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for alot of cats

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I have 6 cats at the present time. 2 are large ones. While hesitant at first, now they use the box which is big enough for the 17# Siamese. Started with the door flap open and it worked well. Like the bag holder for ease with scooping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Listed measurements incorrect

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA
If only this product had the correct measurements listed on the website... I was looking for a new litter box for my kittens who are now 1 year old and have grown quite a bit since their first litter. I also wanted something with a hood. So I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews to find this box.
If this product had been as big as listed, it would have worked. But it is only 21 inches long (not 22) and barely just 16 inches wide (not 16.8). And that's from the outside--if you measure the inside of the box you loose 1-3 inches on each side, plus the front and back have a slight slope, so it really was as small as the current box I have.
I tried to exchange for the Jumbo box; even though the Jumbo is listed as ~19 inches wide (which is too big), I figured those measurements would be wrong as well and I might finally get a box big enough for my cats. And I liked the box enough that I wanted to stick with it.
I called the customer service line was told I could return the box to the store and receive a credit to my online account. At the store I was told the credit they provided to me could be used online. When I called to place the new order I was then told, no, I couldn't use my return credit to purchase online items. All in all, a disappointing experience.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hagen CatIt Hooded Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful and Pleasant Litter Box

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Conover, NC
I own two of these litter boxes and my cats are happy with the size and privacy offered by them. I find the boxes and covers easy to clean and pleasant even when placed in a bedroom. One of my cats insists on standing to urinate so it prevents the wall and floor from being soiled. YEAH!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>