petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown

Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown

Two-story design gives your pets optimal living spaceLockable hatch keeps your rabbit hutch safe and securePull-out plastic tub makes cleaning fast and easyTop and front entry doors afford easy access to your petsRabbit cage features tight bar width - ideal for baby rabbits
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
12 out of 22(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Review 1 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
rabbitadopter
from Kentucky
I ordered this hutch before & was very unhappy (not all the pieces came and some of the pieces were wrong, but the manufacturer replaced everything that was missing or wrong) THIS TIME, though, everything was in the package and all the pieces were correct, and there were some small improvements to the design, such as the piece that blocks the ramp is now hinged and attached to the hutch. If, this is typical of all their packages, this is a HUGE IMPROVEMENT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown SKU: 1383426

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leo22dontshop
from Melbourne, Fl.
Poor quality did not tolerate the shipping process arrived damaged. Made of the cheapest material a company could find. The only thing good about it is the design.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than expected.

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ewesty
from Orange, CA
We bought this for our bunny and we were excited to get it on sale. It arrived earlier then expected and in good condition. The assembly was easy, as long as you have two people working on it. An electric drill is a must for assembly.
If you plan on moving this cage around while assembled you will need to put a screw through the back wall into the ramp so it dosen't drag when moving.
Besides that all is good. Better than expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what i was expecting

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
magicalninja
from Cambridge, MN
The wood is really flimsy and the part where the ramp is tends to fall out easily. The directions weren't clear enough but its a nice house for my rabbits. Can't wait for the snow to melt so they can use the bottom half.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to put together

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
PetsforKim
from Texas
This hutch was easy to put together. However, the directions are not adequate. It left off several steps. Also, the pull out tray is not as easy as I would like for it to be and it arrived broken.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rabbit Hutch

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kats48
from Oregon
2 story had a piece broke off & scratches! The front don't fit the holes to the sides of cage! Part of back is missing! Looks like 1 other piece is missing! Need to bring it back or someone proof I am wrong & put it together! I have put another one together about a year ago did not have all these complications!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best ever!!!!!!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
boogie1999
from mississippi
I purchased this hutch for my two guinea pigs. I got this so fast. The box was in great shape. i set it up withen 45 min it was super easy. the only thing wrong with this is that the wood is on the bad side of the quality but it shoul hold. my tow piggies have so much mor spece than before. you could fit 4 guinea pigs and 2 rabbits. it woul not be good for other small animals. this it the best product. i hope this stament helps you find this the baest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

There's Much Better Options

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kiki123
The first problem was that the hutch came with parts missing, but that was the company's fault. (They sent replacements) Now, when people say the wood is cheap and splinters, they aren't lying! My hutch came with sections splintered. Also, the directions are not easy to follow. I found an "eco dog house" at petco by the brand Planet Petco and decided to purchase one to use as a rabbit hutch, since I was so unhappy with this one. That dog house was sooooo easy to assemble, doesn't splinter, and was 1/2 the price of this hutch. Bottom line, there are better options than this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so great

PostedApril 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
bunnylove2
from New York, NY
I was happy with Petco because the product arrived within 5 days. As soon as the box arrived I noticed the box was all ripped and falling apart. When I opened the box and laid out all of the pieces I noticed a large piece of wood had split off the side of the roof. I decided to keep building. The building only took me about 30 minutes, I did it by myself with only a drill... but then I got to the roof. That was the difficult part of the building process. Overall, the cage had many damaged pieces that worked fine but just didn't look nice. I think for the price it is okay. It is enough room for my two satin mixes. Easy to clean. I liked that the cage didn't have wire flooring also. I think the product needs some improvement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
wiseshopper79
I raise guinea pigs and just bought the trixie hutch. it works excellent for them. I will definitely b buying another one soon. my guinea pigs love bein able to go to the lower level during the day and having their private sleeping area at night. would recommend to all and such a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not awesome but works!

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Newbbunnylady
from Craigmont, Idaho
For the price it was flimsy but it works. I hope it lasts through the weather. I also would have liked a wire floor in the big upstairs area. Hopefully she doesn't dig in the dirt on the bottom floor bc it also doesn't have wire.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My rabbitt is enjoying the size.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rontx
from Dallas tx
It was easy to assemble. and the rabbitt loves the room . she is either up in the private room or laying out in the down stairs play area. I can see she's a happy rabbitt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beauty is only skin deep.

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MochikosMom
from Oakland, CA.
The hutch looks great, it even looks strong from the outside.This hutch ,made in China, is mostly Balsa Wood and veneering, it may only last 6 months.
(It may not stand up to a bunny sneeze.)I'm giving it a chance, I don't feel like sending it back or disappointing my kid after all, the price was right.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Hutch is IMPOSSIBLE!

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pumpirongirl23
from Tampa, Florida
I am sad to say, that this rabbit hutch is one of the worst I have ever owned. I ordered this hutch back in October of 2011 for my classroom pet bunny, Trigger. I was so excited because it was large, roomy, and gave my pet a great amount of room. With this said, the cage isn't well made. The wood chips easily and the ramp that runs from the top to the bottom of the hutch has completely fallen off, exposing 2 sharp nails that could possibly hurt my rabbit. The other con, is that it is almost IMPOSSIBLE to clean. The bottom of the hutch only has a few small doors that open, making cleaning up the mess downstairs difficult. I am hoping to replace this hutch with a one of better quality very soon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy guineas!

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
GPLover
from IL
We bought two of these for our four guinea pigs. I wanted them to have a lot of room to be able to roam around and also to be able to let themselves out into the grass if they wanted during the day! They love the cages. They popcorn all the time and love running up and down the ramp. The added bonus is that I essentially no longer have to mow the back yard since we end up having to move each hutch every day. It is great though. They love standing up on the door to beg when they hear us outside.
The only downside is that some of the hardware was missing when we received each hutch. However, each box was also torn up, so I am not sure if the hardware was never packed or if it fell out during shipping. It was easy enough to fix though; no biggie.
We have only had the hutches for two or three months now. I am anxious to see how long they will last since they were rather expensive and guinea pigs live 7 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

trixie rabbit hutch

PostedMay 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
NicOB
from LI, NY
Upon receipt of this hutch, i opened the box to find that the wood on the roof was completely cracked down the entire length and the wood had completely come off. I contacted customer service and i am being sent a new roof as the one i have is not usable. The quality of the hutch is poor- the wood is very thin and not sturdy. It is visually appealing and a nice size, however i'm almost afraid to put it outside because i don't think it would withstand the elements. It's not worth over $200.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am very pleased with this product

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
rnea50
from Avon, OH
This hutch is great. It's was easy to assemble, easy to clean, and I love the size. I like the two levels; I hated to see my rabbit in a small starer cage where he has no room to get any exercise. I started looking around for a larger hutch and when I found this one, I thought it would be a good fit.
Upon delivery, I found a small portion of the wood was damaged so I emailed customer service. I was very pleased to have the part shipped to me very quickly.
I highly recommend this cage to all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
RabbitsX2
from Mississippi
I am very disappointed. The quality is very poor, very thin wood and the hardware is rusting after only 3 weeks. I was in a hurry or I would have returned it. The roof hardware / hinge was broken upon delivery. It is sold as an outdoor hutch but it is not durable. I have already spent about 45$ in modifications - additional hardware (roof blew open the first night) and wire for the bottom (most bunnies will dig). I would only reccomend this hutch for indoor use. It it advertised as easy to clean but not if your bunnies use the bathroom on the bottom floor. THe hutch needs to be moved weekly or you will have to get on your hands and knees to clean out the bottom floor. Not very sanitary for the bunnies.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rabbit Condo

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
BooRadley
Great delivery. Easy transaction. I called Petco and was read a description that led me to believe that there was a wire mesh floor on the second floor--which it really needs. It is possible I misunderstood. The bottom level have 4 doors which you think would make it accessible, but it is very inconvenient if you have it in the home vs. outdoors. The doors are too small to put a litter box in. It definitely would not hold up to outside exposure. I like it, but it has some design flaws and is not suitable for outdoors. I have two rabbits and there is enough room for them, but barely. Mine are about 5 lbs each, and it is tough for them to get through the ramp doorway that leads upstairs. It would be good for a minature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Peaked Roof in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

rabbit hutch

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
momof4kids
top was messed up , parts where missing. Was really unhappy with this product . Probably would have been good had all the pieces been there and not been messed up . I would suggest buying in the store , not online maybe and sending back if its messed up we didnt have a choose rabbits needed a place to go asap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>