petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown

Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown

Outdoor rabbit hutch features spacious two-story design that gives your pet optimal living spaceEquipped with lockable hatch to keep your pet safe & securePlastic-coated base ensures quick and easy cleaning and virtually hassle-free maintenanceTop & front entry for easy access to your petPlease note: water bottle and bowl in picture are not included in this rabbit hutch kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.816 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
3
28 out of 38(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Review 1 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this hutch!

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
dogscatsrabbitsohmy
from Annapolis MD
I got this for my bunny I rescued. She is a cotton tail rabbit. I had her living in a dog cage think I could adopt her out but she is so afraid and can get a little moody. I decided to keep her and convinced my mom to buy a hutch for her. I searched and found this one and I love it but it has some problems also.
-I got the medium size for 1 large rabbit and it’s the perfect size
-I love all of the easy access that is gives me
-Perfect for the harsh weather in Maryland
-Does not have mesh on the top so my bunny does not get sores on her feet.
-Big upper half of the hutch
-Hatch to close off bottom/upper half
Problems
-When my bunny goes to the bathroom the 'fluid' leaks through the tiny openings
-Bottom half is a bit too small, getting an attachment
-Bunny has chewed all of the wood prayed the wood with 'Chew Ick' and she has not touched the wood.
-You will need to move it often because the grass dies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kind of small!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
vlyxnoll
The width and length dimensions are actually for the roof, but the cage itself is about 3" shorter than listed because of that. Not a huge deal but that's why I can't give it a perfect rating. I read other reviews saying the wood was split when it arrived but mine was in perfect condition. As for assembly, it was very easy and took me about 20 minutes (most of this time was spent trying to find my drill). My lionhead dwarf loves the top level of the hutch, especially the smaller half.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
gsdfan15
from Palos Heights,Il
Had no idea that this cage did not have a wire bottom on the top half. It has a slide out tray so there is not a level surface for the rabbit to walk on. Did not know this until it was being put together. I would not have bought it. Now we have to figure put how to fix it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! Love it!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Colleen1991
from Deale, MD
Amazing hutch! Way bigger than expected! Bunny Loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect in-house hutch

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
RaccoonBrat
from Jonesboro, AR
We "inherited" a medium size rabbit that someone didn’t want anymore. It turned out that he had a friendly and social personality, but we needed a hutch for inside our house. We chose the hutch sold by Petco because it was a bit wider than other hutches being sold elsewhere.
As it is designed for outside use and we needed to make a bottom for it for inside use. We did this with a double floor made with ½ inch plywood. That gave us enough depth to counter sink the bolts needed to attach castors.
It has made a perfect hutch that we can roll it between the place we keep it, to where we can open the lower door to let the bunny socialize, or where it is easier to clean it.
It is very easy to clean. The drawer can be taken out which allows easy cleaning access to the lower part. We use a small handheld vacuum cleaner to pick up his bountiful scat.
The rabbit loves the hutch but does like to come out into our sunroom and socialize. When he is tired of visiting he returns to his home. We have been pleasantly surprised how enjoyable and lovable a rabbit can be and having a nice hutch that is easy to manage has made it even more pleasant to share our home with a rabbit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not sure about this....

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
dognbuns
from Rocklin, CA
I bought this in anticipation of getting two bunnies. From the description and pictures this hutch seemed like a great purchase. Now that we've received it and assembled it, I am not sure it is the right choice for two bunnies. The layout is a bit odd (trays, doors) and it seems a bit small. I don't have the bunnies yet, we'll see how it goes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok hutch

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelly12
from iowa
The hutch is very attractive and sturdy but I'm not sure how well it will hold up. The wood seems soft and is very accessible for chewing. But for now the rabbit loves it and loves being able to run around down below. I did have to put wire undernearth after one day as she figured out she could dig :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

MISSING PARTS

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
oh2b1043
from NC
The item shipped quickly but came with some duplicate parts (ramp and roof ridge) and missing 2 back panels. The pegs for the side walls and connecting beam did not line up, so I knocked them off (which they are only a guide for the screws) The directions are VERY vague and DO NOT explain all the steps. Just ordered the missing parts and so far the outside looks really nice. THAT's the only thing going good so far is the looks!?!?!?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product has some flaws

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvBunny
from Sherman Oaks, CA
We were excited to get our bunny such a great home, but after a few days discovered that the ramp up and downstairs was too harsh for our bunny's feet and turned them green (I have now covered it with non-slip mat). And the trays on the upstairs don't close flush and bunny's urine leaks through the wood and sprays everywhere (I had to cover with tape so now I can't open the trays). Looks good though!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Bunny

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floppy
from Brooksville, Florida
Very easy to assemble. Like the Idea that area on top section is plastic lined--easy to clean. Our bunny is potty trained so there is no need to have a wire over the removable tray (besides the fact that the wire is not good for bunny's paws). I also liked the idea of the different openings, which makes it easy to get to feed dish and water bottle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Hutch

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
OREOFamily
We are very pleased with the rabbit hutch. It was extremely easy and quick to put together. It is a very nice looking hutch. It works great for our one male dutch rabbit. He loves the ramp to play in the lower "open" area. I only wish there was a good place to hang a food bin. We put a bowl of food in the upper part of the hutch, but we have to watch he doesn't dump it. The only other thing that was a little weak is the bolt latch on the upper portion. As colder weather approaches our area, we will likely replace the latch with a sturdy one. We do not want him to get out because the latch wasn't closed properly.
Overall, I would recommend this hutch for others with a single rabbit. We really do like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easiest Assembly

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
DiddlebopGirl
from Austin, TX
First, we are new to the world of rabbits and needed something for my daughter's 4-H project. This item appears to be perfect for our purposes. The screws were well marked; the pieces were sturdy and fit together well. I was able to do this alone in less than 30 minutes.
I only gave the item 4 paws, because I truly wish wheels were attached so that we could move the rabbits to fresh grass periodically. I think I'll buy some prior to their arrival next week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trixie Natura Rabbit Hutch with Enclosure

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linora
from Berwick, Maine
I just got a new bunny and so I immediately ordered this hutch offline, but I was expecting a little less than what I got. The hutch has a closed room, semi open room up top, and a fenced in bunny "playground" down below. Not only is the hutch made out of sturdy wood, unlike other hutches I've had, but it also has a fully coated roof that keeps the weather out of the hutch. At night I always close the door to the downstairs so I know my bunny is sleeping and not playing all night long. She loves the hutch! I was afraid she wouldn't go downstairs because she's 8 weeks old and a little timid but she loves to hop around through the whole hutch. Everyone who has stopped by to see her says how surprised they are at how the hutch is actually built (they expected much less than me). I really enjoy this product and so does my bunny, and as long as she loves it so do I!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Assembly & Great Quality!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
zanny
from Livermore, CA
I'm a stay at home Mom and I put this thing together in about an hour. Even with minimal instructions, it was a piece of cake and is sturdy as can be. It's also pretty heavy so I'm not concerned about it blowing away. I was concerned about the many reviews that said it came damaged etc. There was no damage at all. I specifically ordered it from Petco because they said I could just return it to one of their stores if there was a problem. We went with the smaller one and I'm glad I did. It's plenty big for one bunny. We don't have our bunny yet, so can't say how the bunny will like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmberMN
from NH
This was fairly easy to put together, i was able to do it by myself, it took me a little over an hour. Is very sturdy & this is actually the 2nd of this exact model that i have bought. I would recommend this product. Big enough for 1 full size bunny or maybe 2 small sized bunnies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snowballs new home

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Romer
Everything is good for the price the only thing is with the pull out tray, there is NO wire on top of the tray to keep my bunny from falling through to the bottom while im cleaning out the tray. Other than that it was easy to put together and only took about an hour. Still waiting to hear back from the company about the wireing on top the tray.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made, rabbits love it

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
pooka1
from Miami, Fl
This hutch is fairly easy to put together. Its well made. I feel my rabbits are safe and secure in it. Easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hutch Not Functional

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
rabbitowner11
from MN
This hutch (which arrived slightly damaged) was totally non-functional for our outdoor rabbit. Food and water trough were in awkward places, not much room for the rabbit, and not set up for the way a rabbit would naturally live (a lack of "design thinking" in this product). After assembling the hutch and discovering its awkwardness (so we did not return for a refund), we had to order another, more functional, logical hutch for our Rex rabbit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as big as I thought

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
onemorecage
from long beach, ca
The description said 20 x 40 , it is actually 18 x 38. The wood is very soft. Serveral pieces of wood werre cracked where screws we put in by factory when I received it. most obvious one was the front door where latch was attached. not the quality I expected...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage but damaged

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
minirexlover
from Salt Lake City, UT
The cage arrived a bit damaged. The wood on the sides at the top had split where the screws were attaching the slats to the legs. We were able to glue it and put in other screws, and it worked great after that. My Mini Rex loves being outside again. I have attached a baby gate in a semicircle around the opening to give him a bit more room to run around. All in all, I like the hutch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>