petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown

Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown

Outdoor rabbit hutch features spacious two-story design that gives your pet optimal living spaceEquipped with lockable hatch to keep your pet safe & securePlastic-coated base ensures quick and easy cleaning and virtually hassle-free maintenanceTop & front entry for easy access to your petPlease note: water bottle and bowl in picture are not included in this rabbit hutch kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.837 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
32 out of 43(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Review 1 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap wood - not "predator proof"

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central California
I was sent a hutch that had already been returned as damaged. The hutch I received had a broken left side panel, and it took several weeks to get a replacement.
When we finally did get the panel, we assembled the hutch and it is made of very light, cheap cedar. Several of the wood pieces split as soon as we tried to insert screws.
I will not be putting my bunnies outside in this hutch because it is not "solid" enough to be predator-proof. Because we are stuck with it, we will probably use it in the secured barn during winter. The top of the hutch could easily be opened by a crafty cat, or even pushed open by a big enough dog. The latches are not secure either - the one that goes with both top doors does align unevenly, so you can only really secure one door or the other, not both at the same time.
I still am going to buy or even build a better quality hutch to use outdoors.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very sturdy.

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is a well made product. Looks great. It was easy to assemble and arrived very quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok features

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lumberton, Texas
The only thing I was not happy with was the latch on the hutch rusted after just having the hutch for a few days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for!!!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lake Charles, LA
I bought this for my guinea pigs. They love being able to get to the fresh grass. It's already been through two rain storms and no swelling. Would definitely recommend this hutch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT DEAL

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ST PETE, FL
Ordered this for our dwarf bunny and he loves it! He is an indoor bunny and hoped that it looked like it's picture, so that it would be a nice addition to the house and IT WAS! VERY NICE cabinet with plenty of room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this hutch!

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Annapolis MD
I got this for my bunny I rescued. She is a cotton tail rabbit. I had her living in a dog cage think I could adopt her out but she is so afraid and can get a little moody. I decided to keep her and convinced my mom to buy a hutch for her. I searched and found this one and I love it but it has some problems also.
-I got the medium size for 1 large rabbit and it’s the perfect size
-I love all of the easy access that is gives me
-Perfect for the harsh weather in Maryland
-Does not have mesh on the top so my bunny does not get sores on her feet.
-Big upper half of the hutch
-Hatch to close off bottom/upper half
Problems
-When my bunny goes to the bathroom the 'fluid' leaks through the tiny openings
-Bottom half is a bit too small, getting an attachment
-Bunny has chewed all of the wood prayed the wood with 'Chew Ick' and she has not touched the wood.
-You will need to move it often because the grass dies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kind of small!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
The width and length dimensions are actually for the roof, but the cage itself is about 3" shorter than listed because of that. Not a huge deal but that's why I can't give it a perfect rating. I read other reviews saying the wood was split when it arrived but mine was in perfect condition. As for assembly, it was very easy and took me about 20 minutes (most of this time was spent trying to find my drill). My lionhead dwarf loves the top level of the hutch, especially the smaller half.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Palos Heights,Il
Had no idea that this cage did not have a wire bottom on the top half. It has a slide out tray so there is not a level surface for the rabbit to walk on. Did not know this until it was being put together. I would not have bought it. Now we have to figure put how to fix it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! Love it!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Deale, MD
Amazing hutch! Way bigger than expected! Bunny Loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect in-house hutch

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jonesboro, AR
We "inherited" a medium size rabbit that someone didn’t want anymore. It turned out that he had a friendly and social personality, but we needed a hutch for inside our house. We chose the hutch sold by Petco because it was a bit wider than other hutches being sold elsewhere.
As it is designed for outside use and we needed to make a bottom for it for inside use. We did this with a double floor made with ½ inch plywood. That gave us enough depth to counter sink the bolts needed to attach castors.
It has made a perfect hutch that we can roll it between the place we keep it, to where we can open the lower door to let the bunny socialize, or where it is easier to clean it.
It is very easy to clean. The drawer can be taken out which allows easy cleaning access to the lower part. We use a small handheld vacuum cleaner to pick up his bountiful scat.
The rabbit loves the hutch but does like to come out into our sunroom and socialize. When he is tired of visiting he returns to his home. We have been pleasantly surprised how enjoyable and lovable a rabbit can be and having a nice hutch that is easy to manage has made it even more pleasant to share our home with a rabbit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not sure about this....

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rocklin, CA
I bought this in anticipation of getting two bunnies. From the description and pictures this hutch seemed like a great purchase. Now that we've received it and assembled it, I am not sure it is the right choice for two bunnies. The layout is a bit odd (trays, doors) and it seems a bit small. I don't have the bunnies yet, we'll see how it goes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok hutch

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from iowa
The hutch is very attractive and sturdy but I'm not sure how well it will hold up. The wood seems soft and is very accessible for chewing. But for now the rabbit loves it and loves being able to run around down below. I did have to put wire undernearth after one day as she figured out she could dig :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

MISSING PARTS

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NC
The item shipped quickly but came with some duplicate parts (ramp and roof ridge) and missing 2 back panels. The pegs for the side walls and connecting beam did not line up, so I knocked them off (which they are only a guide for the screws) The directions are VERY vague and DO NOT explain all the steps. Just ordered the missing parts and so far the outside looks really nice. THAT's the only thing going good so far is the looks!?!?!?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product has some flaws

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sherman Oaks, CA
We were excited to get our bunny such a great home, but after a few days discovered that the ramp up and downstairs was too harsh for our bunny's feet and turned them green (I have now covered it with non-slip mat). And the trays on the upstairs don't close flush and bunny's urine leaks through the wood and sprays everywhere (I had to cover with tape so now I can't open the trays). Looks good though!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Bunny

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brooksville, Florida
Very easy to assemble. Like the Idea that area on top section is plastic lined--easy to clean. Our bunny is potty trained so there is no need to have a wire over the removable tray (besides the fact that the wire is not good for bunny's paws). I also liked the idea of the different openings, which makes it easy to get to feed dish and water bottle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Hutch

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
We are very pleased with the rabbit hutch. It was extremely easy and quick to put together. It is a very nice looking hutch. It works great for our one male dutch rabbit. He loves the ramp to play in the lower "open" area. I only wish there was a good place to hang a food bin. We put a bowl of food in the upper part of the hutch, but we have to watch he doesn't dump it. The only other thing that was a little weak is the bolt latch on the upper portion. As colder weather approaches our area, we will likely replace the latch with a sturdy one. We do not want him to get out because the latch wasn't closed properly.
Overall, I would recommend this hutch for others with a single rabbit. We really do like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easiest Assembly

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
First, we are new to the world of rabbits and needed something for my daughter's 4-H project. This item appears to be perfect for our purposes. The screws were well marked; the pieces were sturdy and fit together well. I was able to do this alone in less than 30 minutes.
I only gave the item 4 paws, because I truly wish wheels were attached so that we could move the rabbits to fresh grass periodically. I think I'll buy some prior to their arrival next week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trixie Natura Rabbit Hutch with Enclosure

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Berwick, Maine
I just got a new bunny and so I immediately ordered this hutch offline, but I was expecting a little less than what I got. The hutch has a closed room, semi open room up top, and a fenced in bunny "playground" down below. Not only is the hutch made out of sturdy wood, unlike other hutches I've had, but it also has a fully coated roof that keeps the weather out of the hutch. At night I always close the door to the downstairs so I know my bunny is sleeping and not playing all night long. She loves the hutch! I was afraid she wouldn't go downstairs because she's 8 weeks old and a little timid but she loves to hop around through the whole hutch. Everyone who has stopped by to see her says how surprised they are at how the hutch is actually built (they expected much less than me). I really enjoy this product and so does my bunny, and as long as she loves it so do I!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Assembly & Great Quality!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Livermore, CA
I'm a stay at home Mom and I put this thing together in about an hour. Even with minimal instructions, it was a piece of cake and is sturdy as can be. It's also pretty heavy so I'm not concerned about it blowing away. I was concerned about the many reviews that said it came damaged etc. There was no damage at all. I specifically ordered it from Petco because they said I could just return it to one of their stores if there was a problem. We went with the smaller one and I'm glad I did. It's plenty big for one bunny. We don't have our bunny yet, so can't say how the bunny will like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Trixie Natura Animal Hutch with Enclosure in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NH
This was fairly easy to put together, i was able to do it by myself, it took me a little over an hour. Is very sturdy & this is actually the 2nd of this exact model that i have bought. I would recommend this product. Big enough for 1 full size bunny or maybe 2 small sized bunnies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>