petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree

Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree

Cat furniture tree provides a great place for exercise and playCat condo tree features multiple scratching posts, condos, hammock and laddersTwo condos are covered in plush material, perfect for lounging and nappingNatural sisal scratching posts satisfy your cat's scratching needsAttractive cat furniture can blend with the existing décor in almost any room
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Review 1 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Kitties LOVE this Cat Tree

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
When my husband and I were shopping for a cat tree, we needed one for an adult female tabby and two kittens - a male and a female - a tabby and a calico. The Mama Cat was pregnant when we took her in; we kept two of her kittens and re-homed the other two. We purchased the tree in September when the kittens were two months old. My point is that this tree is appropriate for all ages. We introduced Mama Kitty to the tree first, so the kittens would recognize that it was a safe place. They all warmed up to the tree within two days. Now we're shopping for another tree - so they'll have one upstairs and downstairs. If you have an especially large cat, this may not be a good option; the platforms are just right for Mama Kitty, who weighs 10 lbs., to take in the sun and for her to take her naps on. I don't think a Maine Coon would be very comfortable. We read the reviews about this product - keeping in mind that most folks won't review a product unless they are unhappy with it. Because we are so pleased with this tree, it was important for us to let other cat lovers know how much our family has enjoyed it. And we wanted to address the hammock issue we read about. Our kittens go absolutely crazy on the tree - showing the hammock no mercy. Our male kitten (6.5 lbs) sleeps on it regularly. It's still in tact. If it does pull apart from free, all you'll have to do is staple (large stapler) it back into place. Some of the carpet has become ragged as they do use the entire tree for scratching. But, once it becomes an eyesore, we will simply buy more material and fix it back up. This tree is kitty family approved; it has provided many hours of entertainment for the kitties and has brought lots of laughter into our lives as we've watched the kittens growing and developing their skills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My cats love it.

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I was hoping it would be a bit sturdier and the "carpet" on it is more like fabric. The cats, however, knew it was theirs even as I was putting the thing together. It is a nice piece and wasn't terrible to assemble even with the not great directions provided.
I do have one problem with it that I'm hoping the manufacturer or Petco can fix. Two of the screws and two washers are missing for the ladder bottom that is screwed into the upper cat caves. It looks like they are a different size completely for those two screws so I have nothing to take with me to a hardware store to find some on my own.
Otherwise, seems like a decent piece that the cats will enjoy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jungle Gym for kitten

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alabaster, AL
My kitten plays for hours on this and of course, takes her cat naps everywhere she can.
Best purchase for my kitten yet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very BIG Cat!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I purchased this item for my cat's brother who lives with my parents! He is HUGE and a SPOILED Prince! While putting it together, my two cats were bouncing all over it and hiding in the cubby holes. I was so happy the holes were as big as they were! This piece sits perfectly in my parents office in front of the windows where the Spoiled Prince can lounge and look out the windows as he pleases. He really is enjoying it and I am happy I found one that fit him perfectly!! The base is a nice size which makes it very stable!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great looking

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Myrtle Beach, SC
I ordered this since my older cats cannot climb as high as they used to and with the ladders and perches it seemed the best choice. I am disappointed in the quality of the covering material, it is thin and they show no interest in using it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price with discount

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
I bought this item when the 41% discount was offered. For that amount of money, this item does pretty good job. It is a bit smallish over all, like the size of the house and the hight of the ladder, but the structure is solid, and would endure a weight of multiple cats at the same time. The fabric is not the typical carpet fabric. It is rather a bit thinner fabric, but you will not need to worry about the fabric to be torned or broke. The top base is a flat board, no low partition around the four edges to support cat's body, but my cats don't mind at all. Cats can easily jump up to the second or even third floor without using the ladder, so this says this cat tree is rather smallish in size. Also my cats don't understand the concept of the hammock, but that's ok. I put a couple of cat toys in there, so they can play with them getting out of the hammock. Overall, good item with the discount I got (paid approx $80).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best design but long lasting

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mystic, CT
I have had this cat tree for three years and on the whole it has held up well. The hammock broke pretty soon after we got it, but the cats weren't interested in it anyway. We don't have the ladder to the ground attached and the cats normally jump over the ladder to the upper platform. But the sisal poles are great and they love the cubbies. We have a maine coon and she has no problem fitting in. We've had to tighten some of the screws over the years, but I don't worry about it falling apart.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

trixie not so hot

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from cal
two opposing trees with a ladder connecting the two together i just got this tree, and watching my cats play their is alot of movement. So, how bad will it be in 6 mos or a yr?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Revere, MA
Putting it together was easy, and it took all of five minutes for my cats, Hazel & Duke, to stake out their spots. I really love it, and it doesn't take a ton of floor space and the top tier is aligned with a window to the cats love surveying the neighborhood and getting their sunshine fix.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attractive and good quality piece!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I couldn't be more pleased with this Cat Tree! It's a better value than other similar products and has a sturdy base so there's no worry of it tipping like some would. I have 7 cats so that is very important and they all just love it. Was very easy to put together though the directions were bad, mostly in German with an unclear picture but if I could figure it out anyone could. The material covering it much nicer than expected, exceptionally soft and beautiful to look at making it a pleasant sight in living room. The hammock seems nice too but so far amazingly enough every one of my cats have completely ignored it. All around great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MO.
Our three girls were playing on this cat tree while Papa was putting it together! Other than one bolt missing, the overall quality of this piece of furiture was excellent :) They are on it several times a day playing, or just bird watching out the window....what a relief! Now maybe they will let me be while I'm writting or on the computer!!! Thanx :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not the best

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
the quality of this piece of furniture is poor. I brought this for my (2) 1 year old kittens and yes they love it but it's falling apart after 2.5 months... ladder broken, swing doesn't stay on, screw's come out... not a great product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good buy

PostedApril 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
I had to put treats on it at first, now they use. They haven't used the cubbyholes yet. It was simple to assemble and the one tool needed comes with it. Good buy for the price, especially if you have more than 1 cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cat Tree

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Front Royal, VA
This product is ok; pretty easy to put together; but not very sturdy. The swing wouldn't stay on and the screws kept stripping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Trixie DreamWorld Malaga Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from passaic, nj
I've put it together. It was easy. Construction solid
My cats love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.