petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree

Features multiple scratching posts, plush covered condo, lying hollows, playing roll and several platformsCan be secured to ceiling with included ceiling attachment13 natural sisal scratching posts are the perfect outlet for your cat's natural scratching needsA great way to save your furniture and carpet from wear and tear
Average Customer Rating:
4.485 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
31 out of 33(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Review 1 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Tall

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Everett, WA
This product was much taller than I pictured. My cat really enjoys the hammock feature, and uses it frequently to escape my dogs as well as just to nap. He doesn't use it as often as I'd like, but he's still getting used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice tree

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from hudson valley ny
First cat loves the hammock and the platforms are purrfect for her to watch the birds outside the window.
I would have given this tree a 5 paws rating but it came with an unpleasant odor of mildew which I am hoping will fade (with the help of Lysol once a week )
It was fairly easy to assemble but the material on the platforms has already ripped at the base of one post during assembly. Carpet material would have been a better choice for platforms.
I also noticed our hammock hangs WAY lower than the ones in photos ( our 10 lb feline actually disappears into its depths :) I have taken the hammock off and hand washed it although it requires some effort to do and a day to hang dry.
If you're looking for a fair priced tree this will do but get it on sale.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cats Love It!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Santa Monica, CA
Both my 2 lb kitten and my 12 lb adult cat love this tree. The kitten sleeps in the tube at the top, and the adult hangs out in the hammock. It was easy to assemble and looks good too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product, confusing directions

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oshkosh, WI
I ordered this cat tree for my two cats for Christmas. It arrives in 2 boxes each weighing approx 30 pounds. The directions to build this cat tree were in German, what little directions there were that is. The print was tiny and the pieces were not all labeled, plus we were missing a few washers to it together (thank goodness my husband had some in his workshop). There was a diagram to follow to build the cat tree, but it would have been better had all the posts and platforms been labeled the same on the diagram and on the actual pieces- made it quite confusing when trying to build. All in all, it is a very sturdy cat tree and my cats love it. I would recommend that you lay out every post to make sure you know what goes where when building this, as some posts look the same even though they have slight differences... and those differences will make building this cat tree more difficult if you use the wrong post in the wrong place and then have to disassemble the tree to change out a part.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Positives and negatives

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from southeast WI
Our medium sized cat loves this tree - shoots up it like a squirrel! The ceiling brace keeps it sturdy enough for the job. Hammocks are basically useless - cat ignores them. Cloth covering on platforms is thin and the supplied hardware is barely adequate. Purchased during black friday sale - a decent value then. Recommendation to friend based on durability over time, which is doubtful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most popular place in the house!

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I bought this tree for the bird watching window in our living room, and with six cats it's hardly ever vacant! I like how some of the components can swivel and some are interchangeable; for example, I switched the square hammock with the play tube platform. They love climbing to the top to sleep, and the wire hammock frame doesn't get the wear and tear from cats jumping up from it. They scratch the posts at every level, love to play with each other from one platform to another, and the cave is nearly always occupied. As added bonuses, the plush is ridiculously easy to clean and the color is perfect with our decor. Disclaimer: Most of my cats are smallish, and my one big boy isn't much of a climber and just scratches and uses the cave.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice and tall

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Troy, OH
Nice cat tree with lots of different platforms. The only criticism that I have is that it's hard for my kitties to get to the upper levels due to having to use the hammock to jump from, and it must feel a little unstable to them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Substantial and Sturdy

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Royersford, PA
I have two rather large cats, and the heaviest (~13 lbs.) is the one who uses this cat tree the most. I'm hoping the other will warm up to it soon (he's less quick to love new things).
What I like about it: it's very sturdy and large, and offers lots of levels for hanging out, and the part that pushes up to the ceiling really strengthens it.
What could be better: a couple of larger lounging platforms, stronger hammock frames (for cats over 10-12 lbs.) , and more staggered levels. It's a high jump to/from a level that allows access to higher places. Also, if my 8ft ceiling was even a hair lower, I would not have been able to fit the ceiling piece onto the top of the tree.
Overall it's a very sturdy tree, it looks great in our living room (really!) and a great value (I got mine on sale, but the full price is already reasonable).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

anderson

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from davenport,Ia
I just want to say that my cat loves this cat tree. He plays in all day and sleeps there all night. Thank you so much Petco team for making my awesome cat so much happier!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oxford, Ohio
Exceeded expectations. Excellent quality, ease of assembly. Cats love it. Looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cat tree

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I assembled this product today and my 1.5 year old cat loves it! Overall, it was not very difficult to set up. However, I was unable to assemble the hanging ring on the cat tree due to what appears to be a product defect. Also, the top piece of the cat tree could not fit as my ceiling was too low. The tree arrives quickly in two boxes. The tree is a bit wobbly but I do not worry about the tree falling over. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone! Even my dog seems to be interested in the cat tree!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from massachusetts
recieved product in a timely matter. too tall for my apt. but with a little revising we can make it work. (we knew this before ordering). shelves are good for our little cat but our red point siamese seems unsure about it, seems he's too big to fit. all in all if you have a medium to small cat this product is a good deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stellar cat tree

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Eugene, OR
I ordered this cat tree about a week ago and it arrived bright and early this morning. I live in a small studio apartment, so I thought this 8' cat tree would provide some nice vertical space for my extremely active, 5 month old kitten. It was very easy to put together by myself and my kitten seems to have really taken to it quickly. She loves the lying hollows and the cubby hole. She only weighs 5 lbs right now, so she easily fits into all parts of the tree but I don't imagine she'll be able to fit into the cylinder at the top for much longer as she barely fits into it now. My favorite thing about this tree is the tension piece that secures the whole thing to the ceiling virtually eliminating any wobble that might occur when my kitten plays. There's no way she could knock it over and the piece is covered in plush so it doesn't damage the ceiling at all. This product is amazing and a must have for any active cat household.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puurrrfect

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
I wish decent human furniture was as cheap as AWESOME kitty furniture! Kitties hate change, so it took a little while for them to get used to it, even after having the tree baptized with catnip. After 3 days it was like it had always been there! Great quality, fast shipping, fairly easy to assemble (less than an hour). My boy cat loves the hammocks, while my girl likes the hiding place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cat Tree

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Awesome cat tree! My cats love it! It is the best and cheapest floor to ceiling cat tree on the market!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trixie DreanWorld Madrid Cat Tree

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Binghamton, NY
I love this cat tree! My cats love it even more! Putting it together was very simple, I live alone so I put it together myself, as long as you read the directions, it goes together easily. It's very sturdy, I have 2 fairly large very active cats and they run up and down this tree and it doesn't move. The one I use to have would move and one time they knocked it down.They can't move this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cat Gym

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chico, CA
Both my cats love this product. Pretty easy to put together. Great product, especially for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a disappointment!

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Troy, IL
I bought this product because it had excellent reviews, it could fit in a narrower space, it had several platforms, and it went to the ceiling. I was very disappointed after it was put together. Specifically: the poles for the column with the paddle shaped hammock are slightly shorter than they should be. This causes the top platform and the cat tree to slant downward and lean on that side. The paddle shaped hammock and the bottom platform are both only fabric around a wire frame. There is no support underneath for the cat to use. Consequently he doesn't like either one of those features and won't get on them. There are 2 platforms, with one directly over the other. The only way the cat can get up to the higher one is to pull himself up from the side. He can't jump from the hammock since there is no support. A note of caution: if your ceilings are over 8' tall (ours are 9"), the cat tree won't touch the ceiling.
The cat likes the idea of having a cat tree. He was taking a flying leap, using a chair as a springboard to jump up to the 3rd platform from the top. My husband is going to fix the cat tree, but isn't happy about it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What kind of ceilings was this designed for?

PostedApril 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Saint Joseph, MO
It went together pretty easily, the only issue I have is that when I got to putting the top post on it barely fit between the ceiling and the top platform (the ceiling is 8 ft which I thought was standard for most household ceilings) but to screw it on you have to lift it over the screw sticking up and you can't not put on the top post cause it's what secures the top platform (including an extra bolt in-case people want to not use the top post might be a good idea), so I had to take the box back off so I could lower the tower which was kind of awkward but I got it together and it looks great now I just have to use a piece of cardboard between the ceiling and the post to secure it, my cat is already laying in the hammock so she approves I'm assuming.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Trixie DreamWorld Madrid Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hoping the cats warm up to it

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Baker, LA
Bought this cat tower in December and just finally put it together. The cats continue to look it over but keep going back to the boxes it came in and fighting over them. I'm sure they will claim it as their own soon (right after I get rid of the boxes!) It was very easy to put together and seems pretty sturdy. I have lower than average ceilings, so had to leave out one of the scratching towers - which means it doesn't reach the ceiling, so isn't totally braced. That isn't a problem for me because it's placed in a corner, but wanted to let people know that may be an option if they aren't sure about the height.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>