petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree

Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree

Tall cat scratching post perfect for scratching and restingFeatures three large, plush-covered platformsFive sisal scratching posts cater to your cat’s natural scratching instinctsSpecialized cat furniture can draw your cat’s attention away from scratching home furnishingsTallest platform provides your cat with the height they desire in a resting spotPlush dangling pompom toy adds fun and excitementDimensions: floor area 15.75”x15.75”; height 46”
Average Customer Rating:
3.596 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
4
33 out of 52(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Review 1 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item for the Price

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blackthorne
from San Antonio, TX
While the top is slightly wobbly, once well-tightened, it is still a solid piece of cat furniture. I have cats that are vertical scratchers, and the length with the sisal is just right for their long reach. They are enjoying it immensely, each occupying a level. The grey is a pleasant grey that matches my modern furniture beautifully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the best

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
KareBear8197
from Clinton, MS
This is our second piece of cat furniture for our 2 cats. They seem to like it ok but it isn't very sturdy at all. We had to turn the first shelf in instead of out like the picture shows and we had to place a brick on the very bottom. It is still very wobbly and has fallen over at least twice when the kitties play. I seriously considered returning it but they like it alot so we just watch very carefully when they play on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
ThatCatMeebles
from Mesa, AZ
I got this early last year and I have to say it has held up pretty well! I originally got this for my oldest cat, Ducky he's a Norwegian Forest Cat and he is about 15 pounds, it was a little too small for him. I was disappointed, but we ended up finding a kitten and he LOVES it. He'll be 1 year on Halloween, but he is only around 7 pounds. Definitely for smaller cats in my opinion. (IT WILL GET WOBBLY AFTER AWHILE)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ladybug10262
from Lakeland, FL
Perfect size for any room and all 3 of my cats love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DreamWorld Altea Gray Cat Tree

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
RoxisMom
from Alpine, Ca
It looks good, but is wobbly. A bigger base would work better. It also needs shag carpet, so the cat can get it's claws into it. A little disappointing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ok if you can make it stable.

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
ocicat27
from Seattle, WA
Fair product. My cat prefers the rope scratches to the carpet scratches so I was glad to find a large rope scratch that was fairly inexpensive. The downside to this scratch is that it is very unstable. I have to have it against a wall so that the top tier and the base touch the wall for stability. This alone is not enough (I also tried using shims under the base but that wasn't enough either). What I did find worked was I added a third leg in a way. I put a small cat scratch under the first platform from the ground. This made the cat tree more stable. It still wobbles and my cat doesn't like to go up high on it at all but she uses the bottom. I will not purchase this product again. Then again it is not so bad that I can't use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cat tree

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
redk
from Duluth, MN
My cat loves this tree, she especially uses all the scratching posts. Races up the platforms one by one, by the time she gets to the top platform its not quite as stable but works for us since she is under 8 lbs. I would definitely buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice at first, but broke

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maevyn
from Springfield, MA
We've had this about three months, and it was great for our cat. But it's a bit unsteady, and she knocked it over the other day and the connector, which is just plastic, on the top scratching post and platform broke. She can still use it, but I had to take the top off as it was very unstable, and she liked to use the top platform.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cat Gift

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
uc510
from Union City, CA
I bought this furniture as a Xmas present for my kitties. They Love it! It does wobble a little bit as the cat climbs higher and higher, but overall it is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Loves It

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smamda
from Dallas, TX
If my cat doesn't have her own scratching post(s), she uses my furniture instead. This product is fantastic because it has 5 posts she can scratch on, and she uses all of them! She loves playing on it as well, since it has many different levels. It keeps her occupied even when I can't play with her. Great, sturdy product!
My cat is about 1.5 years old, playful, and has all of her claws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great tree my kittens love to play and sleep on!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chobitsu
from La Habra, CA
The tree came in early and my kittens LOVE tit!! BUT the company gave me the wrong supply without the screw for the top shelf... So I am stuck without the top finished. NOT satisfied. I called customer service and the screw hasn't come in yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not built to last

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
LouieT
If you have playful kittens, this Trixie is not for you. It's so unfortunate because our cat, just a little more than a year old, absolutely loved it. He loved lounging on it, and looking out the window. He loved sprinting through the house and leaping and climbing onto it, and attacking the ball.
We've had it since the end of September, and this week the top piece broke off the rest of the tree. There's no way to fix it, and now we're left with just the lower half. It wasn't the most expensive cat tree, but it's a big time bummer that it didn't last more than a couple of months.
Maybe spend your money wisely, go with a pricier item, and hope it'll last longer!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tower for the price

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bigwhite2312
from San Diego
I was looking for a cheap solution to getting my cat up to some shelves I installed for her to be above the computer office area. I have plenty of other towers, scratching posts, and 4x4s covered in carpet to climb between the first and second story. This purchase was purely for an area that the cat did not have an easy way to reach a shelf. That being said, I agree with some other reviewers, it is top heavy. I got around this by adding some heavy books to the bottom of the tower and now everything is just fine. Just for reference my cat is 12.5 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just bought a second one

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
GoGoGomez
from Cedar Lake, IN
This is an amazing deal!! It is tall and sturdy. I bought one for the upstairs and now I'm buying one for the sun room on the main floor. This cat tree is nice and tall which our cat loves. We got a stray from the Human Society and she wouldn't come out from under the bed until we got her this cat tree. Now two years later we are getting her another one for the sun room so she can watch birds and squirrels play in the yard. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit for a tight spot

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
PickyNickname
from San Jose, CA
This was purchased for a tiny corner. And it is doing a great job for the dynamic duo. The ball lasted about 2 hours on the given string. Otherwise, the scratching part seems to be keeping them away from all sorts of other places.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broke in 3 days :(

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bullylove08
from Michigan
Product came quickly. Was easy to put together but seemed flimsy. Within 3 days my kitten broke the top off. No way to fix it as the pieces connect with plastic. Not happy, will not order again. Next time I'll make one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
KitCat772
from Vero Beach, FL
Easy installation. My 5 month old kitty was playing with it before it was put together. He loves it! Plays, jumps and scratches it. Only day one, but hopefully this will keep him from scratching my furniture!!
Con: Its a little unstable when the cat jumps around the top, but cats have good balance so its not a worry :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent cat tree for a great price

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
AverageJoe2
from North Carolina
Although this isn't the best cat tree I have ever used, it's definitely not bad for the low price. The major complaints would be that it needs to be weighted down in order to prevent it from rocking and possibly falling over. This is easy to fix by placing something heavy on the base. My other complaint would be that the carpeted parts are covered in the type of "carpet" that doesn't lend itself very well to cats' claws. It's more like a faux fur cloth. My cats have a hard time getting their claws into it and climbing. Actual carpet would be better. Despite this, you can't beat the price for a cat tree this size. My cats love the sisal posts and the little rattling ball hanging from the top shelf. My large cat is about 13 lbs and he has no problem climbing without the tree falling over or breaking. Assembly was very easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun Cat Tree but....

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
CATA
from New York
My cat just loves this!!! It took him a day or two to feel comfortable with it, but now he even sleeps on top of it.
He climbs it just like a real tree. He is a 7 months old kitty and probably in a couple of months the tree might flip over if he tries to climb it. It would be great if the bottom part had some kind of weight that would keep it steady.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Trixie DreamWorld Altea Platinum Gray Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Item for the Price

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nathreen
from Glendale, CA
I chose to get this tree for my cat, who now weighs 12 lbs. I love the color and the height is perfect...just high enough for him to really enjoy. The only issue I have with it is the stability. Like most trees with only two legs, it is not stable on the top tier. We put two 20 lb weights from the weight bar we have on the bottom to make sure it didn't fall over. We also off-centered each level to help counter-balance each other. I knew this from other reviewer's comments prior to buying, knowing that I would need to figure something out for the balance, but didn't mind since the price was right. All in all, it is a good item for the price but is not designed all that well for balance. If you have a large cat...DO NOT BUY.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>