petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree

Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree

Features multiple scratching posts, plush covered condo, platforms, rope toy & moreWe've included a dangling plush toy & rope toy that will peak your curious little cat's interest6 sisal scratching posts are the perfect outlet for your cat's natural scratching needsA great way to save your furniture and carpet from wear and tear
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
7 out of 12(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Review 1 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just OK

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
KIKS
from Grand Junction, Co
The house part is way to small for even a medium size cat. It is cute and good structure but just disappointed in the size of the house and the landing part.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is not sturdy

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kittycat22
First off one base was missing a hole for one of the post. A bolt fell out of a post and only had it together for 2 days. It's not sturdy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wonderwoman160
from OKC, OK
I am a foster mom for kittens so this is perfect! They play on this instead of tearing my house apart, lol. Didn't take very long to put together by myself. Make sure u wear gloves, the rope is a little rough on your hands. I did turn the top ledge about 45 degrees to the right so it and the dangling toy are more accessible. The price & free shipping was fabulous! I would buy again in a heartbeat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too much work

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
mgautz
from Ypsilanti, Mi
This cat tree is made very cheap, there aren't even holes in the matieral where the screws go, you have to cut them yourself. It took my boyfriend and I about 3 hours just to assemble this. The directions are just pictures with no labels. I almost boxed it back up and returned it. Save yourself some time and buy a better brand. Not this one, totally awful
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The tall pole broke after 4 months.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
kickboogie
from New York, NY
I love the size of this cat tree as it fits perfectly in my apartment. But the tall pole with the bed on top broke after 4 months. We tried to fix it but discovered that the piece inside the base of the pole was made of plastic and had totally disintegrated. Had to go to the hardware store and get creative to fix it. A real pain. It is now stable but not perpendicular. Don't know why the company made the tall pole so unstable with plastic! BUMMED!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The directions stink but the product is great!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tortle
from New Haven, Ct
My first attempt at putting this thing together was a nightmare and ended up in three pieces needing to be replaced, mainly because the directions are not as clear as they should be. Petco was kind enough to have the parts replaced and once I tried again I got it right. It's sturdy and large and perfect for what I needed it for-so my kittens could watch the birds from the window comfortably. So, take your time with the instructions and be careful, and you'll have a great kitty condo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great scratching post

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
PlutoFan
from Orangevale, CA
The cat bed and cubbie are a bit small for our larger cats. Only our smallest can fit in the cubbie and even she can't turn around inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
TurtleLuv
from NC
Was looking for a tall fairly narrow cat tree that was decorative enough to be placed in the living room. This cat tree is much more appealing than the typical carpet-covered structure and less "crazy cat lady" than some of the other options. It took a while for my kitten to begin exploring and climbing, but now she seems to really enjoy the scratching post and the cubby. Other reviewers commented on the cubby size; it is small but it is perfect for a kitten and/or smaller cat. On the other hand, the perch is a bit unreachable- fortunaltey for my kitten, there is a nearby chair that can be used as a launching base; without it, I don't think she could get to the perch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth my money!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Midasthecat
I have a large 13lbs Tabby - not fat and have had this for 2 years (still standing) and I must say, my cat LOVES it and of course abuses it - literally!!! I set this by the window and he sleeps/ bird watch on it all the time.
Though the cubby hole is a little small, it doesn't bother me at all!! As long as he's on it and uses it I'm happy.
Definitely worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best scratching post ever

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missmiaou
from Los Angeles ca
My cat is enjoying this cat tree so much, he can play exercise and sleep on it, best purchase ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too small for almost all cats!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
irleshay
from Boston, MA
I'd read other reviews of this item being too small, but I assumed other people had fat cats. My cats are 9 and 10 pounds, but it's not necessarily a weight issue. The hole in the cubby is large enough only to let a kitten or very small breed of cat through. And the cubby itself is too small for an adult cat to be comfortable in. The top platform also didn't look big enough.
Size aside, the cat tree looked very nice. It's covered in super-soft fleece material and looks attractive. But all that is no good if your cats won't fit on or inside it.
I returned the item to a local Petco store and exchanged it for a less attractive cat tree. But it's the right size and the cats love it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trixie DreamWorld Salamanca Cat Tree
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hellokitty774
Overall good product. Easy to assemble. You need something sharp and long to poke whole through one of the boards that is covered with carpet. My kitty loves to play with the mice that are in the cubby hole. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.