petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval Chi Aquarium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Fluval Chi Aquarium

Desktop fish tank designed to support positive energy flow or chiProvides a stylish, contemporary look that compliments existing décorLED lighting provides gentle and harmonious glowIncludes filtration system and filter mediaSmall aquarium is perfect for the office, dorm room or a home countertop
Average Customer Rating:
3.348 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
29 out of 46(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Review 1 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Pump and tank!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
GerryWS
from Lewisville
This aquarium is a piece of junk! The pump is worthless, does not even work half the time. Just sits there and does nothing, no water flow or anything. I have purchased a separate filter to keep the fish alive until I can replace this overpriced worthless tank. Basically what you are getting for your money is a box of glass and a cheap pump that does not work, and good luck finding replacement filters for it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very Pretty but Awful Filtration

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
animalluv247
from Othello, WA
Such a pretty tank to show off (on the very first few days) and relaxing indeed. It's even made out of glass! I thought it was going to be plastic. Unfortunately when it comes to the filtration, well it's bad. After about 5 days, my 3 goldfish could pretty much disappear the water was so cloudy even with the proper chemicals. Not to mention how fast the water evaporates due to having no lid. I cleaned it out and the water ended up the same in no time. The weak filter itself didn't even work as good as it did when I first assembled it. I would advise adding another filter when it is first assembled so your water stays clean longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Begonia239
from FL
Great looking aquarium. It is looks pretty in my kitchen :) My beta has a new fish friends. Great buy and beatiful, thumbs up!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Overall

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Augiedd
Great starter tank and easy to set up. My three fish seem to be vary happy in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty but...

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
jgutierrez
from waco,tx
I received this as a Christmas gift and I was so excited because I've been wanting an aquarium for a while. This aquarium is quite beautiful. It's sleek, small, and the waterfall is very relaxing, with that being said it has major falls. The filter itself is horrible the water gets clouded after 3 days even after I have added drops and because it is an open top the water evaporates really fast. I recommend that you get an additional filter because the quality of the one provided is dreadful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lasted about 2 Years

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurtofDenverCo
from Denver, CO
The tank is easy to set-up and very aesthetically pleasing. The filtration system is puny, but does its job with weekly maintenance. I have had my tank for about 2 years now - just a few months ago I started having problems. The lights began flickering and would not turn off unless I unplugged it. Overtime the light switch became progressively harder to use - finally it broke completely off and water leaked into it causing the entire system to fail. The corners of the glass began to crack - not sure if this was my fault from moving it.
I enjoyed this tank, but only buy it if you plan to have it for a few years with minimal fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not pleased with the Fluval Chi

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindee
from Nashville, TN
I am not pleased with the Fluval Chi that I received. It was easy to set up, but the pump/filter refused to work, in spite of following all the "troubleshooting" tips in the instruction booklet. I had to return to the store to purchase an additional pump/filter combo, while still leaving the original non-working pump in place to provide lighting for the aquarium. (The pump/filter/lighting is all housed in one unit).
Less than a week after setting up the tank, I noticed a leak around the bottom of the tank, and pooling water. It isn't a major leak, but definitely leaking water from somewhere, so I went out and purchased another tank to set up in it's place.
The Fluval Chi is now taking up space in a box in my garage instead of providing a home for happy fish in my house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

exceptional and elegant fish tank

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rave
from Brooklyn, NY
I would have given this four or five paws, except for the fact that its a 5 gallon and no matter what kind of fish you put in it, the tank will become dirty and the water will look foggy, $2.99 isn't so bad for the replacement filters, although it seems you have to change them every 2 weeks in order to keep the tank looking clear and not smelling bad. I purchased 2 black moores and they get along fine playing tag with each other and I've had them for 6 months they are getting really fat. They seem to love their home and enjoy it, I love them and enjoy watching them chase one another, i just dread cleaning out the entire tank every week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it! Great for seahorses!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I love this tank! It is beautiful and though it has a low power filter, it works great for my seahorses. The size of the 5 gallon is perfect and the light shines directly where it needs to! I don't think it would work well for regular fish though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad purchase

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Liliana
from nanuet, ny
I purchased my first fluval chi about 9 months ago... 6 months it started to leak. I was told to call Fluval to try and get a refund or a replacement. I called and they were less than helpful. I was told that it was over 30 days since initial purchase and that it had to be me not being careful with the tank. Since i had spent alot of money on fish i went back to petco to purchase a second fluval chi. Again it started to leak.... never again ... such a bad decision...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
gcplude
from CT
The Fluval Chi is a nice looking, small space aquarium. Perfect for an office space. However it has a couple negatives. The filter is a pain to change. If you have river rocks on top of the filter, as I do, you have to remove all the rock (or any other ornament) in order to upend the filter to get access. So a filter change tends to be messy. I've also found that the ornaments in the bottom of the tank, I have the grass, tend to unroot themselves and it is common to find it floating in the tank.
You definitely want to keep a jug of water nearby because you will need to routinely top off the water to keep it at the correct level so that the filter functions properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fluval Chi

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
fitlifeme
from Maine
Not great for fish..maybe good for aquatic plants.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wasn't the best long term

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barebies
from Columbus, OH
I bought this aquarium about a year ago. I had a bad experience with it. The light stopped working, even if the filter was clean. And I had to buy a new filter and a new light after so many months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most relaxing, enjoyable water feature ever!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
GallopingGrandma
from West Chester, Oh
LOVE my Chi Aquarium! Peaceful graceful swimming fish, waterfall, adjustable from a muffled trickle to a moderate waterfall sound.Supports live plants well. The hidden filter, pump and LED,s are brilliant, providing this aqua scape a clean,simple peaceable appearance.I have discovered using simple dechlorinator and omitting the stress coat product, allows the tank to remain clear better than a week.I always have a gallon of dechlorinated ahead so topping the tank off nightly before I go to bed is not such a bother.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty but tricky

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pawzoo
from St. Louis, MO
Purchased this tank because the Asian/Zen theme goes so well with our decor. Beautiful tank, love the waterfall effect and the lighting. HOWEVER, since this tank does not have a cover, the water evaporates rather quickly. You have to maintain a very high water level for the filter to operate correctly. One night (in the middle of the night), ours got too low and the filter was fried by morning. Can't replace individual parts, and replacing the entire filter mechanism is very expensive. Now we're using a cheaper submersible filter, with less visual appeal, and no lights. REALLY BUMMED.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Entertainment for All

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
TwoTooMany
from San Diego
Even Bella the Great Dane loves this tank! It fits beautifully into any type of decor and has been great for our Betta!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful AND quiet!!

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
sportbykgrl
from Sebastopol, CA
I love this tank! Great value for the price! The pump is silent which is crucial being it is in my bedroom. My Crown Tail Beta "King Henry" loves it! I have even put a bamboo rod in the top rock garden. Very easy to clean and easy to find the replacement filters in stock at the stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyHouseIsAZoo
from New Orleans, LA
I really enjoy this product. I have gotten many complements. The set up is easy if you follow the directions. It took approximately 6 days to fully complete the nitrogen cycle. That didn't bother me. The filter seems adequate so far. I added a heater for my Mollies (3) and it minimally detracts from the look of the tank. I added a background from Fluval and artificial grass. After hearing stories of fish jumping out and dying, I purchased a tank cover which seems to do the trick. It minimally helps with the evaporation, but I don't really mind. The water flow looks nice and helps to oxygenate the water. It makes very minimal noise when the " transparent pebble holder" (as Fluval describes it) is in place. When removed, sounds more water fall esque. Overall, I really enjoy this product.
The only issue I have with it is that the filter must be turned off and removed for any maintenance to be done because there is minimal space to fit a net or gravel vac.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Value and ease

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Newportmom
from Newport, RI
Good price, good service, good product.
Happy fish -- happy child -- need I say more?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fluval Chi Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tank!

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christalynne
from MA
I purchased this tank 4 months ago and it's wonderful! The filter keeps the water very clean. I keep a gallon jug nearby of preconditioned water to top it off daily and once a week I take a gallon out and replace it for my water changes. I have a betta and a little snail and it's filled with live plants. My room gets a little chilly so I purchased an auto adjusting heater for it. My only complaint is the light isn't tremendously bright and I can only see the true color of my very pretty betta (blue and yellow) when he goes directly under the light. But I'm purchasing a bigger light and makeshifting a versatop for it. It's really a very unique looking tank. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>