petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food

Holistic natural dog food contains chicken meal, turkey meal, duck, buffalo, whitefish, blueberries and cranberriesNo artificial colors, flavors or preservativesMade in the US from locally sourced ingredientsProtein is the number one ingredientAdult dog food contains high quality salmon oil to support skin and coat
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
80 out of 81(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Food for Dogs

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
DogOwnerofHundredAnimals
from Bonfield, IL
I would recommend this dog food for you animals. My dogs love the food and all their digestive problems are gone after switching from a dog food which had fillers.dyes etc... Kibble sizes are small enough so they do not choke. They eat less food and do number 2 less since it is a higher quality food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this food!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
M4fade
from San diego, CA
I love how Merrick has a cheaper version of their food. This food is also a good food to feed, and my dog loves it! I am greatly looking forward to their new recipes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang For Your Buck IMO

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Belkis
from Allentown,PA
My pup has a sensitive stomach. He hated wellness, did horribly on the classic merrick's chicken, but for some reason he does wonderful with this food! He hasn't had an upset tummy ever since we started him on the whole earth farms food. I'd recommend trying it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kee3
from Florida
My puppy is not wild about this food, but it digests well. I had him on Canidae and it went right threw him resulting in soft yellow foul smelling stools.
He did pretty good on the Wellness brand and the Merrick no grain types of dog food, however this one does digest well... and his stools are firm and odorless compared to before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fidel Loves Merrick

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
LucyV
from Los Angeles
My dog loves the flavor of Merrick. I was trying it for the first time. It was an excellent value, plus free shipping. Win win.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

seems like a great food

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvmypets54321
from NR, OH
I have only been using this for a few weeks. My picky dog doesn't love it, but he eats it and for the price you can't beat the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love this food!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gunbun
from WA
I have two dogs. A shepherd mix at 70#, and a terrier mix at 25#. Both my dogs love love love this food and eat it with vigor! This is grain free and I have seen a noticeable reduction in shedding from both dogs. My terrier mix has a short coat and it's black and glossy looking. Shepherds shed. That's all there is to it but I have tried him on regular store bought brands (good name brands) and this Merrick Whole Earth and the difference is very noticeable. This is more expensive than store brands but less expensive than other grain free brands. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good quality

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lelienmai
from Richland, WA
It's not the best dog food around, but it still very good. It's not grain free, but my dogs are carb addicts (they steal bread and chicken feed all the time) so it's not a big issue with me and the protein contents makes up for it. The first 2 ingredients are chicken and turkey meal, which has x300 more protein per lbs then raw meat, which is really rare to find listed first, let alone first and second, even in the grain-free foods.
Both my chi-mix (4lbs) and great pyr (120 lbs) eats this with no problems. Their coats are silky and their skin non flakey, only problem is the bits are small and I usually find mushy bits in my pyr's gum and jowl areas when brushing her teeth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best food ever!!!!!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
iluvmypooches
from california
I was feeding my two miniature poodles and teacup yorkie a food that contained corn and by-products in it. I noticed one of my poodles itching her legs all the time and the yorkie itched his back leg so much that he started losing his hair! he was left with a bald spot. I decided to switch foods. I did my research and this was the best dog food I found that was much cheaper than the leading brands! now I feed WEF and am satisfied with the results! my yorkies hair is growing back and all the itching in both dogs has stopped. my dogs eat less and are more energetic. I highly recommend this to anyone in search of an affordable holistic dog food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Nutrition small kibbles

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
writegirl
from Longmont
I wasn't prepared for how small the kibbles are in this dog food because I have #60+ dogs, but they do seem to enjoy it. I like that there's no corn in it and I like the first several ingredients in the list.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this food made my dog incredibly ill

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
eben
from seattle, wa
She ate this food for a few weeks, developed a skin rash and lost most of her fur
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only Food That Works!

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
kamoh
from Ohio
I have a rott mix who is a rescue. She seems to have some sort of stomach issue-she is very gassy and any food I tried gave her runny/loose stools. The dog I had before, same breed/mix, did very well on Nutro Natural Choice. For my current dog, neither Nurtro nor Blue Buffalo helped with her bowel movements. The were just super soft/mushy, and often runny. Whole Earth Farms is the only food that has produced totally normal, solid, hard bowels and she LOVES it. Granted she gobbles up any food you put in front of her. But I love this food. It is much more affordable than other natural foods in it's class. Her gas has been reduced, but she still can clear a room, just not quite as often. I give her plain yogurt to aid with the gas. I would definitely recommend this food to anyone wanting an affordable natural food, and especially for any dog with any type of food allergy or stomach issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best food around! Love it!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
StartingaZoo
from NC
My oldest dog has hair issues. She's pretty much bald from her shoulder blades down. It just falls out more with each year. I had to kennell her for a few weeks & the guy that ran it, fed the dogs Merricks that didn't have food restirctions. When I picked her up, She had baby fuzz starting up all over her lower half. And her hair was fuller & softer. When I got her home, she wouldn't touch her normal dog food.
So Merricks is what I stick with it. It's decent priced for a holistic food, it's good for them ( I researched them after the kennell). & my dogs love it. I feed it to my other 2 dogs as well. The love food time. I fully recommend going to their website & checking it out. I Love thisfood!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lassen
from NE California
I have heard from both private and chain pet store employee/owners that this is one of the best quality dog food in this price range, and my dogs are doing great on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the taste

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bekia
from Illinois
I have 4 large dogs. One of them is a blind German Shepherd. Since she is blind, her sense of smell is what drives what she eats. I was feeding a venison based product but the price on it increased by $20 for a 30 lb bag and I could no longer afford to buy it. I tried a couple of other premium dog foods and she would turn her nose up and not eat. I saw this online and ordered it in hopes that she would eat it. She started eating it as soon as I put her bowl in front of her. So I am very happy to have a good quality food, a larger bag, a lower price and my GSD loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog like it

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
MacnaughtyBulldogs
from White, SD
My dogs tend to get tired of the same old food so I decided to try this one out as an alternate. Reasonable priced and good ingredients. The "kids" seem to really like it an have had no problems on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merricks Whole Food (dry)

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
wickedbad
from FL
This food is wonderful our frenchie was having real allergy issue with his previous food within 2 days it is like he never had an allergy now I know this food is not for allergies however it has worked for himand he loves it and the ingredients are extra good for him. BUY THIS FOOD it is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE Merrick Farms!

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
EmMorehead
from Atascocita, TX
It's the best "Bang-for-Your-Buck" & my dogs LOVE it. I feel so much better feeding them food that I KNOW is healthy & doesn't have all of the other "unknown" ingredients that most of the other more Popular Brands have. It's a keeper!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dog Food

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvmyTibetanMastiff
from Blaine
I tried this brand for my Tibetan Mastiff. Within a week his coat was shiny and full and he gained muscle mass etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Whole Earth Farms Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far they like it(-:

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMySetters
from NorthCental Oregon
To be candid I've only been feeding MWEF food for a week so it's to soon to say how I feel about it.....however my dogs eat it up...and I have a couple that can be very picky, so that's saying something.
For a true review I should be writing this a couple of months from now....
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>