petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food

Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food

Healthy recipe for adult cats from 1 to 7 years oldFirst ingredient is deboned salmonHighly digestible diet fortified with vitamins, minerals, and antioxidantsNo corn, wheat, soy, or glutenWhole health made rightMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Review 1 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

She loved it!

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My cat LOVES this food and consistently too! Juliette is just over 14yrs old and always goes through moods with her taste for certain brands of food. She is also the type of inhale her food and then puke moments later from not chewing.
I use this food in addition to another brand of food that I was able to buy in bulk of for a much more reasonable price with the same quality. However, she likes the taste of this stuff better, hence why I mix it.
It's good stuff for if you're in a pinch and need some thing quick and healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing with results you can see.

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Queens, NY
Merricks is by far one of the best fivestar pet food brands out there. My cat and dog eat Merricks kibble and it shows- my maine coon is long haired and his coat just SHINES! Softer and silkier than baby hair. Theyre both so healthy. No by products no articifical stuff just completely natural and organic food that is human grade. Check out the photo I attached that proves it
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Purrfect Blend Salmon Cat Food

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sonora, CA
I have been faithfully using this cat food for over two years and am very pleased with the product and my cat's love for the flavor.
My first cat is two years old now and when we brought a new kitten into the mix about a year ago, he too loves this cat food.
I also use and recommend Merrick's wet cat food, my cats will only eat the surf and turf.
I am very happy with the fast delivery whenever I order and also like earning the free pet dollars!
I recommend Petco as well as Merrick cat foods!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

merrick salmon cat food

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from mansfield TX
Please, do not stop making this food.
Please do not stop carrying this product from petco(or I will have to buy wherever else they'll sell it).
Please do not blow up the price.
Please dont stop making or selling the Salmon cat food.
My animals live off this food and theyve never looked better.
My cats--have never looked healthier. They no longer puke--and I mean they used to throw up ALL the TIME, started to feel like something was wrong or hairballs (and I have tried everything from purina one/beyond and much more premium/foods I wont mention bought at petco..)They rarely vomit, even in times of hot weather. Its also obvious they love this food, and have Even Both, started to eat some canned food, the Salmon--.
Theyre excited about mealtimes and canned throughout the day, ask for it, even their moods seem better...Thank you so much.
last I spend alot of money on this food, so please continue to run occasional instore and online specials--so we can continue to budget/affort to buy the food.
Sincerely merrick salmon canned/dry cat food customer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What's with the new packaging?

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Durham, NC
I have been giving my cats this brand of food for about two years, and they love it. I was excited when the new packaging came out because it was difficult to seal the old packaging. I thought, "Great! They will have fresher food longer!" However, my cats just don't seem to like it as much since Merrick switched over to the new packaging. They get excited and run to the bowl when I fill it, but instead of chowing down the way they used to, they just pick at it now. I've only given them the Salmon, so I don't know if this is happening with the other flavors too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Dakota
Merrick is a wonderful brand for both dog and cat food. I love the grain free option and that for cats, there is a grain free version for wet food too. My cats love it and have never had an issue with it, and they have sensitive stomachs also. Won't be changing at all as long as my PetCo store continues to carry it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats LOVE it!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA
I switched my cats to this a few months ago, and they love it. They did not care for the chicken flavor AT ALL, so I was a little leery about trying this. However, they do love it. Their coats are glossy and shiny, and they are maintaining a good weight with less of this than their previous store-brand food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cat used to LOVE

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
They just recently switched the packaging but my cat doesn't run to his bowl and eat his food right away like he used to. Now, when I give him his food he just looks at me an meows :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you truly love your cat....

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
Merrick's Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon dry cat food is the best choice out there right now for your cat. Not made with a bunch of fillers or meat by-products that are bad for your furry baby. Plus my cat LOVES this food. I give her the dry cat food in the morning and Merrick's Purrfect Bistro wet cat food in the evening and my furry baby is healthy and very happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food for a great price

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Durham, NC
My cats have always been on a grain free diet. I love this Merrick Purr-fect Bistro Grain free food for them. It is a great price and my boys just love it! The Salmon flavor has been a big hit since I switched from the chicken for them. They like both flavors, but the one cat seems to digest the salmon better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best deal anywhere

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago
Compare the ingredients and the amount of protein in this food to any other dry cat food on market and you'll see it's the best buy anywhere. My 4 cats get a raw diet and this is the only other food I give them to supplement their diet. They eat it like candy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ferndale, WA
When my older kitty began to lose hair around the base of his tail, I wondered if his cat food might not be partially responsible. I changed to Merrick Grain-Free and haven't looked back since. All three of my cats love most anything salmon or tuna, so that is always my flavor choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we need

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WI
Adopted a cat that turned out to be allergic to grains and chicken protein. I've been using the salmon for about 4+ months, even though the 2nd ingredient is chicken, and it has been working great. Her scratching and constant licking has completely subsided. I don't know if it would work for everyone who has a cat allergic to chicken protein, but I'd say it's worth a shot because it is working great for us. Love that it's a US product too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Cat's Meow!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach, CA
All seven of my kitties love this food. I've been supplementing their diet with this food for about a year. No problems. They all love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only food I feed my cats

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
I have been using this food for the past year. My cats were having bloody stools which were thought to be related to food allergies, so I changed to gluten free, grain free food. They have not had any issues since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not as good as the original grain free!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from bath, maine
My cats still love this but I am starting to see some weight gain on 3 of the younger ones. Just feel like the original was better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats adore this food!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spartanburg, SC
I am very pleased with the way my cats have taken to your food. Even my older cats with sensitive stomachs and gums/teeth love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats LOVE it!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
We are the proud pets of our 2 cat owners, sisters from the same litter who adopted us at (their) infancy- now 7 yrs. old. During their early years, I was determined to feed them the BEST dry / grain free cat food $$ could buy- Rated 5/5: I spent a fortune on Both Innova Evo & Wellness Core. While they seemed to do well on these costly brands their 1st-3rd year, after that, they were really fully grown of course, getting chubby, & both cats began having frequent trouble keeping it down- it seemed that as $$ as it was, at least 1/3 of it was being cleaned up (cat puke) & thrown away. Ppl say this is usually d/t protein content TOO high. Whatever... I researched, & decided to scale back to this 4/5 rated cat food (the old version- Merrick Before Grain in Tuna, Salmon, & Chicken)- Eureka! The cats just LOVED it, they kept it down SO much better, and (drumroll...............) it cost less than 1/2 of the "higher rated" brands- especially once I included the prior puke factor. Fast forward 4 yrs- Oh No! Merrick BG is d/c'd, changed into this new version called "Purrfect Bistro"- Although the name sounds cheap & cheesy, like "Meow Mix" (about the cheapest subsistance junk food you can feed your cat & keep it alive for 1/2 a lifetime)... Well, although the name is lame, WOW this food is GREAT! Cats looove it. No puking, & they remain in perfect health!
Disclaimer: I'm the biggest skeptic imaginable re: "new & improved" product offerings- I know this always means "we cheaped out a previously good product, and found a bunch of ways to trick consumers into thinking they're getting a better deal, by using cheaper ingredients, streamlining the labor & production costs, screwing our employees out of jobs & benefits, in addition to using more vivid ink colors on our bags (that no one else wants anyway so it's cheaper packaging that looks "new & improved")... PLUS we'll hire PhD. nutritional analysts (scientists who couldn't get real jobs) to manipulate the protein content data any which way we say so, according to whatever results happen to test-market the highest- And, meanwhile, our brand is now cheaper for us to produce, we can grab more of the "premium brand" market share, and ultimately generate greater shareholder profit returns, etc, etc,
However, in this case, whatever change they made- Even if it's just a packaging change, the cat food inside seems fresh, the cats love it, they are not having puke problems, and... The price- omg, I think it's even LOWER than it was before! (?) This really is a quality cat food at a reasonable price. I've researched numerous independant & semi-independant studies comparing/contrasting major & emerging cat food brands, Merrick Before Grain consistently rc'd high marks- And, the "new improved" version seems equally great, too! BUY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.