petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food

Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food

Healthy recipe for adult cats from 1 to 7 years oldFirst ingredient is deboned salmonHighly digestible diet fortified with vitamins, minerals, and antioxidantsNo corn, wheat, soy, or glutenWhole health made rightMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
18 out of 23(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Review 1 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cat used to LOVE

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
They just recently switched the packaging but my cat doesn't run to his bowl and eat his food right away like he used to. Now, when I give him his food he just looks at me an meows :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you truly love your cat....

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
Merrick's Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon dry cat food is the best choice out there right now for your cat. Not made with a bunch of fillers or meat by-products that are bad for your furry baby. Plus my cat LOVES this food. I give her the dry cat food in the morning and Merrick's Purrfect Bistro wet cat food in the evening and my furry baby is healthy and very happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food for a great price

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Durham, NC
My cats have always been on a grain free diet. I love this Merrick Purr-fect Bistro Grain free food for them. It is a great price and my boys just love it! The Salmon flavor has been a big hit since I switched from the chicken for them. They like both flavors, but the one cat seems to digest the salmon better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best deal anywhere

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago
Compare the ingredients and the amount of protein in this food to any other dry cat food on market and you'll see it's the best buy anywhere. My 4 cats get a raw diet and this is the only other food I give them to supplement their diet. They eat it like candy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ferndale, WA
When my older kitty began to lose hair around the base of his tail, I wondered if his cat food might not be partially responsible. I changed to Merrick Grain-Free and haven't looked back since. All three of my cats love most anything salmon or tuna, so that is always my flavor choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we need

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WI
Adopted a cat that turned out to be allergic to grains and chicken protein. I've been using the salmon for about 4+ months, even though the 2nd ingredient is chicken, and it has been working great. Her scratching and constant licking has completely subsided. I don't know if it would work for everyone who has a cat allergic to chicken protein, but I'd say it's worth a shot because it is working great for us. Love that it's a US product too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Cat's Meow!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach, CA
All seven of my kitties love this food. I've been supplementing their diet with this food for about a year. No problems. They all love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only food I feed my cats

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
I have been using this food for the past year. My cats were having bloody stools which were thought to be related to food allergies, so I changed to gluten free, grain free food. They have not had any issues since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not as good as the original grain free!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from bath, maine
My cats still love this but I am starting to see some weight gain on 3 of the younger ones. Just feel like the original was better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats adore this food!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spartanburg, SC
I am very pleased with the way my cats have taken to your food. Even my older cats with sensitive stomachs and gums/teeth love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Healthy Salmon Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats LOVE it!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
We are the proud pets of our 2 cat owners, sisters from the same litter who adopted us at (their) infancy- now 7 yrs. old. During their early years, I was determined to feed them the BEST dry / grain free cat food $$ could buy- Rated 5/5: I spent a fortune on Both Innova Evo & Wellness Core. While they seemed to do well on these costly brands their 1st-3rd year, after that, they were really fully grown of course, getting chubby, & both cats began having frequent trouble keeping it down- it seemed that as $$ as it was, at least 1/3 of it was being cleaned up (cat puke) & thrown away. Ppl say this is usually d/t protein content TOO high. Whatever... I researched, & decided to scale back to this 4/5 rated cat food (the old version- Merrick Before Grain in Tuna, Salmon, & Chicken)- Eureka! The cats just LOVED it, they kept it down SO much better, and (drumroll...............) it cost less than 1/2 of the "higher rated" brands- especially once I included the prior puke factor. Fast forward 4 yrs- Oh No! Merrick BG is d/c'd, changed into this new version called "Purrfect Bistro"- Although the name sounds cheap & cheesy, like "Meow Mix" (about the cheapest subsistance junk food you can feed your cat & keep it alive for 1/2 a lifetime)... Well, although the name is lame, WOW this food is GREAT! Cats looove it. No puking, & they remain in perfect health!
Disclaimer: I'm the biggest skeptic imaginable re: "new & improved" product offerings- I know this always means "we cheaped out a previously good product, and found a bunch of ways to trick consumers into thinking they're getting a better deal, by using cheaper ingredients, streamlining the labor & production costs, screwing our employees out of jobs & benefits, in addition to using more vivid ink colors on our bags (that no one else wants anyway so it's cheaper packaging that looks "new & improved")... PLUS we'll hire PhD. nutritional analysts (scientists who couldn't get real jobs) to manipulate the protein content data any which way we say so, according to whatever results happen to test-market the highest- And, meanwhile, our brand is now cheaper for us to produce, we can grab more of the "premium brand" market share, and ultimately generate greater shareholder profit returns, etc, etc,
However, in this case, whatever change they made- Even if it's just a packaging change, the cat food inside seems fresh, the cats love it, they are not having puke problems, and... The price- omg, I think it's even LOWER than it was before! (?) This really is a quality cat food at a reasonable price. I've researched numerous independant & semi-independant studies comparing/contrasting major & emerging cat food brands, Merrick Before Grain consistently rc'd high marks- And, the "new improved" version seems equally great, too! BUY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.