petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness

Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness

Easy to put on seat belt for dog wearBroad padded chest piece provides extra protection and comfort for your petUnique dog seat belt harness design provides dual function for walks and car ridesProtects dogs, drivers and passengers on the roadIncludes a seat belt loop so it can be used with any vehicle’s seat beltDesigned to work safely with the Kurgo Auto Zip Line Dog Seat Belt (sold separately)
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Review 1 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointing

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MamaH
from upstate NY
I was very excited to find this, and based on other reviews I ordered a size Medium for my Golden Retriever puppy before I even brought him home. Contrary to the weight recommendations and other reviews, however, this did not fit him until he was about 30 pounds, even with all the adjustments as tight as they would go. It twisted around, he was able to pull his legs right out, and his lower jaw kept getting caught in the chest strap when he tried to chew on it. Once it did fit him, the adjustment sliders never stayed tight, so in the course of a walk, they would loosen up so that it didn't fit him properly again. There are 2 snaps on the chest plate to hold the lower strap in place, but one of them does not stay snapped. The fabric on the chest plate started to fall apart after one month of use, and on one walk about a month into using it, the D-ring on the chest where you attach your leash pulled right off the harness. Thank goodness I was fast enough to grab him before he ran into the road. I would like to think I got a defective item, but with so many problems I just can't imagine how so many other people had positive experiences with this. The concept is great, but the actual product is horrible!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is worth buying

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
hunterbunter
from Racine, WI
I have a dachshund and he could always get out of his regular collar. The Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness works great. He doesn't pull when walking and keeps him safe when using as seat belt. It is light weight and soft so is comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Use only with well behaved pooch

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susala
from Ohio
We recently rescued a Sheltie who becomes very anxious in the car, barking and bounding from back to front seats. This harness is not for him at this stage of training. The Kurgo video on YouTube addresses this. We will revisit this product when he is able to respond more to verbal commands and demonstrates less anxiety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best Dog Harness I have ever bought!!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oceanside, NY
Recently I was in a car accident and all I kept thinking was thank god I did not have my dog in the car with me because he would have been seriously hurt or worse. So I started looking into buying a harness for the car for him so he can be buckled in. I found this one and ordered it. I love it. It is so easy to use and now I let him hang his head out the window and not freak out that he will jump out. He is not going anywhere in this harness and it is great to walk him on it too!!! I recommend it for all size dogs. You will not regret it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this harness

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from St Joseph, MO
I bought two of these harnesses for my dogs. I have a dog that likes to jump out of the car when we get to the park and it had become very dangerous for him. The harness fits very well and is very easy to get on the dog and to adjust. Neither dog seems to mind having the harness on, however, the hardware on the harness is metal and is a little heavy, but again the dogs didn't seem to mind it very much.
It is very easy to attach to the seatbelts in the car and stopped my dog from jumping when we took our first trip with him attached. Just what was needed! We are taking a long trip in a few weeks so this will be a great help and give me peace of mind knowing that they are buckled up safely!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaxwellsHouse
from Kansas
Fits well. Rambunctious lab puppy actually walks more calmly. I hook her to the seatbelt with the harness and roll the window down and she loves the wind in her face.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like that it's both a walking & seat belt harness

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gracie710
from Des Moines, IA
My Viz/Lab is in-between sizes so I ordered the large. It’s made to be adjustable so it fits fine. It has 2 body lengths to adjust around the chest which helped with the correct fit. I was very pleased with the durable construction and simplicity of use.
It's standing up well to my new 18 month rescue dog with a strong pull on the leash and a mind of her own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits perfectly

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
gsdlovespetco
I love this product and so does my dog! It fits perfectly, very soft and comfortable. I have gsd and I bought size xl. perfect for walking and car rides. easy to put on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome harness!

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
DoodleMom6812
from Buffalo Ny
Easy to put on, puppy feels more secure in the car,and i have peace of mind knowing he's safe!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Boxers

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
AMBM
from Northern Jersey
We had a hard time finding harnesses for our 3 Boxers that were wide enough to fit around their barrell chests. We found the Kurgo and we bought 2 Large and 1 Extra Large. One Large fits our female who is 65 pounds. The XL fits our 80 lb 2 year old and the other Large fits our 55 pound 8 month old puppy. They are very easy to get on and off and simple to hook the seatbelt through. We have tried other harnesses and these are the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Harness fits but I can't release the buckles!

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoveRoman
from West Milford, NJ
The first one I ordered was to small. The x-large fits but once Roman is in the harness, I cannot release him from the clasps to take the darn thing off! You have to squeeze it and then twist and I don't have the strength in my hands to do it! The poor dog has to wait until my son comes home to get it off!
I am very disappointed in the product. Maybe this one is flawed but I am stuck with it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features & Comfortable

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogLuvr246
from Central Jersey
The Kurgo Black Tru Fit Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness is a perfect fit for our Boxer. The material is very soft yet durable and stays in place. We always walk her with it on - there isn't irritation on the neck area as with regular collars. Our Boxer is quite strong as this breed is very muscular. We haven't tried the Seat Belt Harness at the time of this review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy and Easy to use

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
TonyaB
from Atlanta,GA
BE sure to read directions. Easy to use as any harness. Adjust to the right size, slip over head, the chest straps unhook by slipping the buckle through itself. Metal buckles and clips much more sturdy than plastic. Wish it were crash tested for peace of mind. Comfortable for the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver!

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosie08
I have a 5yr old German Shepherd/Chow mix who has hip problems. After a near accident in my truck I decided that my dog needed some sort of safety restraint so that he would be safe, if ever something did happen. I found this harnes and it is amazing. It works as a walking harness AND a seatbelt harness. I wish I would have bought this a long time ago. I like that the front of the harness because it is flat an padded. And the seatbelt details to get the dog in the harness are cute. The strap that secures the dog to the seatbelt comes off easily so that you can attach your leash instead. I wish I would have bought this product as soon as I adopted my dog.
* My dog is 50lb and is on the small side for a shepherd mix. He fits into the large perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable, easy to use

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
BullMom
from Portland, OR
Great harness, exceptional workmanship, seems very safe. I have, thankfully, not tested it's effectiveness. The breast plate is very wide and would, I think, distribute weight quite evenly in the event of a crash. It is reinforced with seat belt material.
The harness has entirely metal closures & adjusters which make it much more durable than cheap plastic buckles. The silver closures around the chest are toggles that are used to open up the the harness, makes it very easy to put on and take off.
My 1 year old bulldog fit the large perfectly, had to tighten very small on neck, loose on chest and put the chest strap through the higher "loop" on the breast plate, but that was easy to do.
He can easily sit up, lay down and change position while buckled in, but can't move back and forth, try to climb up front or get out the window.
We use a martingale rather than a harness for walks, but this seems like it would make a good walker if you like harnesses.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Return to sender...

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
2Aussiesrunningwild
from Tennessee
This harness, while probably very safe, is about impossible to put on your dog. There is no clip to open the harness, so you have to be able to slide it over their head and then put their front legs through the harness without there being any slack to be able to do so easily or comfortably for the dogs. Sending it back. F minus in "usability."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kurgo Black Tru Fit Smart Quick Release Dual Walking Harness & Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kurgo TruFit is terrific.

PostedApril 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
cpramsey54
from Morgantown, WV
I ordered this seat belt from Petco and could not be happier. This is the first time we've ever used a seat belt for a dog we've owned and now I wish we had done this years ago. It keeps the dog safe and keeps the driver calm. I wasn't sure how our puppy was going to react, but he was great. It's also convenient when getting them into and out of the car. I just keep the walking harness strap in the car and it's ready when we're ready. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who carries their dogs in the car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.