petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage

WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage

Heavy duty plastic base makes cleaning easyDurable powder-coated wireTwo-piece design with no small parts to loseEasy assembly - simply snap wire top onto the baseSuitable for use as ferret cages, rabbit homes, chinchilla habitats, guinea pig cages and more depending on the size and variety of your small animalOffered in blue, teal, or purple
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
8 out of 13(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Review 1 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not good for me

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
susy9571
from san marcos, ca
i have a a dwarf rabbit so i think.i bought this cage to begin and it was great at first when my bunny was small but now i have to get a bigger cage the cage i bought was large now im looking for an extra large one ;(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lexington283
from Ardmore, PA
I ordered this cage as a "weekend home" for my rabbit. It was a bit smaller than I wanted, but it's for 2 days a week, every other weekend. It states that it's 28 inches. What it doesn't state is that the base of the cage slopes inward, and only measures 24 inches. You essentially lose 4 whole inches! At that point, it went from being a bit too small, to definitely too small. No where in the description does it state this.
To make matters worse, the first time I latched the door shut, one of the bars broke off; the welding was done poorly. This gave me two reason to return, which I promptly did.
I was completely disappointed in everything related to this order; the size, and the quality. Luckily I received free shipping, so I didn't have to eat that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bunnyenvy
from Florida
Cage was cheap material. Where the snaps hook in, its not very stable. It falls apart easily.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK! With most animals.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
FerretTillDeath
from Warrenton, OR
This is not the best for Ferrets! But if you do own ferres this is a good STARTER cage intil you get a bigger one. If you do get this one i recomend getting lots of toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cage But Could Use An Extra Door

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RONSDOE
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this cage for my English Guinea Pig. It's a great cage, but could use an extra door on the top. The front door is great to pet your pig but, its very hard to get your Guinea pig out of the cage. If they had a door on top of the cage, It would B a lot easier to handle your pet and get it's food out. Also, another thing to keep in mind is, When cleaning put some newspaper at the bottom so, the droppings of the pig don't stain the bottom of the cage (I learned that the hard way)
Room: Its only enough room for 1 guinea pig.
Cleaning: It's very easy to clean and probably the easiest so far but, the bottom will stain if not covered with newspaper
Updates: They need an extra door on top.
Quality: The quality is made great. The bottom is very sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Great for Guinea Pig & Very Good Buy

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
kytrailhikers
from Kentucky
This cage worked great for our guinea pig. I love how it detaches from the bottom. Only problem was getting access to the guinea pig if you put a hideaway in there for them. We managed to work with it though just raising the cage up to get the hideaway out. If we had bought this cage with the opening on the top, we would have loved even more, but for the money we paid (in trying to save money), this worked and allowed for easy cleaning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

To small for a Rabbit

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Natie
from Minnesota
When I first bought my bunny, I bought this cage knowing that I would have to get a bigger one later on. It was great at first for my baby bunny, but now that he's bigger its time for an upgrade. It is too small and he needs more room to stretch out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Cage!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
horselover98
Only two words describe this cage. Awesome and Amazing. I LOVE this cage! I bought a male guinea pig and he loves it too! I got this cage in Medium and he has plenty of room. I put Petco's barn in there for him to sleep in and hide in and I put his food bowl in there and he still has plenty of room to play and "popcorn"
I would def reccomend this cage to all of you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YOUR KIDDING!!!!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buchi
from New York
IT'S PERFECT!!!! I ordered this cage online, and it was a very fast delivery. It's very easy to assemble and carry. Before using this cage , I had "Living World" Starter Kit. It was a small cage with barely any room for play if an igloo or hut was added. My bunny has more room to run and play with her new cage. She has been lounging more than ever. I would open the doors for her to come out and she just prefers to stay in or around the cage. I can not smell much odor from it. She is happy and so am I. It's perfect for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Adult Guinea Pigs

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
jMonkey
from Waltham, MA
I had a small cage and wanted a roomier cage
for my big girl Lilly who is quite large. I was so very
disappointed in this cage. It was the same size
as the small cage and I had to return it to the store and buy a bigger one for her. Not the dimensions
described. If you have a large guinea pig don't bother with the medium as it won't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NOT FOR HAMSTERS.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Calista
from Texas
THE wire spacing is 1in.
NOT FOR HAMSTERS OR ANIMALS SMALLER THAN THAT.
I had my hamsters in this cage on my dresser.
Lets just say i walked in my room and saw my teddy bear hamster on the floor... K :)
No good she climbed out of the top.))):
BUT great size!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Raph
from New York
I have a dwarf rabbit and i bought the small one when he was a baby. Now as he's getting a little bit bigger, i got the medium one and he likes it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Home Sweet Home Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as listed

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
KTRoo
from Crestview, FL
The medium size cage is not as listed. I am in the process of receiving a refund/replacement, but wanted to warn that it is not 21.5" tall but rather only 15.5" as listed on the small cage. The other dimensions are correct, making the actual size 28" L x 17" W x 15.5" H.
It is a good sturdy cage and easy to put together, but due to incorrect sizing it is unsuitable for my rat who requires a taller cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
48of 78voted this as helpful.