petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage

WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage

Slide out pan and removable floor grid for easy, hassle free cleaningFour easy rolling plastic castors allow you to easily move the hutch from room to roomIncludes three shelves and three ramps that allow your pet to climb and playIdeal for ferrets, chinchillas & rabbits
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Review 1 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's Good.....

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Holland, IL
It came early then I thought it would so thats a plus. It wasn't as easy to put together like it said, but it still worked out ok. The floor wire moves around a lot and I always have to put it back in place, and its a hassle to take out and put back in the shelves. All in all it's pretty good putting it together you might need some help and you will struggle a bit with the ramp and shelves. When I get my rats I'll leave another review if it works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for a Rabbit

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Savannah, GA
Not sized for a rabbit unless a dwarf rabbit. Very narrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

disappointed

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from erie, PA
Chinchilla loves extra space. Assembly a little tricky. The bottom plastic tray doesn't fit securely. So if u move cage it drops off track onto floor making mess. Otherwise it is good product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, ny
This is amazing!! My new Chinchilla loves his new home!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Black Friday deal

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Allis, WI
This cage was a great deal for the size. It came super fast, especially for ordering during the holidays, that was fantastic. It wasn't terribly hard to set up, the worst part was trying to figure out which way the the rails for the pullout tray go. It was missing a rubber piece that holds the wheel in, we fixed it with electrical tape. the only thing I don't like is the pullout tray doesn't have anything stopping it from sliding all the way through whenever the cage is bumped and then she's doing her business on the floor... the grate she walks on does the same thing, but that we could twist tie together. My chinchilla seems pretty happy with her new digs though, she loves all the space and the levels, she only had 2 before. We all agree it was a good buy, even with the minor tweaks we had to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This "home" is a great starter home for small animals...

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Durango, CO
...but just not really "right" for chinchillas since they love to chew on plastics (ramps are plastic). Lava ledges provide chew sturdy surfaces and are a lot safer than the plastic. I returned this to the store, assembled (and it was a little difficult). A chin-spin wheel did not fit in this home. It was also too small for 3 chinchillas. I think this would be an awesome home for gerbils, hamsters and really any of the smaller mammals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok for the sale price

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
The cage is somewhat flimsy to pay full price for it. I got it on sale but still think it's too expensive for the quality. That being said, it is adequate for my chinchilla and the little guy seems to like it. I couldn't get it completely assembled because the pieces didn't match up exactly. However, the piece that is unattached doesn't make it less stable.. The pull out pan on the bottom is very loose and the bedding flies out everywhere each time my chinchilla lands on it. If I could afford a better quality cage I'd get it instead of this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weasel War Dance Not Possible Here

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
I purchased this product as my first ferret cage, i had two 9 week old kits. First problem was during assembly, the levels have this clip system that if you don't get it just right it actually breaks the clip and I had to use zip ties so that the levels wouldn't tip if the ferrets put too much weight on a certain side. Also floor level is too small for ferrets to play if they should want to when not out for playtime and since it does not have any solid sides like some cages if you don't have a litter box accidents may end up on your carpet and it also makes it messy because bedding won't stay in when the ferrets burrow. Also because you have to remove the wire bottom for a ferret it makes the lower ramp useless because its at too great of an angle for use. Also I ended up having to bend the bars because the ferrets learned that if they turned sideways they could easily escape and find me for an unscheduled playtime. Ended up purchasing a Superpet Habitat Defined to replace this one, lesson learned the hard way I say.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
15of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

had it for a few weeks

PostedJune 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from COS, CO
This cage is very easy to clean. I don't have to scrub bars. Our chinchilla likes it too. He jumps from shelf to shelf. We took out the ramp/slides. They just took up space and chinchillas like to jump. We have put it up on bed stilts so that the cage is off the floor higher and I don't have to bend down so far to clean it. His exercise wheel, lave ledge, toys, house, and feeders all fit nicely. He has plenty of room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Florida
I love this cage! I have a Holland Lop Rabbit, and she is in paradise with this cage! I am very happy with it, and it's just the right size. The cleaning is really easy, and I couldn't be happier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
I got this for my rabbit, he was a little too big to use the ramps, so I removed them and he just jumps from shelf to shelf. Another thing that I had to fix a little bit was that the shelves were a little too slippery for my rabbit to be able get enough grip to jump from shelf to shelf. So I got some grip strips and fixed that myself. But once I got those things taken care of, my rabbit loves having so much space, and being able to jump onto 3 different shelf heights. He likes it alot, and I don't feel bad leaving him in his cage all day while I'm at work. This was also the cheapest multi-level cage that I could find online and anywhere else, which is great. Totally worth the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Indoor 4 Level Hutch Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT for Ferrets

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from rio rancho, nm
Purchased this to house ferrets, as it advertises suitable for ferrets and was the best price for a multi level cage. My ferrets can easily squeeze through the bars in addition to easily sliding the bottom pan out. Took 2 hours to assemble due to the fact that there are pieces inside the bars where the screws go in, and they were loose and tilted - took forever to get them properly aligned. Probably fine for small rabbits or chinchillas, but definitely not for ferrets. Tried to contact the Ware Customer Service - absolutely no response! Now have to try & resell it to buy ANOTHER cage for my ferrets. Not a happy consumer!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.