petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage

WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage

All-metal chew proof design keeps your pet safe and secureEasy assembly - no tools requiredEasy-to-clean metal drop panLarge access door with safety lock3 Ramps and platforms add extra living space to your small animal cage1/2" wire spacing makes the Four Story ideal for use as a hamster or rat cageWhite cage with vibrant purple accents
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
17 out of 23(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Review 1 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a good cage

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
this was a good cage, although it's a bit flimsy, you can re-enforce it with zip ties
over all a great cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
This cage is flimsy and cheap. The bars dont even fit in the purple bottom. The bottom is to wide for the bars. It doesn't latch together on the sides. There is spots where the bars are bigger than 1/2". My robo dwarf hamsters can get out of it. I would not recommend it to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Syrian hamster escaped!!!!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
So, I put the cage together and it said "no tools necessary". Yeah right. I had to use pliers to squeeze the bars together so the thing didn't collapse. There were still huge gaps I was worried about. 24 hours in that cage and I saw my hamster climb to the very top and fall over and over again. She didn't land gracefully, either. I had to cover up the mesh layers (MESH IS BAD FOR HAMSTERS). I had a horrible time putting the platforms in (terrible quality and bent all wrong). I was in my room with my DOG and the cage was on my dresser. I went over to check on the little one. GONE. Kicked my dog out and found the poor thing trapped between my dresser and the wall. All the cage doors were closed. Waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
larger than what our little guy had. Now the hamster has much more room to wander and monkey up the sides
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's ok.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Western New York State
It's plenty big for my daughter's Panda Bear Hamster. But the hooks on the wire ramps are a pain, I have to keep hooking them onto the platforms because when the hamster bumps it, it comes dislodged. My husband had to use pliers to tighten down the hooks that hold the cage together. Otherwise, it kept coming apart. The doors could be bigger. The frame itself is flimsy, it needs handles to lift it when you need to clean the bedding area. But, for a starter cage, this is so much better, roomier then one of those teeny habit trails. Your little furry friend will thank you for this roomy cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

okay cage

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ellington, CT
this cage was fairly easy to put together; but not quite as durable as i had hoped. it will work fine. my son has a rat and he will be okay in it. it does not give quite as much space as i had hoped for. will work for now, but would like something a little larger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
When i was younger i had a teddy bear hamster, this was the cage she was in, she loved it and lived a health life, 7 years!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

greatest cage ever

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Greer, sc
i have three gerbils but one is fully grown so he can't be with the two baby ones so i put him in my empty 55 gallon fish tank and he loves it but the babies had to go in his old cage but it was two small so i bought this one i had to use pliers on the hooks to attach the cage other than that this is a cage that i would recommend to any one plus its all metal and the people who say metal bottoms are bad and and rust are right but if yo put a layer of news paper and it works done it for years and my cages have never rusted
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You Get Your Money's Worth

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Broken Arrow, OK
It is a pretty nice beginner cage. It can be kinda of flimsy, but you can modify it to help that problem. It was easy to set up and looks nice. One of the bars came unwelded during shipping, but it isn't a big issue.
I haven't had it too long to where it requires cleaning, but the design makes it very easy to clean with being able to unhook the wire cage from the metal tray.
I would suggest not keeping more than 2 rats in this cage and 2 rats only for a brief period. Also, you will want to get some fleece or linoleum to line the shelves so your rat doesn't get bumble foot. Overall it is a nice cage and I'm glad that it wasn't too expensive.
*I didn't plan to make it LSU themed, but I only had orange fleece. It doesn't come with any accessories, just the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its not completely chew proof

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from orange, ca
So i got this cage because I loked the fact that it had many levels and plenty of room for running around. When i put it together I was surprised at how it turned out, the bottom and the wire cage don't even lock into place, just two hooks hold it together. Maybe it was just my hamster, but he was able to snap the wires of the cage by CHEWING and get out of the cage. Its a nice cage just wish it was more sturdy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Encinitas, CA
I got this cage for a pair of cockatiels. It was really easy to put together. My birds love it, and it gives them a lot of room to hang out. The ledges offer lots of points to hang toys. The 2 large doors are easy to open, and are big enough to change food and water dishes. I find that this style of cage works very well for cockatiels, and I am very very happy with this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phenix CIty, AL.
First it was hard to put together and the platforms would not stay up. Then the bottom would not connect to the cage. As my 2 sugargliders lived in the cage the bottom began to rust where they would urinate. Before the cage was even a year old it had rusted out and there was a big hole. There is no way I would ever buy another metal bottom cage no matter how deep!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roomy

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fredricksburg, Va
this cage it so roomy i have 1 syrian hammy in it so much room wow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice 4-Story Cage but a bit Flimsy in Quality

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
This cage came compact in a box & was easy to assemble with just a quick glimpse of the setup instructions. You'll need a tool to squeeze some of the corners of the cage so that they won't be loose & collapsible. Unfortunately, I'm finding out my adult hamster is afraid of climbing too high up the levels & only gets to the 1st level. I'm reading online that hamsters aren't too aggressive with climbing high, so I'm thinking this cage might be better for rats, mice, & gerbils which I don't have any of these to know for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but .....

PostedJune 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from knoxville tennessee tn
a very good cage but hard to clean a little flimsy but big and spacious for my 2 gerbils they running up and down and it big enough to have a basic plastic tunnel system but the bars are on hard on their feet so put plastic/cardboard or something supportive underneath the the levels and ramps. also there are holes in the side where they can escape or get stuck in if i am clean out the bottom of their cage and the are in the the top part.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Escape Made Simple!

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
I bought this cage for my rat. When I received it in the mail & put it together, the sides of the cage would hardly stay together. With zip ties ALL over the cage (there are more than a few rows that have large gaps & are wider than the rest) I put her in her cage to enjoy. After THREE escapes in two days (with her mostly being in her smaller cage between the escapes), we bought some screen & rigged it completely around the cage (except for the doors). She can't escape anymore, but it is an eye-sore & inconvenient (you can't see through the screen well). I am waiting for her to get a little bigger, and hopefully the screen can come off. I would NOT recommend this cage to anyone...spend a little extra for a quality cage. You don't want to hunt for your rat/hamster under your fridge or couch like I had to!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just ok

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
The cage is very flimsy in my opinion. It's ok now, thanks to my husband putting reinforcements all over the whole thing. As is though, I would not recommend it, and when we need to purchase a new one, we'll be looking for something different.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommended!

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I've ordered this cage Monday & received my package Thursday. Judging by the way it's packaged, it looks as if the product is online exclusive. I'm thinking you won't be finding these on the shelves at your local store. I went to several locations just to find this cage & decided to order online.
Upon arrival in the mail, I've opened the package without hesitation & found the cage bigger than I expected! A huge plus. It took be a bit of awhile to put together because the hooks were a bit wide, so I had to crimp them closed to secure the wires. Other than that, my two Chinese Hamsters seem to enjoy their "mansion".
I highly recommend this "mansion" to your little critter(s). 5 Paws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best yet!

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from GA
I bought this cage about 2 weeks ago and it came in last night. it took me about 15 mins. to put all together. I also ordered the hanging cube and the 2 story playhouse! My hamster, Peawe, loves it! If your hamster/gerbil/rat chews a lot I do suggust not getting the cube. I love this cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Chew Proof Four Story Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Very cheap because I got it on sale but it is awesome. Had a little trouble getting it together because the wire was bent a little. Otherwise, less cleaning, more fun for my hamsters. Plenty of room because I have 2 teddy bear hamsters. They can't chew out and it don't keep the odor locked in because it is open. LOVING IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>