petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage

WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage

Small animal cage is ideal for hamsters, rats and miceAll-metal chew-proof design keeps your pet safe and secureEasy to clean metal drop panLarge access door with safety lockHamster cages require no tool assembly
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 out of 22(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Review 1 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cool cage

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
petlover123445
from texas
Perfect for a pet rat. Good quality for the price. Looks nice too. Our rat loves the cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jasper1215
from RI
I had been looking for a large cage for my teddy bear hamster. All cages in stores were too small for him. I am so glad I found this one online. There is so much space for him to run around in even thought there is a big wheel in the cage too! He has a dome plus a log in there too. He absolutely loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BUY IT!

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luckythedog
from Tucson, AZ
I was looking for a bigger cage when I found this, but when I started reading the reviews I was not sure if I should buy it. But I talked to one of the people who worked there and I was not very convinced but I ordered it anyway. It came in a very short time period, and when I opened it and I was putting it together, it was a little tricky with only one pair of hands so I got a friend to help me. It was really big like it said. The one thing that I hated was it was so hard to put the wheel on for my hamster (Eve). If you get this cage make sure you have a lot of bedding. I love this cage it is very big and I would say it is worth the price. YOU SHOULD DEFINITELY GET THIS CAGE!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

U get what U pay 4

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
happyrunner42
from florida
Shopping online black Friday, my daughter needed a larger cage for her Gerbils, & I saw this..........WELL, When it came in the mail & I tried to assemble, IT fell apart every time I got it hooked together....Cheap, Flimsy,.......No Kidding , this product was made in another country.....Wish it would have worked for the price.....: ((((
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NO GO

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
TinkAndTroy
from New Jersey
Truth be told, I would not buy this cage. I have owned it since July. I had 1 robo hamster in it until a few weeks ago when she passed away. It's very specious and she loved it. Fit her wheel, hut, food, sand bath, toys, and plenty of runaround space. HOWEVER, a week ago I bought 2 robo hamsters and they escape out of the bars twice a day. I am taking it back today. This cage really is perfect for regular sized hamsters but certainly not robos.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disgusting!

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MikaylaK
This cage is despicable! The base of a hamster's cage needs to be 50 cm by 80 cm, and this isn't nearly that!! I tried it but the base was too shallow and shavings got everywhere! Not even worth using as a carrying cage, I chucked it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

BASE IS TOO SMALL

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Calista
from Texas
I Have 2 teddy bear hamsters, and they both lived in this cage.
It had a lot of space, and they could NOT escape.
BUT the base is very small. 2.5 inches Im pretty sure. They kicked the bedding out, along with feces and food. And sprayed their urine on the wall.
It was a big mess. It was real hard to clean this cage out. I would have never gotten this cage, if I knew the base was so small.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for full size hamsters/ not so good for dwarfs

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luvmydwarf11
from Cleveland, ohio
I love the space of this cage. My dwarf has lots of room. The only problem is the bars at the top are too far apart. he could easily escape. With some DIY improvements I was able to make it so I could keep it for him. He loves it but you will have to find a way to close those gaps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect except for one thing

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyHamy
from CA
I bought this cage to replace my hamster's first cage since it was to small. It is twice the size of her previous cage, which is awesome. Assembling it was not a problem and cleaning it is easy. The one flaw of this cage those is the base is not very deep. This means there is always bedding inside and outside of her cage as well as some nearly falling out. It is a very easy clean up though. Basically if the base was a deep as that of her first cage then if would have given it a 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING CAGE DIFINETLY BUY

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
eloisethehamster
from Yarmouth,ME
When I got this cage it was easy to assemble, and as I was surprised to see, it was extremely roomy. I have a big house for the hamster, and a big wheel, and it all fit in there easily, with plenty of room left for little Eloise, my fancy hamster to run around in I even had plenty of room for accesories, like the swing. She loves it and so do I!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very pleased

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
piggiesndhammies
from Chicago, IL
The cage overall works great. It is perfect for a Syrian hamster! My little guy loves it, he now has plenty of room to play. The only negative thing that I have to point out is that the base should be a taller. I have to vacuum spilled bedding of my floor everyday. Besides that though it is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best buy for the low price

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nikicj5
from Pa
This cage has A LOT of room unlike the ones you see at the stores. I have an igloo in there along with a wheel, dish and my hamster has a lot of room to walk around. This was a GREAT buy! Love it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extra roomy cage

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
FluffyHamsterMom
This cage is so much better than the starter one, for a Teddy Bear Hamster. Very quickly my little one got too big for the other. Now he has plenty of room to run around and play with his toys without feeling cramped. I was able to put a hut in for him to sleep in without the worry of him being too cramped. I would highly recommend this for a Teddy Bear Hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great hamster cage

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eem03003
from Connecticut
I recently purchased this cage for my hamster and it is great. It has so much more room than those starter hamster cages that are in stores. There is plenty of room for the food dish and water bottle, an igloo shaped hut and a wheel. The cage is very easy to put together and clean and the latch on the door is very secure. I think this is a cage that should be sold in stores and not just online because it is such a great value. This cage is under $40 but it is the best one I have come across. I am very happy with this cage and so is my hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cage...And Not

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
hamsterify101
This cage was great my long-haired teddy bear hamster loved it. Very roomy, and I had plenty of space to keep his toys and stuff in there. Except when i first bought him, I guess he was kind of small so he could stick his head through the tipsy top of the cage corners. So I had to cover the top corners with Popsicle sticks to stop him from escaping. But now that he is bigger he can't, but just in case I still keep them there. Also when I got the cage the wires were sorta bent and put together strangely, but i figured it out and the assembling was easy. So over all this cage is great, but it has a few exceptions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
RJB4594
from Queens , Ny
This cage is great , it is very good and it gives your small animals a lot of space. I currently have 2 fancy rats living in here and they are so happy. It is bigger than i thought but hey bigger and better! Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of space.

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveMyPets85
from Harlan, Kentucky
I just got my cage today and loved how simple it was to put together and loved that it was exactly what i was looking for....enough space for my "Hammy", as we love to call her, Her current cage was increditble small and not enough of room for her to roam around and stretch her legs. I am glad I got this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hamster Home Sweet Home

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
AnimauxAdorer
I had prepared a small two-level habitat for my Syrian, but returned it after I decided it was too small, and I would feel so guilty cramming him in that little of a cage. So, after extensive research, I chose to order the Ware Small Animal Critter Cage. Warning: The metal latches that attach the cage frame to the base are quite difficult to get on and fix. However, I would recommend this cage to any owner of a Syrian, because I know my little guy is very content and happy with this cage- all his toys and accessories fit great, and it is spacious. I enjoy knowing that he has plenty of room to run around, as oppose to being cramped in one of those colorful plastic cages that are more for decoration than providing an actual home for a living creature, in addition to being far too small for a Syrian. Buy this cage, your hamster will love you for it and will live happily and safe in his new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Syrian Hamsters

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
AaronT
from CA
We have 2 Syrian Hamsters (Teddy Bear Hamsters) and use this cage as it is large enough for 2 wheels, 2 igloos and there food. I have been unable to find another cage large enough for Syrians as they need the larger wheels to not arch there backs while running.
We have had it about a year and it starting to get some rust in the area they use for the bathroom sow ill be buying a new one here soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Chew Proof Small Animal Critter Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Spacious

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
hogie1
Love the big size of this cage. Hogie's igloo, wheel, food and water all fit in great and lots of extra space for her to run or have extra toys. Love the big door for easy access. Also cage snaps together great and fits bottom tray perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>