petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage

Easy no tool assemblyRounded skirt keeps you from getting caught by sharp edgesIncludes three stainless steel cups, seed guard & one perchPull-out bottom grille and tray make cleaning hassle freeIdeal for Small Hookbills, Cockatiels, Conures and Lovebirds
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Review 1 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded our Expectations - our Quaker Parrot Loves It!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
RedRob
from Buffalo, NY
We knew our sweet 3 month old Quaker was ready to come home with us. Now.. its cage/home... where to get, how big, etc?
After reading all the great reviews online for this model, we ordered one, and are 100% VERY HAPPY (as is Simon, our quaker).
- The legs are tall enough to keep our cats intrigued.. but from a distance :-)
- It is *beautiful*.. although we currently keep the cage in our home office where we spend our days, in the summer we intend on bring it into our kitchen.. it is really a LOVELY cage, both functional AND visually appealing. Even the NOBS are rounded and finished looking.
- We were surprised to see the attractive metal food/water dishes.. elegant!
- The cage is tall enough to hang all sorts of toys -- spacious without requiring a huge footprint. The shelf underneath is perfect for food and treats and even the blanket we keep there to cover the cage at night.
- It really was a tool-less design (save the wrench they supplied to help tighten the wheels which would otherwise just spin around when tightening :) The two of us had it done within an hour. I think the only deviation of what we got from the instructions was in the leg assembly; the instructions said to put two parts together using the bolt, but the bolt had already come pre-assembled in one of the parts.
We couldn't be more pleased with the purchase. GREAT cage. VERY reasonable price. FREE shipping (and the unit was heavy!) YAY!
Highly recommended for any small or medium bird!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Veranda Bird Cage

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zeva
from Dawsonville, GA
This bird cage is absolutely beautiful!!! I have four parakeets and they are very happy in this cage. It is large enough for them to spread their wings; I am able to put all their toys in there and still have room for them to move around freely. I love the layout of the feeder cups. It was very easy to put together (my husband was thrilled). Extremely easy to clean.
Very decorative as we have it positioned in the family room where we spend a lot of time. I am so thrilled that I found this cage and very happy with Petco in general.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Make sure you have the space.

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
insearchofcage
from Seattle, wa
This is a beautiful cage, sturdy and it was easy to set up, but I ended up returning it (petco has a fabulous return policy that let me return it in the store even though I bought it online. I did, however, have to enlist the help of a friend with a flat-bed truck in order to get it there). It had nothing to do with the quality of the cage, which is why I give it a good rating. It was just WAYYYY bigger than I thought it would be. Yes, the dimensions are listed, but the fat square iron rods, the bow-legged stand, the jutting seed guard and the height (I'm 5'1 and it was taller than me) all make it appear much larger, deeper, taller and wider than I expected. Very cool ... unless you're in a one-bedroom apartment. I would have loved to see a photo that provided some scale so I could have had some reference. Also, the cage is not removable from the stand (or at least, you couldn't use it that way) so you have to use the stand, which makes it hard to find a place to put it (rather than putting it on a bookshelf, etc, you must have an entire area dedicated to it.) It's also 63 pounds, so once you put it somewhere, it's not so easy to pick up and move elsewhere. I think if you have the space, it would be a beautiful addition to a home. But be sure to set the expectation that it will take up a lot of space (which is nice for the birds ... but not so great if you have space issues). The price is right for such a beautiful, sturdy, unique cage and if my home was bigger, I would have gladly kept it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice cage for price

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovemycritters2
from San Jose, CA
I got this cage about a year ago for my jenday conure. It is about the right size for my bird although if the bird spent all day every day in the cage I would consider it a bit small. The appearance is very attractive. It took some time to assemble bit it wasn't difficult to do, just a lot of pieces. The stand is integrated into the cage and will barely fit through a standard doorway. I do have a few gripes:
-The door latches can be a pain to keep tight enough to use but loose enough to work.
-The seed catcher does a fair job but doesn't release all the seed back into the cage and you have to disassemble the cage to really do a good job of cleaning.
-My bird wants to be with me and she managed to loosen a weld of one of the wires at the top of the cage after about 2 months of pulling. The only danger there is a pinch, but the weld should have held better than that. It is possible that I can get a replacement cage top. Will report back if I cannot.
Overall, it is a very nice cage. The enamel has few if any dings after a year. I get lots of compliments on how pretty the cage is. The arrangement of the food doors is logical and I like that there are 3 of them. I would not put a larger bird in this cage or more than one of anything but a parakeet or smaller. It is fine for my conure or for a cockatiel or smaller bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
kristinabythesea
from The Beach, NC
My little parakeet hasn't stopped singing. She is the happiest I've ever seen her!! This bird cage is not only beautiful but very easy to clean. It only took 15 minutes to assemble and required no tools or screws. I would recommend this cage to anyone with parakeets, cockatiels or smaller parrots. Definitely worth the money spent!! I am so impressed with the little doors for the food and water bowls. The casters on the bottom are heavy duty making it easy to move around. It's also great for keeping my cat away from her. I haven't had to worry once. I give this cage all the stars that are available!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Parrot Palace!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
CSIMelissa
from Kentucky
This cage is better than I ever imagined! Especially because of the price. I've never bought a bird cage sight unseen but I wasn't happy with what I was finding locally and after reading the reviews here I thought I'd take a chance. The cages I found locally have that cheap-o plastic bottom, were smaller and cost more.
I needed a second cage for my 12 year old African Red Bellied Parrot because I wanted him to start sleeping in my room.
I was floored when I opened the box! NO pet store, big or small sells anything like this in my area. The quality is amazing and the cage is very, very sturdy. Sunny took to it right away.
My favorite feature is the pull out grill so I can clean that when I clean the rest of the cage.
There are only 2 drawbacks: The legs of the stand make it so wide I can't roll it through my door (fortunately I put it together IN my bedroom before I discovered this) and too, extra cups need to come with the cage or be sold separately. I run my bird's cups through the dishwasher daily and it's nice to have a backup when the others are in the dishwasher. I did find some in a local pet store that will work with it.
All in all, don't hold back - buy this cage!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cage!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunny1953
from Baker City, OR
This is the EASIEST cage to put together! It really didn't take more than 15 minutes. It's well built, sturdy, and really attractive when finished. I will definitely be getting another of these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
LittleBirdsRock
from Dallas, TX
This cage is perfect for my two parakeets. The horizontal bars are well-spaced, making it easy for them to climb and there is plenty of room for lots of toys. My only minor critique is that the bowls provided are more appropriate for larger birds- I am only using one for toys and have removed the others, attaching other dishes for food and water. However, the bars for the bowls are spaced so I don't have to worry about anyone getting stuck without them in place (hope that makes sense). Overall, a wonderful and very attractive home for my little birds- especially in the green/beige color combo. Also, I did quite a bit of research before my purchase, and Petco had the best price BY FAR. Great deal!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to assemble

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeDee6
from Ohio
I already have one of the cages and needed another. The thing I like best is all the bars on all sides and front are horizonal so birds can climb easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money....

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
NJRobert
I purchased this cage for my cockatiel so he would have plenty of space. When the cage arrived I was very pleased with it's appearance and construction. The cage is very sturdy and the finish is better than I expected. The legs are wide spread so there is no chance of it tipping. Putting the cage together was an easy task. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth every penny!

PostedMay 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MonkiAndCricket
from Colorado Springs, CO
I got a young hand-raised cockatiel 2 months ago. Until now he's been living in the cockatiel starter cage. I was concerned because he never seemed happy in it. I order this larger cage and he has come to life since getting it! He loves exploring it and interacts with his toys now. He also loves climbing on the outside and top of it. He whistles more and is a much happier bird! I was worried about spending so much money but I'm so glad I did!!! I highly recommend the brand to any bird owner. It's worth the investment and will last forever. Assembly was great too. Everything came with screws attached so there was no bag of screws to worry about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful cage

PostedMay 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
lyndascon
from San Francisco, CA
My 2 lovebirds moved from a 17x17 cage and love this one - one has learned that he can fly in this one and takes full advantage of that. It was very easy to assemble even though the directions are somewhat iffy. Very attractive.
The one feature I do not like is that the food and water dishes do not have a lip on them that is easy for the birds to stand on. Also, they are thin and they are deeper than necessary for small birds. I removed them, put 5/8" thick coasters on the base and replaced the stainlless steel bowls (not bad in themselves) with small heavy duty Pyrex ones . These are thick and have a slightly larger lip (much larger than the SS bowls) which makes it much easier for my guys to get their food without having to balance precariously).
Lots of room for toys, etc which makes for a much more interesting and enriching environment. Very sturdy. I love that all the bars are horizontal with 1/2" spacing - great for lovebirds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
GreatCage
This Cage is beautiful and very spacious. Great bar spacing for my parrotlet and very very easy to put together! The food dishes are very neat because they come with an outside door so that you dont have to reach into the cage to get the dish, you just have to unlatch the outside hinge to get them out and they are secure inside the cage so the bird cannot knock them over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Veranda Bird Cage-AWESOME!!

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyK
from Frostburg MD
This cage is AWESOME. Easy assembly and perfect size. The seed catcher does a good job--a lot less messy seed to clean up off the floor. Lots of room and the construction is top rate. A really beautiful cage. My 2 parakeets are in heaven.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great EZ cage

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rehjr
EZ to assemble, attractive and the birds love it !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bird Home

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bleusilver
from Bloomington, IN
I have 7 birds now and the purchase of this bird cage was for our latest addition. He is really enjoying his new home. Compared to all the other bird homes we have purchased this is the best ever. We would definitely recommend this bird cage to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marvelous Pet Supplies Veranda Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
paulinekin1
from Lebanon, CT
I love this cage, and it is big enough for my green cheeck conure. Plenty of room, really good construction and it was easy to put together. My husband and 10 year old put it together in about 30 minutes. Directions were a little vague but still easy. Great purchase for the price of this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.