petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat

Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat

Dog booster seat keeps your dog out of your lap while drivingInstalls quickly and securelyMetal supports for structural integrityDog car seats are collapsible for easy storage when not in useMachine washable quilted pad and liner included
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
25 out of 29(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Review 1 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kurgo Skybox Blue Pet Booster Car Seat

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
doodoofairy
from Plano,TX
I love my booster car seat for my Yorkie. He can now see out the window, and I feel good about his safety.
This is a Must if you take your dog driving with you.
Glad I bought it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Seat

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
mollybella
from OR
My Chi loves being up so she can see out. She's safe and happy in this seat. Plus it came assembled, so that it was easy to use. Washable cover comes off easily and, for her, there is room for a blanket inside the carrier. She likes it a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Buy

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
swtcaroline
from Texas
I bought this booster seat for the latest addition to our family, Frankie, our rescue dog. He absolutely loves this seat. He rides high enough so he can see out the window and it keeps him secure so he doesn't bump around. The latch inside the seat attaches to his harness, so I can rest assure he's safe. He actually enjoys sitting there and doesn't fuss at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chewy loves it!!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
EvCurlGurl
from Bronx, NY
My 12 year old Yorkie Chew is in HEAVEN!! Since he is so small (5 lbs.) he can never see out the window unless I hold him up as I drive (and that's not a good idea) my pal Claudia decided to get Chewy this gift. Also, I never drive with my window down, for fear he may jump or fly out. NOW, Chewy is elevated (box-seat view, lol) and SECURE - with the tether clip attached to his harness. This is the best product ever - we BOTH thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

riding safer

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
edirie
from san jose california
I have two small dogs that have always been afraid to ride in the car and i have had to use pillows and blankets and they were still uncomfortable and could not see out the window. They did not even have to be trained to stay in the seat they love being able to see out, its small and secured . I recommend this product to anyone that has a small dog or dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Frankie8
from MO
I really like this thing. It clips right around the head rest of my passenger seat and is the perfect size for my puppy. He may get too big for it some day (he's a beagle) but for now it works great. There is plenty of room for him to curl up and I love how it has a latch to keep him from jumping out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I returned it to my local Petco Store

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
babygirlhav
from Gig Harbor, WA
Bought this to keep my 13 pound Havanese safe in the car. It was supposed to come with a U shaped metal piece that goes in the bottom of the booster seat. Was not included. I installed it anyway and was really floppy - could not get it to stay parallel to the seat. Tipped forward. Basically it was worthless. Going to reorder another brand online from Petco and see if it works better. When I took it back I looked at the same booster car seat they had in the store and it also did not have the U shaped metal piece. So not sure if that was why it was so floppy?? Anyway - easy decision to return it!! Thankful Petco makes returning easy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

would buy again

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
AZ71
from Arizona
Great product. My newly adopted dog was very nervous riding in the car. I put her in the booster seat and she was totally calm. She's only 7.9lbs so I was concerned for her safety before the seat. I didn't give five stars because instructions for installing the seat were incomplete. Also the clip that holds the dog in the seat is huge so doesn't fit through the clip on her harness so I have to slip the clip through a strap on the harness. I'm looking for a smaller clip to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super great product

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
dutterbutter
from Texas
This product is super steady unlike the one that purchase before. My little Yokie buddy is about 14 inches long and he has plenty of room to move around, laid down. the height is super perfect; so if I should have to slam on the brakes! I don't have to worry about him hanging over the edge and dangling below his car seat by his harness unlike the other product I purchase. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who likes to take their little guy with them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love this!

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveOURDOG
from St. Louis, MO
This is actually our second one we purchased, now we have one for each car. We love it, it's the perfect size for our 14lb shih-tzu. She absolutely loves going for rides and sitting in her car seat. We feel that having her in the seat and buckled in makes for a much safer ride than letting her run around the back seat and cause a distraction to the driver. We definitely recommend this!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kurgo booster seat almost perfect

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DoctorAnnie
from St. Paul, MN
My 10# Pomeranian mix loves this car seat (other than that she would much rather be in my lap). I like that it is elevated so that there is space beneath to set things on my car's seat. There is no smell that other reviewers complain of. I think they fixed the metal bar problem that others complained of, now there is a plastic tube that the bar gets inserted into. The seat is well constructed of quality materials, however the liner comes off very easily. I fixed this with mitten clips on the corners. The recommended tether does not come with the seat, which seems cheap and silly (and I couldn't find it anywhere to buy). I use a carabiner in place of the mystery tether, and then clip it to my dog's harness, this works perfectly. I like the storage pockets for wipes and bags.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great-But....

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
JackRussellMom1821
from Cookeville,TN
I bought it, went outside and was able to put it together within 10 minutes. Set-up is breeze, just attach metal frame to headrest, and it's ready. They also provide an "metal-headrest" in case you don't have one in your car which I think is really nice. I don't think you could use this with a collar, but with a harness it is wonderful. For my jack-russel, I had to adjust the holding strap to the smallest size that way she couldn't roam that much in it. My jack-russell is 15 and 1/2 pounds so this is just perfect for her. It is padded, but I still put a blanket to give it that "home" touch. 5 STARS!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Car Seat

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chi4Me
from Lancaster, Ca
I bought 2 of these for my Chiweenies. They love it as much as me. Now they can see out the window, and are secure in their seats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smart looking Car Seat

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunpenny
from Northern VA
The car seat is pretty, sturdy and easy to use. It attaches easily to all the seats in my Honda Pilot. My only complaint is the sticks that keep the sides up come out of the sides pretty easily and I'm always having to reinsert them. Luckily, they stay up pretty well on their own. My chihuahua is very comfortable it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kurgo Car Seat is Excellent and Safe Car Seat.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
2ShihTzuOwner
from Kansas City, MO
I bought the Kurgo Seat first for my Lhasa Apso and was able to adjust the height so she could ride securely and see out the window in the back seat and allow me to drive safely. It was so great I bought another for my Shih Tzu and was able to add a pillow or fold up a blanket in the seat to give her a comfortable area to sleep whle riding. I love these seats and recommend them for owners with small dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gknee
from West Virginia
Perfect for travel. Sam, our 12 pound Bichron Frise loves it. He can look out the window in total comfort. Just his size. Thanks. Wish I had ordered sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyWookie
from Ohio
The product arrived in its original box which was not built to withstand shipping. Upon unpacking it we were overwhelmed by the smell of moth balls. Our dog, who had been curious, backed away it smelled so bad. We attempted to put it together only to find that the crossbar was too short for the caps it was supposed to fit into. Anytime we lifted it up it would fall out rendering it useless. I returned it to our local store and purchased a different model. Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Summer2Travel
from Georgia
I had concerns about using the car seat in the back seat because it is supposed to buckle all the way around the back of a seat. I just wrapped both buckles around the headrest & it seems secure. Our 5lb. chiweenie cried at first but after a few minutes he started enjoying the ride & looking out the window. He seems to like the secure feeling of having the inside strap buckled to his harness. He did very well on a 3 hour trip. I'm glad I purchased this seat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for small dogs.

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
tacobelle
from Dallas, TX.
We replaced our 2 booster seats with 2 Kurgos. The Kurgos do not sit on the car seat, but rather "hang" from headrest. This provides extra room to place items under the booster seat.
Negatives: Would not place a 30 lb. dog in it. It is fine for our 12 lb. dog. Also do not like harness clips provided. We "rigged" a strap that is more user-friendly. Otherwise, we would highly recommend them for smaller dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kurgo Skybox Blue Collapsible Pet Booster Car Seat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Product

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
aminin
from Philadelphia, PA
I chose this particular booster seat because it seemed to get good reviews and also could handle a dog up to 30 lbs.
GOOD:
It was easy to set up and install.
Seems comfortable for the dog (except for the clip - read below)
Easy to clean.
Reasonable price.
BAD:
The clip that attaches to the harness is supposed to loop through the seat belt and then clip onto the dog. However, after you loop it through the seat belt, it's no longer long enough to comfortably attach to the dog. My dog looked kind of choked and forced back. The clip length is adjustable, but I have already set it to the longest length.
The material is flimsy. Easy to setup, but it breaks apart easily too.
Came with broken parts. There are several pockets surrounding the outside of the seat where you can put your dog essentials. They are velcroed shut. Mine came with velcro straps that had detached from both sides.
I am very doubtful as to the product's claim that it can actually handle a dog up to 30 lbs. Even if it could, it'd have to be a pretty small dog because the booster seat is pretty small. And honestly, unless your small/toy sized dog is fairly obese, it shouldn't be 30 lbs. My dog is a puppy right now but at full grown, he'll be around 30lbs. However, he will definitely not fit in this seat when that time comes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>