petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats

FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats

FURminator cat brush reduces shedding up to 90% & helps prevent hairballsFURminator deShedding tool quickly and easily removes undercoat and loose hairStainless steel deShedding bladeEasy to use push-button fur ejectorSleek, ergonomic handle makes the tool easy to gripBlade is specifically designed for your pet's coat lengthFURminator deShedding tool is specially designed for cats over 10 lbs.Available in two sizes, for long and short hair
Average Customer Rating:
4.849 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 out of 52(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Review 1 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works!

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
psmf
from cincinnati, ohio
Both of my cats will sit still and let me brush them for a steady 20 minutes, unlike any other grooming tool I've used before--they really like i!t! Shedding has decreased significantly. My black cat's coat really shines now and does not show dander on it. I use it 2 times each week as the directions recommend, and usually brush them one or two times in between. I am a very satisfied and happy customer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

glad I got it

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
petszoo
from ohio
Good tool! Use on my siamese, he doesn't mind it, His coat looks great, there's much less hair flying off him when I pet him, and less shedding overall. Does what I wanted it to do. He's about 12 lbs, I got the larger one for short hair and I think its the right one. I'd recommend for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product easy to use

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
1greattool
from Nashville,Tn
This product does such a great job on getting hair off my cats. So easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for long haired cats

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
friend2animals
from LI, NY
Two years ago we adopted our first Long haired stray cats. Unlike short hair cats, regular brushing didn't keep up with the large amount of fur. The Furminator removes large amounts of fur in a reasonable amount of time. We finish the grooming with a regular brush.
The cats are more comfortable and we are able to keep their fur under control and prevent matting. The cats seem to be comfortable while having the Furminator used on them. The cats seem to have fewer furballs incidents.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
kvc1
from rapid city,sd
Great product! Works well, not agressive and my cats love it. I recommend this tool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Shedding Brush

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
busyshopper12
from Michigan
This tool actually eliminates 90% of my cats shedding. Other tools claim to but this one does the job. It is well worth the price. I should have bought it much sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever!!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
HappyMama1228
from Birdsboro, PA
This product was well worth the money. My cat is somewhat fussy, he hated the wire brush and the glove. He did enjoy the lint roller, but that didn't get his undercoat.
My cat adores this brush, he will lay down and let me groom him from head to toe, he even rolled over for me to get his belly. I couldn't believe all the hair I was able to get off of him! I highly reccomend this product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My cats don't like it...

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarie
from Seattle, WA
but it DOES work. My cats don't mind the regular brush but when I use this one they get very angry. I try to be very gentle because I know it can hurt them. The few stroke that I do get in get quite a bit of hair off though so it does work. I just wish they liked it more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WOW! AMAZED!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Four
from PA
This works very very well!! I have an old brush that I used to use, and it had a lot of fur on it after brushing with it a few months. But when I used the FURminator brush it got more fur after just a few minutes. And she handled the FURminator A LOT BETTER, she didn't growl nearly as much and she didn't even hiss once. =) But it is a bit pricey....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Furminator for Large Cats

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Splatty
from Zieglerville PA
This de-shedder is INCREDIBLE!!!!! I knew my cat had a thick coat, but I had no idea how thick. She absolutely loves to be shed out every day. I think I have most of it out of her now, but she still wants to be shed. I do it very gently and she even lets me do her belly. This is well worth the money. I can't say how surprised I was when the hair started coming out with the Furminator. She's been very itchy and when I first got her as a rescue, she had the worst coat I'd ever seen in a cat. Now, her coat is beautiful, smooth and silky and she's one happy cat who isn't licking and chewing to get it out so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
RufusMittz
This tool works amazingly. My cat always sheds when you pet him. I was amazed at how much fur came out when I used the furminator on him! I definitely recommend this product to anyone with a cat that sheds a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES YES YES

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
MandP
from Glendale, CA
Amazing product...have already recommended to several friends...I still can't believe how much hair comes off running it lightly across their coats.
No wonder poor kitties have furballs !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Furminator really works.

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
nilmut
from atlanta, ga
The Furminator does a great job in getting to the underneath fur. My cats love for me to use it on them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovemycats9
from Alloway,NJ
This product works very well, but be careful to not overdue it. I have a himilayan cat and I just kept brushing his tail and it thinned it out too much. I waited to see if it would comb without anymore hair coming out, but it just keeps stripping out the hair. So be careful not to over comb your pet or they will end up bald. I do like the product it will take out the toughest mats and it really brushes out the under coat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really works!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loveit2013
from Colorado
took out undercoat matts came out cat has long hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad I bought this

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tontina
from PA
Although ragdoll coats are supposed to be more like rabbit fur, unfortunately for my little guy, his is thicker and a little more course. On top of that, his skin is super sensitive. When we brush him, we always get a ton of hair off of him, but he always cries because it tugs on his skin. I bought a really good grooming brush with wooden bristles to help stimulate his skin (breeder recommendation) so we started using the grooming brush first to work out tangles and then follow up with the FURminator. I wish I would have bought it sooner. Don't let the price keep you from purchasing. It is worth it. It pulled off a lot of hair and he didn't cry nearly as much. Just don't get too overzealous with it. You shouldn't repeatedly comb the same spot. My little guy is a lot happier now. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Removes a TON of Hair

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
dplatnyc
from Callicoon Center, NY
This is an amazing comb. As an experiment, we kept all of the hair it took off of our short-haired orange tabby in a single week and it filled a gallon-sized ziploc bag. We only brushed him for a couple of minutes 5 out of 7 days. He doesn't mind it at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works!!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lilix83
from NJ
This is the best brush that you can buy your cat. Don't even waste your money on buying 5 or 6 cheap brushes when you can get a GREAT one but just spending a little more. Its well worth the money. The very first stroke was a HUGE ball of hair. I couldn't believe it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for major shedding!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
KittyLover7
from Temecula, CA
I should have gotten this years ago! It's works like a charm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic grooming tool

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
KathrynB
from MN
We have 3 large Main Coons, and therefore, we have hair EVERYWHERE. It seems we can never keep up with brushing them, and matting becomes an issue at times. While I always thought the Furminator was a gimmick and overpriced, now that I have one, I know just how wrong I was.
I am amazed at the amount of hair this removes from our cats. I removed what looked like 3 cats' worth of hair from just one cat! My mama cat loves to be Furminated, and returns over and over for more. My male isn't so sure about it and only tolerates partial brushings at a time, but he is a super-groomer that bathes more than any cat I know, and prefers to do his own work. My daughter's cat does not like to do much grooming, so this groomer is perfect for her. She has the thickest hair I've ever seen on a cat, and the Furminator works well to remove that undercoat.
We have already seen a huge reduction in the number of hacked up furballs in our house in just over a week, along with less hair on the furniture and on our clothes. I HIGHLY recommend the Furminator!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>