petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs

FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs

Large FURminator grooming brush reduces shedding up to 90%Quickly and easily removes undercoat and loose hairStainless steel deShedding bladeEasy to use push-button fur ejectorSleek, ergonomic handle makes the FURminator deShedding tool easy to gripBlade is specifically designed for your pet's coat length
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
45 out of 48(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Review 1 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mama2Daisy
from VA
Worth the $. Gets great gobs of hair off of my lab every time I use it. Easy to eject the hair off of the tool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for grooming

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Budweisersmom
from Sagamore Beach, MA
I have used other wire brushes with my other Labs, but this is by far the best. Well built, contains the hairs while grooming and easy to use. I highly recommend for Labrador Retriever dog owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BUY IT NOW!!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
ALBERT22
from Cypress, Texas
Great Product!
PLEASE STOP LOOKING FOR OPTIONS AND BUY IT!
I do recommend this product, sorry for the short words to describe it, but please see the pics, I think that if you have a Lab like a I have you'll get it.
(I did it twice and I see the difference, and I got 3 big hair balls)
=-)
BUY IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome comb

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
kenzo
from las vegas,nv
great for my husky!!! ease of use too....my husky sheds alot so this tool help keep his fur nice and smooth and not much on our sofas....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So satisfying!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
HarlequinPup
from Washington, DC
I bought this large Furminator for my Harlequin Great Dane puppy, and I love using it. Rather than collect and re-deposit fur, this grabs the fur that would shed, and it grabs a very satisfyingly large amount of fur. After just using it for a day or two, the amount coming off became less and less, and I am happy with how much less my puppy seems to be shedding. I used to feel the need to change my clothes after him swiping my legs once, but now I see less fur left behind on my clothes, floor, and furniture.
I cannot attest to how long it will last. It seemed like a large investment, but so far it feels worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mimitomany
from Houma, la
Removes fur well and easy to clean! Like it so much that I bought one for my long hair cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Work well, but not that impressed

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura2210
from Rome, GA
This product works just "okay" for our Husky-German Shepherd mix. She sheds A LOT and we own many deshedding tools to try to work on her coat. I was excited to get this product but it doesn't work much better than standard rakes. The function to push the hair off the combs doesn't work that well and you still have to use your hand to pull some of the hair off. The tool also shocks my dog due to all of the static electricity it creates. We will use it, but also with our other rakes. I don't think it was really worth the money for a dog with a thick undercoat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Death to all hairballs!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leozpride
from Atlanta, GA
I am so in love with this little brush. I have a yellow lab that doesn't shed, he molts, I could knit another dog with the amount of hairballs on my floor. I've tried various other brushes for my lab, Chowder. The most successful was the hook brush with little teeth as it was the only one to get to the under coat, until now.
This brush does a great job on getting to the undercoat of Chowder. It's much more gently than the hook brush and he just lies there while I brush away. It gets so much hair off that I see less and less hairballs floating across my floor. Chowder even seems to love it when he see the brush come out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
RTIN
from Elkhart, IN
I got this for my black lab and brushed him right when I got home. It was unreal what came off of him, I saw the results instantly! His coat looked shinier, less hair falling around the house. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great referral

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ajune32
from Michigan
I did exchange this product for the medium size but I am very satisfied with this product. I bought it after using a friend's and couldn't be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Brush. Store and Website discrepancies

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DocAlt
from Cdale, IL
First,
This brush is fantastic. Works as advertised. We have a yellow lab who sheds a ton of fur p/day. The Furmintor removes more fur than any other brush we have owned.
My only complaint is that there was a $10.00 difference between the store price and the online price that I did not notice till after purchasing the brush. That is lame.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simply the best

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
scook311
from PA
I will never waste my money on another brand. Simply the best
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Furminator

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
AustralianCatahoula
from Texas
Just bought this product, and tried it on my Australian/Catahoula's mix. I have two, one is short hair and one is long hair. FURminator (long hair) brush is great. First attempt and both dog sat there and enjoyed the combing/brush. Pulled a ton of hair off both dogs (4 months old). The price is a steep but it works and the button on the comb is smooth and removed the hair from the brush on 1-2 pushes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Brush!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
LabradoodleMama
from Fishers, IN
I have never seen so much hair come out of our Labradoodle without combing her forever! Very little effort to get out a lot of hair! Definitely worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abs1929
from St. Paul, MN
Jake (lab) likes to get brushed, he sits so well for this. Make sure to brush them after they're washed and dried. Makes a huge difference in how much hair you get off of them. The biggest part is to keep up on the brushing, just like humans, animals need to be groomed as well!
Happy Brushing!
Jake
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Removes hair but also creates more hair to remove

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
3DogMama
from Olney, MD
I admit this removes alot of hair, but it also thins out the hair which creates more hair to remove. I used this on my collie, and the hair never stopped coming, after a week. I then realized that like barber clippers, the blade on the brush was actually thinning out the hair and cutting as it went through. If you look at the furminator the blades are just like a barbers clipper blades. So the hair will never stop coming because it continually creates more hair to remove. I know this for a fact because after having her brushed with the furminator, I put her in the car with the windows open and all the sudden hair was EVERYWHERE. that is when I realized it was the furminators fault as that had never happened when I used a regular ol brush. So spend your money if you wish to on this, or if you just want to thin out your dogs coat (And dont mind having to brush them nonstop) but I personally recommend a regular brush (And comb) over this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Natdvet
from Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Bought it for my Siberian Husky, and it is fantastic. She sits there waiting to be brushed now and there are no tumble weeds around the house. Would recommend it highly to anyone with a pet ( also have one for my cats which is just as good).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best for shedding

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
AthenaBowers
from Spokane, Wa
this is by far the best tool i have used to lessen the shedding of my 3 yr old husky she still leaves her hair around but grooming atleast once a week with the furminator atleast keeps it off the clothing and furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ForMarley
from Normal, IL
I just recently got a 4 yr old black lab and have always had Yorkies, so the shedding and hair all over the place was new to me and driving me crazy. This comb has DRASTICALLY reduced the hair. He also had issues with itchy skin and allergies, and has since quit scratching as much. I love this comb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Large Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
TinaBug
from Derby, KS
We have a Siberian Husky and when she begins to shed, the summer can become a nightmare. I had heard of this product but was skeptical spending that much money on a "dog brush." For the past couple of years I had purchased brushes that were worthless. I finally broke down and bought the Furminator. WOW. With just a few swipes, a ton of hair was removed. I smack myself for wasting money on the previous brushes. This was a God send! I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>