petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs

FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs

FURminator grooming brush reduces shedding up to 90%Quickly and easily removes undercoat and loose hairStainless steel deShedding bladeEasy to use push-button fur ejectorSleek, ergonomic handle makes the tool easy to gripBlade is specifically designed for your pet's coat length
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
46 out of 49(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Review 1 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best tool ever

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
1problemsolved
from ashland city
Love this item, it is so easy to use for removing hair. I would recommend this to every one that has a dog, especially one that sheds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mypet2
Would totally recommend this comb for dealing with pesky shedding. If you do it every day for 10-15 mins.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

scrapgal

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
scrapgal
It's works good. I have a golden retriever so I have to empty it after a couple of strokes. It works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Comb

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
FlamencoGirl
from Puerto Rico
I was so tired of having to vacum everyday that I bought this Furminator comb. I have a golden retreiver mix dog but he looks just like a golden, specially on the amount of hair he sheds the whole year round. This hair clogs all my electric appliances including my desktop PC which is close to the floor. Now I comb my dog with it and the hair started to diminish in great quantities. It is also easy to discard the combed hair, just a push on the button and it comes out in a perfect bundle. Buy this, you won'r regret it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Graet product

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
PitBullMom4
from San Diego, CA
I have a pit bull who although doesn't shed as much as other breeds, sheds enough to clog the drain cover at the doggie self wash. An employee at the self wash recommended the FURminator and I am glad that I bought it. I began seeing a difference in the amount of hair shed after brushing my dog twice a week for two weeks. The FURminator also is very gentle and my dog actually enjoys being brushed. I would recommend the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG Incredible

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Berynice
from Long Beach CA
I got a new rescue dog and she shed more hair than the other three combined. Granted, they are poodle types and the new one is a short hair very distant cousin of a shepherd (or coyote). Her hair was everywhere. I despaired. My clothes were covered with hair, the floor - everyplace. I googled to find the best thing to do and this deshedding tool came up. It is the best! End of problem. Painless. I would give it 10 stars if I could. You will not be sorry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
8petsandcounting
from Davie, FL
this takes out so much fur. i used to use another product, and it never took out as much fur as the furminator does. i would never use anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Corgilover51
from Fresno, Ca.
I have to say I was very skeptical about the Furminator, it seemed like just another expensive product to shed my money from me. Was I ever wrong! My fluffy Cardigan Welsh Corgi is not a fan of being brushed so I was expecting lots of resistance the first time Furminating her, but nope, she was fine with it and it works like MAGIC! It's a lot of money, but it's worth every penny and more! If you don't already have one, BUY NOW!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
SkinnyGirl
from Fairfax, VA
We tried using a standard flat brush on our pit bull mix and that did not do much. With the furminator, we get a lot of her undercoat and it keeps the amount of hair in the house down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
LynnMarie
from Northern California
I was puppy-sitting for a friend's dog and they brought a FURminator along. Wow! So I bought one of my own. It pulls up so much of the undercoat and the dog likes it. I end up with piles of hair that could have ended up all over the house. The dog feels so soft afterward. I highly recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome...

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
abbykins
from hawaii
i was hesitant to get this because of the price and i had a generic one but after getting it there is no going back. i love it, its worth it, and it is perfect for my 45 lb boxer/samoyed mix. i tried to use the small one of her but it would take too long. it takes off a good amount of hair and it makes her soft. i do this about every day and there is a difference in her shedding in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog enjoys brush time

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShedProb
from Orland Park, IL
I absolutely love this brush and so does my dog. We have brush time together and every time he sees this brush he starts wagging his tail.
I love this brush because it has the release mechanism so you don't have to pull the hair off the brush. I also have seen improvements on the shedding afterwards.
The only down side is the brushing process is a bit time consuming. I did about an hour for two days and I still feel that I could have kept brushing. The hair never stops coming out. LOL!
I think in due time, IF brushed regularly this brush has incredible results. I recommend this brush for anyone who has a shedding dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most awesome comb ever!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jas0n
from Houston, TX
I was extremely hesitant about this product because of the price, but you really get what you pay for! Even after brushing my dog with all my other combs & brushes I started using the FURminator and was able to get out a TON more hair! It combs through the thick, long hair with ease. My dog doesn't mind it at all, he usually will sit down while I'm brushing him, and then eventually lay dog on the ground! lol... Seriously, this is the product to get if your dog sheds a lot!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from KY
This is clearly a well made and comfortable tool. thus far it has done a good job of removing the "under fur". However, I have other fur removal tools which do a good job also. In defense of FURminator, I have not tried this after giving my dog a bath. It is clearly made better than any other shedding tool I own. I gave it a "4" becasue of the cost, it will be up to the purchaser to decide the cost benefit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT but not the price

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gmor
from Des moines, IA
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this brush its take me less time to brush my dog and he actually stays still with this brush he seems to love it also he always gets it for me! !! only bad thing the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Weeze
from Janesville, WI
I have a black lab who sheds a lot, and I just love this product. Less sweeping and vacuuming for me now, plus my dog's coat looks great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
stache20
from bolingbrook,IL
It is worth the extra money, it really made my life easier dealing with my shedding dog! And she loves it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

May want to buy 2 if unsure of which size.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daisys
from Weehawken, NJ
My shepherd mix's hair is less than 2 inches so I bought this one going by the product description. It works great on her shorter hair but, unfortunately, it tears/cuts my dog's 1 - 1.5 inch hair out. I bought a $7.99 looped rake that is much more effective. I will be returning this to the store because of the high cost. I'm sure it works great on a dog with only short hair.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It just plain works

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steuben
from Brooklyn, NY
I was very skeptical that yet-another-grooming-tool/brush could actually make a dent in the amount of shedding that landed around the house. With experience with the FURminator under my belt, don't be afraid about giving your dog a thorough brushing (though it feels more like combing), but try to find a place outdoors or someplace confined since quite a bit of undercoat is going to go flying. Perhaps the vacuum attachment, sold separately, would help, but my dog is no fan of the vacuum so I don't think that's a reasonable option.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FURminator deShedding Tool for Medium Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
FrankG
from Baytown, TX
Really reduces shedding on my lab/german Sheppard mix, she has a medium length coat and a really thick undercoat that sheds ALOT during the summer here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>