petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food

Complete & balanced nutrition for your catGrain free, all natural formulaFresh meat is the #1 ingredientMade in the US and contains no artificial colors, flavors, preservatives or by-productsIdeal for both cats & kittensCanned formulas offer added hydration to your cat's diet
Average Customer Rating:
4.614 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
41 out of 44(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good food, good price

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wayne1952t
from caseyville, il
I started feeding my 23 year old cat B.G. after switching her from other grain free. Her stomach takes this better and she eats it very well along with the 14 yr. old that still acts like a kitten at times. I believe in grain free because all my animals live a very long time without incidents.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat doesn't like it

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
omnie
My cat really hates the chicken flavor (the only one we've tried). She eats lots of other canned foods but is very reluctant about eating Merrick's chicken flavor and will often leave a lot of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good so far

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dreya
from Albuquerque, NM
I was feeding my cat Friskies canned food. I think it was causing a lot of her constipation on top of feeding her Iams naturals weight control. Since, I switched to the Merrick BG canned food and the Merrick kibble, she has been doing a lot better. It has not been quite long enough to rate it five stars yet, so we will see. Thus far, she loves both the Merrick tuna kibble and tuna canned food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product, but consider skipping shipping

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
PAKayaker
My cats hate canned food and resisted every kind I tried to feed them. My vet insisted that I keep trying so I could keep their weight under control. I tried this because they like the dry BG Chicken food, and they went nuts for the canned Chicken food! One of them resisted the Chicken & Quail at first, but now they both devour either kind. And they are now both down to healthy weights after only a month of splitting one can between the two of them (quarter can each, twice a day) each day, and 1/4 cup each of dry food once a day.
The Quail cans were all dented fairly severely when shipped to my house, and a few of the chicken cans were dented. Luckily they are pop-tops, otherwise I wouldn't have been able to open them. I would recommend buying them in the store instead of having them shipped to the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cats love the chicken flavor

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
pandora32
from MA
Both my cats really like the chicken flavor.
Unfortunately neither of them likes the turkey one.
I haven't tried any other flavors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

merrick before grain

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
honeycleo
from bloomingdale, nj
product is great the cats love it and they are very healthy with no digestive problems and shiny coats. The one who had problems with grains is doing much better since I started giving him this grain free product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hit & miss

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
celster
from brooklyn, ny
My kittens haven't been excited about this food. In most cases they eat a little of it and the rest sits in their plate to dry. I've had to trash more then they've consumed.
I'd recommend anyone to try it because it is a healthy choice but can't say if they'll love it (but I guess that's true for any food).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even tempting me!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzi3
My kitty has minor digestive problem. But she didnt have a single sign for that since having this! Additonally, she enjoys this so much! she meows every morning putting her hands on the cabinet, where the cans inside, asking for this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick canned cat food

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zeusmomma
My cat loves this cat food. It stays moist longer and my cat really enjoys it. Plus it is grain free which I think makes it healthier for my cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now if I could just get it out the can faster

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
123Uptown
from New York, NY
My little lady loves this food. She gets canned food once a week and she does her dance (weaving between my legs) until she gets this food. However for some reason this food is hard to get out the can. I generally wouldn't care except like I said she is tripping me up until she gets it. I love to see her happy and she is certainly happy when she gets this food. Plus this food doesn't turn gross when left in her bowl for awhile.
I'd buy it over and over again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Merrick!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
atm913
from Long Beach, CA
I'm so happy there's a product that is good nutrition for my cats and that they enjoy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitten loves this!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Syribo
from Long Island
My 8 week old rescued kitten LOVES this food. Her favorite is the Quail and Chicken flavor. I've never seen her love something so much. As soon as she smells me getting it ready for her, she tries to climb up my pants legs! She will eat and eat and eat, so I have to carefully ration out the perfect amount for her, because she just won't stop eating this one!
I bounce back and forth between this and Wellness Core Kitten. But I think when I use up the Wellness Core canned food I have, I am going to stick with the Before Grain wet food.
Her fur is absolutely beautiful, shiny, soft. She is full of energy, her stools are perfectly normal, and she is at a perfect weight.
She likes the chicken flavor as well (Doesn't care much for any of the fish or beef varieties), but this Quail and Chicken is a HUGE hit!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Matty and Patty's Favorite Foods

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
RipSnort
from Mansfield, TX
Matty and Patty are male and female tabby siblings. They were rescued two weeks ago at the age of ten weeks. I started them on "grain-free" food for kittens, both canned and dry.
Wanting to keep them from being accustom to only one type of food, they were introduced to three different brands. I'm very happy with the results as "grain-free" was the diet I felt best for them.
Please keep in mind that these are "grain-free" foods for kittens that will continue to be their food for the next eight to twelve weeks. I certainly hope they will enjoy the adult versions as they enter their next life-stage.
Thus I have compiled a list with their favorite listed first. I hope this helps in choosing a food (in my opinion) worthy of your new family members. Both of ours are enthusiastic with ALL of these.
1. BLUE Wilderness Kitten (canned)
2. Before Grain by MERRICK (canned)
a) Chicken
b) Turkey
c) Salmon
I've only seen this brand at Petco.
3. BLUE Wilderness Kitten (dry)
4. Core Kitten Formula by WELLNESS (canned)
5. Before Grain Chicken by MERRICK (dry)
6. Core Kitten Formula by WELLNESS (dry)
In conclusion I'm glad that Matty and Patty prefer canned over dry food, but a bit surprised they choose BLUE Wilderness (dry) over Core Kitten Formula (canned).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best cat foods around

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Follicle
Cats are carnivores and should only eat meat. Canned food has more meat than dry food, and Merrick's 96% meat has, well,.....96% meat. Grains are not apart of a cats diet which is why I love how this brand is grain free. My cat loves this food and since he's been eating it he looks healthier, has a softer, more shiny coat, and he has more energy. I would recommend this food to all of my friends who want to feed their cats the proper diet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitties LOVE it!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
JDWoods
from Titusville, FL
My male cat keeps having urinary track problems so I decided to stop feeding them the dry urinary food that I had them on to wet food, but I didn't want all of the extra crud that most wet and dry foods have. And my cats HATE wet food, they have never eaten any wet food other than licking at the gravy. I put a small amount of the Before Grain down and nom nom nom went the kitties! They LOVE it! I'm really excited, and I believe this should solve my male's UT problems. More natural diet, more moisture, and they eat it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cat food

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
ihavecats
I first found this cat food in the dry version at a trendy pet boutique as I was looking for a healthier alternative to my old cat food. Cats can actually not properly hydrate themselves through water alone, and can develop feline diabetes on an all dry food diet. I leave this same brand of dry food out for my kitties all day (with fresh water constantly) and I feed them this wet food 3-5 times a week. My cats are healthier, more lively, their coats are shinier and softer, and my 4 year old is back to a healthy weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"mostly meat" !! Our cat loves it.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
PuckiesMom
from Atlanta GA
Our cat was recently diagnosed with diabetes and we decided to eliminate dry food (high carb content) FOREVER, replacing with a quality wet canned food that was mainly animal protein, no filler, and much fewer carbs. Never a serious canned food eater, she loves the Before Grain Chicken and Turkey, and Tuna. Her blood glucose lowered only slightly on dry food, even with insulin, but it has begun to lower and remain in more acceptable ranges after 2 weeks of feeding wet food. It's so encouraging to watch her improvement, to see her gradual return to more normal energy levels, and to watch her enjoy your food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for diabetic cats

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
jocelynf
from eureka, california
one of my cats was recently diagnosed with feline diabetes, and she needed to be put on a grain free/low carb diet. after trying several brands, we have found the merrick BG (beef in particular) to be the most satisfying and lowest in carbs. the cats LOVE it, and my non diabetic cat now has the softest, shiniest coat you've ever seen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rich and highly palatable

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarolC3
from New Orleans
I purchased a variety of kitten foods for my newly adopted, tiny kittens to try. I knew they liked tuna fish, so I bought the BG in tuna and salmon favors. They go nuts for them! BG is their favorite brand so far, other than the pricey prescription food they needed for a while.
The BG appears to be very soft, luscious, and rich in fish oils, which is perfect for my scrawny kittens who are just recently starting to demonstrate big appetites. Two of them had very puny appetites for a while, so it's a relief to have found something wholesome that they all enjoy. I'm very happy to get them started in life on a heathful path. Hopefully they'll be healthy eaters for a long, long time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merrick Before Grain 96% Meat Grain Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food choice!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
abigspottedkitty
from Missouri
My cats love this food! It helped my overweight cat go down to a healthy weight and since it's grain-free it didn't upset her tummy. I love that it's 96% meat and not loaded with unnecessary fillers. Great value, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>