petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KONG Senior Dog Toy

KONG Senior Dog Toy

Made with a gentle rubber formula just for senior dogsHelps reestablish play and exercisePerfect to use with KONG Senior Stuff'N Treats - sold separatelyMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Review 1 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Senior Kong

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
The rubber is nice and soft for an older dog, or a dog with more sensitive teeth or dental issues. Our dog is older so he has slowly been taking to the toy, but he certainly loves having a peanut butter snack inside of it. Color was different from the image online, but that does not make any real difference. Otherwise, no problems with the toy, just have to find where the dog hid it every time we want to use it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for older doggies

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
Like other rescued dogs who had to fend for themselves, ours is missing some teeth, so she does very well with this Kong & is so proud of herself when she gets the treats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for dogs with missing teeth

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pleasantville, NY
I just adopted a dog from a shelter that is missing half of his teeth (poor boy!). it's is soft enough for dogs like him to chew on it and he really enjoyed his first kong session. well done!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She loves it!

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Taylor, MI
I have a 9-year old poodle mix that weighs 13 pounds. The size is perfect for her mouth and it is easy for her to carry around. She absolutely loves it. I wish I had purchased it a long time ago because it keeps her from getting bored.
The one challenge is that it keeps rolling under the furniture. I have to find something to block the gap between the bottom of the furniture and the floor. Because of that, I don't let her use it when I'm not home. She tends to get stressed out when she can't reach it, and I wouldn't want to have her upset all day when I'm at work. One thing I didn't realize at the beginning is that after she had eaten the treat that was near the top, she didn't eat what was inside. She learned eventually, but it took a while. If you use the Kong paste with it, be prepared for it to get smeared on the floor. I have hard wood floors, but if you have carpet it might get kind of gross. Also, it is probably cheaper just to use peanut butter. I've also heard of people using cream cheese. I haven't tried those yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not Just for Seniors

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
My dog is only one and a half years old, but he's not an aggressive chewer. He won't play with hard toys--plush and flexible are his favorite--so I knew he wouldn't like the Classic Kong (it's pretty hard). I didn't want to get the Puppy Kong, either. I wanted something in between--and this was it. My Maltese didn't play with it at first because of the strong, awful rubber smell, but now a day later he LOVES it! The peanut butter I put in it helped with the smell a little.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toy!

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from WV
I have an 11 year old jack russell terrior that as never had a kong before. He never had many toys growing up and mainly chewed on rawhides since he was a puppy. This was his first kong. He loves it! He picked up quickly how to get the treats and food out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs dig it.

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
I have an 11 yr old border collie mix and a 10 yr old pug. They do not like the same kinds of toys usually. They are both picky about their toys. I got the senior kong for them because the material is a bit softer than the regular red kongs. My pug is missing quite a few teeth and my border collie mix is not as interested in aggressive chewing as she was in her younger years.
I fill these with people peanut butter and a couple training size treats. It's good for about 20 minutes of interactive play complete with peanut butter mustaches. They both get so excited when I pick up the kongs, they know they're about to get the peanut butter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG Senior Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for my senior dog

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Winchester, TN
I would recommend this for younger dogs. My senior dog would not have anything to do with it. I'm sure younger dogs would and maybe some senior dogs as well. My senior dog is pickey. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.