petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate

Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate

Features the Other Door which swings upward like a garage doorDesigned with an insulated base to prevent damage to home or carTop and side doors for easy accessIntegrated wheels, pull handle and compact foldEasy double-click locksStylish arched wire
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Review 1 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but......

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
It all looked great and perfect till I realized that the bottom part is plastic. Unfortunately my dog is a chewer and that plastic would be gone in no time. Without the bottom, you have no crate. At least with other crates you have the removable tray and even without it, the crate should be still functional. For my situation, this one didn't work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Killeen, TX
This product is well made and easy to assemble and use. It is well worth the money and can be moved about with ease because it has wheels on one end. I would definitely recommend this Crate for purchase. Made in the USA is another plus. I would rate this item a 10.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for us.

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
My dog is blind, and has some of the most severe separation anxiety I've ever seen. Putting him in a crate is always difficult. We've tried crate training but it doesn't work, so we just have to give him anxiety medication and hope for the best. We've been through 5 crates in the past 4 years. This one didn't even last one day. He tore some of the metal bars off one side and wriggled out through the hole in only 6 hours. If you have a dog with anxiety, this is not the cage for you. It can be dissasembled by an anxious dog within hours. The only reason I didn't give this a "1 paw" rating is because I do like it, despite the fact that it's weak. I like the "garage door" style, I like the clasps on the door, I like that there's a door on the top; I do like the cage. I just wish it were stronger and better made. ( I attached a picture of my dog escaping this crate - and before anyone asks, there are no toys or bedding in there with him because anything I put in there gets shredded to bits and then eaten. I would like to avoid another expensive surgery to get bits of blanket and dog toy removed from his GI tract.)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This crate is just what I needed

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Riverside, CA
Sets up rapidly and folds for travel easily. This crate will last a long time as it is well built. The "garage" door makes it very user friendly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to move

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
I actually bought this for a cat. It is very easy to put up, but a bit more challenging to take down. The instructions that come with the crate to collapse it are a bit confusing, but if you just reverse what you did to set it up, you'll be fine. Great to have wheels and a handle to bring it wherever you need it, as well as to store it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product is made well

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This crate has plenty of room for my 75 lb dog and her food and water dish:) I love the garage type door that moves to out of the way. The top door does get hung up a bit at times, but still a nice feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Murphy loves his crate!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Whidbey Island, WA
I have owned a number of crates over the years but by far this one is my favorite. Because the garage style door is on the side it takes up less floor space. When the crate is open there is no swinging door to be avoided when walking past the crate. Unlike any of the other dogs I have had, Murphy wonders in and out of the crate during the day. I attribute this to his not seeing an open door ready to be closed on him once he is inside. In planning for space make sure to take into consideration that the garage door will need to have space to swing up. This is only a temporary issue as once the dog is trained to stay the crate becomes his "den/hideout". The molded plastic bottom is much quieter than the crates I've used with removable trays that rattle every time the dog moves. The wheels and handle make moving this crate a breeze and set up was easy. The one thing missing is a movable divider so that the crate "grows larger" as your puppy grows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Steel Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too small.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City
I ordered the pet gear travel lite steel dog crate and although it is rated for a 35 lb dog, it is rapidly getting too small for my 15 lb puppy, who will be a 35 lb dog.
I will need a larger size crate before he reaches his full size.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.