petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III

Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III

Sleek neutral design with removable carpet tread for easy cleaning Features large, wide stair landings to suit both small and large dogsComes with rubber grippers to keep stairs in placeAssembles quickly and easily without tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Review 1 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice set of steps for smaller dogs

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
harrocco
from Garden City, MI
This item came and had to be assembled, which with the directions took no time at all... They fit nice and snug up to my bed which is a pillow top so my 2 yorkies can jump up and get into bed at night. They were alittle afraid of it at first as it sounds hollow and moves when they go to climb up them, but I took a bungee cord and secured it to the railing on my bed and now its stays in place. Its very durable, but not recommended for a larger heavy dog as the stairs are rather flimsy. Or at least my stairs are. Very nice color, matches my room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT STEPS FOR DOGS

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyCuteYorkie
from Baltimore, MD
My Yorkie-Poo is 16 lbs., and the steps are very stable for him. The carpet squares are detachable so you can spot clean them if necessary. I only had to coax him up the steps twice, and now he goes up and down by himself. Very happy with the material of these steps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie Steps

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
dizzyann1
from Eatonton, GA
My 4 month old, eight pound, Mini Schnauzer learned to go up and down the stairs to get on the couch, within a couple of hours. Now he just flies up and down the steps. Have not tried it in my bedroom yet. I wanted to feel comfortable with it getting up on the couch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gear Easy Step III

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debo27
from Manchester, MO
I purchased this Step III for my two tiny dogs. They love it and so do I. It has made my life so much easier and I worry less about these two little rascals falling. My one little guy broke his leg and now I don't have to worry about that happening again since they can use the Step. I put it up along side my bed so they have some protection against falling off the side, the top step facing my bedside night stand. The one little guy still has a rod in his leg, a very expensive adventure, but he has managed to get up with a little help. When he has the surgery to remove the rod he will be able to do this completely by himself.
Thank you for offering this wonderful product, we all love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good steps for my Westie

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
WestieMom23
from Swedesboro, NJ
This product is as expected - easy to set up, reasonably attractive, sturdy, and light. It's a little disconcerting for my Westie that the steps are angled, not flat - she seems somewhat hesitant to use them in the 'down' direction, though she took to 'up' with little trouble. The desgin is sturdy enough that I'm not worried about her tipping them, and they're light enough to be moved easily when I vaccuum. Overall, a good product - just wish the steps were at 90 degrees from the floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value and Sturdy

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
itsybitsy9
from suffolk County,NY
Dog learned to use the stairs easily because of carpeting insert and sturdy structure. Needed quite a bit of strength to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steps That Work

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gracie123
from New York, NY
These steps work! Easy to assemble and safe for my puppy. She learned to climb up and down within minutes of setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saving puppy's knees

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
BuckleysMom
from Michigan
I started looking into steps for my 14 lb. yorkie-mix to get into my bed when the vet diagnosed him with luxating patellas. Jumping from high places isn't a good idea for him and my bed is quite high up. He was hesitant to use these at first but with some treats and patience he uses these like an old pro! Sometimes he forgets and jumps off the bed still. I don't know that these would be very stable for dogs much larger than mine, though. They were easy to put together once I had them oriented the right way (haha, was almost ready to return them as defective!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent!

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristin19
from Tuscaloosa, AL
My pom and cockerpoo absolutely love these stairs! It took just a few minutes and a couple of treats and they were running up and down the stairs! They still will run up and down them when we walk in the bedroom then sit and look at me waiting on their treats! They are just two so they do get a little happy and jump off the bed still, but I know as they slow down they will be super comfortable using the stairs. And for those who think your dog is too shy or not the brightest reconsider. My cockerpoo (who I love more than anything in the whole world) is not exactly the easiest to train. I just say he knows he doesnt have to do tricks for me to love him, but my husband says he is slow. He is also one of the most easily spooked dogs I have ever seen. He saw the biscuit in my hand and shot up the stairs quicker than my pom who is braver than my mother in laws pit bull! So if you have a dog who needs a little help or you know will later in life get these stairs now! Why not get them really comfortable using something now instead of waiting until its too hard for them get around and then throw stairs at them? My dogs will never be without steps again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more lifting my pug on to my bed

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
malindy
from Carmel, IN
These stairs worked great. Took about 3 training sessions with my pug before he felt comfortable going up and down the stairs by himself. Previous stairs I had were too narrow in the riser and he refused to use them. These steps are wide enough (more like regular stairs) that he felt comfortable on them. They are pretty solid, but still light weight for moving. Easy to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old dog appreciates these.

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kenjo
from Warwick, NY
I bought this for my senior schipperke, she has trouble getting on and off the bed. She loves them, didn't even hesitate to use them as soon as I put them next to the bed. My lab mix took a little longer to get used to them but she is comfortable using them now. My yorkie/schnauzer mix has springs in his feet and refuses to do anything but bounce on and off the bed! Maybe he'll learn to appreciate them when he gets old!
Great product, easy to put together (my 15 yr old daughter did it) and a huge help for an older or arthritic pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
may2kaggie
from Raleigh, NC
I searched long and hard for the right steps for my 9 year old Shih Tzu and the Pet Gear Easy Step III did the job! We needed steps because my Shih Tzu has arthuritis and our new bed is too high for her to jump on and off. The Pet Gear III was easy to assemble and steps were wide, which made my Shih Tzu more comfortable with using the steps. She has pretty much mastered going up the steps, we are just trying to get her to go down the steps consistently instead of jumping off the bed. I highly recommend these steps. Great price for the quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase ever.

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Familyofani
This was a great buy. My dog, a Pug, would not be able to get onto my bed without it. Both my daughter and I have one. In the mornings, our dog transitions from one bed to the next. Having these steps keeps us from having to get up to put her into the bed. What a life saver.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Gear Sage Easy Step III
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy Item

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
SoftailDog
I am reviewing the Dog steps I purchased. Has good construction, easy to put together, looks good and has removable carpet on stair tops for cleaning. The bottom line is it does what it is suppose to do and looks good doing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.