petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food

100% complete and balanced for your puppy's first year of life, up to two years for large breedsHelps build strong digestive and immune systems and healthy bones and joints, replenish vital organs, and repair muscle cells
Average Customer Rating:
4.386 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
38 out of 44(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Review 1 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst food ever do not buy

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenn0820
from kernersville
i have a American bully that is 7 weeks old bought this for him and when he went to the bathroom it was nasty and runny and was orange color of the food switched him to a high dollar food and hes doing great big difference with it do not buy none of the things in it are good for yours dogs...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my puppy likes it

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
midna
from san antonio
my puppy likes it, she cant wait to eat it!!!!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yellow corn, rice and more corn ? Bi product ? WHAT ???

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JVetTech
from Upland, Ca
My shepherd puppy took some pretty bad dumps. I was wondering what was going on and checked the label. I saw corn and more corn, some rice and bi-product meal .... Basically no real good quality protein sources, and low quality vegetable sources. Not impressed, switched over to the dry rabbit diet by Instinct and she's been ear infection free, stool is far more normal, coat is healthy and shiny, no allergies so far, and she enjoys it. Read the label, if corn and bi products are in the first TEN ingredients then you're looking at a bag of filler food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purina Puppy Chow

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
safrost4
from Jefferson, IA
We have fed this to our puppy since he was 7 weeks old. We originally bought it because we had heard good things, and it was cost effective for what he needed. We now continue to buy it for the same reasons! He seems to really like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't Feed This To Your Puppy!

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
OrcaTrainer
from SeaWorld, Orlando
Purina products have many bad ingredients in them. When my dogs were puppies, they only ate 1 bag of Purina Puppy Chow before a switched them to a much better brand. Do NOT buy this for your puppy. I don't recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What comes out, had to go in

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
SportDogger
from Nebraska
We are thoroughly unimpressed with Purina Puppy Chow formula. We received a bag with the two pups we acquired, black lab/malamute mixes, and within a few days we decided to change their diets. The girls were always hungry, stools were incredibly large and frequent and the ingredients list and G/A just wasn't very impressive.
The straw that broke the camels back was when one of the pups decided to deficate inside; as I approached the pile to clean it my gut wrenched and I nearly vomited at the stench of the feces. My job requires I work near and around some aweful aromas so this was indeed revilng.
The general premise is simple, if it is this terrible coming out, something is very wrong going in. We've since switched to another leading Large Breed puppy kibble as a 50% blend in a raw food diet. We have used this diet (different kibble) with our 4 year old Malamute with great success. We are also sure to supplement with a vitamin which alternates with lifestage and season.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great convienence

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MyEclecticBook
from Portland,TN
I find it weird to review the food, but here goes. This is what we started our pup on when we got her at 8 wks. She is now 14 wks and we have had no issues, I love that I can order it online and most times if we get free shipping it's worth it. so nice to have it delivered to the front door. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase i ever made

PostedDecember 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
jackie1111
from brooklyn,ny
When my 3 month old puppy came home we where feeding him candiae food he didn't like it at all we had to force feed him then we decided to change his food to puppy chow an he loved it I recommend this food for every puppy out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy Chow

PostedJune 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bellagirl
from Waldorf, Maryland
I have a 4 month old Morkie. When we brought her home we fed her Eukanuba but she would only eat a little and we would end up force feeding her to make sure she ate. We would also give her nutrical to supplement her not eating. She finally went 2 days and refused to eat the Eukanuba. We gave her a bowl of Purina Puppy Chow and she gobbled it down as fast as she coulc. We have not had anymore problems with her not eating. She loves her Purina Puppy Chow.!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!!

PostedJune 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Minneapolis, MN
My little coonhound/lab mix LOVES this food! We mix a little bit of egg or wet dog food with it and she goes CRAZY OVER IT!!!! We also use it as training treats. She absolutely adores this food!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs favorite

PostedApril 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
dragonssoul84
from Rochester
We are a purina household if purina made iguana food and fish food I would buy that too. My pup has a nice shiny coat shes happy and playful. I'm really pleased with this food
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purina won our vote

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
hooah39
from Tacoma, Washington
We have been feeding our 7 month old cocker spaniel Purina Puppy Chow ever since we got him. He is in good health and loves this dog food. It's a good brand and it's affordable. I will continue feeding him Purina for the rest of his life. And if we ever get another dog we will also feed them this brand as well. I recommend this product for everyone. And so does George our cocker spaniel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best dog food

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
paws80
We've been feeding purina puppy chow to our now six month old boxer since we got her at eight weeks old and it is really making a difference in her overall health. She has gained weight steadily, and built muscle tone tremendously. ALthough she is a female, she is the biggest and healthiest female out of her litter, and I truly believe it's because of the purina puppy chow. She is a very active, playful and happy puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yumerrific. haha.

PostedJanuary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
cchipcookie
my dog absolutely loves this food. i remember he used to eat this so fast, he'd be done in less than 8 min.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pup Loves It

PostedJanuary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
RoxyGirl
from New York, NY
This is an affordable dog food and our pup loves the taste. She's got a little bit of a sensitive stomach but this doesn't bother her at all and our vet thinks it's a great, healthy choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feed always

PostedOctober 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Thedoglady
from Enterprise Oregon
I am a breeder of mini dachshunds and have tried over the years many products to make the puppies the ultimate pup ever to present to the public. After buying the vet recommended Hills Science Diet, that is expensive, the pups didn't like the flavor after a couple weeks and would just pick at it. A skinny puppy never sells. I was almost embarrassed to buy a bag of Puppy Chow at the grocery store, but the results were immediate. They love the flavor and have nice shinny coats. Now I give every puppy buyer a bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
purddiesmom
from Hesperia, CA
When we rescued purddy(1 yr. old black lab) 1 month ago she was half starved. We tried many different brands and she little interest. So, when I brough home purina puppy chow, I was so happy to see that she devoured it in less then 10minutes. I'll never use anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Good.

PostedMarch 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dianne
from Canyon Country, CA
I recently changed my puppy's food to this and it seems to be pretty tasty for her since she gobbles it up. hehe. I recommend this because it's good for puppies and it's affordable. =]
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ingredients

PostedMarch 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
ratties1
from michigan
MY dogs like the taste to my dismay, look at the ingredients the first should be an meat meal like chicken meal or lamb meal, my dogs have allergies and I believe these inferior ingredients such as corn and by porducts and animal digest (yulk do you know what that is, it is the scrappings of the intestines of any animal) I bought this food from recomm endation of the breeder, I am embarrassesd that I am feeding this to my babies when there are much better products out there! PS I have/am switching foods for both my dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Purina Puppy Chow Complete & Balanced Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food!!!

PostedJuly 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
HappyPuppyowner
from New York, NY
My 4 month old Coton De Tulear loves this puppy food! When it comes to anything else he is soooo pickey but he gobbles this puppy chow rite up. And now for the first time ever I actualy have to make sure I don't give him to much!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>