petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food

Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food

Specially formulated dry dog food supports easy digestion and skin healthFirst ingredient salmon provides essential proteinOmega fatty acids promote skin and coat healthPro Plan dog food features highly digestible carbohydrates including oatmealAntioxidants support a strong immune system
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
59 out of 62(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Review 1 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Proplan Sensitive Skin awesome product

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I have been raising dogs for 20 yrs, and ended up having one of my dog allergic to many dog foods, to the point he scratched constantly. After trying numerous numerous grain free's or highly recommended 4 and 5 star dog foods I reluctantly tried PP SS&S. I say reluctantly because lets face it, Purina products are not the top brand out there. But.... I finally found something he does not scratch on! All my dogs now eat this (community dog bowl)... and everyone does great on it. Beautiful coats and the bonus is my sensitive boy lives happy and scratch free again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pro Plan Select

PostedJune 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I think the formula changed when the name was changed. My picky eater used to love this food and since the change he is back to his same old ways.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, good taste for the dogs

PostedJune 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from denver, co
My dogs love this food. I get the salmon flavored, and my little schnauzers are sold! They like this dry dogfood better than any oher that they've had! Good product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from VT
My dog is very sensitive to many brands of dog food. I would buy a brand and after awhile he would start getting sick and I would have to try another brand of dog food. I tried all kinds of dog food over the years, some recommended by the Vet, but finally the Vet recommended this brand and I have been using it for several years and no issues with him getting sick.
This dog food is great and he really likes it. I also only give him the Pro Plan treats. Great product and I would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

3 stars

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, oh
Although the product is good and price was comparable, I have it 3 stars due to how long it took to ship to my home. I bought it a week before my dogs ran out of food and still had to go but a small bag to hold them over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Recipe change???

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, Washington
I started feeding my dog PPS Sensitive Skin formula about a year and a half ago, after noticing his skin was dry and flakey. It really helped clear up his skin and his coat. However, with the recent "name change" from Pro Plan Select, I've noticed his skin issues are back. Further, the food appears to be very powdery which I never noticed before. Did the recipe change as well?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I'd try anything

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from S Carolina
I have a dog that gets rashes and digestive problems with his food. I've had him to vet and have medication if he gets one of his issues. I tried food without grains which helped with the rashes and itching problem but he still had digestive issues and messes to clean up. I gradually switched him to Pro plan sensitive dry and canned food mixed together. So far no problems. Haven't had to use medication and he is much more playful. He couldn't have been comfortable with itching and upset stomach. One problem with dry food is it tends to crumble so much that it is like sand. Canned food would be too mushy by itself so mixing two together works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Powdery

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, OH
My dogs (who are not picky eaters) liked the flavor of it - I had no trouble getting them to eat it.
However, the food was extremely powdery. I am used to seeing crumbs etc at the bottom of the bag, but this was dry and powdery throughout. It was as if a substantial percentage of the ingredients had not been formed into the kibble. In the bowl it looked like about 1/2 cup of kibble mixed with sawdust.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PurinaProPlanMarch 16, 2015
We're definitely happy to hear your dogs enjoyed our Sensitive Skin and Stomach formula! We're also concerned about the way in which you received the product (i.e., crumbs) and would like to learn more about this so our team can investigate. We'd appreciate your help at 800-877-7551 when you have a moment. - The Pro Plan Team
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pro Plan Sensitive dog food

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Waianae HI.
It seems that my dog is picky. She really doesn't eat it like i though she would. But her bumps went away. Now to find something she likes. I will stay with Pro Plan. Because when I watched the dog show this is what they said 90% of owners and breeders feed their dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOUBLED my dog's stool volume

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Weehawken, NJ
I've been using pro plan with my dog for 11 years-This is the first version that has DOUBLED or even increased the amount and frequency of her bowel movements. Unfortunately, I purchased the largest bag because I've never encountered this issue before. It's uncomfortable for her and worrisome for me that she is getting more filler than anything else. I may donate the whole bag as I have not seen a decrease in her skin itchiness. I am going to write the company and will never buy this version again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Charles MO
has helped my dog from itching so much. Improving more and more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ummm

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Dog and other dog seem to like it. Dog has had no reflux with this food as opposed to other food. Both dog and other dog seem to have less skin irritation. Would recommend for any spoiled, strike that, loved puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good food and good price

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bellerose Village n y
I use Pro plan sensitive skin and stomach food for my Collie Ben. It is a good product for him because has a very sensitive stomach, and it agrees with him, and he likes it. Ben is a very picky eater and he seems to eat this just fine. I mix it with half a can of wet food, and he seems to like it . That had not been the case with other brands of kibble.
He has not had an upset stomach since I started feeding him this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sure worked for us!

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Villa Park, CA
I tried this after about a year of cooking for my border collie because of loose stools - and it worked! Rocky is just over 2 now, has been on this for about a year and is healthy, energetic, his coat shines, teeth are great and he has normal stools.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Repeat delivery of dogfood

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cameron, MT
Quick delivery within 4 days! Great because it is delivered right to your door and since I ordered a 33 pound bag of dogfood, I don't have to carry the heavy bag to the car and to the house!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pleasanton, CA
My dog loves this food and he can be very finicky.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Change

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new Jersey
After 2yrs my dog being on Hill's stomach formula from the vet after doing reaserch and reading reviews decided to purchase a small bag and what a difference, my dog has been threw 4 different types of food until vet said try hill's and that worked but became very expensive so Purina is the way to go, my dog has a very sensitive stomach and this food worked great and saved me money as well. For any dog with these issues highly recommend this and it's healthy unlike the Hills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious, Healthy, & Easy on Stomach

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
We switched our dogs to this sensitive stomach after our two dogs got I'll from the Blue Buffalo. That's a great food too, but many dogs have a hard time with the richness of that food and get sick and can't digest it well. When we switched to this brand they no longer threw up and gobbled their food. They are almost four years old and still love eating it! Food time is fun in our house! Thanks for an honest, healthy and delicious product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Food

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
My dog loves this food! He has a very sensitive stomach and I was able to switch him to this food with no problems at all, which has never happened before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sensitive stomach doxie

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Goldendale, WA
My little dog was having so much trouble eating until I was told about this food. It has made all the difference! Her skin wasn't sensitive and still isn't. She loves this food and so does her tummy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>