petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food

Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food

Salmon protein source helps reduce risk of food sensitivitiesHigh levels of omega fatty acids for healthy skin and coatSpecially formulated for easy digestionVital antioxidant blend helps fight stresses of agingReal salmon is the #1 ingredient
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
41 out of 42(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Review 1 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purina Pro Plan for Sensitive Stomachs

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinaBelgians
from Stratham, NH
Marvelous protein source. Both my seniors and young puppies do very well on it. The PETCO pricing and occasional free shipping offer makes this a marvelous way to get resupplied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dogs really like

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
rmbrook
from oklahoma
My dogs really enjoy this food. It does make them defecate more than the purina one, but I needed a salmon protein. I had them ship and it took around 2 weeks to get here so if you ship plan wayyy ahead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more itching!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
mommy2turner
My boxer pit bull mix, turner, has very sensitive skin. He will non stop scratch for 20 minutes. We check for fleas everyday and no fleas. We use hypoallergenic shampoo on him and still no relief. The day he tried this food he stopped itching. We can sleep through the night without being woken up from Turner shaking the bed from scratching and his hair is a lot fuller and healthier looking too. I'm very happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
GAmom223
from Evans, GA
I have a 15 year old Jack Russel who was overweight and has skin issues - i changed her to this food and she is now at her ideal weight, has more energy than she has in the past 4 years and her skin has greatly improved. Very pleased
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pro Plan Select

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heisagooddogaverygood
Seems like a good dog food and much better than the regular brands at the grocery store. I had been buying prescription dog food at the vet and I am hoping this is a good alternative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
wheels64
from Centereach, NY
I have an Akita puppy who was always having very soft mushy poops with other foods. I knew he wasn't tolerating them. I came across a post on an Akita group that reminded someone that their roots go back to Japan where they lived on fish, sweet potato, rice, and vegetables. After reading this (and another Akita review here) and mine being 7 months old and able to get switched to adult food, I gave it a try. Within a couple of days of starting the gradual switch over his poops started to firm up and continued to improve. He is eating it about a month and a half now and absolutely loves it. I only feed him the dry food mixed with a little warm water and he cleans his bowl 2x's a day. His skin and coat look great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Service

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
luckypennys
from Phoenix, az
I have been ordering this food for a friend who is house bound and far away and cant get to a store to buy her puppy food. The shipping is easy and so fast. i appreciate it being free!!! Makes it affordable for me to get her the food and she has it with out worry she will run out. I appreciate the great service and price for this food, it is important to her and her puppies are her world. Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pro Plan for a retired Seeing Eye Dog

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
AmyS88
from Overland Park, KS
I recently adopted a retired seeing eye dog (German Shepherd). She's been on the PRO PLAN Sensitive Skin & Stomach food for 6+ years & seems to really enjoy it. It has a strong fish smell. Nice sized bites.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Boxer Loves This!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2Harley
from Buford,GA
My boxer has a sensitive stomach and was always throwing up full pieces of food. I had tried many different brands and was feeding her small amounts of food throughout the day as recommended and she just had a hard time digesting the food. I have had zero issues with this food! She hasn't thrown up once! I have had her on this food for about 7 months now and won't buy anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food for my Sensitive Stomach 'Kid'

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Connie4631
from Murrells Inlet, SC
Have tried several Sensitive Stomach Dog Foods and this one rates up at the top on quality and price!! Most definitely would recommend!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for crated and foster dogs

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
NanaAnn
from Texas
I foster dogs that have been rescued from pounds and neglectful situations. Since the dogs must be crated and have usually been shuffled from person to person for several days before I get them, not only are their systems out of whack, but they are usually unsure and nervous. All this moving and unfamiliarity results in loose stool, loss of appetite, bloating, and occasionally throwing their food up. I have had very good luck with the Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin and Stomach formula. It only takes a few days of being on this food for their digestive system to regain some normalcy. It usually takes less than 4 days for their stools to firm up and their system to get more regular. All my foster dogs leave here happy and healthy and I always recommend this food to the new owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Maintenance Pup

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom4ee
Our puppy was high maintenance. We tried at least 5 different types of food to help his tummy troubles. He was pink and itchy all the time. Finally resorted to cooking ground beef, rice, and mixed veggies for him. This helped his issues, but was a lot of work! We tried one more product, Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach. He's been eating this food for over a year and has not had any problems!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
DobieDad
from Florida
I have two large male Doberman Pinschers and had them on Blue Buffalo Adult for two years before switching to this Purina Pro Plan Sensitive Skin & Stomach Adult. Since switching, I have noticed they are not scratching anymore due to dry skin and they don't tend to want to eat grass either, due to upset stomach. Best of all, they love this food, almost too much. I'm glad that I made the switch to this food as recommended by my vet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy product

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Akitalady
from Kalispell, mt
When I adopted my Akita at 6mos old she had stomach issues. After several trips to the vet and trying many different dog food brands(all good quality) we decided to try Purina Sensitive Stomach...WHAT a find, within 2 weeks of trying Purina Sensitive Stomach my Akita started to improve. She now has a beautiful coat and most folks do not realize she is 7 1/2 yrs old. She still acts like a teenager.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the sensitive stomach

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChloeP16
from Ohio
We say our dog has a sissy belly, and this is his sissy belly food. It has made a huge difference in his gassy issues and he is less restless (maybe because his belly doesn't hurt!) The food is a little more expensive than I would like, but because I love him I will continue feeding it to him!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than you think

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
FrisbeeMom
I have gone through all of the high end dog foods that lack chicken and corn, and although my dog keep her hair, the p**p patrol was unbearable. 3 large loads every walk with the 3rd being runny. NOT with this food...we are happily down to one bag a walk and a reasonable load.
Only negative is the food has an odor, but it is fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alymassey
from Colorado Springs
Quick shipping. We've used this product for almost a year. It stinks but keeps our allergy ridden dog at ease somewhat. She still requires meds but oh well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I recommend for any Boxer!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hummingbird7
from Bandera, TX
I have had Boxers and Boston Terriers all of my life and every one is flatulent. However, on the right food the flatulence goes away. I highly recommend Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food.
We now live in a rural area and have Petco deliver our dog food to our door monthly - it is a great service and with sale prices and free shipping we actually save money and gas money! Thanks Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Food

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
TankieThePitBull
from Texas
Our dog had a terrible gas problem that was especially unbearable after he ate. With this food, it has improved tremendously. On occasion, he also suffered from indigestion and would occasionally throw up undigested food. This has not happened with this food. We're really satisfied with it. Plus, his coat has never been shinier. The only downside would be that, since salmon is the first ingredient, our kitchen now smells like fish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pro Plan Select Sensitive Skin & Stomach Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is better than represented

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
daisymaemae
So happy my vet recommended. My dog had no problem swithcing to this food,, she loved it immediately. Wr have already noticed improvement in her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>