petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Auto Fish Feeder

Petco Auto Fish Feeder

Never forget to feed your fish againThis battery operated unit dispenses flake or granule food to your fish up to 4 times per dayIt's the safe, accurate, and easy way to feed your fishGreat for everyday use or vacation feedingEasy to fill, large capacity food drumRequires 2 AAA batteries, not included
Average Customer Rating:
2.444 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
10 out of 27(37%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Review 1 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
dover26
from New York
I purchased this product because I was going away. It worked only one time. I tried several times but it wouldn't work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Um, Yeah, NO!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
cBear
from Las Vegas, NV
If you have cichlids with large pellets to put in there.... well the little door that slides to allow a varying amount may not allow some of them past! Also the little "adapter" for tanks with hoods.... not very clear as to how this is supposed to go on, but either piece covers up the battery installation door, so you have to take it apart. If felt very cheap as well. I think I will be returning both..... Very disappointed. If you are using flake, I honestly wonder if they would get hung up if they fell wrong (if they are big flakes you have to break them up).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Need better Instructions!

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
ncbarbara
from Cary, NC
This seemed easy to set up - but it doesn't dispense food at the set times! I also have no arrows for the rotations.
Nothing I do while setting the feeding times gives me the arrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
jeepster
from cali
did not come with instruction and will not work and wasted money on new batterys!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works, then doesn't, then does, then...

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gunlap
from San Francisco, CA
This item needs fully charged batteries to work properly, and uses up batteries quickly, then it does not play fair as far as resetting goes..
Battery door must be closed a few times before it makes a connection..
I did manage to get this thing going again, but as I used rechargeable batteries, it only worked for a month...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Raceymountain
from San Antonio, TX
I bought two of these feeders for both my tanks. They turned out to be good little units for cheap. The digital display is nice so that you know when you battery is about to die. Removes the guess-work from the non-digital style. However just be careful to read the directions closely, because programed feeding times in but you have to go to the end and make sure you get at least one down-arrow displayed or it will not go off. (Apparently you can program it to drop one turn worth, or two, and unless you tell it which it's not technically set to go off for either.) Lesson learned. Only thing I would change is that down-arrow issue, and possibly a bigger drum so you don't have to re-fill it as often. Defiantly worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

work perfect

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jomixman
from Caracas Venezuela
its a very complet auto fish feeder machine. Compact size, big food capacity excelent price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FINALLY!

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bowfront46
from Cali
Having used an Aqua Culture feeder for a couple of years, I always worried if the feeder was working because there was no visible indication that it was powered up and rotating. It wasn't until I came back from a 4 day trip recently and found the feeder wasn't working (replaced it 2 months before), that I decided to find a product that gave you at least some visual feedback that it was powered up and working.
I just put it in service, and now I will test it to see if some of the complaints (clock not accurate, clumping issues) are prevelant with this one. So far I like the fact that I can program precise feeding times (up to 4) and set the amount of food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

okay...

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
pasha2001
from florida
i have had three of these and finaly the last one worked, the other ones just didn't keep the right time.
but remember when you fill the drum, don't forget to crush the flakes because the opening is to small for large flakes.
great price but just hope that a good working one lands on your tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very good

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimifish
from Batlimore, MD
It's easy to program but the door constantly sticks closed and the food clumps.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Quality

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
FurbabyMomma
from Fort Hood, TX
This automatic fish food feeder is horrible. It is cheaply made and does not work as it should. To begin with, it would not keep proper time and so the feedings were constantly at different times. Then it would either drop too much food or not enough regardless of how I adjusted it. Overall, I do not recommend this product. If you need one, go with the one that has individual compartments for each day, it works so much better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheelin
from New York, NY
I bought this because I am going on vacation in a few days. Instructions are bad. The cover won't go back on - it keeps popping off. I set the time and then about an hour later it was about 15 minutes slow. Still haven't figured out how to set for just one feeding.
I don't know what I'm going to do - I hope they take it back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good but flawed

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
bella1212
from Kinnelon, NJ
I agree with the other posters who complained about the container coming off, and then getting put back on wrongly (because there is no indication of "the right way" to put it back on), and then never being able to get it on again. If I had known this ahead of time, I would have made sure to put it on correctly, and could have given this 4 paws instead of two....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Fatal" design flaw

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Scott333
from Tustin, CA
To remove the drum and fill it with food, you twist it and then lift it off. There are two tabs that lock it into place when you turn it. When putting the lid back on however- it is possible to rotate it 180 degrees and still turn it to lock but then it can't be removed without damaging the lid and drum! It is not at all obvious and there are no markings to tell you which way is correct- so mark one of the tabs and the drum so you remember exactly which way to put it back on (SEE PICTURE). Other than that it works well with up to 4 feedings per day and you can adjust the amount of food both with a sliding door and the number of rotations of the drum. Also- make sure it isn't too close to the water because if it gets damp, the feeding door gets stuck closed and no food is released.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hard To Use

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
twopets
from Memphis, TN
The gadget does work. However:
1. The procedure to set the clock and feeding times is EXTREMELY counter-intuitive (this from a person with a house full of gadgets, most of them more complicated), and
2. The instructions are unclear, and
3. It is almost impossible to mount the feeder on the aquarium without pressing one or more of the buttons, thereby causing the feeder to do something unpredictable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Drum Disk

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
padge
I was really excited about this product, but I never got to actually use it because after I set the times and filled the drum with food I put the black disc on the wrong way and could not get it off. It seems to me like this is a common and detrimental problem for this feeder. There is no warning or direction on either the disk or the manual that lets you know to put the disk on the same way it came off. Needless to say I am quite disapointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Adequate but be aware...

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
kmel77083
from Houston, TX
This product works pretty well. I was able to program the time correctly to feed at the exact time it should. I read on a previous review that 12:00 am was really 12:00 pm ... that is not the case. That would only apply if the clock itself were incorrectly set. Anyway it does scheduled feedings at the correct time when it is set correctly. Setting is pretty easy once you read the instructions and get the hang of it. I did notice some problem with the portion of the food per cycle, but you can choose either one or two turns (portions) per cycle. Also if you are using flakes ( which I use it for) you can simply press down on the flakes slightly to break them in to smaller pieces which will increase amount of food dispensed per turn (larger portion w/ smaller flakes). Which is more than enough food. Now my big concern which you should be aware of is that this is not fool proof, and you may cause the terminals of the battery to momentarily lose contact when you pull the food container from the motor unit's turning apparatus. This will cause your settings to be lost (i.e. turned off not feeding your fish) and if you think that everything is done once you have filled up the container, and walk away with out checking to see if your settings are still set, you may end up starving your fish. Setting and forgetting is not recommended. Check back every few days to make sure your settings are still on and push the manual feed button to test the food portion is sufficient. Another thing to keep in mind. When replacing the food and removing the cover from the food container be careful to keep track where it connects to. Maybe mine was defected but when I tried to close it in a different orientation it got locked and would not open again without great effort...so I learned which position was the best and easiest to open and close with and I carefully make sure that I close it in the same orientation every time. Hopefully you won't have to deal with that. If you do be careful you don't want to break the plastic casing :). Other than those 2 things this is a great product wish I had bought one sooner :D.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok after a shave....

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
jomoped
from MN
I picked up the unit hoping it you be like one I had 10yrs ago or better........But after about an hr of tinkering I got it to works ok, the problem I ran into was that the door flap that flips open upon rotation would stick shut not dispensing the food. In order to remedy this I shaved the door a bit with some high grit sand paper and also the black disk that holds the drum. After about 10mins of sanding it works pretty smooth but like said in other reviews the amount of food varies from each rotation..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A few quirks but a good product

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrMan51
from Greater Chicago, IL
There are only three things of which you should be aware with this product. First, 12AM is not midnight, it's noon; and 12 PM is not noon it's midnight. If you want a feeding at noon, set the timer to 12AM. Also be careful when setting the clock. Since it's unlikely you'll set the clock at exactly midnight or noon, this should not be a problem.
Second, don't buy this feeder (or any other) and expect everything to be fine when you leave for vacation the next day. It's takes a little experimentation to get the feeding quantity correct. You may have to break some of the larger foods into smaller pieces to get it to fit through the openings.
Third, buy some Velcro for this feeder. The Velcro that comes with it delaminated the first time I tried to remove the feeder. It works fine and is stable without the Velcro but you'll have a feeling of security for a few cents extra.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Auto Fish Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetCo Auto Fish Feeder

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
MissouriMom
from Florissant, MO
Very disappointed. Fish Food Drum is extremely small and even at MAX setting does not release enough food. No moisture barrier so clogging occurs also.
Programming setup was more difficult then it needs to be in 2011. I DO NOT recommend buying this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>