petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters

Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters

It's the maintenance-free portable dog home that keeps your pet warmer in winter and cooler in summerThis unique indoor and outdoor dog house features rear air ventilation, a rain diverting rim, and raised interior floorPerfect for use as an indoor dog house, it won't rot, will never need a new roof, and cannot become flea-infestedMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
96 out of 108(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Review 1 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a good product!!!!

PostedNovember 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
I bought this for my dachshund and he loves it when its hot and he doesn't want to be in the heat!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-8points
6of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

how easy can a dog house be to put together

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from bethel, nc
a "snap" to put together. perfect for my dog. Took only amount of time to get it out of the box as to snap it together
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solidly built

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Whittier, CA
Plenty of room for my 60 pound mutt. Solid enough for me to sit on too. Only drawback is they don't sell the door any more according to my local store.
The free shipping didn't apply due to the size and weight I guess. $35 for UPS to leave it at the wrong street address.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cats too!

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Affordable, durable, and just the right size for our rather large cat to curl up out of the wind and rain.
Purchased this shelter for an indoor/outdoor cat we have that insists on being outside. Wanted him to have some place warm to curl up if we aren't here to let him in. Scrunched up a towel on the bottom and threw in a pillow. He loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
This item was exactly as advertiesed. I am pleased with it and would recommend it to a friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outdoor doghouse

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
We bought this doghouse because we will be leaving our dog outside on her cable run during the warm summer months when we are out and about during the day. It will hold up to weather and give her shelter if she chooses to use it. It is big enough she will not feel crowded and it has good ventilation for the hot weather. Sturdy construction, easy to assemble and roomy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
These came very highly recommended from our local animal control facility. I did not buy these for myself. I bought them as donations for families that were financially unable to provide adequate shelter for their dogs. I donated them to DeKalb County Animal Services who in turn gives them out to needy families. Again, they came very highly recommended, so I am pleased as I'm sure the needy animals are also grateful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outdoor shelter

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from ohio
this shelter is a great size for my huskey /collie mix
great for getting out of the wet whilst ioutside waiting for me to get home
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Shelter

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Argyle, Iowa
My German Shepard seems to love this. It is well constructed, easy to put together, looks quite "in place" alongside our new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from california
bought this online. when I opened the box it was cracked on the top and bottom of the house, sent it back for a replacement and they sent another cracked dog house. will not buy from them again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A lot smaller inside

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle area
I can tell by reading other reviews that this shelter is great for a lot of other dogs. Not for ours, though. We got the Large. My 50 pound dog (australian shepherd/terrier mix) won't use it. Even though we put in a familiar blanket, and my son put him in and petted him and gave him lots of attention, which has worked in other new situations, he got out as soon as he could. He would rather stand in the rain, which he really dislikes, than go in there. I think it may be because since he has arthritis, he wants more room to turn around than this shelter offers. I tried making it comfy and familiar by putting one of his regular sleeping pads in it, but the pad was too big for the space. I measured the interior of the shelter: It's a little over 27" long by about 22" wide. Quite a bit smaller than the exterior dimensions in Petmate Barnhome's description for its Large shelter: 38Lx29Wx30H. (They are accurate. I didn't measure the height of the inside, but I don't think it's part of the problem anyway.)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the product has great features

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, Louisiana
I cancelled the order before it was delivered. I ordered the pet barn for my neighbor, but he had to give his dog away before the order was delivered. I am awaiting a refund.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Happy Home

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Niles, MI
Our cat loved this house. It was roomy enough for a blanket to be placed as a bed inside. our cat has a Happy Happy Home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gap, PA
Very sturdy, plenty of room for 2 cats or 1 medium size dog! I like the color! Great price too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate BArnhome

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from solana beach, ca
this is very nice and very big, but it is perfect for my little mini poodle, I do not leave her outside but sometimes I have too so it is perfect and a safe dry place for her in her dog run, it never rains in southern Calif. I would rate it 10
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Home...

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Katy, TX
These are good homes for the vlaue. My large dogs (boxers/pits) like them. They started using these homes immediately, unlike others. They are quite spacious and roomy. I like the fact that the top can be fastened down to the base with a nice size screw. This eliminates the hassle of constantly putting the homes back together, if the dogs should knock them over during rough play. It's a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent shelter -- safe and secure, comfy and cozy

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fernandina Beach, FL
I bought the small size for a cat who took up residence at my home yet whom I can't keep as an indoor cat. She loves it. All I had to do was show her where it was and usher her inside a few times. Now she does not get wet when it rains and otherwise is protected well from the elements. I put an outdoor fabric matt inside for her additional comfort and relocated her food dish and water bowl next to it. Withou spending hundreds of dollars, this probably is as good as it gets...and it is good. The construction is sturdy and durable. It practically is maintenance-free. Once a week I use a hose to wash out the dirt she tracks in; nothing else is required. I am exceptionally pleased with this high-quality Petmate product and am happy to be able to provide a better quality of life for an animal who in too many ways was deprived and deserves more in life than she received.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dog house

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from los angeles, ca
I already have a lab that has the same dog house. We recently got another lab that someone left at our door step. Bought the same dog house because it has lasted so long and is still in good condition I just wish that the plastic doors weren't so $$.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelter & door

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Piscataway, NJ
We bought a small Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelter and door for two feral cats who live outside our house. They have become quite tame, and we are fond of them and want to provide protection for them. We also bought a heating pad to put in the shelter for when the weather gets colder. The shelter is very well designed.
The extended rim above the door helps keep out rain. The shelter is plastic and can be easily cleaned,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Barnhome III Pet Shelters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Customer

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Union Grove, Al
Overall the home functions rather well for my 65 lb Husky. It's easy to snap together, the door's design for rain minimization has already proven itself through a couple of fair-density storms in the area, and she (Tazzie) did not require much coaxing to get used to it. If there is *any* downside at all here, it's that the winds may get high enough at some point that I should really tie/stake the house down, so as not to lose it to the neighbors down the street... But that was the plan before I ordered it, so not the Barnhome III's fault. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>