petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain

Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain

Pet water fountain with flowing filtered water that helps keep water freshInnovative design allows your cat to drink from 3 areasAttractive cat water fountains that are easy to clean Non-porous ceramic construction resists bacterial growthIncludes 1 replaceable carbon filter
Average Customer Rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(132 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
12
116 out of 132(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best fountain ever

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
JJCHI
from Chicago, IL
So glad I bought this. I've had a number of plastic fountains in the past and they work well, but are a pain to clean and I can't stand the water-deposit buildup (and so wind up replacing them more frequently than really necessary). This is so easy to clean and no build-up issues at all. The fill capacity is great and the water stays fresh a long time. I just love it. And my cats think it's the best thing ever! They both love drinking from the bowl as well as directly from the bubbler, and it's big enough that they can easily drink from it at the same time. The only flaw with the whole setup is that you can't buy a replacement motor/pump, although the original is still going strong fortunately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love this! !

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Momof2dogsand3cats
from Austintown, oh
We love this bowl! ! It's so easy to clean and its big enough for my 3 cats.. It also is beautiful! !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Ceramic Fountain

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
BeckyluvsCats
I really like this fountain. It's large, attractive, easy to clean, and I've had it for four months now with only one problem: The ceramic part that goes over the pump kept getting out of alignment, causing the water to leak out the hole where the power cord goes to the pump. I couldn't figure out how this was happening, until I saw my cat sticking his head under the ceramic in the middle and lifting it up to drink right from the stream. I ended up leaving the middle ceramic part off. It doesn't look as pretty now, but it also doesn't leak. You probably won't have that problem unless your cat is kind of weird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 cats and 2 dogs...everyone loves it!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Deb7
from Hampton Roads
I purchased this fountain in late 2012 and it has been great...very sturdy and reliable. Today I noticed the pump had stopped working so I started reading the question/answer section about the pump. Took the advice about dismantling the pump, thoroughly cleaning each crevice. Praise God, it works better than ever...learned a valuable lesson today about keeping the pump clean as well as the entire fountain. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ceramic fountain

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaMaJoan
from Spring Valley, CA
We like it and our kitties love it. We have had two different ones and they like this one better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to Clean

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katkatkat
from Columbus, OH
I've had this foutain for a few years & the only issue I've had is the pump dying. I found another pump that fit and still love the large size of the bowl and the ease of cleaning it. I would have given 5 stars but the pump died shorthly after buying it. I have 6 cats and 2 fountains and this one is my favorite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
SkityKity
from Longview, Tx
I have tried 2 other brands and so far I like this one the best. My very picky cats love it too. It is super quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco Ceramic Fountain

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catbrain1
from Tennessee
It leaks water and my cat track it onto my wood floor. This happens despite the fact that it sits in 36 by 30 heavy plastic tray.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
lialang
from Alpharetta, GA
I got this as a couple of my cats started getting acne on their chins from plastic bowls and fountains, and they love this. No problem cleaning it and it works like a charm. The only reason I did not give it 5 paws was that sometimes if you don't line the fountain spout up properly, it leaks water. I keep mine on a plastic tray and all is good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Should Have Heeded the Warnings...

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
LocaBellaMom
from North Hollywood, CA
I purchased this to replace an old, Petco, plastic fountain, that I've had for almost a year. Unfortunately, I had to return the ceramic fountain, after just 24hrs of ownership! The pump, for no apparent reason other than a manufacturer's defect, just stopped working?!?! I tried to revive it, using the manual's suggested cleaning remedy, but to no avail. It's a shame too, because my cats really seemed to like the fountain. Heck, I liked it. It was sturdy, held a great deal of water, and the pump, when it worked, was quiet. Several reviews had stated issues with the pump giving out after just a short period of time, and I should have heeded their warnings. Instead, I hoped to be the exception, and wasn't. Save your money, and the time it will take you to return or exchange it, and buy another fountain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

warning: Petco doesn't carry replacement pump

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
TexasCats
from Texas
My 2 cats really liked this product, quiet while on.
However, the pump went out after 9 months and it appears to be impossible to replace. Petco doesn't carry a replacement, and other brands I've tried are too big to fit. Great product, while it's working. I will not buy Petco brand again unless I know parts are available up front.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really like that it's ceramic

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnD82
from Austin, TX
The ceramic surface is a lot easier to keep looking new and clean. Seems like plastic looks pretty bad within a month so I'm sticking with ceramic dishes for food and water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy and cat not interested

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RedJP
Unfortunately, the motor is intermittently loud, but always creates a noise. I suspect it is the reason the cat has not approached it in the 2 weeks we have had it. Will give it the full month "try" before returning to local Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love product, but motor died in less than a year

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Guenevere
from Fishers, IN
I looked long and hard for a fountain for my boys, and was thrilled to find this at a somewhat reasonable price. I had to clean it weekly, but that proved it worked. Unfortunately, the motor on the pump died after less than a year and I can't find another one. Don't want to buy a whole new fountain for a $15 motor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet and easy to clean

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
aPamperedBride
from Plano, TX
It is much quieter than the plastic fountain we previously had. The ceramic fountain also stays clean longer than the plastic fountain did and it is really easy to clean. There are no little crevices where slime can accumulate. Both cats immediately took to it. The one downside to its large capacity is that is still has approximately 4 cups of water in it when it needs to be cleaned. The design could be modified to keep the motor wet without wasting so much water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! My Cats Drink More!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Caticus
from Redding, CA
Have had this for 2 years! Everone loves it!!!
Sometimes after cleaning, the pump doesn't always start. Have to play with it a little! Usually there is an air bubble in it that keeps it from running! Best to take it apart, following the cleaning instructions, put it back together and "Walla" It works. All underwater pumps need priming sometimes. Don't give up, their good pumps!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great fountain, bad motor

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
sloln
from Placerville, CA
My cats LOVE this product, but the motor did not last 6 months, and that is with weekly cleaning. I think Petco should stock the pumps with the filters or find another pump company! Too expensive to just toss. Would pick another product next time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ceramic: The ONLY way to go ;))

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christopher715
from Encinitas, CA
Holds quite a bit of water for small dogs/cats. My utility was for 2 cats.
Easy to assemble, comes with charcoal filter, and more are available in 3-packs from Petco.com
This unit is VERY easy to assemble and to clean: Since it's ceramic, there are no "pores" for funk/bacteria to accumulate in. Washes in less than 5 minutes~including reassembly and filling.
This unit is SUPER quiet, and there is no "oversplash" at all. 2 Cats enjoy it, they drink from it exclusively. Might invest in another for another part of the house.
OF ALL THE "PET WATERERS THAT I HAVE OWNED IN THE LAST 20 YEARS, THIS IS THE MOST EFFECTIVE AND EASIEST TO CLEAN. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ANYBODY THAT WANT TO GIVE THEIR PET CIRCULATING FRESH WATER HANDY AT ALL TIMES.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved it....til it broke

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
CKNH
from Manchester, NH
Great product. Felt that it stayed cleaner than the plastic products. But broke after 2 months- motor no longer runs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Premium Ceramic Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this fountain!

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Runnie
from Iowa City, IA
Fountain is quiet and pretty. My cat loves it and has definitely been drinking more water. I highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>