petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut

Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut

Features a walnut color wooden cabinet, wainscoting paneling details and stainless steel hardwareCovers and hides away the litter box while keeping litter messes insideAdded shelf space and stainless steel towel bar will help you organize your areaMagnetized door opens wide so you can easily clean any standard size litter box, sold separatelyUse as a coffee table or night stand while providing a discrete resting or sleeping area for both dogs and cats
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Review 1 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
A wonderful alternative to a standard litter box, keeps the mess and smell hidden. Easy to assemble. Very pleased with this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!!!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from TN
I love this Pet House (kitty privy) because it keeps the litter inside better than any other enclosure I've tried. It's easy to assemble & also adds extra space for baskets of toiletries that are otherwise all over the counter. The side door makes for easy scooping as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this product

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul
This product hides the cat pan and also gives you another table. My cat went to it right away. Was concerned that the door opening was to small but it turned out to be fine. I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely style and colour

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
The piece is lovely. It fits nicely along side my red laundry machines in the laundry room that everyone walks through to the garage from the kitchen. My 19 year old daughter easily assembled it for me. Now, if I can figure out how to keep the cats from scratching up the inside wood panels, I'd feel really good about letting them take ownership of this piece of furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Item exactly as expected. Easy to assemble using one screwdriver. Assembly about 20 minutes. Instructions well detailed, just like putting a puzzle together. Insert pieces and add the provided screws to the pre-drilled holes. The wood panels are solid and the color is classy. The cats started using their new litter box furniture right away. No hesitation. The interior and entrance hole are more than adequate for my 19 pound cat. Please be advised, a deep litter pan will not fit as it blocks the entrance hole. I am more than satisfied with this item and it looks terrific in the living room. Guests merely thought it was an end table until closer examination.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kitty litter box in style

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Derby, NY
My cats have Great taste. They use the kitty litter box and it looks great in the bathroom and easy to scoop/ clean. Would like to get another to use as an end table.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too small...

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Burnsville, MN
It was relatively easy to build and average quality for a build yourself item. It was however too small for my catboxes. My cats use the Breeze litter box by Tidy Cats and it was too long to fit inside and close the door. I will be returning it to the store... thankfully we only built the one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Washroom litter stand

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Burbank, CA
This cabinet actually looks better than I expected. The picture is accurate. The wood is nice and a rich color. I put it in the bathroom and the cats walked in the first day, even though they have never had a covered litter box.
Note you will need two people and a small Phillips and a small flat head screwdriver. It is not very big so measure inside because you will need to buy a smaller litter box if you don't have one already.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

What Litter Box do I use?

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
The washroom is decent for the price but now what litter box do I put inside that prevents fluids (i.e. urine) from hitting the interior walls of the washroom?
Seems I need a high-sided box with front entry that fits within the washroom. Don't see any recommendations on the website for the appropriate litter box to use in this washroom and don't see any options to meet the need.
Now I have to go rig up a solution which isn't something I have time to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice furniture addition

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Well-made product and easy to assemble. No problem with cat getting used to it - he walked right in. Keeps the dust down and removes the eye-sore of a litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wood was damaged and Scratched!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
I was very disappointed to unpack my Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House only to find it scratched and damaged. I still put it together because even though it was damaged, i didn't want the hassle of repacking and returning it and waiting for another one to come.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks nice!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
This hides the litter box while looking like a nice piece of furniture! My cats had no problem using it and got used to it really fast. The only downfall is that they still get pieces of litter on the floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great idea

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denham Springs, LA
Big enough to hold a fairly large litter box. It seems to contain odors as well as disguises the sight of a litter box. Looking down the hall it appears as a pretty piece of furniture. No one knows this is a litter box container. It's a def must have if you have a cat in the house and you don't want the ugly site of the litter box, and odor. Great invention... Wish I would have found one sooner. Very happy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I've had this less than a week, but so far so good. It took a bit over an hour to assemble but wasn't very difficult. The cabinet is attractive and sturdy, with a strong easy to open magnet door. Power tools not recommended for construction, but I used an electric screw driver anyway. I put their original hooded litter box in and it fits. Since the hood is on the litter box, the entrance way becomes even smaller. Luckily my cats don't mind the small entrance and relatively small size of the litter box itself. I decided to keep the hood on because other reviewers mentioned the cabinet getting dirty and wet. This way we don't have the same problem. I can see this cabinet as perhaps posing a problem to finicky cats, but so far so good here!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I was so excited for this since the other reviews were glowing. Sadly, I was very disappointed for a few reasons. First, it arrived COMPLETELY opened. I took pictures of the box because it was that awful - I'm shocked it wasn't totally damaged due to the condition it was delivered in. Also, the instructions aren't quite as simple as other reviewers make it sound - the pictures can be a bit misleading, not specifying which side things should be on. I learned this the hard way when I spent 20 minutes trying to get one of the screws back out of the hole so I could flip over the panel to the correct side. My advice: do NOT put the screws (#2a or 2b on the bag label) in until you are completely sure they are in the correct spot. Some of the holes weren't as clean cut as they should have been, with shards of wood still covering up part of them, so when I put it together, things were a bit off and wouldn't sit correctly because I did the best I could re-making the hole that should have been well done in the first place. *Worth noting: if you have a big cat (mine is 15-16lbs) this will be TOO SMALL. Regardless of what other reviewers said, a big cat cannot fit in here and turn around with ease, it is a very small space inside and fits a very tiny litter box. I have to go out and buy a new, much smaller one than the covered litter box I currently have because the bottom isn't even close to fitting inside. It's a shame it turned out this way, because it's so nice looking. Unfortunately it is just not worth the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect.....

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Beavercreek,Oh
I was very surprised at how well made this feels. I can definitely see this lasting a long, long time. My cat he loves it! I have a 13 lb tabby and was worried he would have problems getting through the door. No issues at all! It now sits in my living room and cleverly conceals our unsightly box. I had family over visiting last night and was asked where I moved "the cat's box to"!! LOL they were sitting right next to it! I had no problem at all assembling it--very simple instructions and labeled parts. I am a single mom and my 3 yr old would hand the hardware to me by my asking for #'s and letters! I would definitely recommend this. The color is very nice also--I have high cherry tables in my living room and this coordinates nicely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from FL
I absolutely love this piece of furniture. It's super easy to install and it blends in with everything. Beautiful! I almost completely forgot that I have a cat litter box inside.
Would definitely recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Very happy with this purchase. I have two cats and they started using it right away. So glad that they've finally created something like this for cat little boxes. It looks great as a piece of furniture in our living room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from North Reading, MA
I bought this for several reasons: price, how it looked, and reviews on how hard it was to put together.
First of all, you can't beat the price. I bought something similar about 7 years ago before everyone was making them. It cost about 4 times as much and is no where near as nice. With the sale price and free shipping, you can't beat it!
In terms of looks, it does look much nicer than you would expect. The material is actually pretty heavy and nicely lacquered.
As other reviews have stated, it is extremely simple to put together. It didn't take very long, and I only needed two screwdrivers. It didn't even hurt my hands to tighten anything, as do most pieces of self-assemble furniture.
Of course, my cats took to it immediately. I am considering replacing my other, expensive version with one of these. The only problem is that my electric litterbox will not fit in it. So maybe I'll wait until that dies and spend the money on one of these instead of a new electric litterbox since Littermaid stopped making one that actually works anyway!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Merry Products Cat Washroom-Night Stand & Pet House in Walnut
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Is a very pretty cat litter I love it, looks very clean an does not show inside

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Miami, Florida
I rate it with four stars because in the page says cat litter and does not bring the inside to put the litter or at list a sugestion to buy one of course if you get it for a house its ok. but it says you can use as cat litter. But looks great and in small places you can put it and nobody knows what is it in. Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
-43points
6of 55voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>