petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain

Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain

Circulating drinking water is naturally appealing to your petComes with one replaceable charcoal filter included for clean, healthy waterDishwasher safe, stainless steel construction allows for easy cleaningIdeal for use as a cat water fountain or dog water fountainModern raindrop shape compliments decor of any room
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
16
79 out of 106(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Review 1 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nieces kitten LOVES it

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from McKinney, TX
My niece got a kitten, and she hasn't had a kitten or cat before, so I sent her the drinking fountain as a birthday gift. She said her kitten LOVES it, and I am so happy, as I know that staying hydrated is extremely important for cats and their health. She said the machine is quiet, and that she can barely hear it. The kitten loves it and is drinking fine from it. I'm extremely happy with my gift purchase. I didn't get feedback on ease of set-up, but I'm assuming it was just fine, or else I probably would have heard from dad. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I loved it, the cats didn't

PostedJune 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I bought this to replace a plastic fountain from another manufacturer that had stopped working. I loved the design of this fountain, and the stainless was very easy to clean. Unfortunately three of my four cats (including two with urinary tract issues) were afraid of this fountain and would not drink from it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

More pros than cons

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
I love that this product keeps the water clean and cool for my pups! It is very quiet and my dogs adjusted to it immediately. The only thing I don't like about it is that my dogs don't have to drink too much out of it to make the water level low enough that the filter does start to make more noise as though air will be getting into it. I am constantly refilling throughout the day to keep it quiet and flowing the way it is supposed to be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMay 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Manhattan, KS
I have 2 cats and they love this fountain! They drink a lot more water now. Sometimes they will sit in front of it and just watch it. Cleaning it is not hard in my opinion and neither is changing the filter. I did have to use q-tips on the hard to get to spots. Overall I am very satisfied with the product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stella

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento CA
my cat loves it, so clean easy to set up, so easy to operate, quiet and the perfect size and three cheers for being stainless steel
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fountain

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, Fl
This is a nice fountain. Very well made. I let my cats drink out of it for a few days before I plugged it in. Once I plugged it in, they would not touch it. It ran for a few days, but my cats did not like it. I guess my cats were one of the few that do not like drinking fountains.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

pump will not hold the lower setting.

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fl
The pump will not hold the lower setting. We reset and it goes right back to the highest setting so it splatters water all around the the fountain and at the high setting make so much noise you can hear in the next room. Of course the cats will not go near it because it is splattering water constantly and making so much noise. I hope they can replace this pump.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it !

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Germantown Ohio
This unit is quiet, well made and so easy to clean. The dog and her 3 cats can't get enough water ! They will stand side by side to drink ! Our old plastic unit was hard to clean, had a loud hum and needed frequent cleaning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Attractive & Effective

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
This pet fountain is the best designed and most usable one I have tried. It is arranged so well that both of my adult cats can drink from it at the same time. It also seems to encourage them to drink more because of the constant water movement. The plus is that it's pretty enough to sit on my countertop. The only negative is that the motor stopped working (and needed replacement) after a few months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Cat Drinking Fountain

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mail ordered it - arrived on schedule and was easy to setup. Works very well - silent. My cats love it and are drinking water to be healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality manufacturing / pump

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, WA
Good looking pet fountain for sure. The stainless steel is nice and easy to clean which makes for good hygiene. It ran quiet enough while the pump worked, was able to turn it up to almost max water circulation and it only produced a mild trickling sound in the background. I ended up running it about mid-level most of the time as that seemed to be enough circulation.
Unfortunately this seems like one of those lemons that you have the misfortune of buying now and again. The pump failed entirely after about ~1-2 months of use. I kept the fountain and the filter/pump cage clean and cleaned the entire fountain regularly. Other reviews show similar issues with the pump.
This isn't a slight on Petco at all. I haven't talked to them about a potential replacement yet but they've been good to work with in the past. Purely a product quality review. I would advise against buying this fountain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap pump

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waukesha, WI
Do not buy. Pump fails after two weeks. Pump is underpowered. Why do you think they sell the replacement pump next to the dish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great to stimulate pet hydration

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hinsdale, IL
Great product. I turned it on and my kitten was immediately attracted to if. He took an hour or two to figure it out, but has been drinking from it ever since. He is definitely drinking way more water than in the bowl and has stopped trying to drink from sinks or running sinks. The only draw back is the low level noise the pump makes. But we keep it in a room that it does not bother us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well, my cat's still not sold on it...

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
...but that's not the product's fault. It was a little confusing to put together (the directions could be more explicit/descriptive), but it works well and the pump is surprisingly quiet! The only thing that's inconvenient is the plug/powercord design. The cord does detach from the wall adapter, but I still have to carry around the cord or roll it up when I need to carry the bowl to the sink to change the water.
Not sure if I'm going to keep it yet, but that doesn't have anything to do with the product itself. My cat loves drinking from the faucet, so I thought he'd love this fountain but he's still a little wary of it. I caught him sipping from the stream one or two times, but mostly he just uses the other side to drink directly from the bowl. But I guess it's nice it has that multi-functionality built in!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cocoa, FL
I am so glad I got this for my son's cats, they seem to be enjoying it and drinking more water. It is very clean looking, and is not real loud, but you can hear it running. We are using distilled water in it which is much better for the animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Drinking Fountain

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Belleville, IL
As someone who is not great at assembling products, I was afraid when I initially opened the box and saw about 6 pieces. But if you follow the directions exactly, you will succeed as I did. The water bubbles out perfectly and the cats are fascinated by it - I think they drink more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COOL LOOKING

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SPOKANE
This is a great product in that its decently made (which is rare these days), stylish and quiet. The only reason it was loud is because you are not supposed to run it without water. Unfortunately its going back because mt cat would have nothing to do with it, my neighbot cat loved it however
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
The water fountain is everything I hoped it would be! It is attractive and the perfect size for my little Shih Tzu who happens to hate water. He did not drink from it the first 24 hours but when he did he drank a lot of water which is unusual for him. He drank again that day and again a lot of water for him. Then nothing. Though that is not a reflection on the product.. The fountain is top shelf...my dog is the problem. I am not giving up. I know he found the water delicious. He is playing games with me because he knows how much I want him to drink more water.....he has bladder stones and really needs it. If you are thinking about buying the fountain, do so as you will be pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product was noisy

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
I liked that it was stainless steel but when I plugged it in the water makes a noise coming out of opening and our 3 cats were afraid of it and would not use it. I had to return it and get Petemate brand which is quiet when water is running.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Raindrop Fountain

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lubbock, TX
The Raindrop Fountain does a good job keeping the dog water fresh, and has helped in encouraging my dog to drink more. In fact, I am surprised at how often I have to "top off" the bowl. I debated over the fountain type and this one, this one does not splash water out of the bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>