petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain

Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain

Circulating drinking water is naturally appealing to your petComes with one replaceable charcoal filter included for clean, healthy waterDishwasher safe, stainless steel construction allows for easy cleaningIdeal for use as a cat water fountain or dog water fountainModern raindrop shape compliments décor of any room
Average Customer Rating:
3.849 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
14
70 out of 93(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Review 1 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well, my cat's still not sold on it...

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
...but that's not the product's fault. It was a little confusing to put together (the directions could be more explicit/descriptive), but it works well and the pump is surprisingly quiet! The only thing that's inconvenient is the plug/powercord design. The cord does detach from the wall adapter, but I still have to carry around the cord or roll it up when I need to carry the bowl to the sink to change the water.
Not sure if I'm going to keep it yet, but that doesn't have anything to do with the product itself. My cat loves drinking from the faucet, so I thought he'd love this fountain but he's still a little wary of it. I caught him sipping from the stream one or two times, but mostly he just uses the other side to drink directly from the bowl. But I guess it's nice it has that multi-functionality built in!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cocoa, FL
I am so glad I got this for my son's cats, they seem to be enjoying it and drinking more water. It is very clean looking, and is not real loud, but you can hear it running. We are using distilled water in it which is much better for the animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Drinking Fountain

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Belleville, IL
As someone who is not great at assembling products, I was afraid when I initially opened the box and saw about 6 pieces. But if you follow the directions exactly, you will succeed as I did. The water bubbles out perfectly and the cats are fascinated by it - I think they drink more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COOL LOOKING

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SPOKANE
This is a great product in that its decently made (which is rare these days), stylish and quiet. The only reason it was loud is because you are not supposed to run it without water. Unfortunately its going back because mt cat would have nothing to do with it, my neighbot cat loved it however
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
The water fountain is everything I hoped it would be! It is attractive and the perfect size for my little Shih Tzu who happens to hate water. He did not drink from it the first 24 hours but when he did he drank a lot of water which is unusual for him. He drank again that day and again a lot of water for him. Then nothing. Though that is not a reflection on the product.. The fountain is top shelf...my dog is the problem. I am not giving up. I know he found the water delicious. He is playing games with me because he knows how much I want him to drink more water.....he has bladder stones and really needs it. If you are thinking about buying the fountain, do so as you will be pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product was noisy

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
I liked that it was stainless steel but when I plugged it in the water makes a noise coming out of opening and our 3 cats were afraid of it and would not use it. I had to return it and get Petemate brand which is quiet when water is running.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Raindrop Fountain

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lubbock, TX
The Raindrop Fountain does a good job keeping the dog water fresh, and has helped in encouraging my dog to drink more. In fact, I am surprised at how often I have to "top off" the bowl. I debated over the fountain type and this one, this one does not splash water out of the bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I would not recommend this

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma, WA
We have had nothing but troubles with this.
Our first one developed some disgusting white build up all around the edges that we simply could not clean off. At the same time, the pump died. We figure that was our fault so we tried another one.
The second unit gets thoroughly cleaned every two days. The pump went out in 3 weeks. We replaced the pump. That just went out after 3 months. The thing was very hard to keep clean.
For 70 dollars, I'd recommend ceramic instead. This stainless steal is simply too difficult to maintain to be worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Water Fountain Dish

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Plainville, CT
I am so glad I spent the money to buy this. I had a plastic one before this and it got so dirty and the motor died after 13 months. This one is wonderful and easy to clean. My cat drinks out of the side bowl, the bubbler on top and the slide part. She loved it from the minute I put it down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good looking, easy to clean, noisy

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston
We got the stainless steel fountain because it is only 2.6 lbs, and I can't handle the 6 lb weight of the ceramic. It really looks nice, sleek stainless steel, you might think it is a decorative water element in the house and not just a drinking bowl. It is fairly easy to clean and you can even take apart the motor to really clean every part of the water path thru the fountain.
I did find that it can get noisy. if the plastic mount for the motor doesn't stay suction-cupped to the bottom of the pan, it makes the top part rattle, which gets worse as the water level drops. It was fine in the kitchen, but too noisy for a bedroom.
When we were away for a week, the pet sitter did not keep the water up so the motor burned out. It was totally safe, it didn't generate any heat, it just stopped and won't go. We're still using that pan as a plain water dish because its pretty and even easier to clean without the innards. But we got another stainless because the cats really like the fountain.
Now we've just gotten a new fountain made completely of plastic, and it is harder to clean but quieter. Overall we like the Raindrop line of fountains..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stainless Steel Fountain

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
This bubbling fountain is so much smaller than the old one. It takes up a lot less space on the bathroom counter where my cat likes to get his water. It is also much neater and easier to clean. My cat is drinking more water than previously and seems to like this fountain more than the old one. I certainly do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the stainless steel drinking fountain

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Island NY
Had I know about this product sooner, I would have ordered it a long time ago. Love that is easy to put together, I have three cats who prefer to drink out of stainless steel bowls. This is such a joy to see them using it. It's quiet and the movement if just right did not scare my furry little girls. I encourage everyone to buy it. It's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible design, pump didn't work, returned to store.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Missoula Montana
Bought this fountain for just over $70, what a waste of time. It was a nightmare to put together, once I did, the pump didn't work! The design is just awful, would be no good for multiple cat households. Hardly keeps any water, would constantly run out. I had to return it the next day. Bought a Drinkwell Platinum instead, way better, around the same price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty but loud

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Midwest
I have had this product over one year. It's pretty and my cat prefers it to standing water. But, when the water level is just barely down, it makes a horrible noise requiring me to add water. I have to fill it daily; so why not have a normal bowl?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fail

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
Placed into service, lasted a couple of weeks. The pump is still "humming", but no flow. It worked at first, but did not last. In my opinion, a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Blah...

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from So Cal
I bought two of these tonight to replace two cheaper fountains I bought last night that are far too noisy. I put the first one together and unlike the rest of the reviewers, my pump didn't run at all. I thought perhaps I had done something wrong, so I took the pump from the second unit and tried it. It worked, however, it didn't have the power to bring the water up through the hole at top to run the water. Tomorrow, all our fountains go back to the store and I try something else as they LOVE running water. Way bummed....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pump awful

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from sa, tx
same as others here bought from the store for my cats, 3 days after the 30 days the pump just up and quit, not gurgling or struggling.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water Fountain

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Joliet, IL
The Raindrop Fountain, shaped like a raindrop, was a great investment! Easy to clean, which was important to me, it is also easy to fill. There are no reservoirs to be concerned about. It is a great appliance for our small animals. Now
Pioneer needs to make one a bit larger!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mediapolis, IA
I bought this for my three cats for Christmas. They didn't
really care for it. After a few days the pump started making a lot of noise and stopped working. I pulled it all apart, cleaned it and let it dry for several days. The pump still doesn't work. Since I ordered it in November and didn't use it until December 26, the 30 day warranty has expired.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT GOOD

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from los angeles, ca
SO annoying. I bought this for my pets, as the cat likes to only drink from running water... i got it end of december (for christmas) and now it just decided to stop working. I am beyond frustrated as i just went and bought a ton of filters for it because i thought that is why it was running slow.. replaced the filter, worked fine for a day or two and now its not. Completely stopped running. Don't waste your money on this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>