petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain

Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain

Circulating drinking water is naturally appealing to your petComes with one replaceable charcoal filter included for clean, healthy waterDishwasher safe, stainless steel construction allows for easy cleaningIdeal for use as a cat water fountain or dog water fountainModern raindrop shape compliments décor of any room
Average Customer Rating:
3.847 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
14
64 out of 85(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Review 1 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Water Fountain Dish

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
PATTIS
from Plainville, CT
I am so glad I spent the money to buy this. I had a plastic one before this and it got so dirty and the motor died after 13 months. This one is wonderful and easy to clean. My cat drinks out of the side bowl, the bubbler on top and the slide part. She loved it from the minute I put it down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good looking, easy to clean, noisy

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ecat
from Boston
We got the stainless steel fountain because it is only 2.6 lbs, and I can't handle the 6 lb weight of the ceramic. It really looks nice, sleek stainless steel, you might think it is a decorative water element in the house and not just a drinking bowl. It is fairly easy to clean and you can even take apart the motor to really clean every part of the water path thru the fountain.
I did find that it can get noisy. if the plastic mount for the motor doesn't stay suction-cupped to the bottom of the pan, it makes the top part rattle, which gets worse as the water level drops. It was fine in the kitchen, but too noisy for a bedroom.
When we were away for a week, the pet sitter did not keep the water up so the motor burned out. It was totally safe, it didn't generate any heat, it just stopped and won't go. We're still using that pan as a plain water dish because its pretty and even easier to clean without the innards. But we got another stainless because the cats really like the fountain.
Now we've just gotten a new fountain made completely of plastic, and it is harder to clean but quieter. Overall we like the Raindrop line of fountains..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stainless Steel Fountain

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
ZiggyCat
from San Diego
This bubbling fountain is so much smaller than the old one. It takes up a lot less space on the bathroom counter where my cat likes to get his water. It is also much neater and easier to clean. My cat is drinking more water than previously and seems to like this fountain more than the old one. I certainly do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the stainless steel drinking fountain

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
watergirls
from Long Island NY
Had I know about this product sooner, I would have ordered it a long time ago. Love that is easy to put together, I have three cats who prefer to drink out of stainless steel bowls. This is such a joy to see them using it. It's quiet and the movement if just right did not scare my furry little girls. I encourage everyone to buy it. It's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible design, pump didn't work, returned to store.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britgirl81
from Missoula Montana
Bought this fountain for just over $70, what a waste of time. It was a nightmare to put together, once I did, the pump didn't work! The design is just awful, would be no good for multiple cat households. Hardly keeps any water, would constantly run out. I had to return it the next day. Bought a Drinkwell Platinum instead, way better, around the same price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty but loud

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
NurseDr
from Midwest
I have had this product over one year. It's pretty and my cat prefers it to standing water. But, when the water level is just barely down, it makes a horrible noise requiring me to add water. I have to fill it daily; so why not have a normal bowl?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fail

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
beerwhisperer
from St. Paul, MN
Placed into service, lasted a couple of weeks. The pump is still "humming", but no flow. It worked at first, but did not last. In my opinion, a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Blah...

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
KatzRule
from So Cal
I bought two of these tonight to replace two cheaper fountains I bought last night that are far too noisy. I put the first one together and unlike the rest of the reviewers, my pump didn't run at all. I thought perhaps I had done something wrong, so I took the pump from the second unit and tried it. It worked, however, it didn't have the power to bring the water up through the hole at top to run the water. Tomorrow, all our fountains go back to the store and I try something else as they LOVE running water. Way bummed....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pump awful

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lesh80
from sa, tx
same as others here bought from the store for my cats, 3 days after the 30 days the pump just up and quit, not gurgling or struggling.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water Fountain

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMyPets1234
from Joliet, IL
The Raindrop Fountain, shaped like a raindrop, was a great investment! Easy to clean, which was important to me, it is also easy to fill. There are no reservoirs to be concerned about. It is a great appliance for our small animals. Now
Pioneer needs to make one a bit larger!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
DevonRexFamily
from Mediapolis, IA
I bought this for my three cats for Christmas. They didn't
really care for it. After a few days the pump started making a lot of noise and stopped working. I pulled it all apart, cleaned it and let it dry for several days. The pump still doesn't work. Since I ordered it in November and didn't use it until December 26, the 30 day warranty has expired.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT GOOD

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
kells898
from los angeles, ca
SO annoying. I bought this for my pets, as the cat likes to only drink from running water... i got it end of december (for christmas) and now it just decided to stop working. I am beyond frustrated as i just went and bought a ton of filters for it because i thought that is why it was running slow.. replaced the filter, worked fine for a day or two and now its not. Completely stopped running. Don't waste your money on this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed. Returning.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
betterways
from Ohio
We purchased this for our dogs a few days ago. We paid nearly double the price listed on the website (annoying). We decided to take the leap with this since our standard water bowl was always very dirty and this had good reviews. The first day or so, it worked really well. Our dogs loved drinking directly from the fountain part. The water stayed cold, too, which was great. It didn't make much noise at all. But when the water got low, it stopped all together. So we found that we had to keep it above half full for it to run. Then today it just stopped running completely. We took the white package apart, pulled the motor out, put it back in, and put it all back together; we tried a different outlet, adding more water, cleaning out the water completely and refilling it. We tried *everything*. Fingers crossed we can return this without the receipt. Very, very disappointed not only with the price in-store versus online, and that it barely lasted a weekend. We will be purchasing a new fountain elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat loves it!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
sxsxsxsx
from St. Charles, MO
I bought this fountain to encourage my cat to drink more water. I also wanted a stainless steel one. He really likes drinking from the fountain part. He likes interactive water so I knew he would like the "moving water." I just have one cat but this could easily accomodate several cats. I have also seen one of my dogs drinking from the "still" part of it. It's easy to assemble, with few parts and easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatPerson9
I have 2 cats. I originally had a plastic water fountain, but my male cat was getting acne from it and I never felt like it was clean, so I decided to switch to a stainless steel fountain. The cats were a little skittish at first, but after about an hour they were both drinking out of the fountain. The actual fountain part is not smooth running water; it bubbles a little, so they don't drink from that as much as they did with the plastic one. But they seem to like it. It is not noisy and doesn't seem to have a splash effect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catbutler
from Galax VA
When I saw this in the store I was shocked by the price. I still think it is rather pricey but you get what you pay for. Previously I had two other fountains. They say don't mention names but the other major seller. They have many little nooks and corners that get nasty with mold and scum and are almost impossible to clean. This is super easy to clean. Two minutes and its sparkling.
Admittedly the cats, George and Louise, were put off by the noise it makes but VERY interested in it. They also were shocked by the way it bubbles up instead of running down a water fall. However, after a few days they now "Tank Up". George likes the almost still water in the main bowl and Louise likes the little river part. And, I ran the thing dry and didn't ruin the motor. Did the same with the other and had to order a new motor. Allow the cat time to adjust and then enjoy the easy cleanup. Owned for a year. BUY ONE you'll be glad, especially at clean up time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Loud.

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rayrayliotta
from Brooklyn
I bought this for my older cat because she enjoys drinking from the sink and I thought this would be a good way to supply her with a constant amount of running water.
After the first day I installed it I started to notice how loud it was. After reading other reviews I filled it with more water to see if it would make it run quieter.
After filling it as full as I could the "motor" sound still continued to be loud and annoying.
I guess I'll have to return it. It's a shame because I really like the look and design of it. Just couldn't deal with the noise.
My cat did use it and would spend a lot of time staring at it like "What is that?"
If you have it in a place where the noise can't bother you, it's good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great drinking fountain

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennjen
from Lakeland, Fl
I have 2 cats, One likes to dig for his water then drink from the 'pond' side. The other likes to drink from the fountain when he's not playing in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

VERY STYLISH

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
JAR916
from WILLIAMSPORT, PA
My cats old drinking fountain was always collecting mold - this new fountain is very easy to clean. I love the design and it was very easy to assemble. The only problem is that my cat was afraid of it at first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not really a fountain, more like a trickle

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
DesignerCheryl
from Milwaukee, WI
I had high hopes that my energetic 11-month old male cat would like this. Since male cats are prone to UTIs if they don't drink enough water, I thought a running stream of water would peak his curiosity enough to encourage more H2O consumption. After trying it for 2 days, he wanted nothing to do with it. First of all, it is LOUD. The motor runs constantly and can be heard from the other room with the tv on. Secondly, it produces barely a trickle of water. I don't even think my cat noticed anything was moving in there. But I think mostly he was deterred by the loudness of it to even investigate. It went back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>