petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain

Flowing filtered water helps keep water freshWater wheel attracts your cat to the fountainEasy to cleanOxygen makes the water taste freshIncludes 1 replaceable charcoal filter that removes bad tastes and odorsSleek, modern black & white color
Average Customer Rating:
2.375 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
6 out of 16(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Review 1 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DONT BUY

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
MJW63
from elcajon
HORRIBLE AND THE FILTER DOES NOT LAST AS WELL IF YOU WANT TO CLEAN IT WHAT A PAIN UNPLUG AND IT WAS JUST A MESS GIVING UP .............................................
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noisy and not good for big cats

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
SimonsJenn
from San Diego CA
My Simon is a pretty big cat...this didn't work for him. It doesn't hold a lot of water and the dish is kinda small. The waterwheel on top is very noisy and even scared the cat. I took it off hoping he'd like the the water spouting, but he would just stare at it and not drink from it. The small dish wasn't good for his long whiskers and I could see him trying to overcome his fear of the thing. He was always timid of the device and I had to end up buying a more expensive brand. Maybe it's better for smaller less-timid cats but not for big fraidy cats!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Love

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
willowsma
from Hancock,MI
My cat loves this fountain.She use to have to drink out of the faucet now she doesn't jump up on the sink every time we run water!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You get what you pay for...

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MomE24
We had a filter fountain prior to this made by Catit and really liked it but it got old and wore out. Money was tight for a replacement so we chose this very "affordable" option and found that we got what we paid for. Save your pennies and skip this one.
The filter is tiny and gets nasty very quickly, the "spinner" that's supposed to aerate the water NEVER spun properly and because of the filter/spinner issues, the entire bowl got pretty gross pretty fast.
I wish they would bring back the Catit filter because it was a better value for the cost (and not as expensive as the other brands), held a good volume of water, had a lot of surface area on the filter (helping it last longer) and was relatively easy to clean. I'm not please to be facing such a significant cost increase now since all I have is a store credit after returning this item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!!! Don't waste your money

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
stephjeff
from Pawtucket, RI
I had a drinkwell for my cat for a few years, after it died I didn't want to spend the money on a new one. BIG MISTAKE!! I purchased this a replacement on May 20, 2012 because it was inexpensive in comparison and it died before the end of July. My cat drinks a lot of water so I had to fill this up at least once a day, if not more. If I didn't add water, the pump was so loud, so it remained full to the top at all times. My cat was not a fan of the white water wheel piece on top, so I took it off. I haven't figured out what to buy as a replacement, I will probably spend a little more for another Drinkwell, since I know it will last. You really do get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very dissapointed

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
naomi9865
I am not happy with this product. I have had this for a little more than a month and the motor burned out. I don't understand why this happened it was always full enough to operate with water but failed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for a inexpensive option

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
kaysmom2000
from Pewaukee, WI
If you want an inexpensive option to hold you over until you have more money to invest in a high quality fountain - then I would recommend this one.
Pro's: Inexpensive, Filters easy to replace, Quiet running.
Con's: Harder to clean because it is plastic, seems to clog with cat hair easily (but that may just be my cat - she sheds A LOT!!!).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not great, but, it works ...

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
DLTBGYD3
from Eastern Oregon
From reading other reviews herein, it appears others had trouble assembling this product. I don’t understand why; it is very simple to assemble and to get the pump working (simply put enough water into it, top and bottom).
It is quite noisy. I managed to take the vibration noise out of it by taping the two pieces together in the rear, using some heavy-duty tape.
Made in China, I don’t really expect this thing to last very long. I just wanted to see if my cats would drink out of such a thing … one will … one won’t (probably because of the vibration noise).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The true review

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dano312
from Weymouth, MA
pros
great way to aerate water for a single cat (or two medium size cats)
only takes up a small space about the size of a good bowl
reasonable price for what it is
reasonable priced filters keep water clear
cons
if your cat drinks a lot, you need to add water daily
Bottom line is that this is an inexpensive fountain that is small in size that needs to have water added daily. If you have two heavy drinking cats, then go for a bigger unit. This is just right if you don't have a heavy hitter drinking from it.
I have no idea why any of the reviews that gave few stars had a problem with this, unless they let it run dry and the pump burned out and stopped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO GOOD unless you have X Ray vision!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmandaLoveMyFurBabies
from NC
Very Disappointed! Followed directions exactly. Unless you can see through things it is more of a hassle than it is worth. I put top portion on and had to try 6 or 7 times to get the pump and the hole in the top portion aligned. And so every time I need to clean it or change the filter I will have to deal with that same issue. It's NOT worth it. It is going back immediately!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product was so bad, it forced me to write my first review ever

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
jewelsre
from Boston, MA
In case you didn't read the review title, this product is so bad. It is poorly constructed and broke within seconds. Then a different piece of it broke too. If that wasn't bad enough, it's also very loud and when it runs low on water, it's INCREDIBLY loud and annoying. I know what you are thinking ... It's inexpensive ... what were you expecting? Well, I bought one from another company at the same time and for about the same price. And today, I got my second one from the other company and threw this product away. That's where it best belongs ... in the garbage because it really is a piece of trash.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointing - Don't waste your money!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
KittyCatLove
I bought this pet fountain 3 months ago, and I've finally unplugged it and it's ready to get thrown out. I'm upset that it's too late to return it to get my money back. After about a month it started making an annoying humming sound. Over time it got noisier and happened more frequently. I tried moving it around, adding more water (yes, I filled it to the line) and changing the filter but that didn't help. I was excited about this filter, and it just let me down. I was able to tolerate some humming, but couldn't take it when it got even louder. I'm really disappointed. This was a waste of $20. Good luck everyone, I just wanted to let other people know.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A surprise find

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
RichardNearNorth
from Naples, FL
Bought this unit at my local Petco store in Chicago in September of last year. Brought the fountain with us when we moved to SW Fla. It has been running continuously since October. Replaced a string of Drinkwells with this little unit and my 2 siamese noticed no difference. The Drinkwells went through water-pumps at least 1 yearly.This little pump-that-could has been running nonstop. Would definitely recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product! Cats LOVE it!

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
ninthnarnian
from Charlotte, NC
We have had this fountain for quite a long time and it still works excellently.
Our cats (3 now) drink more water than they did with just a bowl. It operates quietly and only requires adding water and occasional cleaning and filter changes.
It is easy to clean, and filter lasts a long time if rinsed once in a while.
I highly recommend this product, and it is a great value for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for one cat, no more!

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
XbrianX
from Baltimore, MD
I got this because I went from one cat to three after moving in with my girlfriend. My cat, Squeaks, never really drank much water but has had UTIs so I wanted to get him to drink more. Her 2 cats drink water like crazy so I figured this would be a good bet. Bought it at the store for almost double what it is advertised online and since it was $15 to $20 cheaper than other ones, I thought it was a deal. I would have been right for one cat.
It holds about 6 cups of water daily. I have to refill it every morning before work. If you don't refill it, the wheel stops spinning and the "waterfall" stops. This makes it louder and probably somehow clogs up the filters. So, if you have one cat, refilling it every other day shouldn't be bad.
The cleaning and assembly/re-assembly is very easy and I clean and change the filter monthly. This does not seem to be a problem and the filters are pretty cheap. I think a 3 pack is $10. It also comes with one filter to start.
It is relatively quiet and in another room it just sounds like a normal fountain and is almost soothing to sleep with. However, if the water level gets low, it can become pretty noisy. Especially on hardwood floors.
I think this is a good cheap fountain for one cat households, under $20. Easy to use, relatively quiet and easy to clean. If you have more than one cat, I'd recommend a 100 oz. or larger fountain to save you time and worry. Hope this helps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Waterfall Cat Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the greatest.

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jahjehwa
from Minnesota
I only gave this 2 stars because my cats did use it more then a regular water dish. But after a month of hearing the noisy motor I had to part ways with it. It says it hold over 50oz of water but the motor sits right at the water line so after 1 day the motor gurgles because is not submerged in water. I bought a drinkwell platinum to replace it and it is silent compared to this and holds 100 more oz or water. Much better and my cats love the drinkwell. Do not waste your money trying to save a little like I did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.