petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food

Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food

100% complete and balanced nutritionDry dog food features wholesome grains and real beef accented with vitamin-rich vegetablesDelicious Original flavor dogs loveVariety of shapes, textures and tastes holds your dog’s interestBeneful dog food made in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
43 out of 48(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not perfect, but my dog loves it

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
I know some reviewers have said this is "poor quality" or "junk food for dogs" but the reality is, I have a senior boxer girl who is picky, so this works for us. I supplement this with Nutro canned food and healthy jerky treats, so I feel she is getting good nutrition, even if it's not the absolute highest quality food out there. I've tried nearly everything, and this is one she will actually eat. The pieces are various sizes and shapes so she doesn't gulp it too fast, even when mixed with canned food. Yes, there are ingredients that most vets do not recommend: corn, soy, sugar, etc., but if the expensive, ultra high quality foods are not palatable to your dog, that's money down the drain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Low Quality Ingredients, full of corn, soy and wheat, and it has SUGAR in it

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This is a grain-based, high carbohydrate food with artificial colors, sugar, sorbitol, and propylene glycol in it. The actual meat source is too far down the ingredient list to make up a significant presence in this food. I still can't believe there is SUGAR in food meant for carnivorous animals. Sorbitol is an alcohol sugar, you will find sorbitol in toothpaste! I would not recommend this food for dogs with allergies. Actually, I would not recommend this food for any living creature.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nyack, NY
I've got 2 picky puppies that love this stuff. Every time I turn around, the bowls need refills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Picky Dog Loves This!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I have a picky eater! She is a 7-year-old Greyhound, and I have tried many different brands of dog food. So far, Beneful is her favorite! A lot of times she would not care when it was mealtime, but since trying Beneful she gets excited whenever I tell her it is breakfast or dinnertime. I definitely recommend this dog food to anyone who has a similar picky eater!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Expected

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from FLORIDA
Dog food came in in a timely manner and no damage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog Food

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
This food is nothing but cheap, low-quality corn, wheat and meat-by-product and keeps your dog from gaining the weight he or she suppose to have
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk Food for Dogs!

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
This food is nothing but cheap, low-quality corn, wheat and meat-by-product fillers sprayed with rendered animal fat to make it taste good. It's the equivalent of feeding your dog fast food every single day. Do your research and feed your dog food with actual nutritional value. Don't be fooled by the slick advertisements and pretty pictures -- turn the bag over and READ the ingredient list. This brand also has hundreds of complaints from consumers filed against it. You can do better for your dog than feeding this junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves this food!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from East Fishkill, NY
She's stayed trim eating it, & it doesn't make her breath or rear end smell like some other flavors of this brand did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has good nutrition

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, AL
Good buy for your money and keeps your dog healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this dog food

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Santa Barbara, CA
Both of my dogs love the food. They can't wait to have their breakfast and dinner! They seem to be healthier and happier. Definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Food causes allergies

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
Vets and groomers do not recomend this food because it causes ear infections, hair loss due to itchy skin and ect. It's worth the extra 5 dollars for a better food for your cat or dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bemus Point, NY
Beneful is a good vlue when mixed with a Nutro product. The dogs (greyhound and beagle) like its flavors, too!
It came very quickly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love this product

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NE Ohio
I rotate this with the Beneful Healthy Weight version dog food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My dog used to be sooooo picky with dog food and with purina even that i was paying like 16 plus buck for a 7 or 10 lb bag and she would only eat certain pieces out of it. Ever since i bought this she always always cleans her bowl til their is no piece of food in sight. She loves it!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent For My Bella

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
from St. Peters, Mo
My 5 year old yorkie just loves this stuff! She would eat every 10 minutes if I let her. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!!!

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from CA
i bought this for both of my dogs & they love it!!! i have to buy a new bag soon too!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Food Ever

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
My 6 month old pitbull/terrier mix Amber stopped eating her iams puppy food only just a few weeks after we got her from the aspca. so i switched her to beneful adult food and boy does she love it. wakes me up ever morning and can not wait to eat it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beneful up to the challenge

PostedJune 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
My lab was super picky and we tried every type of food you could imagine. We finally bought Beneful on a whim thinking it would be another miss but we were pleasantly surprised when it got the stamp of approval. We have fed it to him for almost 2 years now and everyone comments on how beautiful he is and how his coat is so soft and shiny. A great product and a very nice price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog absolutely loves this food!

PostedJune 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
My dog has had issues with food, as she can't handle a high fat content. After lengthy research and a number of trials with other dog food brands, I put Maggie on Beneful and she hasn't had any digestive problems!! She loves the food, doesn't hesitate to eat, and eats every ounce out of her bowl. Both the dog and I are extremely satisfied with Beneful!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beneful Original Recipe Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved her life!

PostedFebruary 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Enfield, CT
We picked Aspen up from the breeder in November of 2003 when she was a few months old. After the first year of her 'puppy diet' we switched her to the food they recommended, she didn't like it. We tried EVERYTHING! The poor dog would eat a few days of whatever new food we were trying to give her but then stop, it was a nightmare. FINALLY we tried Beneful and 5 years later, she still loves it! She has turned out to be a wonderful dog with a great show career and a proud Mommy of six little puppies. Beneful saved her & us, not only does she love the food, it's always available to us and the cost is GREAT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>