petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post

Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post

Supports your cat’s natural scratching behavior and exerciseEncourages scratching on appropriate items in your homeCat scratching post made from 95% all natural materialsMade with renewable sisal and seagrassDangling seagrass orb adds interest and fun to the scratcherSisal cat scratcher designed exclusively for Petco
Average Customer Rating:
2.661 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
17
22 out of 56(39%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Review 1 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
First off, it is simply not heavy enough at the bottom, so anytime the cats put any weight on it, it turns over. Secondly, the sisal rope starts coming off right away. It also isn't very tall. Don't waste your money on this cheap item. It is much better to invest in something more sturdy & durable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I bought this product and the minutes my kittens touched it it all came loose.The string from the ball that hangs on top and the string on the base all came loose as it it was just wrapped there and not glued. It is not steady at all. The minute a small kitten touches it it falls flat on the floor. Was very disappointed with it. So many petco toys are just waste of money.The other bad ones were plush toys. Hope they sell good product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the price

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
This item comes shipped in two pieces (though it is very simple to screw together-so no big deal). It serves its purpose. My two little kittens had started scratching on my rug and i wanted to get them something to use instead. My kittens fit perfectly on it, though when he stands up to "hug" and scratch it, the post kind of wobbles on my hard wood floor. I moved it to a carpeted room and it seems to have fixed the problem. I am happy with the product and the kitties seem to love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING ITEM

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
Very good quality.
My cat immediately interested and very long played, and played and played again)
I highly recommend and will buy one more)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell Apart Rather Quickly...

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CA
I wish I had read the reviews on this product before buying it. My cat is small framed and relatively light in weight, 8 lbs. approximately. Within 2 weeks, she has caused the sisal on the base to come undone and now I will need to glue it (hope to find non-toxic glue) to secure the rope around the base. It also tips over easily and so I have placed the corner of her Fresh Step Litter box on the base to help keep it from tipping over. The idea of sisal covering the entire cat post is great... but the construction needs more development.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kitty loves this scratcher.

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Syracuse, NY
This is my third time buying this scratcher. The first one my kitty loved so much I bought another for the bedroom also. Then we moved from California to New York so I had to downsize and I donated the two I had. For Christmas I decided to replenish her with this scratching post which made her very happy, especially when I sprinkle catnip on it. Kitty and I definitely recommend. Thank you Petco for this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ponce, Puerto Rico
Excellent price and service and good online prices. Also customer service in spanish is an excellente one too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tips over easily

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Camarillo, CA
My cat wouldn't go near this after a couple failed attempts at scratching. He likes to scratch vertically, so he would end up tipping it over, scaring himself. I ended up unscrewing the post from its original base and drilling it into the top of a small carpet covered cat den that I have. It's much sturdier now, but he still only occasionally uses it. At least it looks nice.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD SCRATCHY POST..

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LANSING,NY
MY CAT LOVES THIS THING.I HAVE GIVEN HER DIFFRENT ONES AND SHE ALWAYS GOES BACK TO THIS ONE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sisal Seagrass orb

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Leandro, CA
Nice size. Fits in small area. Great for scratching post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sharp sisal

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
The sisal this toy is wrapped with is pretty shaggy, (hey, it's sisal, right?), but the fibers that stick out all over are fine and sharp enough to puncture skin. It's uncomfortable to move around. My cat plays with the ball a bit, but doesn't put her feet on the base when she does, and she doesn't use it as a scratching post at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It looks good

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Beverly, MA
I bought this because I have a new little kitten and I thought he would use this more than the big cat tree that I have. I've had it for about two weeks and he 16 weeks, nor my 2 or active 12 year old cat has bothered. I plan to cover it in catnip and force them to play with it. It looks awesome and I like it but like a lot of things I like my cats do not like. So I gave it a three because I like it not because my cats like it. I actually should have given it a two.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet play toys

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I bought one for the inside cats and one for the outdoor ferals..I dip the ball at the top in catnip to entice them to play more. These toys and furniture have lasted through four years of rain and snow. Amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cut my finger!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
I always wondered why my cats never used this scratch post...the other night, I went to move it, and one of the sharp fibers cut my finger! Throwing it in the trash today!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK for the Price

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
The cats like it and the price was good. I've had to re-glue the sisal on the base - came loose at the first scratching - but a little Elmer's took care of it quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

These scratching posts never had a chance....

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
My cats obliterated four of these scratching posts in no time. They shredded them until the rope came off and the bolt holding the post in place came lose from the base. We tightened the bolt again and again but the things just wobbled. We finally threw these away. My cats absolutely loved using them but destroyed them in no time, so my rating is low because of lack of durability. I will search for something that will last longer when I buy new scratching posts.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I expected

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Ollie loves this post. I don't know how a scratching post could be particularly good or bad, as long as your kitty uses it, but Ollie was immediately attracted to this and has NEVER tried to claw on any of my furniture. This is the only one I have & it's still like new. She pulled one of the cords off the bottom part, but I just glued it back in place & no big deal. Worked for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Un touched

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
I wouldn't say there is anything wrong both this product but I have 2 cats and have had 2 of these posts, as well as straight posts, for over a years and I have had to replace the straight ones with these remaining perfectly untouched. I don't know why. I always assumed the shape? At least they look good :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

scratch this!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from los angeles, ca
my cat loves this thing! she even ripped up a little of the cording within a few minutes of opening, but no big deal that some hot glueing wouldnt fix. placed it next to the new couch and she attacks the post instead. a big win! never getting carpeted scratch posts again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

garbage

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, UT
This post is total garbage! It fell apart after about one week. I'm retired so I don't have a lot of money to spend on cat furniture so I feel like I just flushed the money I spent on this down the john!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>