petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post

Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post

Supports your cat’s natural scratching behavior and exerciseEncourages scratching on appropriate items in your homeCat scratching post made from 95% all natural materialsMade with renewable sisal and seagrassDangling seagrass orb adds interest and fun to the scratcherSisal cat scratcher designed exclusively for Petco
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
14
16 out of 46(35%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Review 1 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sharp sisal

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
The sisal this toy is wrapped with is pretty shaggy, (hey, it's sisal, right?), but the fibers that stick out all over are fine and sharp enough to puncture skin. It's uncomfortable to move around. My cat plays with the ball a bit, but doesn't put her feet on the base when she does, and she doesn't use it as a scratching post at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It looks good

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Beverly, MA
I bought this because I have a new little kitten and I thought he would use this more than the big cat tree that I have. I've had it for about two weeks and he 16 weeks, nor my 2 or active 12 year old cat has bothered. I plan to cover it in catnip and force them to play with it. It looks awesome and I like it but like a lot of things I like my cats do not like. So I gave it a three because I like it not because my cats like it. I actually should have given it a two.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet play toys

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I bought one for the inside cats and one for the outdoor ferals..I dip the ball at the top in catnip to entice them to play more. These toys and furniture have lasted through four years of rain and snow. Amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cut my finger!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
I always wondered why my cats never used this scratch post...the other night, I went to move it, and one of the sharp fibers cut my finger! Throwing it in the trash today!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK for the Price

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
The cats like it and the price was good. I've had to re-glue the sisal on the base - came loose at the first scratching - but a little Elmer's took care of it quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

These scratching posts never had a chance....

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
My cats obliterated four of these scratching posts in no time. They shredded them until the rope came off and the bolt holding the post in place came lose from the base. We tightened the bolt again and again but the things just wobbled. We finally threw these away. My cats absolutely loved using them but destroyed them in no time, so my rating is low because of lack of durability. I will search for something that will last longer when I buy new scratching posts.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I expected

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Ollie loves this post. I don't know how a scratching post could be particularly good or bad, as long as your kitty uses it, but Ollie was immediately attracted to this and has NEVER tried to claw on any of my furniture. This is the only one I have & it's still like new. She pulled one of the cords off the bottom part, but I just glued it back in place & no big deal. Worked for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Un touched

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
I wouldn't say there is anything wrong both this product but I have 2 cats and have had 2 of these posts, as well as straight posts, for over a years and I have had to replace the straight ones with these remaining perfectly untouched. I don't know why. I always assumed the shape? At least they look good :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

scratch this!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from los angeles, ca
my cat loves this thing! she even ripped up a little of the cording within a few minutes of opening, but no big deal that some hot glueing wouldnt fix. placed it next to the new couch and she attacks the post instead. a big win! never getting carpeted scratch posts again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

garbage

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, UT
This post is total garbage! It fell apart after about one week. I'm retired so I don't have a lot of money to spend on cat furniture so I feel like I just flushed the money I spent on this down the john!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fell apart

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
The cat loves to scratch this thing but it tips over onto her. Also, not long after we got it, the cord on the base started to come off. She would scratch it and the rope came off and now she just chews on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Base

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, VA
My cat loves that it is covered in rope but the round base makes it tip over very easily. Seems like cat can't adequately scratch because it tips over. Would be perfect with a square base. Never had a problem with square based scratchers falling over.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wow, what a Hot Mess!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ct
Had the same problem as everyone else, unraveled within weeks. I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased it. Who do we talk to to get our money back! The only reason I gave it 2 stars was because it was cute and my cat did enjoy the little tinkle ball on top.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from LA CA
I bought this post because it looked pretty (for a scratching post) and was cheap. Well, there's a reason! It IS cheap! It started to unravel the first day and, within a week, was a complete mess and I had to toss it. Their old $20 post lasted 4-5 yrs, BTW. Do not waste your money on this piece of junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

May be worth it since it's cheap?

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I got this because it was the cheapest I could find and I liked that it was made with renewable sisal and seagrass. I was looking for a scratching post with carpet and a rope-wrapped neck, and this was the closest.
This post was much too light. I have a hefty cat that brought it down from just playing with the ball.
You could tell it was made pretty cheap. Wherever you could see behind the rope, there was styrofoam.
Like I said, if you prefer to buy posts frequently and spend a little money at a time, (and have more dainty cats) this may be the one for you! Was cute and my cats were definitely interested in it the moment I brought it in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terribly made

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MS
My cat tore this post to shreds the first day I had it. The entire bottom unravelled. I would not recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kitty loves it, but he tore it up

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NOLA
Our 14 lb male cat loves string and rope, so when we were shopping for a new scratching post, this one caught our eye. He absolutely loves it, but it did fall apart quickly. Of course, for the price (under $20), it's done its job for the last four months. We hope to find another post made of the same material, but hopefully one that lasts longer. In all fairness, he tore up a carpeted post too, so I think he's just a heavy-duty scratcher!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Insufficient Quality & Durability

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Campbell, CA
Scratching post is quickly coming apart. Glue on outside of 1 ½” hollow plastic hanging ball is insufficient to keep brown sisal cord attached and has come completely unwrapped. Lower two-thirds of sisal around upper globe on post has come unwrapped from foam. Post is not stable and gets constantly pulled over. Durability of post and quality is clearly lacking for use with a cat of any substantial size and strength.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kitten loves it, but came apart

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Birmingham, AL
Bought this for our new kitten, within one week the sisal came unraveled on the base. She's able to tip it over b/c she climbs to the top of it and leaps off. Nevertheless she still loves it but it wouldn't be sturdy enough for a large cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Sisal and Seagrass Orb Scratching Post
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Candor, NY
This scratching post started falling apart within the first 24 hours. I took it away and reglued it so we'll see how long it lasts. The only thing I can say is I'm glad I bought it on Black Friday when it was 50% off cause it surely isn't even worth that price!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>