petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament

Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament

Perfectly sized for small tanksMade of non-toxic, fish-safe materials and colorsDécor provides shelter and hiding places fish need to help reduce stressGreat for betta & goldfish bowls
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Review 1 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool, only could be a little bigger

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
hammyloveer1234
from Seattle Washington
This product is more for smaller fish than betas. My beta fish, Bubbles enjoyed the cool looking cave but it was a bit small for his big fins and got cramped. It was more like something to swim through, not hang out in. Good quality, great for SMALL fish .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's Just Too Small

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
BonitaApplebaum
from Boston, MA
This item seemed to be a lot larger on the web page than it is in reality. My Beta fish is (obviously) a very small little fishy... and he does not even fit his whole body underneath it. I know that the dimensions were on the site, but the image of it was truly decieving
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks very nice

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ross21
from Milton, Indiana
Hi, I bought this to put into my one gallon tank for my betta, only to find out he did not like it. I took out the castle, and he was fine. I believe it was because it took up too much space in such a small tank, however. I have recently bought a five gallon tank for him, and will put it in there. I think he will like it once it's in there, since there'll be plenty of room to add ornaments and decor. It looks very cool though. It's very detailed, and even has little steps leading into the door of the castle. There is also green along it that looks a lot like real moss. I'm not sure if my betta will swim through the hole once he's in the five gallon tank, but the big hole is a little over an inch tall and almost an inch wide. I believe my fish could fit into it if he wanted to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Small

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
OrcaTrainer
from SeaWorld, Orlando
This mini castle is too small for my fish, but it looks nice in the tank. Luckily, none of my fish have tried to hide in it... I recommend this product for very small fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little small

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
bettalover21543
from new jersey
This ornament is very small and my betta cannot hide inside it. He will lay next to it or under certain pieces, but it is too small for him to get his body inside the hole where he would feel most comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

alright

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
fish123456789
from washington
i bought this for my goldfish about a year ago, then they died :,(
then i got a ten gal, and i have 3 barbs, and there will be more, and the big one seems to like it. the only problem for me is that a little bit of the paint is peeling of.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
ashleeeeigh
from Rhose Island
I have a betta and this is the perfect size for him. It looks really nice, it goes perfectly with the black gravel and red decor rocks in the bowl. I have this in a half gallon tank and it's pretty much the only thing that can fit in there without the bowl being over crowded. But, my betta loves it and tends to spend a lot of time inside it. It's easy to clean and I would definitely buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for bettas

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
collegestudent
I bought this for my betta's tank awhile ago. I absolutely love it. It's really easy to clean and small so it doesn't take too much space in a smaller tank.
I get a lot of compliments on it from friends who see my tank.
As for my betta, he seems to absolutely loves it. He actually guards his castle whenever someone comes too close to his tank. He curls up inside the hole or rests on the top, whichever fits his mood for that day.
I have not once regretted buying this castle and really suggest it for anyone with a small tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Mini Castle Aquarium Ornament
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
nibble
from inverness
looks like hogwarts only different color. my daughter loved it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.