petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System

Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System

Includes everything you need to deliver unsurpassed 3-stage filtration (mechanical, chemical and biological)Overflow box automatically stops back draining in the event of electrical lossIncludes all hoses, filter media & submersible pump 700gphProtein skimmer with pump & venturi system
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 out of 14(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Review 1 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Filter! Even BETTER customer svc!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bridge City, Texas
I purchased the Rapids Pro3 appx. 3 months ago and it's done a Fantastic job! I was a little apprehensive at first after reading some of the reviews. With the supplied manual, it couldn't have been easier to assemble and install! The fact that it has a protein skimmer is Great! The whole thing is like a high-end canister filter, wet/dry filter and protein skimmer all in one. GREAT VALUE! I have it set up on a 75 gal reef tank and my water quality is awesome.
I had a question about media replacement so I contacted the company. While on the phone I wasn't rushed and the customer service rep (Rand) was unbelievably knowledgeable. He gave me some great ideas that I hadn't thought about.
My daughter is setting up a 75 gal salt and is about to purchase the Rapids Pro3. It's a Must Have filter for your aquarium, and you'll Never find customer service like this!!!! (at least I never have!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice product

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ceres, ca
I like the design. The product took me about two hours to install. Once installed it sounded it like a rain shower. I took the original tubing and replaced it. Getting rid off that annoying shower sound. Now its awesome. I am happy with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Week And Still Running

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Set up is a 55 gallon reef aquarium. I had the micro bubble problem as others have complained about but I soaked the fiber filter media to squeeze out air bubbles trapped in the fibers and the micro bubbles were gone immediately. I also had the main pump make a garble sound and then shut down as I have read in other reviews, I dismantled and cleaned impeller and all was fine. It has been running for over a week now and the water is crystal clear. I would recommend the auto top off system. All and all very pleased with this system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noisy, Skimmer works bad, Poor manual,

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from new york ny
It's pretty loud, noisy. The skimmer doesn't work much. Carbon flush into tank. The manual is poor and confusing, the trouble shooting part of it drives you crazy. Talked to several guys working at fish stores, their answers were they never heard of this brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oahu, Hawaii
Used this filter for my 55 gallon tank and keeps my water cristal clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rapids PRO RP3

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I have had the filter up and running on my 65 gallon reef system for 3 weeks now, So far I am pleased. The filter has a little hum, and as with any sump or trickle system that incorporates a an overflow box you have the noise of the water running but neither are very loud or bothersome. My tank is good and clear and fish seem to be happy. As for 700 gallon flow... not hardly, there maybe 700 at 0 head but once that head increases to 2 to 3 feet you lose that flow rate. On my system the filter has to pump to a 2 and a half foot head so the actual flow is about 400 to 500 gallons. The protein skimmer seems to be working pretty good but this aquarium is not heavily stocked at this time. It would also work on a Freshwater system you just would need to leave the pump for the protein skimmer. The setup is pretty easy even some one starting out should be able to set this up without issues. it took me about 15 minutes to have it setup and running it may take a little longer if you have never dealt with a sump style system with overflow and be sure that you fill the overflow box with water as well before plugging in the pump. I would recommend this filter and will buy another for my next project.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from nebraska
I really like this wet/dry product . it's easy to set up and has everything you need for a reef tank. To early for me to commit about the protein skimmer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hawkey sump

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from new york
Had for little over a week now and its working great. Started it on a new 65 gallon saltwater and its pumping through water nicely. It took a good amount of time to set up and make all the right adjustments need to maintain proper water levels in each. The ability this sump has to not overflow in loss of power is great. Thought the directions where really good for set up but could have used a little more detail on a couple parts. The noise level is really good for the work that it does all you hear is a small humm like what you would hear from a air bubble pump,from the sump and the water trickling down the hose for the overflow to the sump so what ever room you set it up in will turn into a rain forest. With proper water levels in the tank and sump no air bubbles should come through the return pipe, but the return flow is kind of said not really enough to use for tank water movement so you will still need power heads for that. You need to understand the basics of sumps before you should get this i would think. This is a great setup for beginners but you should first understand the functions of the machine before you use it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from venezuela
THIS PRODUCT IS EXCELLENT I RECONMENDED THIS ITEM TO ALL CUSTOMER......VERY NICE
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from nh
This wet dry works well. The protein skimmer works well, if you are having problems with the protein skimmer it is more than likely that you have too much water sitting in the sump area. Be sure the system is adjusted so that the water level in the sump area of the filter is at the recommended line level otherwise water pressure from overfilling the sump will not allow the venturi tube to feed airbubbles into the skimmer tube. Also be sure to keep the cone and cup clean so that the foam can slide through the cone and fall/drain into the cup....to much crud on the cone will inhibit the foam from moving into the cup......This system comes with an overflow box but if you have a drilled tank you can hook it up without the overflow but you would need to install your own control valves to adjust flow and water levels. Before you buy be sure you have an understanding of sump filtration and the use of overflow boxes as well as wet dry filtration and protein skimming/foam fractionator filtration. This filter employs wetdry filtration and protein skimming filtration with the use of a surface skimmer to move floating proteins from the surface of the water......The water moves through the overflow, drops down into the sump's distribution plate where it falls through filter wool, then bio balls, then cintered glass media where it enters a pump chamber and a portion of the water moves through the protein skimmer and a portion of water is returned to the tank. This style of filtration is excellent at removing ammonia, nitrates and semi disolved proteins but will not move or suck up solid waste that accumulates on the bottom of the tank but in my experience other filtration methods don't do a very good job at that either. As with a canister filter, you must clean filter pads weekly or else you will end up with high nitrate levels. And As with any fish tank, weekly maintainance is key with this filter.....vacuming waste off bottom of tank, changing and or adding water, cleaning protein skimmer cup, and rinsing debris out of filter foam tray. For the price, this setup works great. Just be sure you are versed at setting up overflow boxes and adjusting water flow rates in order to maintain the correct water level in the tank and in the sump. The overflow is self priming and it does work for power out periods but when you first set it up and the water flow rates are not adjusted correctly, you may need to help prime the overflow to get it going and avoid the tank overfilling. If you understand overflows you will know what to do and if you don't understand overflows then get the mop. My only complaint would be the micro air bubbles entering the tank are excessive. This is due to the fact that there is no bubble trap so the water which is highly aerated from the protein skimmer and also from flowing through the wet dry chamber requires something to help remove tiny bubbles. I was able to fix the issue by placing filtration foam around the pump in the pump chamber. Otherwise excellent value if you get it on a sale price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Galveston, TX
I am more than happy with my recent purchase of this filter. The price is great and everything you need comes with this filter it even has a built-in Protein Skimmer which is an added bonus. I haven't had any issues and assembly was very easy. I would reccommend this product to anyone setting up a saltwater aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Optimum filter for saltwater, perfect size

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
I saw this filter online and went into Petco store to look at it. I talked to the aquatic manager and he sold me on the filter. It does not take up much room in the stand and there is a lot of space for filter media. It has a built-in protein skimmer which is a huge benefit plus the overflow box automatically stops water from draining back into the filter in case there is power outage. No more worrying about flooding my family room. I followed the step by step instructions and had no problems setting the filter up. My water chemistry is perfect, no ammonia or nitrite. My fish look great and my corals are doing fantastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not bad!

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
I have a salt water set up and this filter so far is great!
PRO: Easy to set up and easy to follow instructions( just make sure metal clamps are very secure or it will drip water a little) Cleans great, has a built in protein skimmer which is doing a great job! Over all health of my tank is pretty darn good ever since i got this.
CON: Not alot of water flow out of the filter it seems, so i have another small filter and a power head in my tank to compensate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hawkeye Rapids Pro RP3 Wet Dry Aquarium Filter System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Good

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
A pain to set up. Poor instructions. If aquariam gets too full the filter overflows on the floor. A canister model would be better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-19points
3of 25voted this as helpful.