petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump

Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump

Replacement pump fits all Fresh Flow fountainsIncludes pump & AC adapter
Average Customer Rating:
3.438 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Review 1 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Surprised

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I owned pet mate Fresh Flow Deluxe pet fountain for about 1.5 years before pump finally died. A few things i liked about that fountain: first my cats really like drinking out of it, but the second and most i like that pump was super quiet. I got this replacement pump and after installing it to the fountain was very surprised that it's not quiet like my original pump was. It actually make pretty lot of nose. I can even hear it 2 rooms away. I even wrote Pet mate the manufacturer of that pump, but didn't get any reply from them as of why it changed so drastically in 1.5 years from super quiet to very noisy pump. So at this point I'm not sure if i'd want to leave with this kind of noise or maybe it would be time to look for some other brand of drinking fountain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits purrrfectally

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ST LOUIS
The pump on our cat's water fountain quit and this was the exact replacement. Quick delivery, good price. Our purr boys were pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Replacement Pump.... Over flows onto floor.

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
The original pump that came with my fountain lasted 10+ years. It had a flow valve that regulated how much water was pumped into the filter chamber and down the ramp.
The replacement pump does not have this flow valve. One speed -high- is all you get. The water now flows up the tube and spills over into the filter chamber but also up and over the edge of the fountain, seeps down the side and creates a HUGE puddle of water all over my floor, under and around my fountain. If I pull the filter, this still happens but at a slower rate. I've used my dremmel to create more overflow ports near the top so the water doesn't make it to the top edge to no avail. Still overflowing onto the floor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the one I needed

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boynton Beach Fl
My water fountain had stopped working. I had nothing to lose so I ordered a replacement pump. System is working like brand new!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

6 months lifespan

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Like in the previous review, the first pump that came with the water bowl burned out after 6 months of continuous use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After 7 years, I need a new motor

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I've had really good luck with the the orignal motor. Lasted 10 years or more, but it took me about a year to figure out that if you don't take the motor apart and clean it out with a small brush and even a pipe cleaner to get down in the hole where the blade goes, that the motor will not last. There are 4 parts to the motor when it's taken apart so make sure you get it completely broken apart or else you won't get to the most important part of cleaning and that's to take the twirling blade out of the hole - it's magnetic so requires a little pulling. Get a small brush or pipe cleaner and clean inside the hole. That is where you will find a lot of mucus and hair that will stop the motor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is my second in 6 months.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I like the Fresh Flow watering fountain. My cats love the fountain also. Im a little concerned that this is my second Pump in 6 months. And yes I clean the fountain and the pump every month and change the filter every 2 weeks. Already this one is starting to make noises not the quietest product. It is needed with the fountain so what can you do but buy it? I rate it average...pump is noisy. Maybe they should put a stronger pump with the fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An exact replacement

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
The pump fits the Fresh Flow perfectly. I am happy to have the fountain working again (and so are our two cats.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
This pump works great and lasts a very long time. The only reason I had to replace it was because I lost the AC adapter when I moved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pump for Petco Ceramic Fountain

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CA
I like the ceramic cat fountain, but after a year the pump died. The available replacement pump can be made to work, but it doesn't fit in the filter case that the original pump sat in. I haven't been using filters so I just shimmed up the new pump without the case for it. If you do use filters the replacement pump won't work for you. And it is a bit of a hassle to line it up without the case every time I clean the fountain, which I do often.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fountain Pump

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Warwick, RI
good price bought two
One for me in case the one I have dies and one for my daughter the pump for her fountain did stop working
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still going strong after 7 years!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Torrance, CA
I have had this same pump that came with the Petmate water fountain at least 7 yrs. Maybe more. I take it apart every time I clean the water fountain. Which is about 1-2 times per month. It is always clogged up with cat hair, food, dust from the floor, etc. Very easy to do.
I know this sounds like I have a lot of time on my hands but really...this all takes about 15 minutes to do. Steps I take .
1. pop off the plastic end screen part where the white turn thing is.
2. pop off the black round thing inside.
3. remove the white magnet thing with the 3 white prongs on it. Clean all the pieces. Put all back together, plop it in the sink of soapy water, plug it in, and run the soapy water through it. and then run clear rinse water through it..like in a glass or something.
Fill the clean water fountain with water. Then plug in the pump. Be sure to always start the pump with the white turn thing to the left. slowest speed. then later you can adjust it faster. That's it!
My 3 cats cannot live without this water fountain! Oh! and I change the filter once a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

water pump for petmate 360

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from columbia
works good, like the new screen removal feature.
no instruction covered the 360, so had some initial problems in attaching plumbing. the cats, Buddy, Junior, and Ms Kitty really like the petmate 360.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fresh Flow fountain

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brandon ,Fl
I am waiting for an answer from the company but I don't recommend this product . The pump doesn't last long I am on the 3rd pump it stops working because it sits in the water but so do all the other products similar. I am very disappointed because my vet recommended it for my cat she needs to drink flowing water but when the pump stop working it doesnt aerate and my cats won't drink the water till I get a new one and it starts to work properly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Replacement Pump

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Orange Park, FL
Not as happy with it as the original one that came with my unit with a flow control. This one has no flow control. My old one the electrical cord just fell out of the pump.The wires were rusted through? With the new one, the electrical part that goes into the outlet has an odd smell like burning plastic....probably toxic. The pump doesn't allow for the water to flow into the resevoir because the pump is blocking the flow and then it makes noises when the water gets low around the pump!
I want to return it!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Fresh Flow Replacement Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pump works.

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, SC
We must have an older model of the Petmate Fresh Flow water bowl, as the pump no longer had the flow control. I had to use the small black adapter from the old pump to have it fit the top cover with the filter. Otherwise the pump works fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.