petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo

Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo

Natural flea & tick solutionProvides soothing relief caused by itchingDeep cleaningCleans the dirtiest dogs while creating a healthy, shiny coatSafe for both puppies & adult dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Review 1 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No fleas and not iching.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Boxer165lb
from Long Beach, CA
I washed both my dogs with Petco's Natural Flea and Tick Dog Shampoo. First thing I noticed was the scent. It's a really nice scent and the dogs not only get clean from it, they smell fantastic. Not flowery or perfumy. It's not only kept the fleas away, but it stopped their itching as well. Looking forward to the next bath.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Exerience

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
JimmyW
I was the unlucky one, my dog had a severe allergic reaction to the shampoo. She had red, weeping sores and she was crying in pain.
I thought going all natural would be a safer bet then the other shampoos, not so. I have a $150 vet bill to prove it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle product!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
hworthington
from Statesboro, GA
Seriously cannot say enough good things about this shampoo. My lab has been having issues with fleas, thanks to a roommate who doesn't believe in flea medicine. She's been on flea meds, but it hasn't been enough. I bought this on a whim for a decent price and it was worth EVERY PENNY. I put it on her and let it sit for 7 minutes, per directions from the bottle. Within 3 minutes, there were blood spots all over her. I panicked, thinking she was allergic. Turns out the fleas were dying! Every single blood spot, I picked a DEAD flea off. After the 7 minutes were up, I rinsed her and more fleas came off. Took her outside to get the remaining fleas around her tail and each flea was dead. AND my lab smells AWESOME. It's mostly oils, like cinnamon and lemongrass, so she doesn't smell like a chemical plant, AND she is flea free. Go buy this for your dog, you won't regret it.
My only advice would be to make sure that you do let it sit the full time (make sure its worked thoroughly into the fur) and rinse really well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
roamma
This shampoo leaves both my dogs soft, and best of all, smelling like cloves. The smell is so much better than any other shampoo I've ever used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
TankieThePitBull
from Texas
This is the most effective shampoo for fleas I have ever used. It kills every single one of them! It also has a spicy, ginger smell and leaves my dog smelling like cookies! Great lather and washes off completely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chelseadog
from Wilmington, DE
Having asthma it is important to me how my dogs smell. We were in the store sniffing dog shampoos and found Petco's own brand of flea & tick shampoo. It is not at all strong or flowery smelling. We Love it! We even took it with us when having the dogs bathed at the vet's office. In walking up to the entrance door of the office, a customer came out telling me how Wonderful the office smelled. Approaching the reception area, 2 couples and 3 staff were talking also about how wonderful it smelled. The reason: Petco flea & tick dog shampoo, the lemongrass leaves a nice gentle clean smell that is very attractive to the nose. I let the office have my bottle so they could order the same shampoo. GREAT Product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for me

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvdogz82
I have a 1 1/2 yr old Bishon Frise (hair cut low). I noticed that he had a few fleas on him and a trip to the vet was no option. I looked into frontline plus but that was just as much as the trip to the vet. Thanx to the reviewers on this site, I decided to try this product and I'm glad I did. I didn't have time to get a spray bottle as another customer suggeted. But since I have more time than money, I followed the directions as stated. During the 7 min its suppose to sit, I kind of massaged his coat wth the shampoo. I could see the fleas trying to flee but eventually died. I then took a fine tooth dog comb and combed thru hair. That helped remove the fleas. I did two applications of this. When done I could still see the dead fleas stuck to him. So again I used the fine tooth comb to remove the rest. I didn't see any once he was dry, but I will keep a close eye on him. Petco advised me to bathe him maybe twice a week for a better result. Sorry my post is so long, but I hope it works for you reading this.
Good Luck
Oh and I had a separate bowl of water on the side to shake the comb off in, instead of running water or sitting him in a undrained water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
kitten125
from CA
This shampoo is gentle yet effective. It has a ginger-y smell to it. As soon as I used it on my shi tzu her ticks went crawling away literally. It worked without having that chemical smell. My dog's skin was not affected my the medication.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Natural flea and tick shampoo

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Galligal5
This product works great! Smells nice too.Be sure to follow directions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does work upon contact

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
logicalrealism
from Encinitas, CA
A trick (from the store groomer) so that you use less product but just as effective is to pour small amount shampoo into an industrial spray bottle (found at home improvement stores) then add warm water then spray/squirt on the dog. I find this spray bottle method more effective because I can spray her quicker with the shampoo diluted. Brush it into the coat let it settle in for the 7 minutes and rinse as directed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Natural Flea & Tick Dog Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff works

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chrisrsd
from San Diego
This is the best flea shampoo I have used. Frontline and Advantage don't seem as effective as before and the harsh chemicals started burning my dogs skin and coat. I wash my dogs once a week with this stuff and you can see the fleas falling into the tub, plus the ingredients are ALL natural ingredients.
We were not expecting it to be so effective. Thank you PETCO for making a natural product that works better than the conventional ones on the market!!!
Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.