petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension

Dog safety belt extension allows your pet more flexibility during car ridesKeeps your dog safely and comfortably secured in your carMade with durable nylon webbing with heavy duty hardwareCan also be used as a short traffic lead or leash extensionDog seat belt extension compatible with harnesses, especially the Premium Seat Belt Harness system (sold separately)
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Review 1 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy but short

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Montana
This seat belt attachment is strong and easy to use, but it is only 12 inches long, which is pretty short if the dog wants to move around enough to stand, lie down and reach the driver at all (when hooked on the middle seat belt). We're using two leads for two Yorkies, and they're pretty confined. I'm hoping to add one more lead that both can connect to so they have a bit more wiggle room. Another option is to loosen the seat belt a bit so they have more room to move. We're still working on how best to make this work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this keeps the dog in place and safe

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pa
Loved this seat belt clip. Pup always sat on lap while driving but safety was a factor. Now he sits in the back and the whole picture now is safe and he loves going in the car
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely a convenient addition

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
I already had a car harness with a seatbelt loop, so I'd put off buying this for quite a while, but I'm glad that I finally did - the fact that it's always in place and easily clips on and off makes getting in and out of the car a breeze, and it gives her quite a bit more room to roam in the back so she's less anxious about riding in the car, but still safe. For the price, this is a no-brainer, especially if you do a lot of city driving and want to keep your dog safely secured.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
Good length for my small dog. It doesn't allow him to go anywhere in the car except the seat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Effective but confusing

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Griffin, GA
Gives even small dogs a little more room. Box lacked directions and unless I find a secret release...it does not go over just the shoulder harness belt. It has to go over the lap and shoulder, taking away some of the expected flexibility.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not "SAFE" as in Car Accidents

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Acworth, GA
If you have a large dog (like mine - 100 lbs) and the relatively "dainty" clip that connects the dog's harness to the vehicle's seat belt is the only thing keeping your beloved pet from going hurling through the passenger compartment at whatever speed you WERE going, I would start praying.
On the other hand, if you just want to keep Fifi from wandering around, this product will do that. It all depends on what you are trying to accomplish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orrtanna PA
Great item used with a harness to keep dog saf
I would recommend this item. Good quality and value for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpful when you have 2 pups

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Westhampton, New York
I have 2 Frenchies and this product certainly helpled contain them and keep them safe in my backseat while I was driving. .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what we needed

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sahuarita AZ
This Keeps our doggie put on the seat while traveling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Dog Seat Belt Extension
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Quality

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Bernardino, CA
I've had this Belt Extension for about a year now. I have a harness attached to it as a restraint for my dog on car rides. I simply put the loop around one of the post of the car's head restraint. It is the perfect length to give my pooch a little freedom and yet keep her restrained in case of trouble. I have even removed it and used it as a leash a few times. The quality is excellent! My dog is not big, but this belt is of quality to easily restrain the biggest of dogs. I recommend it with no reservations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+56points
56of 56voted this as helpful.