petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness

Protects dogs, drivers and passengers while on the roadBroad padded chest plate for extra protection and comfortSuperior construction for added safetyDual strap loops to accommodate different torso lengths
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Review 1 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

useless product

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
dogluver3
from cleveland, oh
i have 2 little dogs and they both wiggled their way out of these harnesses with little problem. we were on a long car trip and they were absolutely useless. i am returning them to the store immediately.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

safety first

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
LHdoxiediva
from FL
I have only recently begun using seatbelts while transporting my doxies. What a huge difference it makes in terms of safety! If in a kennel and the vehicle is hit, the dogs will still get banged around and thrown around. The seatbelt locks up just like it would for a human. This premium one is easy on and off and has a comfortable, padded breast plate for the dog. I prefer this premuim one to the regular petco brand, notwithstanding that it is almost twice the cost. one of my dogs was able to pull out of the regular petco brand but not the premium one. The dogs do not seem to mind being seatbelted in after they get used to it for a little while.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danechumi
from Raleigh, NC
It fits ok on my dog but a harness that locks to the car seat belt like this one is not the best way to carry your dog at all. My dog moves so much that the harness practically turns the other way around his back and he chewed on my seat belt because he hated the harness. And the plastic hook doesn't seem that strong to use it with a leash.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great harness

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Conansmom
from Northern NJ
We had another harness that would slide off my puppys back to the side no matter how snug the straps were & my puppy started to not want to go in the car. We tried this one & it's great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great harness

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
zedthewizard
from vermont
i received a used one from my father after i picked a beagle mix off the street. i think it's great and gives better control than a collar. i walk her with a fifteen foot lead around town with no problem. very adjustable. it has a front sturdy loop that i hook a ruffwear red safety light. sturdy, durable, and would replace if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safety Harness

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
DebnAki
from McKinney, TX
I have a convertible, and, with this harness, Aki can ride with me with the top down. He's a large Shiba, and the medium harness "just" fit.....
Works great, but recommend you get the extension strap as well. Otherwise, it's too confining.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

harness for car

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
rldlp
from Bensalem, PA
It fit perfectly. It's sturdy and will serve the purpose of safety in the car.
Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping our boy safe!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyKidsinCT
from Willimantic, CT
Just went on a 5 hour car trip with our French Bulldog and we were thrilled with his new seat belt restraint. He was confortable in his harness and adjusted very quickly to his new traveling conditions. I debated between the small and medium size since both fit him, but ended up going with the small which was perfect. We both felt so much better having him safe in case something went wrong while traveling. It was so easy to attach his harness (we used the extender tab) to the seatbelt and then unhook him when we stopped for a break. I just attached his leash to the back loop and off we went.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not For A Anxious Or Hyper Dog...

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lkelley5708
from Pittsburgh PA
My dog is very anxious and basically all over the place in the car. I am working on this with her. In the mean time I wanted to get her a product (such as this) to help her stay in one place. She literally is a twisted ball of mess. It fits her perfectly fine, it's on correctly, and so on. The part that you put the seatbelt through is very small so she is anchored down basically to the point where she can not sit or lie down COMFORTABLY. I have tried different sizes and even had a professional fit it but this harness is going, I am so sick of it. It is literally weighing down on my dog so much that she starts to panic. I will find something more simple and not so difficult to use. This is annoying.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caitlin131
from PA
My shiba inu is very clingy in the car, he loves to move over to my side and distract my driving. I got him this harness and now he sits on the passenger seat or in the back happily and when I stop or turn it cushions him instead of having him fly all over the car. I feel much safer with this. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good safety harness

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
LicensedVetTech
from Michigan
My dog & I were recently involved in our first car accident, and I never, ever again want to see my beloved creature squished against the dashboard. The harness seems to fit my Doberman fairly well, even though she has a very long, deep chest. The clips and attachments appear to be made out of very durable material, and you don't have to force an unwilling pet to step into it- the harness slips over their head. However, contrary to the label, I do not think there is any way an average Dane or Newfie would fit into this harness. My trim 65lb Dobe has the straps adjusted all the way out. Overall a good product, and a necessity for safe travel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for my dog!

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
HerRoyalWooness
from Southeast GA
My husband and I purchased this harness for our miniature schnauzer puppy because we wanted her to learn from a young age that she sits in the back seat with a harness.
She had been good with it for a while, but lately, she had started trying to get out of the harness while in the car. When I took her to the vet this morning and took off her harness, I noticed that she had half-chewed through it. There had been no shredding when I put it on her before going to the vet. Now, maybe it's because she's teething, but I've learned that this harness is *not* ripstop nylon, considering the ride to the vet is only 10 minutes long!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good purchase

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
beardies
I bought 2 for my beadies. They are very easy to put on, with good quality material. It's a great purchase especaitlly when you can use it as an auto safety belt and as a leash! I am very happy with my purchase. My 49 lb female bearded collie fit into a medium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great purchase

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
bailsmom698
from Dingmans Ferry, PA
Bought this for our rambunctious lab/pit mix. Keeps him safe and contained and out of trouble in the car. Most importantly I don't have to worry about him being ejected in an accident. I do not use the harness with only a seat belt however. It keeps him locked up too tight and almost unable to move. We attach him with a short leash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
PalmettoGirl
from Turbeville, SC
I have two laborador retrievers that are 6 months old and about 60 lbs each. I purchased the large harnesses for the purpose of a seat belt/restraint in the car. These fit great, however there is not a lot of room left for growing. I think it would be great to include, or at least suggest, a short leash of about 9 - 12 inches to use with these harnesses to attach to the seat belt or head rest. I used regular 6 foot leashes and tied knots to the back seat head rests. The harnesses worked great for this purpose. The pups were comfortable and secure in the back seat. Just wish there was a better solution for attaching the harness to the seat, instead of tying a knot with a leash to the seat belt or head rest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.