petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System

Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System

Aquarium light fixture powered by energy efficient LED lightsSlim and stylized lighting profileInnovative aquarium LED light bar mimics underwater effect of sunlight and moonlightDoesn't require any bulb replacementPolycarbonate lens specially designed to focus and protect LED lights
Average Customer Rating:
3.823 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
25 out of 34(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Review 1 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good lighting so far

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
BretM
from Ft Myers Fla
Have had a Marineland light for a year on my 55g Cichlid tank and have had NO issues with it what so ever. It looks beautiful during the day and night. Would consider upgrading for my other tanks but $$$ Is ALWAYS an issue. EVENTUALLY it will happen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for corals

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
catdaddy1
from fairview, texas
not strong enough for coral. 6500K but you need 10000K for coral.
also shorted out quickly and cant be repaired.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful lighting system!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
sligocait
from Northwest NJ
This product is great. It looks wonderful on the aquarium, and it does what it says it will do. When on the "daylight" setting, it provides plenty of light while it reflects the shadows of the fish swimming and the bubbles from the bubble wand to simulate actual sunlight filtering into a shallow reef or lake. The "moonlight" setting gives the illusion of moonlight filtering through the water while giving the fish the period of dim light that they require once a day. I love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Light

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rydog29
from Kailua-kona, Hawaii
Ive had this light for 6 months now and it works perfectlly.This light is awesome.It makes my tank look 10x than is did with the flouresent light.It doesnt produce alot of heat so that means no algae! It provides great light and I love the night light ,Great value for the proudct
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improved LED Lights

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bluegeckoyoga
from Austin, TX
This is the second set of Marineland Double Bright Lights that I have bought. The design of the lights has changed in the past year. Now there are fewer but larger individual lights instead of many small ones. The light quality is better, and it is brighter than before. I don't use the moonlight night setting, however, because it keeps some of my fish awake when normally they would be sleeping. LED lights are a good option compared with florescent bulbs, which can contaminate the environment with mercury.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
40GallonTank
from Iowa
I purchased the light in September and ever sense than it has been working great!
There are 2 options for the lighting, one is white light for day time lighting and another option is blue lighting for night time lighting. There are only a few LEDs that turn on for the blue light which gives the tank a great look at night.
Over all I have not had any problems with it, has legs that extend out a few inches on both sides to easily adjust to the tank.
Great light!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dick999
from Annandale, VA
All the good things others are saying are true. It's like having your own private sunshine. Best money I ever spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LED's create beautiful lighting

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fish2much
from Lee's Summit, MO
"Bright Light" is what this system produces. The white side is too bright for my marine fish, they hide all day. The blue side is too dim to see the fish. Wish there was a higher ratio of blues to whites LED's. It is a high quality fixture. I opted to return and get the next higher priced system with more power and timer options. It is FANTASTIC.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LED Lighting for low costs

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
FastWalker
from Warrenville, Il
Nice light for a Fish Tank. Lacks umph needed for a Coral Reef Tank. You need a few more to provide enough light for a reef. No seperate control for blue light so you need a seperate blue light for your tank to have night and day setup.
1/10 the cost to run compared to anything else plus no chiller needed cause the LED runs cool.
Want to save cash switch to LED and sell your other lights!
A built in timer is nice but not for a hundred bucks more come on Marineland really a hundred dollars more?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great - very bright!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
fitz
from ohio
I put this on a 46 gallon bow front. Looks fantastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Marineland LED Double Bright Light

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bigred24681
from new york
Super thin and low power love it. not a fan of one switch for both blue and white light takes away ability for timer unless you don't want blue lights on during the night. Brings a good shimmer to the water looks more real. would recommend something more powerful for corals and anemones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a Great light

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
grammy7
from Cleveland,Ohio
I've only had the light a little over a week but I really like the way it brightens up the tank.(i have a 29 gallon)I won't go back to using a regular light again.I'm thinking about starting a second tank and would definitely buy another LED double bright.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light system...

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joe972
from Dallas Texas
I ordered this light system for my 46 gallon bow-front aquarium. It looks really nice and plenty bright for my plants and fish and the lunar mode is really cool. I highly recommend Marineland products with Petco prices...you can't go wrong.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
RkyMtnLady
from Loveland, CO
We replaced the cheaper hood light that came
with the SeaClear 36 Gallon fish tank.
This is superior to what came with it.
Would recommend this anytime.
Glad we purchased it and got rid of the
cheaper one that came with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lighting is great

PostedJune 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
happyfish36
from Cary, NC
I am so happy with this product; I used it to retrofit and replace a fluorescent fixture which I didn't even use yet. I have the 24"-36" size and it is perfect for my new SeaClear 36g bowfront aquarium. It offers perfect illumination for both day and night viewing. I only just got it, so we'll see if it lasts for the 17,000 hours it claims.
I do supplement with Marina submersible red and green lighting to give even more dramatic effect and visual of the fish swimming during evening and early morning before the white lights turn on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful lighting.

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iggman
Very awesome lighting, adds a nice shadowing and shimmer effect, feels more natural, reminds me of zoo aquarium lighting. My Neons and Dwarf Ram Cichlids colors pop out more now. It's bright enough in my 16'' depth tank that its more or less the same brightness as a 21watt tube I had on the tank, but my nocturnal critters pop their head out more because of the shadows.
My biggest gripe with it however is the lack of rubber feet/grips on the actual fixture to prevent it from sliding around should you remove the feet, and for that matter it doesn't have rubber grips on the legs, so it slides around very easily, to easily IMO. (could be a plus if it covers your feeding holes, but for me its a con) Legs take a lot of force to adjust/remove.
As a couple ppl said, get the one that it's minimum is your tank length, so if you have a 36'' tank, get the 36''- 48'', NOT the 24''- 36'' or you'll have dark sides, unless your going for that look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LED Double Bright Lights

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aquena
from Cape Cod, MA
Price could not be beat, although I did purchase these on sale from PetCo. I purchased 2 set's for both sides of my 50 gallon tank. I highly recommend these lights, LED's stay cool to the touch, the blue-moonlight is great for evening viewing, and really lights up my Glo-fish and assorted Neon Tetra's. High quality metal case resistant to water, you can either use included adjustable stand or remove the stand and lay lights directly on glass or plastic/acrylic clear tank hood surface. I like the Marineland Brand and have had no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not exactly what was expected from the description

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
nicknameInsertHere
The fixture is sleek, produces very low heat and gives a nice shimmering effect. Now, that it fits tanks from 18 to 24 inches long is not quite true in my opinion. The actual lamp fits top of my 5.5 G tank, which is 16 inches long, from end to end with its legs over-hanging on the sides. Still the LEDs are well within the edges of the tank. 2-5/8 inches from the edge to be more accurate. I planned to use this on a 15 G planted tank (low light) but to me it seems that 24 inches is too much of a stretch for the lamp and that the sides of the tank will be too dark... I'll have to downgrade to a 10 G and see if the lamp works. Another thing that was a disappointment is the moonlights. They are wired to the same switch as the white LEDs so you can't control them separately with a timer and get that nice "night time" effect if wanted. Unless you are willing to do that manually... So to me they are a waste of extra money (for the buyer who pays for them in the end). In conclusion, to me is not a great product and perhaps not even a good product due to the price...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best lighting ever!

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
carebear1227
I love this product, looks so much better than the light that came with my tank. Makes my axolotls pop and is very nice to have the black light switch too, it makes my glowing axolotls glow! Would be great for Glo-fish! Worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland LED Double Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Depends on your need

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fishguy112233
I was really disapointed when I found out that the light itself doesn't stretch to each side of my 4 foot tank, only the legs do. Also, it produces a pretty shimmering light. If you plan to do a reef tank don't even think about this light. Not even close to being powerful enough for corals.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>