petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel

CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel

Fine grade gravelContains living, water-purifying bacteriaHelps detoxify metals, eliminate ammonia and neutralize chlorineMakes for an effortless aquarium set-upMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Review 1 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Easiest product I've ever used. No rinsing, no having to add anything else but water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gorgeous

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I set up (2) new aquariums for bettas. This gravel/sand is so beautifully dark that it makes their colors and the live plants pop!
Because it is so dense it keeps uneaten food on the surface which makes cleaning easier.
For a day or two after installation I had some cloudiness / maybe that was it cycling, however the water is not crystal clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It actually works!!!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Simsbury, CT
It was very hesitant to buy this product not thinking that it would work. It easily went into the tank without a problem. I placed my plant abd decor, filled tank with water and added one of my starter fish to be safe three days later all of the levels were still perfect and in less than a week my tank is fully stocked and my fish are very happy. I have a 30 gallon seaclear show aquarium with a land bio wheel Pro 280 series filter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just add and ......

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
This came in and all you have to do is add it to your tank, no rinsing required. It comes with conditioner and clarity packs. Tank was crystal clear the following morning. Mixed it with Petco white sand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why the fuss?

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Moline, IL
I will admit I bought this product with not a lot of hope that it would be fun to do and easy. I would say it took me about three minutes to clean the sand. (No Joke). It had little to no coloration in the waste water and very little sand escaped from the bucket. This surprised me because of all the comments saying how black and oily the sand came out of the bag...anyway it heated up quick and as soon as I put my fish in the tank (after it was cleared up and the sand set) they were in heaven. I have never seen them dart and dance like that before. I really enjoy the way it looks and would/have told all my friends about it. =]
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant Sand

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from WI
This line of product is the sand as their Super Natural Brand sand.
I have use both including this brand.
Both are the same but this package just make it so easier to work with. The fact that you don't have to rinse the grave/sand is not a harssess anymore.
Put it into the tank and conditioner and run your filters and you are in business.
I would not say this is fine sand but more of a coarse gravel like sand with different shape and size to keep gas from building up in the substrate.
I always like black substrate so this was a really good buy for me to buy from petco.com cause you can't beat the price on it!! Plus free shipping!!
The only bad thing is that you will get black dust and some residue from the product. Net out the floating particule so it don;t ruin your filter
Wipe off the black dust off the side of your tank once water clear up.
I have attach some photo to show off my tank....it is a planted tank.
I have the sand in there for a month now and it's working fine with my corys and bottom fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More like sand

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from wa state
Nice substrate. But it is more like sand, I combined this with some larger gravel and it looks great. Also be aware that it comes in fluid not dry, I made quite a mess when I tried to pour it. Comes with dechlorinator and live bacteria. I already had an established tank and am using spring water so I can't verify that but it didn't kill my Beta so all is good. Pretty stuff, nice for planting plants
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tennessee
This looks very elegant and beautiful and is easy enough to vacuum. I have live plants and it really highlights any sort of color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

INSTANT AQUARIUM

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
I'M REALLY LOVING IT. AND MY FISH ARE LOVING IT TOO. NO IT DOES NOT MAKE THE WATER CLOUDY.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CaribSea Instant Aquarium Tahitian Moon Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
This product is wonderful. I did not rinse it first and it does not make my tank cloudy. The black sand is beautiful. The food does not sink into the sand unlike gravel. I totally recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.