petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

Folds quickly & easilyTexturized surface provides traction & sure footingCarries like a briefcaseHolds up to 200 lbs.Provides easy access to SUVs, trucks and other high areas
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Review 1 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ramp for my arthritic dog

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington State
It works great. My AB has arthritis in his back leg and I have to lift him in the car every time we go for a ride or walk. He weighs over 100lbs and it was killing my back. So I finally ordered a ramp and he was hesitant at first, but we just guided him by his collar and I gave him a little push in the behind and up he went. The surface scratches easy, but I guess they need something for traction and it works great. Light weight enough to fold easily and put in my suv. Even my little mini dachsund uses it now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mchenry, IL
Nice pet ramps, lite weight and easy to fold up. Only one negative is that when I put a set on my back deck stairs they bowed a bit from the sun and heat on them but still worked fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good solution

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Works well on the rear of my Tahoe. A little bulkier than I had hoped, but seems sturdy and rugged. Easy to fold and store. It took a little work to get my 65 pound dog to trust it, but now he is fine. I am satisfied
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gear Travel LIte Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, Il.
Being 10 years old and just having surgery, I thought it a good idea to get a pet ramp. I needed something that I would be able to carry and deploy and this fit the bill. It's light weight, easy to maneuver, and attaches perfectly with the adjustable strap. It took about an hour total to teach my Dobe to go up and down it. The only problem is the width. His back legs slip off the side because he walks with a wider approach, and nails dig into the "sandpaper" rough covering on the ramp to gain grip. The ramp should come in two widths, one being 20 inches to accommodate larger breeds. Also, the length is such that depending on the vehicle height, it can be steep(30-35 degrees). Now that he is healed, he prefers to jump into the SUV, but down the road, the ramp will come in handy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arvada, CO
Dogs both loves this ramp. It was easy for them to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good ramp

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bend, Oregon
Got our ramp pretty quickly, and was on time. When we first got it I wasn't sure if it was going to hold our St. Bernard/ Great Pyrenees mix. It was just plastic but it did say up to 200 lbs. she is only 7.5 months old pushing 100lbs. But to our surprise, she took to it quickly and it didn't even bow! We use it currently on my ford freestyle, and no problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Ramp

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Received this yesterday and was very pleased with the sturdiness, construction, portability and weight of the ramp. Our puppy, though not a large breed (a dachshund) took to it immediately. The material used for the animals to walk on is similar to the anti-slip material used on concrete or wood steps at businesses and gives excellent traction. However, if the ramp is set at a steep angle it could cause some abrasion to their paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
I was hesitant because of some of the reviews, but I have used the ramp on several trips now and it works fine. I have an English Mastiff and at 150 pnds, I was concerned about the size and quality of this ramp, it does flex a little when he is on it, but I trust it. He was and still is very hesitant about going up and down it, but I put the ramp flat on the ground and made him walk over it several time until he was comfortable being on it, then I put it up to the back of my Jeep, which is very steep, and led him up with ramp, sort of like putting a horse in a trailer. The grip material on the ramp is like skateboard grip tape and I'm glad it's as grippy as it is, it's not going to hurt his feet going up and down it a few times a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy ramp

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rural Maryland
I bought this ramp for my 80 lb lab since she just had TPLO surgery to transport her for therapy and xrays. She was scared at first, but soon got the hang of it. There was no flexing in the middle as she walked up into SUV. The surface had a grit to it to keep her from sliding off. I like it a lot. Great for large dogs that can't jump. Heavy duty and folds easily too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK after modifications

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
I remember reading reviews for this and similar ramps that complained about the highly abrasive surface being damaging to dogs' paws and was skeptical. I couldn't imagine how it could really be that bad, but it's absolutely true -- just feeling the surface with my finger scraped my skin quite a bit, and the pressure put on a dog's pads when walking up or down is substantially greater. It also doesn't provide a secure feeling footing for the dog, which makes it harder to get them to use it. BUT -- I was able to find a piece of commercial-grade, low-pile carpeting at a remnant store, cut it to fit each of the three panels, and attached it directly to the ramp using rounded-top screws (no sharp surface on top). I positioned them in areas where the ramp was thicker so they wouldn't protrude through the bottom. This works like a charm! The surface has better traction than the original and is also soft and secure underfoot. My dog now walks comfortably on the ramp (she's 60 lbs). It is pretty narrow, and I can see how it might not be great for a much larger dog, but in my case it's perfect, and I like that it's not too terribly heavy or bulky. Also, the Petco store matched a much lower price from another online retailer, so I feel like I got a good deal overall. I'm giving it three stars because I would not use the product as is, but with modifications, it works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from pennsylvania
Tri fold ramp is easy to transport and unfold.
it has a sturdy frame and non-slip surface.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with Purchase

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Central Texas
I am thankful I bought this ramp for my medium sized American Eskimo who is almost 13 yrs old and has great difficulty in jumping up into my vehicle or jumping out. My senior dog is also difficult for me to pick up to put in vehicle or take out now as well as I am older and weaker and this ramp is a blessing. My dog did not like the ramp at first with going up or down but with practice and reward of treats, my dog can now go up and down ramp with the aide of a harness and a firm hold using slow pace. Thank you for your product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great ramp for the price

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, Md.
I have a 115 lb German Rottie, love the breed and my dog. As these are great family dogs and protectors, I want to make sure my large breed dog lasts long into her life. I bought this to help keep her from damaging herself, jumping in and out of my explorer. I like Petco and their products, and got free shipping on sale. You can't beat this. The ramp is a good deal, little shakey for my large dog but, quick up and quick down the ramp. The ramp is light and easy to fold. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a good deal on a ramp, cares about their dog!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tri Fold Dog Ramp

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Clearwater FL
Easy to carry Easy to set up Non skid great for a no slip walk up to truck
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Twin Cities, Minnesota
It's light weight, has good traction and my dog (who has a leg injury) finds it easy to use. Training her was no problem. After over a year, it's still in like new condition, so it holds up well. My dog is 60 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Durable

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Mtn. Ranch, CA
We bought this for our 13 year old 88 lbs. arithritic lab and in two months it is breaking down. It bounces and bends and this will soon completely break. He probably has only had roughly 25 walks on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY TO USE

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Fort Myers, FL
Purchased the Tri-Fold ramp and it was easy to train my 100lb Bloodhound to use it. Fits nicely behind my seat. Great ramp and at a good price!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

still working on it

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from tucson, az
although i can see that with lots of time and effort, this may work out, for my 65-pounder, this bounces when she puts any weight on it, and it's too narrow for real comfort. i'm hoping we'll be able to work her into feeling more comfortable with it, but if i had it to do again, i'd probably return it and get a sturdier one. it is lightweight enough for me to handle well, but that makes it a little flimsy for the dog's comfort.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yes

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
It is light and durable - still working on getting my 11 year old golden to goup it but he is just frightened and a bit shakey!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's ok

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Texas
It doesn't work well with a suv and the dogs (2)didn
't care for it unless we back up to a hill
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>