petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

Folds quickly & easilyTexturized surface provides traction & sure footingCarries like a briefcaseHolds up to 200 lbs.Provides easy access to SUVs, trucks and other high areas
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
24 out of 30(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Review 1 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pig Ramp

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Joshua, TX
We have 2 mini pigs. One is about 75lbs and the other is about 40lbs. We camp and have a large travel trailer. It is hard for them to go up the stairs so we bought this ramp. Training was easy and the ramp did its job well. The sandpaper slip guard didn't last long with the hooves so I would assume big dog nails would cratch it up too. Great price for what we needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not great for bulldogs

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from camarillo, ca
Even at that length bulldog has hard time going up. Antislip is sandpaper like a nail file...Carpet would have been better. After a single use it looks so bad can't return. Would not recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, NY
The ramp helps my 11 year old 167lb German Shepherd get into my Explorer but it doesn't seem to be very sturdy it bounces slightly as he walks up it and it claims to hold a 200lb dog. The traction on it helps him up the incline. No issues with him going up or down but he still tries to avoid it but with guidance no problems. My 11 year old 117lb Rottweiler wants nothing to do with it she straddles it and won't even put her paw on it but I'm sure with laying it down on the ground and walking her on it as others have suggested she will get used to it. I would recommend this ramp for any larger senior dog or dogs that are to heavy to be picked up that are having difficulty getting in and out of a vehicle. It is light weight and folds up nicely. I just hope it holds up and doesn't break from the weight other wise I will be contacting the company for a refund. I would also like to have it be a little bit wider maybe like another 4" but does the job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pet ramp

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from long beach,ca
Ramp is too narrow for my labrador to use. I have trained her through six obedience levels, so she is very well trained. However, she could not use such a narrow surface.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is as advertised

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from seattle wa
It is as advertised. I would have liked to see some kind of bag that you could slip the ramp in so that the sandpaper-like coating on the ramp doesn't damage my car and hands. It wouldn't cost much to provide it and would be a big help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suits its purpose

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Central Illinois
This product works great for me & Stanley, who is 65 lbs. Light weight enough for me since I have a physical disability. There is some flexibilty,with this ramp so I suggest starting the training on a flat surface and working your way up to the incline that will be used on a regular basis.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Ramp

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from OR
Is too bouncy, needs some type of support to the ground that is ajustable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpful but in need of one improvement

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from PA
The ramp was sturdy and easy to transport. It would have been perfect except for the surface which was slippery despite its seeming abrasive surface.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet ramp

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
The ramp is well constructed, but as noted before the sand paper finish just doesnt work...too slippery. I followed the recommendation previous and added pieces of a commercial carpet and it helps..Should use a deeper pile for dog to hold on to..He is an 80 lb boxer..will use it to exit vehicle but needs help to enter vehicle..BUT it works and he goes for rides...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ramp for my arthritic dog

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington State
It works great. My AB has arthritis in his back leg and I have to lift him in the car every time we go for a ride or walk. He weighs over 100lbs and it was killing my back. So I finally ordered a ramp and he was hesitant at first, but we just guided him by his collar and I gave him a little push in the behind and up he went. The surface scratches easy, but I guess they need something for traction and it works great. Light weight enough to fold easily and put in my suv. Even my little mini dachsund uses it now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mchenry, IL
Nice pet ramps, lite weight and easy to fold up. Only one negative is that when I put a set on my back deck stairs they bowed a bit from the sun and heat on them but still worked fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good solution

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Works well on the rear of my Tahoe. A little bulkier than I had hoped, but seems sturdy and rugged. Easy to fold and store. It took a little work to get my 65 pound dog to trust it, but now he is fine. I am satisfied
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gear Travel LIte Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, Il.
Being 10 years old and just having surgery, I thought it a good idea to get a pet ramp. I needed something that I would be able to carry and deploy and this fit the bill. It's light weight, easy to maneuver, and attaches perfectly with the adjustable strap. It took about an hour total to teach my Dobe to go up and down it. The only problem is the width. His back legs slip off the side because he walks with a wider approach, and nails dig into the "sandpaper" rough covering on the ramp to gain grip. The ramp should come in two widths, one being 20 inches to accommodate larger breeds. Also, the length is such that depending on the vehicle height, it can be steep(30-35 degrees). Now that he is healed, he prefers to jump into the SUV, but down the road, the ramp will come in handy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arvada, CO
Dogs both loves this ramp. It was easy for them to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good ramp

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bend, Oregon
Got our ramp pretty quickly, and was on time. When we first got it I wasn't sure if it was going to hold our St. Bernard/ Great Pyrenees mix. It was just plastic but it did say up to 200 lbs. she is only 7.5 months old pushing 100lbs. But to our surprise, she took to it quickly and it didn't even bow! We use it currently on my ford freestyle, and no problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Ramp

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Received this yesterday and was very pleased with the sturdiness, construction, portability and weight of the ramp. Our puppy, though not a large breed (a dachshund) took to it immediately. The material used for the animals to walk on is similar to the anti-slip material used on concrete or wood steps at businesses and gives excellent traction. However, if the ramp is set at a steep angle it could cause some abrasion to their paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
I was hesitant because of some of the reviews, but I have used the ramp on several trips now and it works fine. I have an English Mastiff and at 150 pnds, I was concerned about the size and quality of this ramp, it does flex a little when he is on it, but I trust it. He was and still is very hesitant about going up and down it, but I put the ramp flat on the ground and made him walk over it several time until he was comfortable being on it, then I put it up to the back of my Jeep, which is very steep, and led him up with ramp, sort of like putting a horse in a trailer. The grip material on the ramp is like skateboard grip tape and I'm glad it's as grippy as it is, it's not going to hurt his feet going up and down it a few times a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy ramp

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rural Maryland
I bought this ramp for my 80 lb lab since she just had TPLO surgery to transport her for therapy and xrays. She was scared at first, but soon got the hang of it. There was no flexing in the middle as she walked up into SUV. The surface had a grit to it to keep her from sliding off. I like it a lot. Great for large dogs that can't jump. Heavy duty and folds easily too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK after modifications

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
I remember reading reviews for this and similar ramps that complained about the highly abrasive surface being damaging to dogs' paws and was skeptical. I couldn't imagine how it could really be that bad, but it's absolutely true -- just feeling the surface with my finger scraped my skin quite a bit, and the pressure put on a dog's pads when walking up or down is substantially greater. It also doesn't provide a secure feeling footing for the dog, which makes it harder to get them to use it. BUT -- I was able to find a piece of commercial-grade, low-pile carpeting at a remnant store, cut it to fit each of the three panels, and attached it directly to the ramp using rounded-top screws (no sharp surface on top). I positioned them in areas where the ramp was thicker so they wouldn't protrude through the bottom. This works like a charm! The surface has better traction than the original and is also soft and secure underfoot. My dog now walks comfortably on the ramp (she's 60 lbs). It is pretty narrow, and I can see how it might not be great for a much larger dog, but in my case it's perfect, and I like that it's not too terribly heavy or bulky. Also, the Petco store matched a much lower price from another online retailer, so I feel like I got a good deal overall. I'm giving it three stars because I would not use the product as is, but with modifications, it works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
11of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pet Gear Travel Lite Tri-Fold Pet Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from pennsylvania
Tri fold ramp is easy to transport and unfold.
it has a sturdy frame and non-slip surface.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>