petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Pet Steps II

Petmate Pet Steps II

Decorative non-slip padded stepsStrong construction, no assembly required Height designed for most sofas and beds
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Pet Steps II
Review 1 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
PomPoms
from Denver CO
If you have a puppy or really small dog (i.e. Chihuahua) then these will work for you. I have Pomeranians and they refused to use them because the steps were too small. They are used to regular size steps.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as well as I expected

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
WDBJ
from Ridgefield WA
The 19" OAH on this is still not tall enough to reach our bed, but it is close enough that our dog can use it. I knew of this discrepancy before I ordered this item so it is not a negative.
This item is well-made. However, our eleven pound poodle is about as large a pet as I would recommend this for in our type of application. The staircase is a bit wobbly and certainly not wide enough for a much larger dog. I'd say 15# and under pets will be able to use this with no problem. Pets larger than 15# may be able to use it, but I would recommend a sturdier product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sportstergal
from Roswell, NM
I really like the quality. Its is sturdy but light. It works fantastic for my small dogs. Howerver my medium dog is scared of it, but its probably due to him being old and cant see the black very well. I have a very tall king size bed and it is tall enough to almost reach the top. In fact I accendently ordered two, and was going to return the second one but my neighbor liked it so well she bought it from me. Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the cost and for little dogs!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvChihuahuas
from Los Angeles
I have owned these steps over a ear now and do not understand why people would say negative things about them - especially at under $40. They are surely intended for LITTLE dogs. My dog is 8 pounds and she runs up them like lightening. Took maybe 3 minutes to teach her to use them. It's so nice for her to be able to sleep in bed when I'm at work. The only down side is that with wood floors they slide a litttle when she runs up. I put a little rug under and it stopped. My friend put rubber feet under hers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solution Fixed!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BassetLover19
from Fort Hood, TX
These stairs were the perfect solution to help both my basset hounds get on & off my bed. It is durable and lightweight! I would definitely recommend this product to other people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too narrow

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
PezMom
I needed a set of steps that were high enough for my bed. My Chihuahua uses another set of stairs so I knew she wouldn't mind these. i was wrong! They are very narrow and light weight both of which she hated. She refused to go near them. In the end, I returned them and bought a set like I already had so she would have a set when she daycared at my mother's.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Petmate Pet Steps II

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
sbrookie
from Union City, MI
Would be nicer if all the steps were the same width instead of getting narrower the higher they go.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty... But Not Very Sturdy

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melrose21
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought these steps because I really liked the look of them. And they are nice looking and not too big, but unfortunately, you don't get that much quality with them. They aren't very sturdy and every times my pups ran up them to get onto the bed they would move and/or fall over. Plus, they are very narrow... which makes it difficult for the pups to go down them. So all in all they might be good for temporary use... but I wouldn't recommend them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

petmate steps II

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
pat12345
while they are sturdy they are very narrow. the cats like them but both my little dogs are very hesitant to use them. our bed is high and we thought these would work. the other model I did not like the back support.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
13of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Pet Steps II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pet Steps

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chardy
Very Flimsy only good for very small dog
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.