petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Washable Dog Diapers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Washable Dog Diapers

Breathable, comfy outer cover with quilted inner padIdeal for females in heat, excitable urination, travel, incontinence or sick dogsSnug waistband and adjustable tabs for a secure fitInner flannel fabric keeps moisture away
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
11
36 out of 53(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Review 1 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Diapers work Great!!!!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ashley,Pa
We bought 4 of these and they work wonderful!!! They stay on they dog very well and don't fall off. We hand wash and air dry them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I use the small size on my male toy poodle. They work great with women's generic mini pads. They are a lot less expensive,
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work great

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Evansville
I ordered the Large for my 14 yr old Akita with incontinence. She's lost quite a bit of weight so I wasn't sure which size to order, but the large fits great. Easy to put on with the velcro and with a maxi pad, they work great and she doesn't mind wearing them at all. Tried ordering more, but they are out of the large and can't find them anywhere else. I would recommend these highly. Wish I'd ordered more when they had them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from winston oregon
My older poodle has started having some real issues. This diaper works great on her! We have to put a pad in but fits great in this diaper
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Salem OR
Using these dipes on my 14 yr old beagle-scottie mix. The Velcro tabs make it so easy to put on her. I use a generic maxipad with wings (regular length) in the diaper. When the diaper does get wet, I toss it in the washer and dryer. She doesn't seem to mind having it on. I bought medium size; she weights about 25 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adorable and fits well

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from sedalia mo
We use these when our 4 lb Chihuahua is in heat we put a Walmart panty liner for women in them so they don't have to be washed as often. They are quick to put on & off when we put her out to potty. Saves a lot of work washing everything she sits on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't fit quite right

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
I bought the diaper sized for my dog but it was too big. The size smaller was too small. If the velcro strips went all the way across the front, the bigger size would fit fine. I sewed a velcro strip as mentioned and the diapers work great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are a perfect fit!

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from McGregor MN
We have a 70 pound lab and had tried all kinds of disposable dog diapers, people diapers, Depends, etc ...and nothing ever stayed on the dog. We bought these, X-Large (in store), and they fit perfectly. This has saved so much frustration and aggravation. I am VERY happy with these and would recommend them in a heartbeat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product okay - size not good

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I have many little diapers for our Boston, who has a leaking problem. They are all size Medium and fit well. I ordered a medium in these and they are much too large. Had to return them. Sorry. They appear to be well made and I wish they would have worked out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great 'diaper'

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from california
I have an older dog that had surgery as a puppy so she is 'leaky' but as she gets older it is even worse! These denim looking diapers are not as embarrassing as some others I have seen. I do find she can soak thru these quickly so I am glad there are two in a pack plus I now am adding a women's maxi pad in it for maximum protection of my floors and rugs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

USABLE

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from GA
The diapers help, but do not hold up to true urinating accidents for mail dogs. Due to the placement of the tail hole, the front flap barely covers my dog and I even bought a larger size. I did open the tail area to allow for extra front coverage, so we now just have a little dripping leakage. I am also looking at trying to find some type of dog suspenders to help keep the diaper on and pulled up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The velcro closures lose their stickiness eventually. Poor quality

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, Or.
I use diapers on my cat. I use these as the diaper cover, and put a real baby diaper (with a hole cut into it) underneath these. I love the look of these diapers, the dark denim, but the truth is the Velcro is horrible. I'm super disappointed. They just stop sticking after a short while of using them. I have some other pet diapers with awesome, strong Velcro closures that have stayed strong for a long time. Those ones only come in pink and purple though, and my cat is a boy, so I had hoped these denim diapers would work out. From now on, I'm buying only those though.. p.s. also I had to return 3 pckgs of these petco diapers because--right out of the package-- they had loose, weak hemlines around the Velcro closures. Those closures need strong hemlines and strong Velcro because theres a lot of strain put on the garment when you pull open the velcro closures to take the diaper OFF.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You Can Do Better

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta GA
I don't recommend these doggie diapers. My dog seemed uncomfortable in them and he was constantly fighting to get them off. They aren't very absorbent, and the elastic seemed to bother him too. There are much better options out there.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the greatest doggie diaper

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from mora,minnesota
First of all the diaper did not fit according to the size guidelines given. I ordered two sizes - one according to the weight given and the second according to the waist measurement given. Neither one fit properly. As soon as she wagged her tail the diaper started slipping off. The diapers should be made to fit higher up on the waist and a larger hole for wagging tails! I had to use duct tape to keep it on. When I left for a while and came home I found the chewed diaper on the floor! Not the greatest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Pants

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I bought these in EVERY size since they were having a sale, I have been known to rescue and prefer to let dogs mature before even thinking about spay/neuter and could have need of any of the sizes, and especially considering how I recently found out that there are real dangers and bad side effects to spay/neuter..especially early spay/neuter- what they have been telling us for years turns out not to be true. I am prepping to do what is best for the dogs that I have control over.
Anyway- I have a couple pair from a long ways back, then another pair my parents gave me from inbetween then and now. I always use them on females so I can't say what they'd do for a male with housebreaking issues. The difference between them all is the fabric. Way back it was thin light colored denim, then it was a slightly heavier dark denim and these new ones is a dark denim which is a tad thinner and more smooth and somewhat glossy on the outside a bit...as if there is a nylon or plasticy quality built into the pants that wasn't there before. I preferred the heavier dark denim without the glossy quality but that is just me.
First off these are not made to be absorbent enough to catch full housebreaking accidents by themselves- no washable pants are...drops maybe...but not a full accident.
These are helpful as a barrier to breeding for a few minutes allowing the person who is supposed to be in charge and watching to interfere before anything happens. These should not be relied on to prevent pregnancy. What prevents pregnancy is very consistent and careful monitoring, separation of the sexes and supervision.
I use regular human feminine napkins in my pants for my dogs and yes while I use them for heats, there has been plenty of accidents in them too if the kids forget to take them off before allowing the dog outside. This is cheaper than the ones made specifically for dogs. ALOT cheaper and it works just as well if not better.
A whole fem napkin (or two side by side for really large pants does catch a full housebreaking accident but needs to be changed out then as they are then full and the pants do get damp sometimes so you may want to throw them in the immediate wash ( a bonus that the package has TWO pair of pants- one for wearing, one for washing).
These pants are easiest on dogs with tails...I have both dogs with and dogs without- but this seems to hold true no matter what brand pants you use. They will work on dogs without tails, there just isn't a tail to help keep them in place as well.
These pants would be good in protecting wounds, or surgical sites on the backend such as on the back near the tail and lower tummy. These are perfect for spay sites in females because where that area is the pants are fairly loose and the waistband clears that area by a good bit. I would easily use them for that purpose as well.
I used measurements in fitting my dogs for these and did not go by the sizes on the box and what I think they do or should mean, and all the other clothing type items I have for them as well...this is very important...go by the measurement guidelines ALWAYS on clothing type items. If your dog is mature and you don't expect alot of body change and your dog lies between two sizes on these pants...get the smaller one so the velcro fits really well. On dogs you expect to grow, go for the bigger size to allow for growth.
Overall I am pretty happy with these...the fabric could be a bit different but it's not bad as it is. They fit well, wash well and don't require alot of fuss themselves...so pretty happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not wet resistant/will not stay on

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland Or
you need to use pads for urine it soaks right thru. My boxer has nearly no tail and none of the sizes would stay on him. there is no give to the fabric. a little lycra if a few spots and they would work much better.
Very frustrating product :(
I ended up purchasing little girl spandex pants and using a diaper stayed on and the diaper soaked up all the urine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wooster, OH
I currently use these diapers on 1 of my senior greyhounds, a 62 pound female. They're great, hold up well in the wash and last for years! After trying several sizes, I ended up using the XL. That seems a bit odd, since greys are naturally slim, but this size fits the best. There's a large hole for the tail and I sew part of it up. Another little alteration I've made recently has been to sew a wider velcro clear across the top-side of the diapers. (It's just a personal preference). The outside of the diaper is a 'jeans-like' material and the inside is a thin flannel. I've never had a rip, tear, staining after washing or any problem with these materials. Through trial and error, I've learned that Tena pads work best inside the diapers. They wick away moisture and keep my greyhounds dry. . . No skin issues. I'm a very happy customer and just received my order of 4 more diapers. I hope my review will help others interested in this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small not small enough

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
The diapers are very good quality, however the small is still a little large for my 13 lb Boston Terrier. The diapers appear very comfortable though and she is not bothered by wearing one at all- she runs, jumps, plays, and snuggles the same as always.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, Ny
It works great.. I use it when she is on her menstrual cycle. In order to not wash it constantly I put a pad inside to absorb and apply a new one when needed.. works for people using for urination problems. Also if your Introducing your dog to this I suggest to put a cone on her for the first few days. Until she gets used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Diapers are a Success!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, TX
Fit well and easily over our pug. Contains his mess! Would highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>