petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Washable Dog Diapers

Petco Washable Dog Diapers

Breathable, comfy outer cover with quilted inner padIdeal for females in heat, excitable urination, travel, incontinence or sick dogsSnug waistband and adjustable tabs for a secure fitInner flannel fabric keeps moisture away
Average Customer Rating:
3.175 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
10
25 out of 40(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Review 1 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the greatest doggie diaper

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from mora,minnesota
First of all the diaper did not fit according to the size guidelines given. I ordered two sizes - one according to the weight given and the second according to the waist measurement given. Neither one fit properly. As soon as she wagged her tail the diaper started slipping off. The diapers should be made to fit higher up on the waist and a larger hole for wagging tails! I had to use duct tape to keep it on. When I left for a while and came home I found the chewed diaper on the floor! Not the greatest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Pants

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I bought these in EVERY size since they were having a sale, I have been known to rescue and prefer to let dogs mature before even thinking about spay/neuter and could have need of any of the sizes, and especially considering how I recently found out that there are real dangers and bad side effects to spay/neuter..especially early spay/neuter- what they have been telling us for years turns out not to be true. I am prepping to do what is best for the dogs that I have control over.
Anyway- I have a couple pair from a long ways back, then another pair my parents gave me from inbetween then and now. I always use them on females so I can't say what they'd do for a male with housebreaking issues. The difference between them all is the fabric. Way back it was thin light colored denim, then it was a slightly heavier dark denim and these new ones is a dark denim which is a tad thinner and more smooth and somewhat glossy on the outside a bit...as if there is a nylon or plasticy quality built into the pants that wasn't there before. I preferred the heavier dark denim without the glossy quality but that is just me.
First off these are not made to be absorbent enough to catch full housebreaking accidents by themselves- no washable pants are...drops maybe...but not a full accident.
These are helpful as a barrier to breeding for a few minutes allowing the person who is supposed to be in charge and watching to interfere before anything happens. These should not be relied on to prevent pregnancy. What prevents pregnancy is very consistent and careful monitoring, separation of the sexes and supervision.
I use regular human feminine napkins in my pants for my dogs and yes while I use them for heats, there has been plenty of accidents in them too if the kids forget to take them off before allowing the dog outside. This is cheaper than the ones made specifically for dogs. ALOT cheaper and it works just as well if not better.
A whole fem napkin (or two side by side for really large pants does catch a full housebreaking accident but needs to be changed out then as they are then full and the pants do get damp sometimes so you may want to throw them in the immediate wash ( a bonus that the package has TWO pair of pants- one for wearing, one for washing).
These pants are easiest on dogs with tails...I have both dogs with and dogs without- but this seems to hold true no matter what brand pants you use. They will work on dogs without tails, there just isn't a tail to help keep them in place as well.
These pants would be good in protecting wounds, or surgical sites on the backend such as on the back near the tail and lower tummy. These are perfect for spay sites in females because where that area is the pants are fairly loose and the waistband clears that area by a good bit. I would easily use them for that purpose as well.
I used measurements in fitting my dogs for these and did not go by the sizes on the box and what I think they do or should mean, and all the other clothing type items I have for them as well...this is very important...go by the measurement guidelines ALWAYS on clothing type items. If your dog is mature and you don't expect alot of body change and your dog lies between two sizes on these pants...get the smaller one so the velcro fits really well. On dogs you expect to grow, go for the bigger size to allow for growth.
Overall I am pretty happy with these...the fabric could be a bit different but it's not bad as it is. They fit well, wash well and don't require alot of fuss themselves...so pretty happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not wet resistant/will not stay on

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland Or
you need to use pads for urine it soaks right thru. My boxer has nearly no tail and none of the sizes would stay on him. there is no give to the fabric. a little lycra if a few spots and they would work much better.
Very frustrating product :(
I ended up purchasing little girl spandex pants and using a diaper stayed on and the diaper soaked up all the urine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wooster, OH
I currently use these diapers on 1 of my senior greyhounds, a 62 pound female. They're great, hold up well in the wash and last for years! After trying several sizes, I ended up using the XL. That seems a bit odd, since greys are naturally slim, but this size fits the best. There's a large hole for the tail and I sew part of it up. Another little alteration I've made recently has been to sew a wider velcro clear across the top-side of the diapers. (It's just a personal preference). The outside of the diaper is a 'jeans-like' material and the inside is a thin flannel. I've never had a rip, tear, staining after washing or any problem with these materials. Through trial and error, I've learned that Tena pads work best inside the diapers. They wick away moisture and keep my greyhounds dry. . . No skin issues. I'm a very happy customer and just received my order of 4 more diapers. I hope my review will help others interested in this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small not small enough

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
The diapers are very good quality, however the small is still a little large for my 13 lb Boston Terrier. The diapers appear very comfortable though and she is not bothered by wearing one at all- she runs, jumps, plays, and snuggles the same as always.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, Ny
It works great.. I use it when she is on her menstrual cycle. In order to not wash it constantly I put a pad inside to absorb and apply a new one when needed.. works for people using for urination problems. Also if your Introducing your dog to this I suggest to put a cone on her for the first few days. Until she gets used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Diapers are a Success!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, TX
Fit well and easily over our pug. Contains his mess! Would highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not absorbent enough

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
My dog has minor urinary incontinence. The diapers fit well on her but there needs to be a more absorbant pad inside diaper or something. I can't imagine how it would hold the urine if she was fully incontinent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of $$

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Leominster, MA
I have an English Bulldog puppy who is having a hard time holding her business over night. I utilize a diaper overnight in case she has an accident.
I have never brought this brand before and have always bought another brand. They did not have the size that we needed. We decided to give these a try.
The first issue we had was the sizes run too big. The next issue was that the velcro was cheap. after closing it twice the velcro did not stick. Money down the drain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS PRODUCT IS SO FAB!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Buford, Wyoming
OH MY GOSH! THIS PRODUCT WAS GREAT FOR WHEN MY LITTLE SHIH TZU, SHREKLE FRACK MING MING (lol my little seven year old daughter, Kesha, named her), WAS EXPERIENCING MOTHER NATURE'S WONDERFUL GIFT OF BEING A STRONG INDEPENDENT WOMAN!! I JUST CANNOT GET OVER HOW ABSOLUTELY STUPENDOUS THESE WERE! JUST UGHHHHH THEM DIAPERS WERE ALL LIKE,"I WOKE UP LIKE THIS!!! #FLAWLESS!!!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits well

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
This xsmall diaper fits my 4.5 pound chihuahua very well. She is still working on her overnight bladder, and this is a great help in keeping the bed dry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
This was for an incontinent dog with hip dysplasia and arthritic knees who was able to get them off during the night without removing the velcro. Not sure how he did it but he did, so the hassle of putting it on at night to discover it on the floor in the morning (with urine on the floor) is not what we bought this for. Not sure that I can return but I will and just leave it in the store (with a refund or not).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as good as others

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MI
First off do not expect these to be absorbent as is. I have never found a brand that is absorbent. As designed these will hold only a small dribble. I buy adult bladder pads to insert into all the diapers I own. I started with brand named pads which worked but I had to cut them as they were too long. One day I bought the store brand bladder pads in the comparable size and they were just enough shorter so I did not have to cut them. :-) Sometimes the diaper will still get damp, but dog diapers have been a sanity saver for me. I can't imagine living with a dog who is peeing all over the house. Dog diapers with a good adult bladder pad save the day!!
Now to these diapers. As others have pointed out, the velcro does not work well. I have had to buy new velcro and sew it on to make these work. I also did not like how tight the tail hole was. I noticed this at the store, so opened all the packages, and bought the diapers with the largest holes. They were still too small. The other brand that I prefer does not put elastic around the holes, but just a binding. However, that company seems to have discontinued the denim and for some reason only the denim ones in that brand fit my dog. That is why I tried these. With these diapers I had to remove the elastic around the tail hole and then sew around the hole so it wouldn't fray. As mentioned I also had to sew new velcro on these diapers. So as is, these are pretty useless. I don't understand how such inferior products get into production. Doesn't anyone test them out in a real life situation? If they had, these flaws would have been immediately noted.
This could be a great product with larger tail holes and a quality velcro. Quality velcro does exist, because we have no problems with our other diapers from another company.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would Return If I Could

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
I bought the washable diapers with the liners for my cavalier king charles spaniel mix to wear when I am at work. I had thought that it would be less expensive than buying the disposable diapers. Well, I came home today to find she had soaked through both the liner and diaper. They absorb NOTHING! I am going back to the disposables.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely Unreliable

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bozeman, MT
Okay, so i bought this diaper pack for my dog, and after the first time washing the diapers, the Velcro would not stay on. it un-snapped way too easily, and it wasn't even my dog trying to sneak out of it. So i give this product a very low rating. do not recommend buying it unless you want to just throw it away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

cant use because of design change

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sioux Falls sd
the velcro straps are smaller than they had been....therefore I cannot use these...hopefully I can find another style that works better because I have a dog that wears these everyday...pretty bummed out!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT COVERAGE & COLOR

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from COLLAR CTYILLINOIS
MY PUP IS A BOUVIER, WHEN SHE NEEDED PANTS, SHOPPED EVERYHWERE. GREAT PROTECTION & I LIKE THE DENIM BETTER THAN BRIGHT COLORS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Washable Dog Diapers

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chico, CA
These worked great! I do feel they run a tad small. Having said that the diapers worked well for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Washable Dog Diapers

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
I am disappointed I bought the med and washed them right away not realizing the Velcro does not go across the back only on the edge. First part of it came off and then it was too big for my dog and you can not tighten it. I had purchased similar product which had the Velcro across so you could tighten it. I then purchased the small size and still have to pin it to a sweater so they do not fall off. Should have sent back but already washed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Washable Dog Diapers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

velcro too short

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from nc
although I, in general, like these doggie diapers but... fastening them is difficult because the Velcro across the back should be longer. for my dog there is only about 1/2 inch or so of Velcro overlap on each side. because of that, the tabs sort of stick up and look like rabbit ears!
so, if I want them to fit my dog better, I have to reposition the base Velcro by removing stitching, cutting the existing Velcro and re-sewing the base further over on the back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>