petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food

Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food

Natural dog food formulated to minimize food sensitivities while maximizing nutritionDry dog food made with high-quality salmon, potatoes, rice and oatmealDoes not contain wheat, corn, soy, dairy or eggsLifeSource Bits contain a precise blend of vitamins, minerals and antioxidantsEasily digestible formula helps your dog thrive
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
32 out of 33(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only dog food I'll buy

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
citygirlcountrymom
from Banks, OR
Our labrador is allergic to so many foods! This product has a very limited list of ingredients and she can eat this without the usual digestive/intestinal problems and crazy-itchy skin problems that have plagued her in the past. No poultry, no dairy, no eggs. Also, unlike a few other brands that we tried, this one does NOT have a disgusting fishy smell that nearly knocks your head off when you open the food storage container- major points for everyone in the family who feeds the dog. I highly recommend this product for your dog that has massive food sensitivities.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tastes fantastic!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
BRUTUSMCSNOOTUS
from Aberdeen, NJ
It is my very favorite dog food!. the pieces are small and I don't mind and Gigi likes it too (and she doesn't like anything)
Mom was buying me 2 different types of dry food but since I obviously lke this one better she has stopped buying the other one.
And my skin has cleared up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a happy camper

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
itzmeagain
from Portland, Or
I foster and have dogs from 5lbs - 35lbs, some with allergies, so, when I found blue basics in salmon, I thought I'd hit the jackpot ... little did I know that this food comes with two sizes of kibble within the bag, and the smaller size lacks anything that sustains a healthy dog ... my 5lb dog lost .7lbs, almost 20% of her body weight before we narrowed it down to the fact that only the bigger kibble (that she can't eat) offer the nutrition that a dog needs to be healthy
Because I foster and have all sizes thru the house, I look for large bags with small kibbles, as toy dog foods do not come in larger sizes,
my larger dogs did do well on this grain free, salmon feed, their itching & allergies went away, but it is misleading to think that all the kibble in the dog food is the same, if your dog only eats one size of it, it should be just as good as the other size
package labeling, nor online research led me to believe that there was anything different between the kibbles in the bag ... be aware folks, don't trust that all is what it appears to be
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but Pricey

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
NovaDogLover
from LoCo NoVa
This is a great food our dog with multiple food allergies and a dislike for lamb. Unfortunately, it is very expensive and still contains chicken.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great choice

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Freddydog
from Carmel, IN
Our dog had developed an allergy to many animal proteins and had two bouts in the hospital on IVs as a result. Gastroenteritis and pancreatitis. He's a picky eater and did not like the prescription salmon/sweet potato kibble that the vet prescribed. In desperation, I searched the Petco website and found this food and decided to try it. He loves the little flavor bits. It is the first kibble he likes. He has no digestive problems, no gurgling and gas, no vomiting or diarrhea. It really is a very limited ingredient food, unlike many of the others who say that but sneak in pork, chicken, and turkey. It is the perfect food for our lab/golden mix.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
penny13
from Oak Forest, IL.
I have a very finicky Cockapoo with allergies, and he loves this, and does not have any bad reactions! Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good For Sensitivity

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
mlusk
from Ogden, UT
My Pit Bull Terrier has a sensitive stomach and was throwing up every day. Vet suggested the ingredients found in this dog food. Now she is seldom sick. Buying online saves cost of going to the store, is often a better price and shipping has been free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs Love It

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MamaTBone
from Texas
My picky eaters love the Blue food line. It is easy on their stomachs. No bad after effects.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, found the right one!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catahoula
from New Orleans, LA
Have tried every brand including Buffalo's own wilderness line. Our dogs GI are ultra sensitive. The result of Blue Buffalo's basic? Zero diarrhea, very little gas, and happy comfortable puppies. I maintain a close relationship between our dogs and their vets. So we approach every avenue to make sure they maintain a healthy lifestyle. I highly recommend this line from Blue Buffalo! Constipation for one of our dogs is gone and our other dog no longer pukes up grass.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppies all over again

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
CillaG
from Katy, TX
I have three dogs. The purpose of using this product initially was one had a grain allergy. We were tired of purchasing 2 different types of dog food and switched the other two over. At 6, 4 and 2 they all act like puppies and are always happy. I would recommend this food to anyone!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
olivelm
When I first adopted my 60-pound mutt, all the formulas we tried gave her diarrhea. This is the first product that doesn't make her pass gas, and it keeps her stools formed. Plus, she loves the taste!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more scratching!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Titcher
from Montverde, Fl
I brought home a Lab puppy a year ago. From day one my poor puppy scratched. I was using a new vet. about 30 miles away from my old vet. I made several trips to the new vet and tried several antihistamines and prednisone. Nothing helped the poor fellow. I thought I was on my way to the dermatologist vet. for about a thousand dollars, to get this issue resolved. Finally I decided to take him to my old vet. He suggested Blue Buffalo salmon and potato dog food. After about a week my sweet puppy stopped itching! I can no say enough good things about this food. Thank you Blue buffalo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is wonderful for animals with sensitive stomachs.

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
T1nkerR0seH0ney
from Farmington, MN
Buying product on-line saves me from driving 20 miles and wrestling with the large bags from store to home. I enjoy the freedom of sitting at my desk and ordering and then 3-4 days later walking out my back door to get the boxes of product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only thing that works

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvmymolly
from VA
We have a 1 yr. old chocolate lab and from the time we got her she has had a very sensitive stomach. After numerous trips the vet and prescription dog food, someone suggested Blue Buffalo Basic Salmon & Potato so we figured what could it hurt. We did the gradual transition and it has worked great for her. Not only can she actually get dog treats and other little goodies without stomach issues but her skin and coat are beautiful. I would def. recommend to anyone who's dog has a sensitive stomach or has itchy skin allergies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Experimenting with dog foods for itchy dog

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Breezey
We have moved our dog to a limited ingredient dog food in hopes that it will alleviate her itching. This food seems to help in comparison to cheaper dog foods that have more fillers and extra ingredients.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for sensitive tummies and allergies

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogMom55
from California
One of my 3 dogs has a sensitive tummy and food allergies. I wanted to find a food that all 3 could enjoy and that would not bother my doggie with food sensitivities. This food is great! All 3 dogs love it and the one with allergies can now live a normal non-itchy life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Violet07Rose05
from Fort Myers, FL
1 of our dogs has a food allergy & had been on a prescription diet when we decided to try a Limited Ingredient Diet. Her hair has grown in on her toes where there had been no hair for months. Our other dog loves it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Dogs

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
2thedogs
from Charlotte NC
I have 2 Minature Schnauzers with sensitive stomachs since they have been eating Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food their coats, spunkiness and stomachs are great. I get Blue Buffalo Dog Food delivered to my home monthly from Petco, no more lugging large bags of food home it's delivered to my front door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product has great incredients and dog loved it

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
peggie
from california
In the process of reordering and like the fact it is delivered without charge
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Formula Salmon & Potato Adult Dry Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luv4food
from Moretown, Vt
I have a dog with sensitive food allegories and this food is amazing. She hasn't had any issues on this food! And both of my dogs eat this food up at meal time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>