petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Full-length black hoods provide excellent lighting and greatly reduce water evaporationInnovative aquarium light hoods feature a full-length door for easy accessRear cut-out sections for easy accessory installationFluorescent tubes with instant-start circuitsAquarium hood fits most standard sized aquariumsIncludes fish tank lights fixture with aluminum reflectorAvailable in an assortment of lengths to accommodate a variety of fish tanks
Average Customer Rating:
4.093 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
4
44 out of 54(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Review 1 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lighting

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
pooh0260
from columbus ohio
needed a new hood for my 45 gallon aquarium. find this one on petco and very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Light is not full length

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
mwillsher
from goodyear, az
The hood is good however the light bulb is not the full length of the hood so the sides of the aquarium are dark.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice aquarium lamp

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Viktoria
from Brooklyn, NY
Great lamp for the aquarium, gives a nice light. Good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor lighting

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaxyBoy
from Mountaintop, Pa
The hood fits my tank nicely but the light is very poor. It only lights up the middle of my tank not the whole thing( meaning the sides). I will be purchasing another light.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product-30 in Deluxe

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
thesavants08
I bought this in store. It is an excellent hood and has many qualities I like. I like that the lid sits up and stays up . I have had others that fall down when you are trying to do something startling the fish. I also like that the lid opens all the way across and not some little hole which is great if I need to adjust something and I don't have to remove the entire hood. I also like that the light bar sits on top. You don't have to remove the entire hood to change the bulb so your tank stays covered. There are also many perforated sizings on the backside for all of your inserts. Another plus for me was the use of bulbs and not something special like LEDS. I like to experiment with different lightings such as blue and light sun so using a bulb I could change was a must. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality Great Price!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zoomaniac
from Big Island, HI
I am very happy with this Aqueon aquarium hood. It fits our tank perfectly and lights up bright. It arrived in a great box, packed with lots of padding so no damage done going a long way. I was very happy with the free shipping. I have some very large angelfish I bought from our Kailua Petco store for this tank. Thanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice fitting Cover

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
BJMRamage
from US
I had issues with my Original Covers for my 55G tank, the Starters that I had to change every few months finally cracked and became stuck in the cover.
I looked online and a light cover was almost the same price as the full cover. I decided to go with this option as it was one of the few that fit the dimensions of my tank. This cover/lid is different than my original one...it doesn’t have the full bottom portion (only the flip-up lid covers the front), the cover’s back side has 2 or 3 openings (my original had little slits that could be trimmed for many sizes) and the switch was not a push-in/push-out but a flip switch.
The flip switch is much easier to use. The front of the lid its fine and has a gentle slop. The one issue I have is the back panel only has set spots to open for filters. My previous cover back had lots of options when it came to backside openings. As it is, the piece fits and looks great. Only had this for a little while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top notch tank hoods

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MagicGuitar
from Fallon, Nevada
Great tank hoods, I bought these to replace my old tank hoods and these are very well made and fit better than the original hoods. Should last a very long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Relacement

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Palmfam4
from Palmdale Ca
II was looking for a replacement top and light for my 39 gal tank. Petco had a very close replacement. The top and light are a exact replacment. The only difference was it was all black and the original had a wood grain accent. It looks fine all black.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not too happy.

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bubs05
from NV
The light lasted a whole 3 days before it quit working. I am hoping it is just the bulb. But we will see once I am able to get a new one and replace it. Then maybe it might get a higher rating..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality, great price

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NH
This was the best priced fluorescent hood that I found. I replaced a 36" versa hood with a strip light with this hood and the only thing that I didn't like was that the bulb was not very bright. I bought a brighter bulb and I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Upgraded to a 20 gallon needed a light

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ryter138
from RI
I hate incandescent, I had one on my ten gallon tank. When I upgraded to the twenty gallon for my medical tank I choose this one because of price and the light being a fluorescent type. It fits my tank like a glove even with an oversized hob filter (marineland penquin 200)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

36" Aqueon Full Black Aquarium Hood

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rmikey
from Ct
Very good! easy to assemble and to cut for my appliances. Fit exactly on my aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
mrrm89
from MO
This hood is a great value. The lighting is bright and enhances fish color. The only problem I had with this hood is that it doesn't fit snug on a new 55 from Aqueon. It has over 1/2 inch of wiggle room on each panel. Kind of disappointing considering the same company made both the aquarium and the hood.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purfect Fit

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
suppliesneeded
from Houston, TX
This tank lid fit perfect. After researching prices online, petco was one of the cheapest price. And they offered free shipping. Petco is the store for your pets needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent product.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
wigglemoor
from New Mexico
I have two of these for my 55 gallon goldfish aquarium . Its not a bad, but its not amazing either. It gets the job done ok, but it also likes to heat my aquarium water if I leave it on too long. Its also not the best for keeping plants like amazon swords since it gives off such limited light. My hornwort seems to do ok, but its a low light plant after all.
In short, its a decent stock light for just getting started. I'd consider upgrading eventually though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could be a good product...

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
katjack
from DFW, Texas
Bought a 24" for my 16g Marineland aquarium. The hood itself is well constructed and looks nice, but it doesn't fit my aquarium. The depth of the hood matches the aquarium, but the length is about 2" too short. I wasn't able to return it right away because I keep plants in my aquarium, so I cut out the piece where the filter goes and taped the cut-out on the side of the tank so the hood could rest on it for a temporary fix so the hood wouldn't fall into the water. My aquarium is exactly 24" long and has a standard footprint, so I expected this hood to work. T8 lights can also be kind of dim, especially the version designed for plants, so be prepared for that. Personally never bothered me, but I think it would bother some. Overall, I think if this hood fits your aquarium then it would be a great product, just didn't work out for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Bad

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JimmyJ
from Ohio
Not Bad lighting, could be a bit brighter in my 90 gallon tank. for the price its great! But if you want brighter light invest more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does what it is supposed to do

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
SanDiegoFish
from San Diego
Lights up the aquarium just fine. Although the description indicates an "aluminum reflector" looks and feels like plastic to me. White plastic. An aluminum reflector would put much more light into the aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fish tank hood

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
petco has the the best prices and very quick delivery
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>