petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Full-length black hoods provide excellent lighting and greatly reduce water evaporationInnovative aquarium light hoods feature a full-length door for easy accessRear cut-out sections for easy accessory installationFluorescent tubes with instant-start circuitsAquarium hood fits most standard sized aquariumsIncludes fish tank lights fixture with aluminum reflectorAvailable in an assortment of lengths to accommodate a variety of fish tanksMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.169 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
4
58 out of 71(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Review 1 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chester, PA
Fit my Son's 10 rectangular tank perfectly. Width can be adjusted by removing a 1/4" - 3/8" perforated plastic piece that extends across the back of the hood itself (if needed).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

55 gallon hood and lights

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Canada
I purchased two 24" hood with lights for my aquarium, looks like a brand new tank and fit perfectly
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit for my tank!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Davenport, Iowa
I purchased this hood to replace the one I purchased from Petco about ten years ago. Being familiar with this brand, I felt confiident in ordering it again. Thank you, Petco, for the quick shipping of my order!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not great, but serviceable.

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, OH
Got the 24" for an older 20H (don't remember the maker). This hood was a little too narrow for my tank, in that if you pushed it all the way to one side or the other, it would fall into the tank. Solved this problem by inserting drinking straws into the gaps on each side to prevent the hood from moving.
There are pre-made cuts made in the back of the hood for filters and heaters. However, they only give you a couple of sizes, so if you use a smaller filter, there will be a large gap in the hood. Plus, the plastic is very thick and stiff, so be INCREDIBLY careful when cutting it.
Finally, the hood comes with Aqueon's full-spectrum bright daylight bulb. It's not a colorful bulb; in fact, it's a very neutral bulb and the color of the light is almost yellowish. I plan on replacing it with the Colormax bulb to bring out the reds in the fish and the gravel. (I compared the full-spectrum to a redder bulb I had from another retired tank, and the difference was pronounced.)
This is a workable hood, but make sure you test the fit before committing to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits our 55-gallon tank perfectly and looks great.

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Columbia, TX
Very happy with our purchase. Shipping was faster than expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dubuque iowa
I bought two or these for my 55 gallon tank. They fit perfectly. They have cut outs for your filter and other supplies. My water remains much warmer and it does not evaporate as much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hood light for 10gallon tank

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saratoga, Ca
Fits well over the tank. Doesn't open and close well for daily feeding. The opening does not maneuver well with the light section. Will be putting a filter on the bulb. Too bright for my fish who aren't use to the bright light and they go crazy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Akron, OH
Ordered two of these after buying our 55 gallon tank. I give it rave reviews! Fits perfectly and could not beat the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not so good

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke
Had the light less than one week and does not work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eau Claire, WI
This hood fit my aquarium perfectly and was super easy to install. Set up took less than a minute, and no problems at all since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

AN ADEQUATE HOOD

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FORT LAUDERDALE FLORIDA
ADEQUATE WOULD BE THE BEST WAY TO DESCRIBE THIS HOOD. INEXPENSIVE COMPARED TO MOST OTHERS AND GOOD ENOUGH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good hood with nice access

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hood is nice. Light fixture is separated from tank by plexiglass making it less likely to corrode. Very bright. Makes tank look vibrant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brattleboro,Vt
Exactly what I ordered and needed ,great fit first time,arrived as expected . Good Quality great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hood/Light!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Provincetown, MASS
Love the hood/light combo. Fits perfect with no real assembly required. Great lighting! One note...when 'snapping' out the back of the hood I found it helps to use snips of some sort so as not to break the back of the hood.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Hill, FL
Fits tank exactly - looks great. Well made and received very promptly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

quality

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ohio
When the product arrived at my home one of the tabs that hold the lid on was broke.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LaGrange,GA
Like this aquarium hood a lot, I bought it because it was on sale but I'm very pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lighting

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from columbus ohio
needed a new hood for my 45 gallon aquarium. find this one on petco and very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Light is not full length

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from goodyear, az
The hood is good however the light bulb is not the full length of the hood so the sides of the aquarium are dark.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice aquarium lamp

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
Great lamp for the aquarium, gives a nice light. Good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>