petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Full-length black hoods provide excellent lighting and greatly reduce water evaporationInnovative aquarium light hoods feature a full-length door for easy accessRear cut-out sections for easy accessory installationFluorescent tubes with instant-start circuitsAquarium hood fits most standard sized aquariumsIncludes fish tank lights fixture with aluminum reflectorAvailable in an assortment of lengths to accommodate a variety of fish tanksMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
4
51 out of 63(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Review 1 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not so good

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke
Had the light less than one week and does not work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eau Claire, WI
This hood fit my aquarium perfectly and was super easy to install. Set up took less than a minute, and no problems at all since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

AN ADEQUATE HOOD

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FORT LAUDERDALE FLORIDA
ADEQUATE WOULD BE THE BEST WAY TO DESCRIBE THIS HOOD. INEXPENSIVE COMPARED TO MOST OTHERS AND GOOD ENOUGH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good hood with nice access

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hood is nice. Light fixture is separated from tank by plexiglass making it less likely to corrode. Very bright. Makes tank look vibrant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brattleboro,Vt
Exactly what I ordered and needed ,great fit first time,arrived as expected . Good Quality great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hood/Light!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Provincetown, MASS
Love the hood/light combo. Fits perfect with no real assembly required. Great lighting! One note...when 'snapping' out the back of the hood I found it helps to use snips of some sort so as not to break the back of the hood.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Hill, FL
Fits tank exactly - looks great. Well made and received very promptly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

quality

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ohio
When the product arrived at my home one of the tabs that hold the lid on was broke.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LaGrange,GA
Like this aquarium hood a lot, I bought it because it was on sale but I'm very pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lighting

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from columbus ohio
needed a new hood for my 45 gallon aquarium. find this one on petco and very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Light is not full length

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from goodyear, az
The hood is good however the light bulb is not the full length of the hood so the sides of the aquarium are dark.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice aquarium lamp

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
Great lamp for the aquarium, gives a nice light. Good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor lighting

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mountaintop, Pa
The hood fits my tank nicely but the light is very poor. It only lights up the middle of my tank not the whole thing( meaning the sides). I will be purchasing another light.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product-30 in Deluxe

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought this in store. It is an excellent hood and has many qualities I like. I like that the lid sits up and stays up . I have had others that fall down when you are trying to do something startling the fish. I also like that the lid opens all the way across and not some little hole which is great if I need to adjust something and I don't have to remove the entire hood. I also like that the light bar sits on top. You don't have to remove the entire hood to change the bulb so your tank stays covered. There are also many perforated sizings on the backside for all of your inserts. Another plus for me was the use of bulbs and not something special like LEDS. I like to experiment with different lightings such as blue and light sun so using a bulb I could change was a must. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality Great Price!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Big Island, HI
I am very happy with this Aqueon aquarium hood. It fits our tank perfectly and lights up bright. It arrived in a great box, packed with lots of padding so no damage done going a long way. I was very happy with the free shipping. I have some very large angelfish I bought from our Kailua Petco store for this tank. Thanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice fitting Cover

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from US
I had issues with my Original Covers for my 55G tank, the Starters that I had to change every few months finally cracked and became stuck in the cover.
I looked online and a light cover was almost the same price as the full cover. I decided to go with this option as it was one of the few that fit the dimensions of my tank. This cover/lid is different than my original one...it doesn’t have the full bottom portion (only the flip-up lid covers the front), the cover’s back side has 2 or 3 openings (my original had little slits that could be trimmed for many sizes) and the switch was not a push-in/push-out but a flip switch.
The flip switch is much easier to use. The front of the lid its fine and has a gentle slop. The one issue I have is the back panel only has set spots to open for filters. My previous cover back had lots of options when it came to backside openings. As it is, the piece fits and looks great. Only had this for a little while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top notch tank hoods

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fallon, Nevada
Great tank hoods, I bought these to replace my old tank hoods and these are very well made and fit better than the original hoods. Should last a very long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Relacement

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Palmdale Ca
II was looking for a replacement top and light for my 39 gal tank. Petco had a very close replacement. The top and light are a exact replacment. The only difference was it was all black and the original had a wood grain accent. It looks fine all black.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not too happy.

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NV
The light lasted a whole 3 days before it quit working. I am hoping it is just the bulb. But we will see once I am able to get a new one and replace it. Then maybe it might get a higher rating..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality, great price

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NH
This was the best priced fluorescent hood that I found. I replaced a 36" versa hood with a strip light with this hood and the only thing that I didn't like was that the bulb was not very bright. I bought a brighter bulb and I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>