petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods

Full-length black hoods provide excellent lighting and greatly reduce water evaporationInnovative aquarium light hoods feature a full-length door for easy accessRear cut-out sections for easy accessory installationFluorescent tubes with instant-start circuitsAquarium hood fits most standard sized aquariumsIncludes fish tank lights fixture with aluminum reflectorAvailable in an assortment of lengths to accommodate a variety of fish tanksMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
4
74 out of 87(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Review 1 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent hoods for aquariums

PostedJune 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
I purchased two light hoods for my 55 gallon tank instead of the full length hood because these hoods would allow an option for a day and night light for my fish tank.
Only thing I dislike about the hoods is where you have to punch out the plastic on the back side for your filters is that the plastic cut outs are asymmetrical.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

24" Hood and Light a bright idea!

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Stanley, NY
I ordered two of these for my 48" 55-gal tank, and they set right on top of each side nicely. Easy to assemble (one-step) lift-up hood on the water access side. Light switch works quietly and effectively. Can't go wrong! The only thing that would be better is if the knockout sections for filter hose access were mirror images on each side - if your filter needs two hoses in the center of your big tank, there's no small knockout on each end, only on one end. So one of your hoses will need a custom cutout job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This hood/light is simple and does exactly what it is suppose to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So happy!

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Richmond,IN
I am extremely happy with my purchase. I ordered 2 of the 24 in. Deluxe hoods for my 55 gallon tank and I was scared that they wouldn't be long enough but I was so happy to see that they fit perfectly!!! The lights could stand to be a little brighter but thats just finding something to pick on. They both got here safe and sound and I was happy that they shipped in two separate packages with plenty of cushion to keep them safe. THANKS AGAIN PETCO!!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aqueon lighted aquarium hood

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Luis Obispo, CA
Was an excellent fit for an older, odd sized, aquarium that I restarted. The cutouts fit the filter and heater that were purchased at the same time.I just wish they made the same hood with LED lights!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of cable/hose space

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from FL
The cut-outs at the back leave ample room for a filter and other tubes. You really do have to saw out the cut-outs though, they are NOT snapable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mid-West
I bought one of these hoods for my 29 gal tank. It fit the tank perfectly, the cut outs are the right size and the light is nice and bright. One thing that I really like about it is on the back of the hood there are 2 slots for air lines. This was a surprize I didn't expect for it to have them. Great hood for the money thats for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like New Again

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Huron, SD
Bought 2 of these for my 55gal. They made the entire tank look like new! Great product! Great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS PRODUCTS MEASUREMENTS WORKED OUT

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minot ND
In my own personalised opion I like being able to work with an actual person on the phone to re as olve an issue. Sometimes your taking to a . Person at the store and . Theu are to busy to notice yoyr reque add ts
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with Purchase

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii,Hawaii
The shipping was great as it arrived early and it was well packaged. The hoods are a great price and great quality, I will continue to look for deals at Petco, Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect replacement

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Washington DC
I had broken the hinge on my old hood. While I would like to have replaced the hood without having to buy the lamp portion, that is simply not an option (I searched everywhere). PETCO ended up with the best price by 2-3 dollars, Delivered quickly and everything was as advertised. A big plus was that PETCO online provided the measurements so I could be sure it fit my wide tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits good

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
I got two of these for my 55 gallon tank and they seem to fit well and give good bright light coverage
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect light

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from toledo oh
easy to assemble and works really well. didnt have any issues opening up the spot i needed for it to fit where my filter is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to install

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Hard to find in stores so I did purchase online. Good price exept for the shipping charge
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tank light

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
As pictured, no problem to install. Purchased three
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not fit well but works

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MEXICO, NY
For one, the first hood was delivered before Christmas just in its box no outside box or wrapping and the glass in one side of the two piece hood was broken and a hinge for one of the doors was also. Had to wait almost 3 weeks for a new one. The hood is supposed to fit a 55 gal aquarium, the bottom pieces are not wide enough to fit front to back and just barely long enough to fit from the end to the middle support bar. The fluorescent light is actually longer than the tank and sits up on the tanks edges. They need to retake measurements of 55 gal tanks and look at the manufacturing process.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chester, PA
Fit my Son's 10 rectangular tank perfectly. Width can be adjusted by removing a 1/4" - 3/8" perforated plastic piece that extends across the back of the hood itself (if needed).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

55 gallon hood and lights

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Canada
I purchased two 24" hood with lights for my aquarium, looks like a brand new tank and fit perfectly
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit for my tank!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Davenport, Iowa
I purchased this hood to replace the one I purchased from Petco about ten years ago. Being familiar with this brand, I felt confiident in ordering it again. Thank you, Petco, for the quick shipping of my order!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Black Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not great, but serviceable.

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, OH
Got the 24" for an older 20H (don't remember the maker). This hood was a little too narrow for my tank, in that if you pushed it all the way to one side or the other, it would fall into the tank. Solved this problem by inserting drinking straws into the gaps on each side to prevent the hood from moving.
There are pre-made cuts made in the back of the hood for filters and heaters. However, they only give you a couple of sizes, so if you use a smaller filter, there will be a large gap in the hood. Plus, the plastic is very thick and stiff, so be INCREDIBLY careful when cutting it.
Finally, the hood comes with Aqueon's full-spectrum bright daylight bulb. It's not a colorful bulb; in fact, it's a very neutral bulb and the color of the light is almost yellowish. I plan on replacing it with the Colormax bulb to bring out the reds in the fish and the gravel. (I compared the full-spectrum to a redder bulb I had from another retired tank, and the difference was pronounced.)
This is a workable hood, but make sure you test the fit before committing to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>